We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at Tensing Pen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tensing Pen Resort to your Saves list
Tensing Pen Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at Tensing Pen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of June before heading to the beach for 10 days. Incredible location on the cliffs and walking distance to Rick's Café. Excellent restaurant and good drinks at the bar. Jump off the bridge. No TV but that suited us just fine. We stayed in Sea Grape 1 which had AC. The dogs were a joy, very sweet. Would definitely return to Tensing Pen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    85
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
377
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Tensing Pen is just incredible. After falling asleep to the sound of the ocean every night, I am glad that we chose Cottage Cove over one of the pillars. We had a view of the bridge and the beautiful water and cliffs below. You will not miss the beach! Jumping off the bridge or the cliffs is an incredible experience. The water is WARM and deep, you'll feel like you're floating in nothing.

Everything is just stunning here. It's the small things that begin to annoy you after a while.

PROS
Room- Gorgeous, clean. Amazing ocean sounds.
Food- Outrageously good, reasonably priced.
Excursions- Excellent. Try vincent's snorkeling/island trip with freshly cooked lobsters at the end.
Resort in general- GORGEOUS. They leave you alone and you'll hardly see anyone coming around unless you're needed or have a request.

CONS
Drinks- not very good to me, but try for yourself. I didn't find it to be much better in other parts of Negril. Service at the restaurant was sometimes with an attitude. It depends. For the most part it felt like when we needed something, we were interrupting their work, even though their work revolves around us. The concierge desk is more like an office, not set a part, and it leaves you feeling apologetic for interrupting. Maid service was consistently late in the day, getting in the way of showering up for dinner. Pool umbrellas were never opened, even though it was the heat of august. It's almost like no one bothered, and opening one ourselves wasn't easy.

Honestly, I think they are understaffed for the off season. But none of these things will dissuade me from coming back here again.

Room Tip: The cottage was gorgeous and fairly private. No AC but very breezy. I'm glad we chose it over on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

It is the last night of out Honeymoon. We have been here for 9 days and don't want to leave. Ever. This place is amazing. The staff is exremely friendly, the views are breathtaking, the water is gorgeous the restaurant serves delicious food with large portions and the rooms are beautiful and clean.

We have had a chance to see some of the other hotels in Negril and every time we agree that Tensing Pen was the absolute best choice we could have made. One thing to note is that if you want AC make sure you room specifically states so, also there is no TV (but I promise you won't need one). We knew that before booking, some of the bad reviewers did not. Also there is free very fast wi-fi all over the resort area. We stayed in Rock Cottage 2 which we think was the best possible choice.

Make sure while you are here you get a massage. We had a couples massage by Georgia and Maxine and they were hands down the best we have ever had (I used to get one once a week). We loved them so much we booked 2. Also flag down Famous Vincent Glass bottom boat and go snorkeling. Mornings are the best trips. It's only $30 a person for 2 1/2 hours and he has all the gear if you need it at no extra charge. I went twice and each trip was completely different. Vincent is the only snorkel guide who will get in with you and point things out you would definitely miss on your own.

If you are thinking about coming to Jamaica stay at Tensing Pen. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The Tensing Pen is an amazing resort. About 20 private rooms or cabins. Such a relaxing enviroment it was truly a great trip. The owner was very nice and provided us with a free upgrade. Thanks again.
Its a quiet laid back resort but there arr things to do;
Famous Vincents snorkling tour was great.
Oceanside massage by Georgia was very relaxing
The restraunt there is great but if you are lookinf for a change Ahh bees burgers is across the street, Ivans next door was great, ricks is a bit of a party spot, foods not that great but cool place to people watch especially the sunset divers.
Times square is a good place for jewllery and cheap tshirts

Thanks again to the owner and staff of Tensing Pen

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

As we pulled in the gated driveway, the world changed. Flowers, plants, thatched roofs, lava rocks, pathways...the Caribbean Sea! Such visual wonders took our breath away. We knew we had chosen the right place for us! Our driver agreed. Told us Negril is pure relaxation. He was right!

Made our reservation on Expedia--as had a problem getting confirmation back. No problem. The lobby is small and inviting. The personnel were friendly, accommodating and extremely knowledgeable--gems! Said we were in South House 1 and we were set to go!

Off we went through the bush-lined, stone pathways seeing hibiscus and hummingbirds along the way. As we continued we saw the beautiful emerald green Caribbean on our right. South House 1 was the bottom floor of a two room cottage. Had a beautiful sidewalk lined with peach hibiscus. We stepped up onto our tile lanai complete with fan, lounger and chair. I knew I would be sitting there later.

We had a king bed room with flowers on the spread, ac, ceiling fan, fridge and lovely mahogany(I think) shades throughout the room. Stairs went up to South House 2 which would allow for a larger party if need be. The bathroom was tiled as well, however, no ac in there. Thief ants were our guests in the bathroom and the lanai, busy doing their own thing. Bring some repellant if that bothers you. Note: Did not have a problem with mosquitoes...nice breeze. Did bring the repellant though! After all, you are in the tropics!

