We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation at CocoLaPalm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CocoLaPalm Resort to your Saves list
CocoLaPalm Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation at CocoLaPalm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This was our first time in Jamaica and at CocoLaPalm...we will definitely return here again. We stayed here for 1 week in early January and stayed in a deluxe room. The room is a bit older, but decent, spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We received free continental breakfasts (coffee, fruit, pastries), which were very good. If we didn't want the free continental breakfast, we got a $6.50 voucher to apply to a hot breakfast. We ate lunch at the beach bar and dinner at the restaurant, but the food was not very good. We ate all our lunches and dinners at other restaurants along 7-mile beach. We walked the entire length of 7-mile beach and felt that Coco had the best beach and water. Coco's beach is long and wide, with plenty of lounge beds and shade if you need it; and the water was very clear and clean (no sea weed or debris). We also loved the laid-back atmosphere of this hotel and met many repeat visitors to this hotel. The beach vendors were friendly and never a problem for us....everyday, we bought pineapples and papayas from an older Jamaican woman...she was wonderful. Coco does have a security guard on the beach -- he was wonderful but the security wasn't necessary during the day because the beach vendors aren't aggressive. We were so sad to leave Coco and Negril...and have decided to come back every year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    294
    69
    24
    13
See reviews for
105
356
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The resort is in a great location. We weren't expecting the free continental breakfast so that was a pleasant surprise. Best part of the resort is the beach, lots of shade, lots of lounge chairs, free use of floating air mattresses. Security was ample and kept good tabs on the goings on. Great mix of travellers, grandparents and grandkids, young families, young adults... suitable for anyone except those looking for wild nightlife! Used the taxi service available through the resort - no complaints. Hi-Lo for groceries seemed overpriced, ask first about extra fees if using your credit card. Not a problem using USD at most places.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I loved this resort. The rooms were simple, but great. The food was really good at the restaurant at the resort. The location was excellent. If you didn't want to eat at the resort, you could walk down to a lot of different restaurants. It was the off season, so food was a little slow, but once we realized that it was fine. Don't go to a restaurant when you're starving; the wait could be over an hour at some places. The staff was super friendly and helpful. This is a great resort if you want to sit on the beach all day and relax. I would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

This was my first time at CCLP and it probably won't be my last. Everything was wonderful from the staff to the location on the beach. We used our breakfast vouchers every morning. Breakfast was delicious. We ate dinner at CCLP a few times. I thoroughly enjoyed the seafood in coconut milk. All of the staff was so friendly and I felt like I had been coming there for years. The nightly entertainment was so much fun. I laughed quite a lot. I would have to say my favorite part of CCLP was the beach. It was relaxing and spacious. I really took advantage of the floats they offered. Security was very good about keeping the hagglers away. Due to a snow storm in the northeast we decided to stay an extra night in Negril and the staff was very helpful in helping us to arrange another night there. I was sad to leave Coco. They did make my vacation a great one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

This was our second stay at Coco la Palm. Our first stay at “Coco” was in April 2010 after a stay at Beaches in January 2010. Mom, Dad and seven year old daughter arrived October 27 to take advantage of the special “Halloween Rates” that where in effect until November 1 as well as some very favorable airfares on Westjet.

Once again Coco La Palm more than exceeded our expectations. Situated in the middle of Seven Mile beach, you have the freedom for long beach walks towards the town of Negril or towards the big resorts and the deserted public beach area.

Our Junior Suite provided more than enough space, with a huge walk-in shower, plenty of clothes storage space, comfortable king bed, in room safe, free wireless internet, air conditioning, ceiling fan, wet bar with mini fridge and a large outdoor balcony.

Both the Seaside Restaurant and the Beach Bar and Grill served great food. We ate breakfast every day at the Seaside Restaurant and lunched mostly at the Beach Bar and Grill. The Chef’s Salad is delicious. We would wander out for dinner to many of the local eateries on the beach.

We hired a cab on our second day to purchase provisions at the Hi-Lo Grocery Store in Negril. Transportation $10; Red Stripe Beer, local papayas, bananas, mangos, avocados, Appleton Rum and Ting; priceless.

The resort was holding its annual Halloween Party and it was a blast. For three days, we started with the morning Trivia contest. Each day we competed in either, ocean volleyball, beer chugging, ( Red Stripe of course ) patty eating, tug of war, Jamaican dance off, sand castle building, Bocce Nut tournament ( Coconut throwing at a target in the sand ), Water Balloon toss, scavenger hunt and of course the daily Happy Hour.

The Competition culminated in the awards ceremony, points for participation and points for winning an event, and a dinner and show put on by the staff. The show was great and it was put on exclusively by the staff. There were no hired outside contractors, only employees who truly cared about our Jamaican Experience at this resort. This caring was consistent with our first experience back in April.

Thanks to everyone; Carlene, Sheri Anne, Opal, Richard, Chester, Michelle, Steve, Barb (Sand Castle Queen) and of course “Cave Man” John as well as all the others who made our stay so unforgettable.

If you want to take a little Jamaica home, visit Donovan. He carves exceptional pieces of wood art just out side the Beach Bar Grill at Coco La Palm. Watching him turn a piece of wood into beautiful objects is an experience not to be missed. If you have something in mind he will custom carve it for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

This is my 2nd trip to Negril. After reading reviews decided to go because of the partying claimed in earlier reviews. Stayed for 4 nights. Saw NO partying. had to go off grounds for that and there was a different place happening each night. Last night was a Friday beach party night cancelled due to rain.
Clean rooms. Good Air conditioning. Staff great and friendly. Breakfast good. Wore water shoes because of the hookworm reviews. One night left door open for 3 min to step outside for something. Came back in and something black jetted from under bed. It was a kitten. Not too happy about that, but didn't kill us.

Resort seemed very quiet and a lot of elderly couples. Nice poolside to hang out. Big ups to Charlton who kept us entertained. Also nice relaxing Jacuzzi. Also Leon who made sure anything that needed fixing was fixed. There was another handsome young man that seemed to have many jobs including Bell Hop who was also very helpful.

When leaving at night, security took inventory, asking room numbers. I suppose it was to make sure we come back. Doubt if they would really send a search party...hahaha.

Very nice room cleaning lady.

As far as peddlers..seemed no different than any other sales person trying to sell their wares. I am from the states and have been into sales. I would have been pushier. What do people expect when someone has goods for sale. Not one person on the beach offered us drugs and we ranged from young to young at heart.

Used a cab driver named Romaine..very accomodating and reasonably priced.

Would stay at Coco again. I stayed at the cliffside in the past and may do that again instead should I go again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

I had a good time and the resort is nice and scenic . I enjoyed my stay and I might even go back but I need to say it my 23 year old son got hookworm like another reviewer did. It's treatable and not the end of the world but ICK!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#16 Family Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CocoLaPalm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.