We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort and location on the 7 mile Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CocoLaPalm Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added CocoLaPalm Resort to your Saves list
CocoLaPalm Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Eskasoni
1 review
“Beautiful resort and location on the 7 mile Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

The year before my wife and I stayed at an all inclusive in Jamaica. This year we wanted to be a little more adventurous and stay at a small hotel along the 7 mile beach. We did not regret it nor did our friends. When we travel we look for a place that is safe, clean, affordable and comfortable. CocoLaPalm more than met our needs. The security was excellent, the beach was beautiful, the staff were very friendly. The rooms were modest but very clean and in good shape. By 10 pm the resort gets quiet.We got a great deal booking our flights and rooms separately. The hotel restaurant was good but there also many other options close by at reasonable prices.The vendors along the beach can be annoying but you get used of them and a friendly no works pretty good. Overall I highly recommend CocoLaPalm.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to Jr. Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    269
    61
    21
    13
See reviews for
96
314
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Just returned from a fabulous 4-night stay at Coco La Palm! Everything previous reviewers have said about the great staff, beautiful grounds and property is correct. This hotel truly is on the best part of 7 mile beach. The security guards, Neil and Bernie, did a great job of keeping the hawkers at bay. If you are interested in whatever is being sold (snorkeling, parasailing, food, etc.) it is no problem, but if you don’t want anything, a simple “No thanks” is all you need to say and the guards make sure they move on. Don’t miss the patty man on his bike – the shrimp patties were our favorite! We went snorkeling with Captain Kirk; his boat is right there and he will take you out to the reef for a couple of hours. Make sure to negotiate a price first and don’t hesitate to ask the security guards if you want their input on prices for any excursion. Captain Kirk’s boat isn’t anything fancy, and the snorkeling gear wasn’t great, but we had a fun few hours on the water and saw some cool fish.

The four of us had a second floor two-bedroom suite that had a small living area with a full-size refrigerator & microwave. The bedrooms were on opposite sides of the living room with separate entrances from the outside. We got the suite thinking that we would use the living area but never did because there were tables outside on the balcony where we would hang out. Only time we ever went into the kitchen area was to use the fridge. Next time we will just get separate rooms so we can be in the newer section of the hotel. Our rooms were fine; nothing fancy but the air conditioners worked well and the showers had good pressure with hot water. When you check in, you have the option of paying a cash deposit for the safe key & TV remote ($25 each). We got both but never even turned on the TV (who wants TV when the beach is right there?!). No problems getting the deposit back upon check out. You are given towel cards to exchange for your beach towels each day. Make sure you have them at check out to avoid any possible penalties. We had ours so I don’t know what they would do if you didn’t turn one in. Steve is the lifeguard and took care of us each day with our lounge chairs, tables and towels. (If you want a table for the beach, they are located in the towel hut and you just have to ask for them!)

For meals, we ate our breakfasts at the hotel and used our vouchers toward the cost. I highly recommend the banana pancakes and the scrambled eggs with ham & coconut! As others have said, the wait for meals is SO long – even when you order right away. I don’t know why it takes so long just to get a cup of coffee, but it does so just be prepared! Lunches were sometimes patties on the beach or we went across the street to Best of the West. Great food over there! We tried Chill Awhile, the restaurant next door, at the recommendation of a couple of people. Sorry to say, but we were all highly disappointed in our meals. Service was even slower than Coco and they weren’t busy at all. I got the jerk chicken and it was really just a barbecued chicken with sauce. Not what I was expecting at all. Expensive and bland meal, which is too bad because the place is nice and has a great atmosphere. For dinner one night, we went to Ivan’s Restaurant on the cliffs. It is on Catcha Falling Star’s property and we loved it! We made reservations but probably didn’t need to. The place filled up after sunset, but we got there in time to have a drink & watch the sunset. Food was great and I highly recommend it. Also enjoyed meals at Country Country and Kuyoba. Kuyoba was probably the best dinner place for all four of us loving our meals. Would definitely go back to all three of them.

We brought a collapsible cooler with us to take out on the beach with our drinks for the day. We stopped at a store on the way from the airport to pick up Red Stripe for our room. If we ran out or wanted something different, we always went to the For Real bar next door. Can’t beat $150J Red Stripes! Maureen, the bartender, was there every day and she was great. Sometimes we went by just to see her & hang out. :)

A note about the hawkers along the beach: If someone asks you to buy something or take an excursion and you aren’t interested, don’t tell them to come back another time if you don’t mean it! They WILL remember, and they WILL come back and say, “You told me to come back”. Just be honest and polite from the start. Definitely don’t promise you will do something later if you have no intention of it. Remember, these people are trying to make a living, and while it may seem annoying to you that they go up and down the beach all day, it is what they do.

