We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salt Of The Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rondel Village

Save Saved
You added Rondel Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rondel Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Hamden, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Salt Of The Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Rondel Village is a well kept secret and centrally located on Negril Beach. Beach is only a few feet away and town a short walk. The beach at Rondel Village is well kept and the water is crystal clear. We stayed in a one bedroom beachfront Villa which has a full kitchen which includes a refrigerator, stove and accessories such as a blender. you can save a ton of money by buying food and drinks at the supermarket rather than going to restaurants all the time. Always had cold Red Stripes and made plenty of banana and pineapple daiquiri's saving on the bar bill as well as making them as you like. Bottle of Appleton Rum in the store is reasonable and buying oranges and grapefruit to squeeze fresh juice makes for good living. We rented a car so were able to travel as we pleased but there is taxi and mini buses available too. The cliffs and West End are a must see. Negril Beach is still very beautiful but many all inclusive resorts have grown up over the years. Rondel Village still offers a laid back friendly atmosphere where you can just soak up the rays on the beach or venture out to check the surrounding countryside and scenery.

Room Tip: Beach side is the best bet and we enjoyed the 1 bedroom beachfront villa very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    108
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
125
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed two days at Rondel. I really liked it there. We got a superior oceanview room which was large and nice. The complex is very cute and cozy. The people that were staying there all seemed very friendly. We ate dinner at the restaurant one night and it was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I soooooo love this hotel and i am about to go back for my 4th visit. The staff and mangement are all so friendly. Each and everytime I arrive to this hotel i am welcomed with smiles and hellos. This is the only hotel I will EVER stay at while on Vacation in Jamiaca and I can't wait to return in August.

Room Tip: Superior rooms and Villas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We will be coming back!! This was my fiancé and I first time on a trip and we would like to say thanks for your excellent service...:-) food was really good, room was very clean, easy access to the pool when we felt like going for a night swim.. No complaints about this place at all, thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norris Point, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

On our 5th trip to Negril we have finally found THE place to stay, It was perfect in every way.(Except for "Jungle" night which is next door & VERY noisy. Solve that by going there.) All the staff were amazingly helpful & friendly. Delroy is the best bartender ever; Johno & the rest of the security team are great, making you feel really secure & safe & are always there to help us cross the road or get us a taxi. The girls at the Spa (Carol & Paula) were excellent. DO NOT leave without having a facial &/or massage. The restaurant wait staff couldn't be better. Led by Andrew (who prepped the daily soup) & the others. Andrew also arranged to get the Chef (& he is a real chef) to prepare our daily dinner choice with extra TLC. The maids, gardeners, pool maintenance staff are always busy doing a great job & always have a friendly greeting for you. We stayed in a Garden Room this time which had a pool & hot tub right outside our door. It was really nice; but I think we'll select a villa for our next trip, on the beach side.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor, which was great as I have problems doing stairs; otherwise if seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cariwright, General Manager at Rondel Village, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your excellent review of our resort. We do appreciate the time that you took to detail your experience for the benefit of so many other travelers. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to hosting you again at Rondel Village in the future.

Have a wonderful weekend.
Best regards
Carolyn Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My best friend and I travel to Jamaica quite a bit, and our favorite spot on the island is Rondel Village in Negril. It's a perfect little spot right on the beach, the villas are clean and have all the comforts of home, and the whole resort is well kept and very safe. After several stays in the last few years, we are happy to call the staff our good friends and we keep going back to see all of them as much as anything. Delroy will make you a mean drink and give you a thousand watt smile. Carl and Johnno will keep you safe and happy...often times taking care of things before you even know you need them to!

Room Tip: Booking a villa with a full kitchen allows the budget traveler or picky eater a way to save money by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cariwright, General Manager at Rondel Village, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us last month. We are very glad to know that you consider Rondel Village an excellent vacation location. We appreciate you communicating your satisfaction with so many other travelers and look forward to hosting you again for another visit.

