We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rondel Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rondel Village to your Saves list
Rondel Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I stayed here with my best friend for 3 nights and it was delightful. The value for your money is superb and the whole staff was all so nice and helpful. Easy walk from our room to the beach..and the landscape was so breathtaking.
The guy who sets up the umbrellas and beach chairs oustide the resort recommended to us a person that took us on a sunset boat ride and got a chance to visit the famous Rick's Cafe and saw cliff divers and had a chance to enjoy the food there at the restaurant.
I would definitely come back here again with my husband..love their culture and everyone we met were so friendly and nice..

"Irie"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    135
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
88
150
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ringtown, pa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was my 5th trip to jamaica. I traveled with my husband and 7 year old daughter. We traveled during the rainy season, so things were a little slow in negril overall which is fine by me. However the sales people on the beach are much needier and much pushier than usual.

The hotel was a quick check in. I am used to be given somewhat of a tour or information from the person who takes the bags to the room, but this time we got nothing. I wouldnt have known there was another pool if I had not read about the place before traveling. The room was nice and spacious we were in the tangerine. I wished we could have had more window light but all the windows had dark curtains on them that let know light in. Being in such a beautiful place I would have loved more natural light. We were a short walk to the beach and even shorter walk to the pool which was great. The grounds are very nice and lush and I enjoyed walking through the property.

Security did a great a job. They always watched our stuff and when it rained they even moved our stuff under an umbrella while we stayed in the ocean. Bar staff was friendly and made good drinks. Our first maid did a great job. However for day 4-7 we never got a new dish towel in the kitchen which kind of sucked. Pools were clean and since the resort was not full we often had them to ourselves. Biggest complaint was the night club on saturday which began at 8pm (OK) and went until 4am (not OK!). Our daughter slept on the couch in our room because the noise was less in there.

Location was pretty good right on 7 mile beach. The mall was less than half a mile which was great, we walked there and got beeped at and asked if we wanted a taxi around 35 times. So we took a taxi back. Overall the resort was well kept, staff was nice and I think the price was fair. However I did miss the luxury of an all inclusive. Having to search for food or wait for dinner for over an hour is not great when you are in vacation mode. Because of how blatant all the people on the beach were asking for money and begging for food, I will more than likely not be returning to negril though. Also I would think the hotel should have some kind of store or mini mart to sell stuff, like shampoo, razors, rum, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms on beach side are much quieter and closer to the ocean and bar/restaurant. The villas also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We spent the fourth of July week at Rondel and had an amazing time as usual..AWESOME FOOD...SERVICE..AND DRINKS thanks to Delroy , Jaime, Rachel, Chauntel, and Andrew!!!! The best staff ever and safe as always !!! As usual, we will be back !!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My stay at Rondel Village was in July 2014. Our group was a party of 15 people, 5 couples and 5 singles. We requested to stay on the same side of the street on the beach side and they ended up putting 2 couples on the other side. Considering that we were a big group we really thought they would work with us and accommodate us in this matter but no they didn't budge. The manager said they had to pay an extra fee. Nobody wanted to pay more so they stayed on the other side. The rooms were exactly the same but it was a hassle having to cross the street that was busy with traffic coming the opposite way. Overall the stay was pleasant. The beach restaurant and bar were good and fairly priced. The lobby did not have any information regarding tours or excursions and the front desk person was not willing to help. For the most part we got our information from the security guard that was very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less outside noise but keep in mind there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at Rondel Village in July, 2014. I travel weekly for work and frequently one or another member of my family accompanies me. As “road warriors” we tend to look for several things – cleanliness, accommodating attitude, reasonable pricing.

Lobby/Public Rooms: The lobby and public rooms of the Rondel Village were welcoming, clean, orderly and spacious. The lobby has an internet room adjacent, but we did not use it.

Grounds/Security/Parking – We were impressed at the security and parking was ample. It was a bit strange that one of our rooms was located on the other side of the road and the kids had to cross the road to get to the villa, not something that ws made clear when we booked.

