We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, Rare Jewel Overlooking the Cliffs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Sweet Home Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Home Sweet Home Resort to your Saves list
Home Sweet Home Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   West End Rd, Negril 20147, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Intimate, Rare Jewel Overlooking the Cliffs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This property had everything that I was looking for in a relaxing vacation, but I was a bit apprehensive when booking here as the reviews seemed to be mixed. However, after arriving at Home Sweet Home, any concerns that I had were immediately allayed. I was pleasantly surprised how charming this resort turned out to be! This intimate property is laid out well with comfort and ease in mind, with the 16 rooms surrounding a lovely common area including a pool, grassy area with lounge chairs/hammock, and cliffs. The restaurant/bar is conveniently located adjacent to this area that had a wide variety of excellent meal choices. Mornings were especially lovely sipping coffee while enjoying the stunning sea view and listening to the waves lap up onto the cliffs. The multi-layered cliffs were a definite bonus not only for swimming and snorkeling but lying around just reading/relaxing. This is a laid back, quiet, property which is what I was looking for rather than the dizzying beach scene. My room was very comfortable with cable TV, radio/CD player w/mp3 jack, and private porch. All of the staff were extremely gracious and accommodating especially Tina, the manager--well-versed regarding sites to visit and arranging transport; and, Charlie, the owner, also very cordial, accommodating and knowledgeable.
This is indeed a exquisite jewel in Jamaica. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All have stunning views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Manager at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review! I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your vacation seemed to be an amazing one and I'm glad we were able to be a part of your experience. Wow!!!! you do have great photos, until next time 'see u later.'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    89
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
26
118
24
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for three days and enjoyed it very much. Very relaxing and very comfortable. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. We really enjoyed snorkeling off the cliffs.
If your looking for an affordable place on the WestEnd and away from the hustle and hassle of the beach than HSH will fit the bill.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
We are happy that our staff made your stay a memorable one. Thank you once more for staying with us until next time, Best Travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights and really enjoyed our stay. We had the opportunity to stay in three different rooms. I think we were in room 13 or 14 (newest room with loft) our first night and didn't get any sleep due to traffic and barking dogs. We were moved to suite 11 for our next 3 nights and loved being oceanfront with the views from the huge balcony .., much quieter. Slept very well. we had to move the last night due to the fact someone else had reserved this suite. We moved to the newest waterfront room, ground floor, which is basically a hotel room but very comfortable. We actually enjoyed the proximity to the restaurant and bar plus the large grassy area between the balcony and the cliffs. This is a very quiet property which is exactly what we were looking for. The rooms are a bit dated compared to the photos on the website but very clean. The food at the restaurant was outstanding .... We had jerk chicken every day for at least one meal.
Pros:
Tina (manager), Richard (bartender), Monty(bartender) were fabulous. Charlie is fortunate to have such great staff.
Again, the food was excellent
The views and sunset are spectacular.
Snorkeling directly in front of the hotel (bring your own gear)
Things to consider:
We arranged for private transfer from the airport with Chris, the resorts driver, who was very courteous and professional. We paid $40 per person and thought we would have private transfer but actually shared with two other people but still paid $40 pp. If you have more than two people you would probably do better with private taxi. We took a vey nice SUV taxi back to MoBay for less than the private transfer.
We were told by someone at the hotel that ricks cafe was commercialized, had over priced drinks and didn't have live music but had DJs. We found quiet the opposite to be true ... Loved watching the professional cliff divers (they were so amazing), rum punch drinks were only $7US and they had a reggae band playing.

We booked through an online website and after we booked saw that the hotel management had reduced rates by 30 percent (the hotel recently changed management back to the previous owner Charlie) When we mentioned this upon changing rooms we were told "the money went to the previous owners". therefore I would recommend booking with the hotel directly.
All in all a very nice, quiet hotel on the cliffs. Not a lot of activity but seven mile beach is a five minute taxi ride away. Boat excursions will pick you up at the resort.
Would return, but would definitely book the penthouse or one of the newer oceanfront rooms for the duration. Hope this helps with your planning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked it for a winter getaway with my sister, pictures online do not do it justice. Amazing view of the sea, blue water, dramatic cliffs. Friendly, helpful staff. Feel like part of a family within a day. Nice quiet spot to unwind, but easy cab ride to the beach. Food is amazing - ate both breakfast and dinner there. Charlie the owner greeted us the first morning with hot fresh coco bread. Recommend and will return!

Room Tip: Can be some noise (cars, barking dogs) for rooms nearest the road. Ear plugs solved the problem. Mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thanks for your sweet review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us. We'd love to have you return. , like us on facebook to see when the next years jams will be, and you can come back for your next experience at home sweet home.
thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Property is set in the cliff area of Negril with an amazing view. The rooms are nothing special inside but the views are well worth the price and this is a much cheaper option than most other (if not all) with the same view/location. We loved our short stay here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stay here and be left alone. No one bothers you and the peace of mind is refreshing. Simply furnished, nothing fancy. Grand views of coast, sunsets, without the crowd at Rick's. Adjoining restaurant run and paid for separately from hotel. Food pretty good., but there's better a short walk away at Blue Mahoe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlie r, Owner at Home Sweet Home Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. You are indeed right you just got to love the cliffs. We're happy you did have a pleasant stay with us and will be looking forward to your return. Irie Mon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just stayed here for a few days after our flights home were cancelled. The owner Charlie makes this place perfect! The staff are awesome-friendly, accommodating, and really fun. Feels like a small community and was hard to leave. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and had great views. Free in-room wifi was a bonus. Acoustic music with Charlie, guests, and some great Jamaican musicians each night. Great location with a $5 cab to the west end or the beach. The food is awesome, and drinks are strong. Don't waste your time staying anywhere else! Love this place and will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Sweet Home Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Sweet Home Resort

Address: West End Rd, Negril 20147, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 Family Hotel in Negril
#34 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Home Sweet Home Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HSH Resort - Nestled on the beautiful cliffs of Negril, you'll find your tropical home away from home. Offering 14 spacious rooms, each with a private veranda and a breathtaking view of the Caribbean.Explore the island or never leave the resort! Our goal is provide you an atmosphere where you create your own brand of fun and relaxation.You can spend your entire sun-drenched days and moonlit nights here! We look forward to having you as our guest, where you will enjoy the most spectacular sunsets in all of Jamaica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Home Sweet Home Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Sweet Home Hotel Negril
Home Sweet Hotel
Home Sweet Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Sweet Home Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.