We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problem mon'!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tensing Pen Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tensing Pen Resort to your Saves list
Tensing Pen Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Miami, Florida
1 review
“No problem mon'!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

overall this place is amazing! the staff is extremely relaxed. Everything is "no problem mon'" Very peaceful and romantic. I personally enjoyed the open ocean since im acustomed to a beach. the ocean gorgeous with crystal clear waters. The food is a-mah-zing! there is also other places to eat within walking distance. You also have the famous Ricks Cafe at 2 minute walk. I would definitely recommend this resort, as well as stay here again. The rooms do not have TV or telephone which I enjoyed in order to totally disconnect and enjoy nature as well as do activities.

Room Tip: any room is beautiful and unique. Some actually include outside showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    85
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
69
377
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Tensing pen provided a very relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable experience for a getaway vacation and destination wedding. Even with the aftermath of hurricane sandy, our trip was unforgettable. Tensing staff were helpful, polite, and easy to connect with. Most exciting part of the trip was the cliff and bridge jumping. Truly a paradise. Make sure to get to know the staff. They are welcoming and can share insight on what to do while in Negril. And bonus, the resort has a family of dogs that are lovable and friendly. I purposely chose excellent for fitness center. Allow tensing doesn't have a gym, they offer yoga and swimming. Cliff diving turned out to be an unexpected full body workout.

Room Tip: Sea grape offers a beautiful view but if you are going on a budget like us, the bungalow is just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This experience was great!!! The staff was extremely nice and welcoming, is a great destination to relax, lay back, party if you like to do it in a private setting. The cabins are comfortable and very clean. The food is good and tasteful. I will recommend this resort to everyone. Thank you for the excellent treatment and making the experience wonderful and unforgettable.

Room Tip: I visited different rooms and they were all clean and comfortable, have in mind not all of them have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic relaxed atmosphere, then Tensing Pen is your place.

Pros - Privacey, quaint, clean, away from the "party", best for couples/adults, food is excellent, walking distance to the famous Rick's Cafe. Love the waves crashing against the cliffs. Love the high cliffs to jump from into the deep clear turquoise water. Love the massages by Maxine. Staff is super friendly and eager to please, no hassles - no worries!
Cons- 1.5hr ride to/from Montego Bay, remote, restaurant is slow - but so are all the restaurants. Occasionally, the bar across the street plays music so loud that you mostly hear the bass sound - boom, boom, boom, It gave most of us a headache. Lucky my cottage was right next to the cliff with the crashing waves, so it muted the sound - a bit. If the ocean is active, swimming in the private lagoon is kind of dangerous. Not recommended for kids because there is no beach. Don't go swimming unless you are a good swimmer. Sometimes the resorts dogs will bark in the middle of the night (they should be kelp inside overnight).
Maybe the resort should sell earplugs in the gift shop - hehe.

One of my favorites places I have ever stayed and I will definitely go back. I only gave the rating 4 out of 5 because of the music across the street. But honestly, it is Jamaica and anywhere else on the island, it will be just as bad - if not worst.

Room Tip: All are good choices. Some units have no AC. Some are next to the cliffs where the waves crashing o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I have been to Negril several times. We've always stayed on 7 Mile beach at the all inclusives, but wanted to try the cliffs and "get out more".

The room was much more beautiful than the pictures - which is remarkable! We stayed in Rock Cottage 1 facing the ocean. We could lie in bed and watch/hear the waves. We were a bit concerned that the room would not have air conditioning, but the cottage was ventilated so well that we had a continuous ocean breeze. It was perfect.

The staff at Tensing Pen was fantastic. The morning crew greeted us daily as though we were family. Mikey made sure we had snorkel gear and new what was available - and he is ALWAYS smiling, a wonderful guy. Our housekeeper Ruth was delightful and kept our room clean and stocked. The owners were warm and friendly. The pups (Rhodesian Ridgebacks) kept us company and are loving and well behaved. Such a treat when you are away from home and your own four legged family.

The food was delicious (the lobster here was the best we had on the island), and the Chick Pea Roti is out of this world! Everything was fresh and delicious.

The property has a generous amount of private areas to dive, sun bathe, and swim. And every day between 3:45 and 4:15, a school of dolphins swim by - don't miss the dolphins!

We will most definitely return to Tensing Pen. Weeks later, I am still feeling the benefits of this wonderfully relaxing week.

Room Tip: Although we LOVED Rock Cottage 1, we will probably try Rock Cottage 2 next time. It has air-conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was, hands down, the BEST vacation i've ever had! The resort is gorgeous, never a dull moment to be concerned about. I was at peace and filled with laughter, great food and exquisite service by the Tensing Pen team.

Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I had a chance to visit all of the rooms since i was apart of a wedding that was renting the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I truly miss the staff, the guests we met, Negril. We felt at home right away with the staff. We would wake up every morning and go to breakfast and get to see the same familiar faces starting their day. It truly, to me, felt like a little family with the guests and staff.

It is true there is not much at breakfast. Some fruit, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, tea, bread for toast, jams, peanut butter. It would be nice to have some muffins etc.

RAZOR ( aka) Sheldon, is by far the most entertaining, kind, funny bartender for me ever. My husband and I would just laugh and laugh sitting at the bar with him.

It is perfectly fine to leave the resort. We walked up and down West End Drive never with any issues. There is a cab every sec so it’s easy if you get tired or nervous to jump in one. We never asked the resort to call a cab there is just so many out there already, waiting.

We even walked at night back and forth to Ivan’s with no issues, at a faster pace, but with no issues. Any further I probably would not do at night.

We stayed in South House I and it is the nosier side of the resort as far as we could tell. Some other rooms might be best on the opposite side of the resort. The neighbor’s dogs, in the private house next door do bark ALL night most nights. We never complained just FYI. We usually ran the air at night and some nights used the sleep machine app on our Iphone to drown them out.

The food was hit and miss, some nights we would order the same as previous and it would not be as good as the first time, but all in all really good.

I would book here a million times over. There are a ton of private spots to be alone and relax and lay in the sun. YES you must jump off the bridge, everyone does!
Book it you will not regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tensing Pen Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tensing Pen Resort

Address: West End Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#7 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tensing Pen Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the West End of Negril, Jamaica in its own private cove, Tensing Pen is the ultimate destination for the discerning traveler offering a unique collection of beautiful hand-carved wood, thatch and cut stone cottages of varying sizes for the ultimate secluded and relaxing vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tensing Pen Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tensing Pen Hotel Negril
Tensing Pen Negril
Tensing Pen Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tensing Pen Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.