We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Firefly Beach Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Firefly Beach Cottages to your Saves list
Firefly Beach Cottages
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Negril
NJ
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

While the beach and location cannot be beat, the hotel itself left much to be desired. The beachside cottage we originally booked was pretty rustic and we were allowed to move to another room which was much better with a beautiful view of the beach! However, the wireless internet in the rooms was intermittent at best and we had to take our computer down to the office to get it to work consistently. The air conditioner only cooled off one room and not well as the 'windows' were just screens with shutters, no glass. The bar next door played loud music 5 out of the 7 nights we were there so you can forget a peaceful night of sleep, and during the day, the neighbors on the other side frequently revved jet ski engines throughout the day so forget a relaxing afternoon nap. Having said all that, the beach was wonderful and Maxine, the bartender, was incredibly friendly and helpful! The breakfast at the bar was very good and inexpensive! It was also nice to have the kitchen in our room and there were lots of good restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: The penthouse was definitely better than the beachside cottage, though it is on the third floor with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    43
    8
    6
    11
See reviews for
16
64
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a week in negril staying at Firefly cottages, a tiny hideaway of paradise , we booked the cottage on the beach because I had injured my knee prior to vacation and I could walk out the door to a soft white beach within a few feet. Chaises, hammock and Maxine the bset bartender at the little beach bar where we enjoyed the best coffee, breakfast and the specialitly drink a Firefly,! Made new friends and literally had the best vacation ever. On the second day there went to the office and booked a return trip for the Christmas holiday. Cabin is small but clean and cozy , small kitchenette and a attached porch. The thing I loved was the feeling of being tucked away in paradise, on a previous trip to Jamaica stayed in a large inclusive resort but didn't really taste Jamaica the way I did on this trip, mingled with the locals and tried local food. Turquoise waters And Firefly till we meet again in December,

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Firefly is a bit of a throwback to the 70s or even the 60s; uber casual, friendly, and really just an "anything goes" sort of ambiance. The rooms are "rustic" but adequate and clean; the grounds are pretty but not ultra manicured or overdone so that you feel uncomfortable walking on the grass or something; all the staff know you by the end of day one, and greetings are warm. The "residents' are likely 80-90 percent returnees; it is very collegial at the beach and the beach bar. Dez and Maxine do a great job down there at the bar, for sure. It is centrally located on the beach, so that a walk either way during the day or at night puts you square in the action. If you are looking for 5 star...look elsewhere...Mr Prim and Mrs Proper? Sorry, wrong number. This is a nice, super relaxed chill out haven. We have been here a few times and will return.

Room Tip: as far in as possible from the street to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

A sort of camping . cozy cottage is very very old, noisy at the bach of the bar , a little restroom whit broken majolicas! Webside is misleading , the price are different when you go there ! if you will want to change the room they apply penalty .They play on currency between $ and £, you will pay a room only for bed like a suite in four strars ‘’ all inclusive ‘’. never again !

Room Tip: only the room in a building are accettable , but very expencive for that place ! do not go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColumbusToo, Owner at Firefly Beach Cottages, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
The reviewer booked 5 nights on our internet site at our clearly shown rates for February high season. He stayed the first night in the cottage on the sand. Next day he said it was too close to the sea, so he moved back to a larger unit which was $35 a night +10% tax more.
He did not pay the full $35 for the change.
After he left he saw our low season rates on the internet and asked for a refund for the amount between the high season rates and the low season rates with a threat to report fraud to TripAdvisor if we did not succumb.

I'm showing the email correspondence (with only minor exclusions of irrelevant sections).

The guest had no complaints when he was here and it is worth noting that his ratings bear no relation to the previous 7 reviews regarding' location' where we received 34 out ot a possible 35
and 'value' (33 out of 35),

I show here the emails (leaving out the identification of the guest as is required).

"So one night at cozy $130+10%= $143.00 plus four nights in apartment (considering the maximum tariff for a garden view ) $150 +10% per 4= $ 660.00 for total amount of $ 806.00 not $1,209.00 that I payed ( whit this amount a lot of ‘ all inclusive’ resort in negril are available ).At the end I would prefer that your organization will reimburse me the difference of $406.00 instead of thinking in a Jamaican defraud .I am waiting it before explain my opinion on trip advisor ."

My reply:
"Dear ----.
You must know that hotel rates in most countries go up or down according to the season.

In Jamaica rates are lowest when it is summer in the USA, Canada and Europe. Rates are highest when it is winter in Italy, Europe and North America where most of the guests come from because the climate in Jamaica is at its best.

The main busy season in Negril is from Christmas to the end of February. For hotels that seek the university students on their Spring break March may be busy. So it is to be expected that a rate of $130 + $13 tax = $143 would apply only to the low season, and that the high season rate would be 50% to 100% higher. Our website shows very clearly that only our low season rate is $130 + $13 tax.

Until this week we did not have the facilities to show rates in US$ when guests made reservations on the website. However, we did show on another page our standard high and low season rates in US$, which have remained almost unchanged since the recession started about 4 years ago, although inflation has continued.

When I did conversions between £ and US$ I used a rate of 1.55 to 1, which has been close to the rate quoted by money changers. You made a booking for 5 nights at £135 + 10% tax a night for a total of £743. You paid a deposit of £216. This was your choice, booked from our website. The rate is very competitive .

