We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackie's on the Reef

Save Saved
You added Jackie's on the Reef to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Jackie's on the Reef
3.0 of 5 Spa   |   West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 91 hotels in Negril
Benicia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“My Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I chose to spend my 60th birthday at Jackie's with four close friends and it was a perfect birthday gift for me. Jackie's is the perfect getaway for those who want,and need, to get away from hectic homes or stressful work environments. Jackie's is a quiet spa with outstanding treatments and excellent food. Each day begins with Jamaican coffee, or tea followed by an awesome yoga session with the Caribbean Sea in the background. The remaining day is spent either having one of the excellent treatments, or spending time napping, reading or just enjoying the scenery. My favorite treatment is the body scrub, a fabulous experience. This is an excellent spa for those who want reconnect to themselves, those who are able to disconnect from the world since there are no phones (except for emergency) no TV's, and no Internet. This is just a beautiful spa for people to truly enjoy a relaxing retreat. The rates are excellent since they include breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    14
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
18
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had the most amazing experience at Jackie's on the Reef. It is simply magical!. You are immersed in a sacred, beautiful sanctuary that nurtures your body and soul. We would start the day with an excellent yoga class, have a delicious breakfast on the veranda overlooking the ocean with fresh , local organic food, including fabulous juice mixtures. Every meal was sublime.

There is an ocean fed Jacuzzi style pool, where you can let the ocean bathe you. There is circle of stones that you can lay inside of, and feel the protection and communjon with the earth.

It is an ideal spot for a quiet getaway, for relfection, journaling, reveling in the raw beauty of nature. Jackie is a most gracious hostess. To me she is a high p[riestess as well!.

Room Tip: I think the room was called the geodesic dome, awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackies R, General Manager at Jackie's on the Reef, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive experience and detailed observations of Jackie’s on the Reef on Trip Advisor. Many travelers will find your observations very helpful. I am glad that you had a great stay at Jackie’s and I look forward to your visits in the future.
Blessings,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After a rough year, I need a moment to recharge and refocus and decided solo travel would provide that. Have always loved Jamaica, Negril, in particular, so I began looking for places that would offer the solitude and serenity I needed. Seven-Mile Beach is beautiful, but I had no desire to be among the masses. I found Jackie's thanks to Travel & Leisure, did some research and booked 5 days at the property.
It was the best thing I've done for myself in ages.
Here's the thing about Jackie's: there is no pretense. It is exactly as it bills itself, a serene escape. The food is fantastic!!!The staff is lovely; the spa treatments divine. And, Jackie herself is a gem among women. But truly the value of the place is its vibe. It is a healing place, a place that encourages you to live in the moment.
What Jackie's is not is a spa retreat. The only thing "posh" about the place are the gourmet meals made from locally-grown and organic foods. The plating is worthy of any 4-star spot I've been to. But other than that, it's humble. Simple, functional linens and furniture. Well-worn and sun-faded books. You won't find Bliss products or Frette sheets here.
What you will find is a moment (or two) to breathe.
(And it's so inexpensive!!!!!)

Room Tip: Those seeking solitude should request the cottage or Dome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackies R, Sales at Jackie's on the Reef, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are happy to hear that Jackie’s was the right fit for you. Our goal is to provide serenity, nurturing and relaxation in a simple way. Living in the now and finding that moment or two to breathe, “priceless”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I consider myself an experienced traveler around the world and have been to Jamaica many times over the past years, usually staying in one of the big all-exclusives hotel. I found this great living social deals on the net and was in need of a quickie (4 days of mind cleansing from work). After reading many of the reviews, Jackie’s Spa on the ocean sounded like the right place. OMG this was one of my best trips to Jamaica, waking up to the sounds of the ocean, the food, the massage treatment, Yoga every morning, great conversation and the staff were right on point. Again, thanks to all of you guys for making my vacation one to remember, I’ll return soon. I now understand the reviews describing this guesthouse as a special spiritual location. Justifiably, Jackie’s on the reef is a great place to free and rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. Thank You Jackie and staff for a great time!!!

Room Tip: I loved the front room closed to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackies R, Director of Sales at Jackie's on the Reef, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it’s greatly appreciated. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. Blessings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

It was a true privilege to visit Jackie's on the Reef in April, 2008. I only went for the day but I could have stayed forever. As a Healing Arts Master Teacher I was invited to Jackie's for a tour of the facility and to have lunch with Jackie. In return I gave her the best of my healing session.
If you want electronics, a/c, wifi, cell or computer technology and booming music, then book a room on the 7 mile Beach. If you want to get away from all that; if you have orders from your doctor to de-stress; if you need a true escape from the outside world... Please Stay at Jackie's! Peace and Tranquility are an understatement here. Nothing but the sounds of the ocean and natural wildlife! Strategically placed far from the madding crowd, be prepared to enjoy the remoteness, feed lightly as we should and pay only cash ( no plastic here). Book your massages and facials then REST and Reeee-laaaax! There is time another day for excursions.
The food is all natural, organically home grown and probably the healthiest you will find anywhere. No toxins or pollutants, fresh and deliciously prepared. The accommodations may be spartan or even primitive, but it was all designed this way! This is a TRULY natural SPA RETREAT!!!
Jackie is a very spiritual person with a good bead on our connectivity to All There Is (far from being an evangelist!) and fully grounded in the 3rd Dimension. I felt Well Blessed to spend time in this Garden off the beaten path.

Room Tip: Strategically placed far from the madding crowd, be prepared to enjoy the remoteness, feed lightly a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Such an incredible 3 days spent with and at Jackie's. The moment I walked onto the grounds I felt a sense of calm and tranquility.
The constant sound of waves is something so special and hard to find without the interruption of some other noise. The view is outstanding and although there isn't a diving pool, Jackie has created these natural rock type basins where you can bathe in sea water, relax and feel so connected to nature.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highlight recommend Jackie's to anyone seeking relaxation, rejuvenation and a spiritual environment. Oh and the food is outstanding !! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: If you're a couple absolutely ask to stay in the Dome - it's separated from the rest of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The most tranquil, relaxing, rejuvenating and restfull vacation ever!!!!!! The constant sounds of waves crashing against the cliffs, balmy breezes, delightful day beds in the open air to slumber and or read, hammocks, restorative yoga, meditation, saltwater pool filled naturally by the incoming waves, stellar sunsets, delicious, healthy dinners, fresh fruit and veggie juices, herbal teas,a slew of fantastic outdoor body treatments to detox, calm and uplift the body, mind & spirit, pleasant staff and amazing service, quaint and beautifully simplistic rooms w outdoor yet private bathrooms....... Heaven I tell ya.... Heaven! Jackie is a pillar of all that is sacred and authentic.... A true visionary!!!!!!!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: The Dome is the BOMB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jackie's on the Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackie's on the Reef

Also Known As:
Jackie`s On The Reef Hotel Negril
Jackie`s On The Reef Hotel
Jackies On The Reef Negril
Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Negril
#30 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jackie's on the Reef 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Jackie's on the Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackie's on the Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.