We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at Cocolaplam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added CocoLaPalm Resort to your Saves list
CocoLaPalm Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at Cocolaplam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We visited Cocolapalm for the first time last June. Overall, we had a great time. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The Junior Suite was perfect for our family of four. A very large room w/two queen beds, table w/four chairs, sink, refrigerator, flat screen TV, large bathroom w/double sinks, and a HUGE shower with a shower head on either side. We were on the second floor which provided a great deal of privacy. We had requested a room away from the road prior to our visit, but were placed pretty close to the road. They offered to move us after two days, but we opted to stay. We could hear some car honks, and motorcycles the first day, but by the second day it didn’t bother us.

The hotel was not at full capacity so the beach and restaurant were never crowded. Shirley, who was usually our waiter, always took great care of us. We had breakfast vouchers and tried several things on the menu such as the pancakes, French toast, and ackee and saltfish. The majority of the items were just OK, but we loved the banana bread (and I don’t even like bananas)! We would venture out for lunch or dinner and had a few great lunches, at great prices next door at Chill Awhile. They also had awesome frozen fruit punch!

Coco had a great expanse of beach and excellent security. We all loved going from the beach to the pool all day long. We often had the pool to ourselves due to the light occupancy! Due to it being “low season”, we did not encounter many beach vendors at all. I actually wished there were a few more.

Cocolapalm has beautiful greenery and flowers, and is very clean. It’s a great intimate, laid back, safe and affordable place to stay. We will definitely be back!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    295
    69
    24
    13
See reviews for
105
357
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We avoid AI's, and this was a perfect easy alternative. Lovely beach front suite (Honeymoon) with HUGE bath, beautiful room & nice 2nd floor deck. Good restaurant on site, fun beach bar/grill. Free room service. Great staff! Pools are clean, including large, secluded hot tub. Best section of 7-mile beach - perfect sand & turquoise water - I want to go back NOW!

Room Tip: Definitely suites or jr. suites, beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Coco La Palm seems to have a cult like following of repeat customers and I'm not sure why. We just returned from a week at Coco with 2 other couples. This was the 4th trip for 1 pair and the 2nd for the other. Most of the people we met at the resort were repeats. This was our first trip to Negril so we have nothing to compare our experience to.

The Pros:
One of the best beach fronts on the 7 mile.
Good security. Vendors are allowed up to you only if you motion them to approach.
Courteous, friendly staff.
Mostly a boomer crowd, pretty laid back and quieted down fairly early at night.

The Cons:
Rooms are clean, but old and rather dreary. Could really use some work.
Overpriced for a non inclusive in my opinion.
The hot water is never more than tepid in your room. The 2 couples with us had no water pressure in their 2nd floor rooms for 2 days.
Service at the bar and restaurant are slow. Service at the grill is terribly slow. Food is average.
"Island time" somehow seems to justify poor service everywhere in Negril.
Wi Fi did not work for the first 3 days.
The advertised ARRP discount only applies if you book directly through the hotel.
All in all not bad, certainly not great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Trying to figure out where we want to stay this time when we go back home to Jamaica. Several years ago we stayed at CoCo La Palm and were considering them for this upcoming trip. The location of the hotel is great, the rooms very clean and basic but nice. The only reason we hadn't returned before this is because when we were there we were not made welcome. Reception at check in was cold, even when we tried to make conversation we were given the feeling of not being one of their regulars.

The room we had selected was huge. Actually too large for the two of us. One day when a maid was cleaning we asked her if we could see some of the other rooms. She was very helpful and indeed showed us several rooms. We went to the front desk and asked if we could be moved to a smaller room. Even though the smaller rooms cost less than the one we paid for we didn't care about that, we were just uncomfortabe in the room we were in. The room we booked and were staying in was large enough for a family or two couples. You would have thought we asked to be moved to the Ritz Carlton at their expense. By the way, the resort was empty. Maybe five other rooms were occuped.

Why are we writting now? Because we just read a recent review from CollenTuscany and it sounds like things haven't changed. If you aren't a regular - don't bother with this place. There are too many other great places to try.

By the way CoCo La Palm, the only way you can make guests repeaters is if you make them feel welcome the first time they are there. Maybe you are happy with groups and don't need guests during slower periods.

Thank you Colleen for your Trip Advisor review. You saved us from returning to CoCo La Palm.

Room Tip: Pick the right room at booking or you won't get moved - The front desk has proven to be UNHELPFU...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for 9 days the grounds were beautiful and the rooms clean and nice the restaurant staff were super nice and the food was quite good. The beach was the best part lots of lounge chairs and lots of room with a nice beach bar. The staff however in the office were not helpful . Our room was facing the back and on the other side of the fence was a constructiion site which had us waking up each morning at 7:00 with saws and hammering and the noise from road trafic was horrible when we complained they said they had nowhere to move us yet there seemed to be lots of empty rooms. We felt it was a bit overpriced for what you got and would not likely stay at again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here from January 5-12 and can't say enough good things about the CocoLaPalm. First off, the location can't be beat. It was great to walk out of the room and be right on 7 Mile Beach. The CocoLaPalm has one of the biggest and best beachfront areas, with plenty of beach chairs for guests. Security does a great job at keeping unwanted vendors and criminals at bay so that you can actually enjoy your time relaxing on the beach. The beachfront bar serves affordable (and strong)drinks and good food. Be sure to try the jerk chicken, which was delicious.

The staff -- from the housekeepers, to the gardeners, to the waiters and bartenders --were excellent. They always said hi and made sure we were enjoying our stay, and by the end of the week, we knew most of them by name. (Shout out to Beverly, our favorite housekeeper). There's a homey feeling to the place and I can see why some people visit year after year.

If you are looking for a small, intimate, no frills resort on the beach, I'd highly recommend the CocoLaPalm. With clean rooms, two nice pool areas (one for adults only), two good restaurants, and a great beachfront, it's one of the best spots on 7 Mile Beach. IMO, there's no need to do an all-inclusive resort in Negril since there are plenty of nearby affordable restaurants and bars, plus beach vendors selling patties, fresh fruit and juices. (i.e., Breakfast at CoCoLaPalm, Jerk chicken at Best of the West, Snapper at Sun Beach, chicken patties at Niah's, fruit on the beach) At the CoCoLaPalm, you're right in the middle of everything Negril has to offer. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front - the road noise and generator can be too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

What we did not know about CocoLaPalm is that it has a strong following from "back then" - visitors who return year after year; mainly Minnesotans and Midwesterners. Now before I get wacked, I am a midwesterner; grew up in Iowa and have family that live in MN. Midwesteners are good people. But more on that later. And for good reason. The hotel property has been beautifully maintained, staff friendliness is outstanding, and it's clear the owners have tried to stay up with the times. However, the long standing returnees can become a bit much and can be very loud. It's definitely a clique with its own tribal customs. Smoking is one of those customs. It's been a long while that I have seen so many Americans smoking in one place. I don't mind who chooses to smoke, but on the beach it begins to become difficult to escape smokers. Sure you can move after you have settled into a shady spot, but most likely that will be into the sun.

The breakfast was a delight every morning; the dinner menu is fine and somewhat pricey but lots of other dining options are available and I would recommend checking those out.

I also would recommend booking a deluxe room for not much more $ as the standard rooms (which we were in for most of our stay) can be a tad dark and not as comfortable. Not a huge problem as we were also out and about. Also, if the room is not acceptable (of which there were a few of those rooms by the road and also by a generator) the staff is extraordinary in accommodating request to be more comfortable.

If you like a beautiful beach this is as good a place as any.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CocoLaPalm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.