When visitors arrive at Firefly new transactions are often done in US$.

For four of your 5 nights you asked for a penthouse suite which has a rate about US$35 + tax higher than the room originally booked. So if I convert £743 to US$ at 1.55 to 1the amount is $1114. Adding four days at $35+10% is another $154. So your total is $1268. Mrs. Dell tells me that you paid only $1210. This agrees with the figure ($1209) that you told me you paid. You will therefore understand that we should have collected a further $58. If you wish to return in late April or May or June when the climate is still nice you will of course get the low season rate and a discount that we offer to returning guests. And we would be delighted to see you again. If you have any other items to discuss please don't hesitate to contact me.
Regards
David Sykes"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This was our first time to Jamaica and we loved everything about Jamaica, Negril and especially the Firefly Inn...we plan to return next year for New Year's Eve which was a magical night on the beach and a memorable celebration at the Firefly's beachfront bar/restaurant...for us Firefly captures the true style of Negril, whatever that is, in all the beautiful and artful details found on the lush property, and the wonderful, and again beautiful, people we met during our all-to brief stay (one week) at this Caribbean oasis...Clearly, we highly recommend Firefly to people, and already to friends, who like to create their own fun and adventure and are not looking for the big hotel all-inclusive commitment. Firefly has it all, including it's own stretch of white-sandy beach, and don't forget the jet-skis just next door...we love those jet-skis...can't wait to get back...Respect Mon...Bientot JimDaraOliviaRachel from Montreal

Room Tip: Take any room that's available when you arrive or make your reservation...we started in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was our 1st time at Firefly and we loved it !!!! The staff and our wonderful Hosts David and Audrey Sykes are all so gracious and kind, We Needed a place to just relax and we found this little place of sheer bliss,
We will be returning the following year and cannot wait!!!!
Thank - You Firefly we Love You
Bill and Mae Stroud

Room Tip: We Found the rooms very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Our first trip to Jamaica was a success and we will definitley return to Firefly Cottages. As two single Moms traveling with our 16 year old daughters we were looking for a safe and authentic experience. Safety was never an issue during our stay at Firefly. We had the pleasure of experiencing the Gardenview Penthouse. It includes a small veranda, one room with 2 beds, kitchen are, tub with shower and A/C. It is difficult to review this location because it has so many great qualities but there are little things that were definitley noticed. Stairs to our room were very steep, the beds are not real comfortable, water pressure is low, the garden view is nice but not serene, if there are parties next door it can be very loud till very late. However, the staff were absolutely fantastic! The bar area serves amazing omelettes and drinks, I recommend Tia Maria and Rum Cream with your coffee in the morning:) Plenty of beach chairs were always avaiable and the walk to the beach is short and easy. Firefly is centrally located and perfect in either direction for restaurants, shopping and nightlife. There is wifi available in your room but it did not work on the veranda well or at all outside of room. Outside restrooms and showers are helpful too. There were beach vendors but a friendly smile and no thanks or "i'm good" sufficed and they moved along. The smell of Ganja is non-stop from early till late and it is offered often but not aggressively. Clothing is optional but we did not experience any guest with less than a swimsuit. You have to have dinner next door at the Sun Beach Restauraunt too! The food, staff and entertainment earn 4 stars:) Other reviews of Firefly on Trip Advisor seem very accurate so I will leave you with this thought, if you enjoy the resort experience this is not the place for you but if you want privacy, beachfront and freedom Firefly is a great place to call home while visiting Negril. I have included several pictures because as we researched it was difficult to find any pics of the hotel and grounds.

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms seemed to be the nicest and a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Firefly Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Beach Cottages

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#33 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Firefly Beach Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top class suites, penthouses and studios in the best part of Negril Beach. The gardens are beautiful year round. Our wonderful guests are beach lovers who also enjoy the ambiance, the serenity, the casual yet efficient feeling, the weekly beach party and the beachfront rooms which are surprisingly rare on Negril beach. ALL units have kitchens and verandas. Gym, WiFi and Jacuzzi are here. All our romantic rooms have kitchens or kitchenettes allowing greater choice of dining and drinks than mere hotel rooms. Our beach bar/cafe, with Maxine in charge, is well-known for the luscious pancakes and other breakfast items and day-long snacks along with the coldest beer served with the warmest smiles to our guests and other visitors on the beach.Our guests come from many countries, at times they are from as many as nine countries represented at our free weekly beach parties. What they return for is the casual, friendly atmosphere, no-one knows whether you're rich or poor, no-one wears a Rolex, and you go to the beachfront in your bikini or swimsuit - no need for any other cover unless you wish.We have watchmen and security cameras at night just to make sure you're OK.There are many cafes, restaurants and bars within easy walking distance on the beach and all water-sports are close by. Reggae concerts (Bourbon Beach, Roots Bamboo) are 10 to 15 minutes walk away on the beach and Kool Runnings Water Park is 2 miles away across the road.Shopping for gifts and souvenirs is available at Time Square one mile away and supermarkets are 2 miles away, in town. Also each year our team wins in the Negril Marathon/half/10k early December. This year in the full Marathon we had the 2nd overall and the first in the over 80 age group (Roy Thomas from Kingston who runs the Marathon here every year). We also had other section winners. Join our team in '13. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Firefly Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firefly Beach Cottages Hotel Negril
Firefly Beach Hotel
Firefly Beach Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firefly Beach Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.