We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YaY SeaSplash!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seasplash Negril

Save Saved
You added Seasplash Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Seasplash Negril
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 91 hotels in Negril
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“YaY SeaSplash!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay in a 2nd floor One Bedroom Suite at SeaSplash yesterday and I'm really glad I stayed; I would stay again and recommend it to others who prefer apartment style living while on vacation as opposed to all-inclusive on big resort.

PROS:
-very friendly/helpful/professional staff
-On 7 mile beach
-has in ground pool/bar/jacuzzi area
-AC/ceiling fans
-Cable TV
-Kitchen with all necessities (plates, pots, pans, silverware etc)
-Super comfy king sized bed
-very clean
-WIFI IN YOUR ROOM
-desktop w/internet in Lobby

CONS
-If you plan to just lay on the beach and tan you may want to walk up/down a little further because the section assigned to SeaSplash is rather small. Pretty much people would step over you while you were laying on that tiny little space allotted to them.
-the pool needed to be cleaned, I could see sand on the bottom and leaf-like items floating around in it. The jacuzzi is pretty much in the bar area so don't plan on any x-rated activities in there
-The AC never got quite cold enough for my taste but the ceiling fans over the bed and the livingroom area made a big difference
-refrigerator and stove could stand to be updated but worked fine, just not aesthetically pleasing. Also the oven didnt have any racks in it? we didnt need to use it but I just thought it was strange
-WIFI worked sometimes, and sometimes didnt. But since it was FREE its really nothing to complain about. Especially when you can stop by the lobby to use the internet. There's only one computer but it seemed I was the only one using it so no problem there
-water pressure, but this problem is not unique to SeaSplash. It seemed to be reaaaaally low late in the night when most ppl are sleeping, not during the day when most ppl would be using it
-no microwave :( I always have leftovers and not being able to reheat some things was such a pain!

Housekeeping makes really cute towel art on the bed with flowers everyday :)

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor suite for sure if you don't want to be crammed into a bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    54
    12
    12
    13
See reviews for
22
60
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Room: One bedroom suite with Garden view #21; king sized bed, loft with single bed, and pull out couch. Full kitchen and seating area, balcony, cathedral ceilings: $105 a night. Two complimentary drinks at check in. Free shuttle to and from the airport and to some nearby restaurants.

Bar: $2 Red Stripes, $3 frozen drink special, very very good Pina Coladas.

Pool: We did not use, but it looked nice. The Jacuzzi is facing the water.

Restaurant: Norma's, fantastic, can't say enough about the curried mussels. The smoked marlin was a perfect breakfast.

We checked in here after a very unpleasant beginning of our vacation at the Negril Treehouse and I cannot say how dramatic the change was even though the movement was just next door. There was wildlife- birds, crickets, crabs, the grounds were so well kept. Everyone was friendly and had a genuine smile on their face. We met the owners who were excited to make recommendations to us for dinner, etc.

Of course, you will get approached over and over again by people selling things on the beach. Just say you are all set. That got to be annoying, but I think that is everywhere except for around the cliffs where it is not so convenient for them to get access to. Nice live music a couple of the nights.

Room Tip: I would suggest towards the back so you are a little distance from the bar. second floor with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

After traveling to Negril over the past 32 years I have stayed at several of the small hotels and villas. My husband and I stayed at Sea Splash in the wonderful front 2nd floor suite that had a great view of the sea the first year they were opened. Since they opened they have always had a wonderful staff and been known for their great food and easy laid back bar. I had a wonderful stay in April this year! While there I understood from many that the last couple years they have gone through some management changes and the property was"tired". Well they are well on their way to getting their "mo-Jo" back:-). They are refurbishing rooms which are very clean with wonderful daily maid service...I was in a jr suite which was spacious, very clean, flat acreen tv, very nice clean bathroom, good reading chair,had a nice size fridge and lovely little patio beautifully surrounded by lush gardens. i am an early riser and Delores my wonderful maid suggested that she bring me a coffee pot so I could make my early morning caffeine "fix". She could not have been more helpful and concerned that I always had what I needed. Which was a theme throughout the entire sea splash staff! The food is wonderful and soups are incredibly delicious...and don't miss their wonderful special tropical drinks (my personal favorite was a splish splash!) their beach was not as wide as it was in years past but all of Negril has seen this condition. Garnet the beach attendent is all about making sure your chair is ready for your wonderful day ahead:-). The one upgrade I would like to see would be some more comfortable lounges...possibly an addition of foam pads on the chairs that could also be used as floats? Keep it up Sea Splash and hope to spend more time with you next year!
KathyK- Chicago

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed at Seasplash for two nights in early February. I was delayed in the U.S. due to plane issues & arrived almost 24 hours late- it was so wonderful to finally "land" in this great spot! The new managers are the best, clearly dedicated to doing everything possible to meet the needs of every guest. I especially enjoyed getting to know Mrs. Marley and commend her on all she has accomplished (with much more in store!). I thought the food was excellent at the restaurant (loved the butterfish!) and the staff there and at the bar were friendly/accommodating. Beach and location are great, and we had fantastic weather! The rooms are being upgraded- our room was comfortable/perfectly adequate for our needs, and anything we requested was immediately supplied. I stayed with two friends who live in-country; it was a great reunion! The loft bedroom added space and made it easy for the three of us to share, and the porch off the living room was really nice/comfortable for reading and conversation. I'd definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Seasplash for 4 nights the beginning of March 2013. The rooms were very nice. The kitchen could have used a few more basic cooking items. The bed was very comfortable. The living/dining area was also comfortable. We really enjoyed the balcony with table and chairs. There were rough seas so that there was no beach at all but the pool deck was a great place to enjoy the sun and be out of the wind. The restaurant was ok, nothing special and the drink prices at the bar were high priced. The staff was great and our maid was very nice and did a great job. We would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Second year staying at Sea Splash and had a seamless experience. The rooms are great--large with a sleeping and bath area that is separate from the living room and kitchen and with nice patios with table and chairs outside of the rooms. Cleaning staff is wonderful and returned our room to a spotless state daily.

With a bar and restaurant on site and a great location along the beach, not much more to ask for!

Only *minor* annoyance was unpredictable (and one day nonexistent) wi-fi signal.

I will return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

New management at SS Mr & Mrs Marley are wonderful people and probably the best pair to bring SS back to the high standards that the SS used to have. Excellent rooms no matter which one you choose. The staff here are great they remember your name every time you walk pass. I really enjoyed our stay here once again the renos look very nice. This is a small resort of 22 rooms all tastefully decorated and looking cris....Location location location is the key along with excellent service and caring for all your needs. Thanks Mrs Marley for all your assistance and big hellos to Sue who is there as I type...... enjoy paradise as we did. Ya mom !!

Room Tip: very quiet and restful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seasplash Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seasplash Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#49 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seasplash Negril 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SeaSplash is a boutique hotel that offers a unique Jamaican experience, located in the heart of Negrils sevemn mile white sand beach. The combination of rooms range from a one bedroom suite, Junior Suites or a standard room. Guests may enjoy the beach, pool and jacuzzi. Normas Restaurant, located on the beach is Negrils only three diamond rated restaurant by AAA in Negril. It offers an eclectic fusion of different nations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Seasplash Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seasplash Negril Hotel Negril
Seasplash Hotel Negril
Seasplash Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seasplash Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.