We kept our clothes in our suitcases, as we didn't want any stowaways for the way home. The theme was mermaids and you could see the details in the mirrors etc. Didn't miss the TV or the phone at all, although wifi available in the lobby. Wifi was pretty good. Did have international put on our Verizon phone though. Check this out before you leave!!

Next up..go explore the resort. Couldn't wait to go over the jumping bridge which connected our area to the lobby. What a hoot! No, I didn't do it, but my husband did, and several times. The water is just so clear, but we were told it's actually 30 feet down. Incredible. Took a nice video of that! I jumped off a little lava outcropping. Good enough. The sea is so strong, but beautiful. I did see what I thought was a dolphin in the morning out by Rick's, which is a safe walk down the street! Got some great pics of the sea urchins that have latched onto the lava rock..merlot colored, and spiny, but oh so beautiful! Can't see that in a pool! Lots of fossils in the lava rock. Amazing!

The food is a set menu and prepared fresh. Delicious! Water ok to drink. Red Stripe is native beer and great! $3 a bottle. $1.50 across the street. Be aware at dinner that a 10% service charge and 10% gratuity is charged at the time of service so plan accordingly. We just put everything on the room, which was great. We ate here every night (3 nights). First night the rain and lightning were pretty intense and the sea was responding. Next night not too bad. The last night no rain at all. No dress code. Shorts, sundresses are fine.

Breakfast is included (fruit, yogurt, coffee (the best) bread. Had a full breakfast (omelet) one am. Great made-to-order. Excellent chefs and servers. Remember island time. You don't have to go anywhere else if you don't want to. Lunch available as well.

Can't forget the Gift Shop! Nice quick souvenirs and can put on the room! Pretty tin artwork, but too big for the suitcase.

Did go down to Rick's Cafe (a short, safe walk). It's fun to watch the natives and the boats pull up to watch the divers. Have a beer, an appetizer, shop in the store and go on back to the resort. Did hear the reggae music at night from our room while sitting outside on the lanai. Really nice...so soothing.

Really nice guests were there from all over the world. Cute couple from OK just got married. Families with small, behaved children, couples, friends....everyone welcome and having fun! Great unified spirit.

Had the opportunity to have a couples massage at 4 pm before dinner on the other side of the resort overlooking the ocean. Nice to do. Great employees. Do again!

This place is so abundant, beautiful and real. Truly an experience with Mother Nature. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Any room with ac!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just got back from this amazing place. My wife and I finally took a trip just for us and I am so glad we chose Tensing Pen. They arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport and Keith from juta tours picked us up and he was great. We stayed in Pine Pillar and just thought it was amazing. I was concerned because it did not have ac but I have to say it was not an issue at all. The views from our cottage was just incredible and listening to the water crash against the rocks was awesome. Usually when staying in hotels the bed can be an issue but not here the bed was extremely comfortable. The outdoor shower was fun and had a great view of the water. The water is just amazing there just to float and swim its hard not to relax. We enjoyed several days just hanging by the pool. We actually never left the property except to walk to the mart and get some water and beer for the room. Everything you need to just disconnect and relax is there. We ate every meal there and was not disappointed at all. You won't go wrong with the jerk chicken or beef tenderloin. The shrimp skewers and pork was equally as good and even the Tensing burger was very good. If you want to do more than just relax the staff in the office are more than helpfully in arranging whatever it is you want to do. When it comes to the dogs they are very sweet and cute. I will miss them hanging out with us. If you don't like dogs the staff will keep them away if they bother you but really they gravitate to those who give them attention. When the resort is booked full it still seems so private. Words and pictures doesn't do it justice it is just amazing and the staff really do a great job to make it a trip to remember. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

We have been wanting to visit Tensing Pen for years. Our trip did not disappoint! On fact, our experience exceeded all expectations. We stayed in South House II. The dogs next door were a little noisy, but didn't interfere with sleeping at all. The view from our balcony was amazing. The a/c was nice too! We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and reading during the day, interspersed with dips in the crystal clear turquoise Caribbean. Oh and the drinks! The piña coladas and pineapple daiquiris made with fresh local fruit were unreal!!! I didn't even care about the calories! On our last afternoon we enjoyed a couples massage. The setting was impeccable with the waves crashing into the cliffs below and a light summer rain falling. Our therapists, Calista and Anisha were top notch. We did not venture off property for meals since we were only there for 3 days. The meals at the Lodge were fantastic. The jerk chicken was so yummy and my husband loved the snapper prepared in traditional Jamaican style. I loved all of the shrimp dishes!!

In short, we had a quick 3 day getaway which provided us a level of relaxation that we did not think possible for such a short trip! We are already planning to return in November. Thank you Tensing Pen!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tensing Pen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.