We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hideaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tensing Pen Resort to your Saves list
Tensing Pen Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 89 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic Hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

The Tensing Pen is perfect for those seeking peace and quiet, set on a beautiful cliff.
The rooms are gorgeous, intricately handcrafted and look out onto the stunning ocean.
An ideal location for couples.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    94
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
81
401
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

In short, Tensing Pen is amazing if your looking for an intimate, seaside resort with character. The people are really wonderful, the food is soooo good and the location really chill. I like how you feel that you're in Jamaica at Tensing Pen. It's not one of those enormous all-inclusive compounds where you could be anywhere in the world. It's a truly romantic getaway! Love the dogs too they make it feel like home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

tensing pen is the best spot in negril! beautiful, private, wonderful staff who will help you make the most of your trip. if you never left the front gates you would not have missed a thing! I took my wife to the 7 mile beach so she can experience how annoying it is, constant hassels from the locals. at tensing pen you are sheltered from all the chaos outside. we did venture out daily for lunch etc. we found the food to be better at tensing pen, and the prices where also better. as for food outside the resort we found the push cart to be a great experience. go to ricks only to see the "high" divers otherwise there staff sux! and food way over priced! we travel alot and found tensing pen to be a rare treat!

Room Tip: all the rooms look great we stayed in the bungalow only because the water front rooms where booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Tensing Pen in 2009 and loved it so much, we decided to get married there.

We booked our rooms over a year ago - bungalow, garden cabin, garden a, garden b, longhouse. Closer to the wedding - additional guests booked Seagrape 1 & 2, cove cottage, garden studio and south house 1 & 2. We didn't book the place out, but had a nice big group of family & friends.

All the rooms were beautiful and every guest at our wedding felt they were staying someplace special - no matter what their room cost. I was thrilled to stay in the longhouse - and would LOVE to stay there again!

Each morning, we all woke and headed down to the lodge for coffee or tea. I was up many mornings at 5:30, because I could not wait to get up and start my day. Other guests slept in but coffee was always fresh, hot and strong, tea always available. The breakfast put out was usually fine for me, but I did sometimes purchase a breakfast and it was really good and reasonably priced.

A day at Tensing Pen can be so fun and relaxing. Hang out in a hammock or in the lodge, read books, sleep or use the wifi, swim or tan at the pool, or grab a mattress and float in the ocean. If you are brave, take a plunge off the bridge.

The neighborhood is relaxed and going out on the street during the day is fine. Two of our favourite places for lunch were just outside the gate. Ras Rody's for delicious organic vegan food and Ahhh Bees for amazing (veggie) burgers and fries. A convenience store where you can buy alcohol, drinks, snacks and others grocery items is also just outside the gates and a short jaunt.

The staff at Tensing Pen couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. The restaurant is amazing, we ate there several nights and were always happy with our meal. The chefs are really talented and very creative. They even made meals that were not on the menu by our request. Everything was presented beautifully and our guests raved about many meals. Pumpkin soup and Ackee quesadillas were especially popular.

Our guests had a ball and everyone's needs were taken care of. I felt in the week that we were there to be treated as friends and welcome guests at Tensing Pen. Absolutely everyone was very nice and totally professional.

OUR WEDDING WAS AMAZING!!!!

This property looks like a dream, and having a wedding here made me feel like I was living in one. Shanique is the nicest and most accommodating wedding coordinator ever. She is so relaxed it made me totally relaxed too. Nothing was a problem and Yah Mon was the usual response to every request I had.

The ceremony, cocktail hour, dinner and dancing all went off without a hitch. I had a fabulous mento band for the cocktail hour and excellent dj for the dinner and dance. FUN x1000 almost every guest told me it was the best wedding ever!

I love Tensing Pen and will return here time and time again!

Best vacation ever!!!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

To start with this property is one of the most interesting and serene places I have ever been. We stayed in the Long House with our family. It is by far the best view as it is front and center directly behind the bridge that connects the two halves of the resort. We stay here after four days on 7 mile beach. We stayed here to finish our vacation on a relaxing note. Tensing Pen delivered on that account. The water can be chopping so don’t plan on spending too much time there is you aren’t a good swimmer. But the pool is nice as are the hammocks, cabanas, and lounge chairs for your enjoyment.
The surrounding area has a number of places to eat would recommend Three Dives, Ivan’s, and Push Cart and drink Rick’s café for the sunset. Be warned Rick’s is a bit of a tourist trap in my opinion. You can eat on premises if you’d like we had lunch a couple of times and it was nothing special pizza was good. Not much in the way of Jamaican food. Breakfast is included, again nothing special. Never did dinner so can’t say much as we like to spread the wealth around and try to eat local when we can.
We found the staff to be quiet but professional, not as friendly as you find in other resort type situations. But this place really isn’t that type of party down vibe. Just enjoy the views, chat with your neighbors, chill. It’s all good.
I have read a number of the other reviews for this resort and most are spot on. We didn’t experience any weddings or have any problems with the noise. The dogs woke us up one night but for the most part I liked having the dogs around. They come around often during the day to be petted and to lay around with you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not our first stay at Tensing Pen, but finally they did something about the bartender whose only spoken words were "every time." Not only did the replacement staff not say "every time" they actually approached us at the pool to see if we would like a drink! That is the first time that has every happened. I had trouble with the new girls name working the bar with Owen, but I think this was a long overdue and bar revenues from us definitely went up with the two of them working the bar! Terry, Terri Ann, Camila, Ruth, Mikey, Ninney all great happy staff to be around and always trying to look after your needs. We would certainly return again.

Room Tip: Most second floor units do not have AC, the exception I am aware of would be South House II
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I have been to Negril numerous times, but this was our 1st time at Tensing Pen. We found it to be very relaxing! We are not the type to tour much anymore, but love to get out and about in Negril to the shops, craft markets and especially the restauraunts. We love the Negril people. Tensing Pen was clean, quiet, had a great view and very nice office staff! We stayed 3 nights in Rock Cottage II, which was spacious, had A/C and a great view! We then moved to the Cove Cottage for 2 nights. It was not quite as spacious and had no A/C. That was a little tough-we handled it with the ceiling fan and stand fan that were provided, but not quite as comfortable. However, it had another GREAT view! I was also lucky enough to book a massage and facial with Maxine. If you have the time and the money, it was well worth it, and she had magic hands. The only real downfall is that the staff in the resaurant is very inattentive. We had to ask to order and ask to get drinks. You would think that they would bust their behinds for the guests in that area, but no so much....But, you are in Jamaica, (soon come). We will certainly stay at Tensing Pen again!!!

Room Tip: Rock Cottage II had great location, size, was very quiet and had A/C. Cove Cottage was a little sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tensing Pen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.