Front Desk – Rondel Village still utilizes the paper folio and you have to request it at check out. A Wi-Fi fee of 5.00 per day and safe rental fee of 5.00 per day seems a bit gouging. Charges were correct, so the whole process is just the way we like it – no hassle. We found the service at the front desk courteous and helpful, but were flabbergasted that they wanted us to sign a blank credit card slip imprinted with our number (tantamount to signing a “blank check”) in this day and age of security breaches and privacy concerns. We politely refused and the clerk advised that they would charge an additional $100.00 fee for “incidentals”. They never did charge this fee, band after paying the whole $2,700.00 charge for a two-room villa up front, We thought this was a bit much. We have no problem leaving a credit card on file, but a blank slip is a blatant invitation for trouble. Bear in mind that that these are, after all, ‘Mom & Pop” beach hotels, not the major chains with huge cash flow and credit lines that we’re used to in the state, hence they are understandably more cautious. They are reasonable about this and will work with you to make you comfortable. One caveat - We called and asked the clerk for a recomenadation for a pizza place and she told us to look it up on the internet! When we pressed her, we were told she did not know – she was new to the area and the job. I’d expect that there would be some reference material in the room or at least at the front desk–nothing. And a clerk who was so unhelpful, leaving us to figure it out on our own was not appreciated.

Room Service/Food – There is no room service, however we did use the beach restaurant. We found the wait staff attentive and accommodating. We ordered lunch for three and it was the best service we received in our entire stay in Jamaica. We chose to leave 20% gratuity. Lunch for three was 54.00 USD – reasonable considering its Negril and we had 1 breakfast and 2 lunch entrees.

Atmosphere – we found the staffs amiable and constantly offering assistance. Throughout the stay, service was prompt and non-intrusive.

Bell Staff/Valet/Security – Very helpful with transportation, directions, getting ice and luggage. Each guest gets a green armband which clashed with all my outfits, but we liked the idea they are so watchful and security conscious.

