We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food just ok, waitresses great,takes to long to get the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Twist on the Beach

Island Twist on the Beach
Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril, Jamaica
876-957-4413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 155 Restaurants in Negril
Cuisines: Eclectic
Restaurant details
Champlain, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Food just ok, waitresses great,takes to long to get the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Rondel for several years now. This year it just wasn't the same at Island Twist. Don't know if there a new cook, but just not the same. Almost like the chief couldn't cook everyones meals at the same time.Donavan the new bar tender kept running back and forth from bar to tables takeing orders away from the waitresses.crazy. The best part of that restraunt was the bartender Delroy he 's amazing and best on the beach. I have and still like this place and will eat there again, just something not right there this year.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Service and food were very good. Had breakfast, lunch and supper there. Pizza is very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Beach Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

After reading some recent negative reviews about this restaurant, I thought perhaps new management had taken over, as it has always been one of my favorite places to eat in Negril. During my recent trip, I ate more than several meals (breakfasts, lunches, and dinners) there, and I can honestly say, that I'm not sure what the reason was for the recent negative reviews. As a matter of fact, the restaurant still has some of the best pumpkin soup, I've ever eaten. The grilled lobster and Lobster Thermidor, were both excellent dishes, and a bit cheaper than some other places that serve lobster in Negril. The lobster in the thermidor was huge! Also, one of my favorite dishes is the Pepper Shrimp and it was excellent as usual. The staff goes out of their way to please the diner. For example, one night I asked for brown stew shrimp, and, although it is not on the menu, the kitchen was very happy to make it for me. One of my friends also asked that his Pepper Shrimp be served over pasta, instead of with the usual rice, again the kitchen was more than pleased to accomodate his request. The same went for breakfast service -- the kitchen was very happy to make an omelet using the egg whites only. One problem is that the restaurant has no appetizers on it's menu, so if you don't feel like eating a large meal, you will have to order from the lunch menu. The staff from the bartenders to the waiters/waitresses are very friendly, and, although service can be slow at times, it is no slower than other restaurants in Negril. Anyway, I was glad to see that the negative reviews were a matter of personal opinion, and not due to any changes in the restaurant staff of management. Again, I personally feel that it is an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The worst food I've ever had anywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Recently stayed at Rondel Village for a week. After the second day we never ate here again. The food at this place is down right bad. It's inedible and very very poor quality. One meal in particular actually made me ill. It should not be allowed to serve anything besides coffee. It's a shame because Rondel Village is a wonderful place, but Island Twist is a disgrace.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlain, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“on the beach, with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

This restraunt is located at the Rondel village (open to all) the food is great. lobster omlet for breakfest was awesome. They make pizza and for diner you have to have the the lobster thermordor, it's to die for. the prices are adv. the service is good. Try it out next time your in Negril

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Twist on the Beach also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Island Twist on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Twist on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.