One thing I want to stress is that we always make it a point to ask the name of the person we are talking to – be it the wait staff, housekeeping, bartender, security guard, etc. When you are friendly with someone and are polite, you get that back ten-fold more often than not. The staff at Coco would go out of their way to do nice things for us; they remembered OUR names, what we liked to drink, where we liked our lounge chairs and little things we told them in conversation. We met so many wonderful people on our trip – both locals and other travelers. Take the time to smile and say hi to people – you will be glad you did. :)

We are already thinking about our next trip to Negril and we will definitely stay at Coco La Palm again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My family and I stayed 4 wonderful nights and we all raved about the wonderful hotel and caring staff. We booked using hotels.com and were able to get a 'web special' of $126/nt. for a Jr. Suite! What a deal! Beautiful room ( coffee maker, flat screen Satelite TV, huge bathroom, in-room safe! ) exquisite amenities (wifi, two great pools, one huge hot tub and Breakfast included!). The staff were very accommodating with extra towels. The grounds were kept in pristine condition and the security at the front gate and along the beach provided us with peace of mind.
We travel quite extensively and rarely find accommodation at this price with all the benefits. Well done and we look forward coming back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This is a nice hotel in the middle of the 7-mile beach in Negril. It has its own beach which is a great advantage. The location is perfect. The only negative thing was small ants in my room, not in my friends' one. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILWAUKEE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

we spent 7 days at the cocolapalm and were very satisfied with the resort as well as
there food and service. the best part is the beach and the water. if you like to walk the beach this is the best.lots of shops and resturants along the 7 miles of white sand beach. the vendors are for the most part very friendly.we bought fruit,coffee and many
different items from them.all and all it was a great vacation and a very nice resort you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calvert county
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

upon entering hotel noticed the beautiful plants that they maintain daily entered office to friendly welcoming faces which was consistent 4 the duration of trip regardless of who was working front desk got keys went to room tiled floor no carpet clean and bigger than avg standard room w a wall safe free coffee got a lukewarm shower and went to beach vendors r all over u bcause ur new fresh meat 10 vendors 1st 5 mins security will help chase them off hotel has large private beach went to outdoor bar 2 drinks 10 bucks in lil clear plastic cups 5 to 7 hh 2 for 1 at bar nxt 2 restraunt ate dinner the seafood in the bowl was very tasty vegs fresh while eating service a bit slooow they call it jamaica time i call it slow waitress dont hav 2 b friendly or attentive they hav a tip added into bill automatically very hard 2 get a cup of ice cats were running around under our table and laying on floor nxt 2 us had 2 b careful not to step on them good live music 2 days out of week i was there breakfast included continental can upgraded tho will bring to ur room if u call cab stand across the street and jerk stand to many cats im not a cat person tho overall alot of bang 4 the buck goodtimes things to fix paint is peeling paint room faster food service get rid of service fee make the waitress consistently work 4 their tips smiling or even getting s1 a cup of ice and dont get the impression waitress were terrible they werent they just werent very good no pride in their work like front office ladys or security or the cleanup folks

Room Tip: get a room upstairs and as far away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

After much time reading reviews on resorts in Negril, my husband and I booked with CCLP. Location, price and swimming pools were the reason we went with CCLP. The room was satisfactory(no bugs, OK bed, good AC and plenty of hot water and pressure) and Carol did a nice job cleaning everyday. The availability of towels, chairs and tables at the beach was good. Neil and Andrew were professional at keeping the resort safe and the vendors at bay and Michele was good at quenching our thirst from behind the bar. Kedora and Diane made sure we got good service at breakfast-never waited long at all. The front desk was charming and helpful from check in to check out. We found the massages given at CCLP were among the best we've ever received!
The blend of sun and shade on the beach is unique to CCLP and the location is the best on the 7 mile beach. It's tough when the hardest decision you have to make all day is which direction you are going to walk and and which beach bar gets your $. Aside from the quality of CCLP, Niah's patties is a must at lunch(5 minute walk south), fruit from Rose(5minute walk north), dinner at Kuyaba(the best we had) and Mike's Glass Bottom boat was professional and friendly(1 trip snorkeling and 1 trip to view the Cliffs).
Never did we feel unsafe in Negril, common sense is all you need. We found the vendors fun to deal with and a relationship is established after passing each other for a few days. We would stop and talk with them and the connection made goes a long way. Most remember you and they will say hi and not bug you. Others need a polite "no,I'm good mon". Respect.
If we are ever blessed with another trip to Jamaica, we would not hesitate to go to Negril. In Negril we would not hesitate to book with CCLP.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to CocoLaPalm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CocoLaPalm Resort

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#20 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#25 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CocoLaPalm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your CocoLaPalm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocolapalm Hotel Negril
Cocolapalm Resort Negril
Coco La Palm Resort
Coco Palm Negril
Coco La Palm Jamaica
Coco La Palm Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CocoLaPalm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.