Villa: We rented a one bedroom villa on the beach located with a garden view close to the pool. The location was steps from the beach, quiet and we liked that we could keep an eye on the girls while they swam during our dinner preparation.
A. Main room: We found the living room/kitchen area to be clean and spacious, especially if you move your dining table out to the porch. We opted to bring ours in after 2 days since we could use it for our laptop when not eating meals. Also, it was a bit tight on the porch with the table for 4 people and on humid days it was unbearable to eat out there. We were mystified that there was no desk for laptop use in the living room area and that the living room furniture was upholstered in plastic since it’s hot and you tend to stick to it. The floors are tile, the porch and steps as well - very slippery when wet, which they frequently were from the pool and frequent cleaning. We finally just asked for towels to be left outside several days which saved us slipping and sliding part of the time.
B. Kitchen: The kitchen part of the villa was disappointing, considering that we paid so much money because we wanted to be able to cook meals. It was “lacking the rudimentary necessities for cooking” to put it nicely. Kitchen pots and pans were something I’d pitch in the trash – Teflon coating scraped off the bottom of the one medium pan (clearly they have not learned that Teflon scratched and peeling is a health hazard) loose handle on the small pot we used to heat hot water. Our maid did take the largest pan out to be scrubbed up, but it was not a great pan to start with so cooking was a hardship. One cabinet for dish storage left you with no place to store food. We left some food on the countertop out of necessity the first night, but the next morning there was a suspicious bite out of the spiced bread. So we spent time washing the shelves, moving the plates and replacing them with our food. The kitchen space is large enough that it can accommodate a separate cabinet on the wall for food storage, so it seems parsimonious that there’s nothing to store food, so your counter space is crowded with food stored and in the way when trying to prepare a meal all week long. Since we removed the plates and put in the food, we had to wash every plate before and after we used it, which was an unnecessary hassle – we were religious about cleaning up after every meal because we did not want to attract any more visitors. The blender and toaster oven were filthy, so we had to give them a good scrub and both were obviously worn past efficacy. The pitcher was nicked and looked dirty –when we asked for another one, we got an ice bucket!! We tended to eat out as the days went on more and more since there was not an adequate kitchen. The refrigerator was small for food for 4 people staying ten days and this necessitated us having to make multiple trips to the market, wasting precious vacation time grocery shopping. Next time we’ll buy paper plates, prepared food, bring a cooler, and skip renting the villa to get the kitchen and save 800.00.
C. Bedroom: The closet was ample, and a separate closet for luggage storage and ironing board was great. We found that room to be generally well kept – again tile floors were slippery when wet so we resorted to covering them with towels as we used them each day, Runners next to the bed were adequate. The king bed was very comfortable. There were no down/feather pillows, which we prefer, but we bought two at Basho. There are plenty of plugs conveniently accessible for all our electronic media; the night stand lamps are good.
D. Safe: The placement of the safe was in the main closet inconveniently behind all the hanging clothing, necessitating a “dive” into the closet every time you needed to retrieve something. We were angsted out to learn that the safe is so small – we specifically called and asked if it would accommodate a tablet/small laptop and were told “yes. Well it’s not large enough to store a tablet, let alone a laptop– you can count on perhaps 7”x 8” as nothing can sit against the edges or it won’t close. The keys are large and bulky so carrying them around on a lanyard was “interesting”. The safe was secure, but too small.
E. Bathroom: The shower is consistent with hot water and good pressure. We appreciate the large counter and extra towel racks – there are plenty of drawers for cosmetics but no makeup mirror or outlet in the main bathroom, which is inconvenient when trying to use a hair appliance. This made getting ready to go out a “moving process” - first a shower in the bathroom, then hair styling in the bedroom where you can plug into an outlet near a mirror and finally makeup application in the bathroom off the living room because it had the best light and a mirror you could get close enough to so as to efficiently and evenly apply eye makeup. The Jacuzzi was a treat, but we found the lack of railings of concern as all the controls were on the outside and required you to walk along the edge to reach them when entering from the bathroom. The door leading into the bathroom actually jammed leaving us stranded until other members of our party arrived to rescue us after an hour. We were careful not to close it when using it again- having the Jacuzzi is overkill since there’s one down in the main pool area just steps away– again, no railings so you can safely descend into the water is a detriment.
F. HVAC – we had issues with the AC not working well and so had to take time out of our vacation to stay there and let the maintenance guy come in and figure it out. We had water dripping in the kitchen and no AC in the bedroom. He works late each day, so getting him there when we were there was inconveneit. He’s a nice guy and genuinely tried to help. Turns out we were not working the control in the bedroom correctly so it was a quick fix. Some directions on how to operate would have been good.
G. Housekeeping – Unlike a great many hotels, whether we left a tip or not, the room was impeccably maintained - down to not moving things we asked to be left in place, the number of towels we requested and other special accommodations. In the villas, the maid prepares one meal per day for you if asked – we were not told this at booking and had Donna not mentioned it, we would not have known. She prepared two meals for us and was generally amiable, very helpful with the girls. We would want her on our next trip as well. Friendly, welcoming staffs and amenable to all requests.

Visitors – Visitors have to be registered to the room, they need to leave ID even when just stopping by, This was a hassle, but understandable since they are security conscious.

In summary, a great place to stay for a reasonable room rate if you’re just renting a room. If a villa is what you're looking for, and just want a living room, ok - consider other options if you truly want to cook meals in.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach tend to be quieter, but near the pool comes with loud late nite swimmers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cariwright, Front Office Manager at Rondel Village, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We are sorry to know that you were not clear about our accommodations, we do make every effort to convey the correct information to our guests through our website and also ensuring that our staff have accurate information. In addition our Reception Supervisor generally gives guests an orientation the day after their arrival.
We are glad to know that you found the staff courteous and helpful.

We have noted your concern about leaving a credit card imprint. We now offer the option of guests leaving either an open imprint which allows signing privileges or a US$ 200.00 security deposit by cash or credit card and payment by cash for all hotel services.

We have made note of your comments and will address them accordingly. We are glad to know that you have booked to stay again with us in February next year.
We look forward to host you for your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This was my second time staying at Rondel and was impressed by some of the renovations they had made since my first stay. Compared to other places I've stayed in Negril, Rondel is among the best.

We stayed in Nase Berry, a one bedroom villa located just behind the main beach front villas. Our room had a full kitchen including a microwave and toaster oven. There was a breakfast table on the front porch with four chairs and we enjoyed breakfast out here several mornings. I was a huge fan of the hammock located on the other side of the wrap around porch. The villa has wrap around french doors that you can open up to let the breeze come through. This was one of my favorite things to do in the morning. I must warn you though that because of the french doors you are prone to critters such as lizards and small mice; nothing that will hurt you. The living room had a nice flat screen TV and plenty of seating. There was a full bath attached to the living room with a stand up shower that was perfect for rinsing off after a day at the beach. Our bedroom had a king bed and we both slept sound. Each evening, the sound of the crickets on the property, possessed the ability to drown out any traffic noise on Norman Manley. There is another flat screen TV in the bedroom. The bathroom attached to the bedroom had a nice vanity with plenty of counter space and drawers. Just outside of the bathroom we had a hot tub. You have to turn on the heater about an hour or so before you want to use it so plan ahead. We really enjoyed relaxing in there just before bed. The A/C in the villa works great.

Our room was a quick walk to the beach. The hotel restaurant is located on the beach front and they offer wonderful pancakes, french toast, grilled cheese, and cheesecake. The bar and restaurant staff are friendly and prompt. We particularly enjoy the security guards, Johno and Karl. They run off the beach hustlers that won't accept "no" and watch over our belongings if we wander off down the beach. They will help you in any way you need and we view them as true friends.

Their location is perfect for walking to several great restaurants like Best of the West, Bourbon Beach, and Margaritaville. Just a few minutes to your left down the beach there is a great little convenient store called Myrna's. You have everything you need right there. So much so that we only left the property to visit Rick's Cafe and get groceries from Hi-Lo.

The only con's to this property for us were the wrist bands we were required to wear and the charge to have guests. We were not very happy to learn that we would be required to wear wrist bands as we don't want to be labeled as tourists and advertising where we are staying to the locals. We learned that the wrist bands were to assist them in identifying who had a meal plan and who did not. Given that we didn't purchase the meal plan, we didn't feel that we should be required to wear them. With a full kitchen in our room, why would we buy a meal plan? We aren't trying to be petty, but if we wanted to wear a wrist band we would stay at an all-inclusive. We come to Rondel to be submerged in the culture. The fee for guests was a bummer as we had planned our trip with another couple whom weren't able to book a room at the Rondel and at an unexpected $20 per person/per day that really adds up.

Overall, I plan on returning to Rondel upon my next trip back to Negril, but I will be protesting that wrist band!

Room Tip: We stayed in Nase Berry which was just behind the villas directly on the beach thus making it slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

LOVED this place! Been to lots of places in Negril but LOVED everything about this place! Any little issues were taken care of immediately (and there really were very few issues!) Everybody that worked there seemed to enjoy their job, and I got the impression the owners, who are Jamaican, are good to work for. Good employers=happy employees! Happy to stay somewhere owned by local people! We stayed in Kiwi, which was a basic room w/ 2 double beds (comfortable!), a nice deck, very roomy, air conditioning and a mini fridge. Nicely updated rooms and the gardens surrounding the place are beautiful! Lots of birds and butterflies all around! We only went to the pool on the beach side a couple times -- who needs a pool when you have the 7 mile beach?! But it was nice to have fresh water later in the evening! Also used the hot tub which I never thought we'd use but it was nice after a rainy day snorkelling! Everything was maintained amazingly well, and I've never felt safer. Karl was the security dude on the beach for most of our days and, although I'm sure his job can be boring and monotonous at times, he did a fantastic job of making sure we were looked out for and not being harassed by some of the less awesome sellers on the beach! Having been there 10 yrs, he knew the good from the bad, was always keeping an eye out, and would step in and shoo vendors away (with a smile) when needed!! Johno was great too, though he wasn't down at the beachfront as much, moreso at the front gate. Always beach chairs pulled out for us, towels provided, and even rolled up and put under my sore foot! Karl you are a gem! Never felt like the staff were out for anything except for us having the best possible stay at Rondel. Also loved Jeffery who was always checking if all was good with us, and would have fixed anything had we not been happy! But all was good! Genuinely great staff! Lots of places to eat around there, or a short taxi ride away, but we also enjoyed breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner at the Rondel restaurant. Prices very reasonable and the food was great.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying beach-side and not having to cross the road to get to the beach. But the entire p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#15 Family Hotel in Negril
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#28 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive villa resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. Services include Rondel Restaurant & Bar and The Village Spa, our full service spa and salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rondel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.