Best regards
Carolyn Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hello again. To begin, we were here from march 8 to the 22. It was myself, my 1 year old daughter, and three of our friends. Three guys. This was our 6th time in jamaica, and this time we opted to stay at a non resort. Best decision yet. We have been all over the Caribbean, but this place by far was the best customer service we have EVER received. You go here, and you are made to feel like family. Ill start off by explaining the rooms and layout of this hotel. We stayed in a one bedroom "beachfront" villa. This does not mean ocean view. The unit we stayed in was called "coconut". If you look on tripadvisor, the picture they display our villa would be the one on the right the one on the left is called ostanique. The villa is literally 15 steps from the beach, and restaurant. We did not have a great view of the ocean because there are alot of trees and greenery in front of the room, but we didnt care because of the location, especially if your travelling with children, these two villas are ideal, because like I said the beach is right there.. The villa on the left, ostanique, has a clear view of the ocean. These two villas are the last ones on the property, no one in front of you, and behind you they are a distance away, really private. There is one room each on top of these two villas, but im not sure if they are a standard room or one bedroom villas as well. The villa was not the most modern, but they have all the amenities you need, and they are really, really comfortable. They are kept really clean. Air conditioners work well, one in the main room, and another in the bedroom. Two bathrooms, one with a bath and shower, the other, only a shower. Murphy bed in the main room, super comfortable. The property is divided into two sections, the beachside, and across the road. Many people get confused by this, so when you book, be sure you understand this. The side we stayed on was called the beach side, and on this side is where all the villas are, the other section of this hotel is across the street, standard rooms (really modern because it is newly built) so to get to the beach, you need to cross a really busy road, and if you have children this is not ideal. The security always stops the traffic to make sure you cross safely, but again some people do not like this. The beachfront villas are really close together in proximity (except the last two, coconut, and ostanique). So this means that when you are on your balcony, your neighbours are literally right across you, so close in fact that you could hear their conversations crystal clear. The problem with this is that some people rent these two bedroom villas, and are a large group who enjoy staying on their balconies late night, and can get quite noisy. In general though, its mostly older people and families who stay in these villas. There is not much of a view either back there, really just greenery, but again, very nice. Across the street there is a nightclub called the jungle. This club is open on weekends, it is loud!!!! If you keep your windows closed an A/C going, you will not hear it, except of course if you are across the road, which would mean you are on the same side of the club. I didnt hear anyone complaining about the noise, but if you are like myself, I dont like noise in the evening. The housekeepers are amazing. These ladies work hard, and they do an exceptional job. Ours was miss Portia, A gem of a lady who did a fanatic job. She was so flexible and respected our daughters napping times, she always worked with us in order to find the perfect time to come clean the room. They change the sheets, always a new set of clean towels, dishes washed, floors clean. You will never have a problem with these ladies not doing their job above and beyond. There is a restaurant on the property. The girls there are amazing. Totally professional, super friendly, make you feel like family really. It can get quite costly if you eat there everyday, so go out of the resort and eat locally. We found a place right outside the hotel, directly to the right, theres a red sign on the outside that says "breakfast porridge fish". Its literally a hole in the wall, but very clean, and all the locals eat here. They make the mosst amazing fish soup. Two people can eat two large meals here for under 1o bucks!!!! The restaurant at rondel cooks everything when you order it, so your food may take a little while, but no worries, your in jamaica mon!!
The beach, the 7 mile, gorgeous. Jano and carl are the guards that work here, these guys take their jobs serious and believe me, no one will harass you here. As soon as they see someone approaching they come quickly. The locals dont even bother really because they know jano means business, and they are quite scared of him.. Its funny really, because you see the locals approaching and as soon as they spot jano, they turn the other way. Poor jano gets cussed out on a regular basis from these guys, but in his words, "they have to know im serious".
If you like to snorkel, or do glass bottom boat, theres desmond on the left who runs this. Hes a good man, and hes reasonable with his prices. I went out every couple days, and he was really flexible with me about the fare. Dont expect an abundant reef in Jamaica, water is beautiful, but the reef lacks... The guys who come on the boat. Garnell, and martin. Martin is the captain, and Garnell is the guy who comes in the water with you and swims with you to show you different things in the water. Hes quite amazing really. So kind. These guys work on tips, so you will have to pay desmond for the excursion, and also tip these guys after your done.. The 7 mile is quite beautiful really. On the right and on the left of the hotel, on the beach there are different shops, restaurants. Beautiful susnset walks. You will love it. Do not worry about being hassled in Negril. This part of jamaica is different. You see tourists walking along the road, all day long.. No one bothers you, they know better. They respect the tourist. If your renting a villa and decide to do groceries, go into town to the hi/low supermarket. They have everything you need here. If you need laundry to be done, ask the taxi driver to take you to "the big white lady anita". They will find her. She charges 1000 jamaican per load, to wash and dry. She does a great job. Hotels charge too much to wash your clothing. You can trust her. Nothing will happen to your clothes.
I have to say that after leaving this place we were so sad. No other hotel has made us feel so at home. The staff is so kind, so warm hearted. Always smiling, always asking how your doing. You become like family really while you are here. So professional. On top of everything.
I am giving this place 5 stars, not because its luxurious, but because the customer service surpasses anything iv ever seen. Loved it. Guest for life.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cariwright, General Manager at Rondel Village, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review of our resort. We do appreciate the time you took out of your busy schedule to go into so many details about your stay here in March. We are very glad to know that you consider our staff to be offering 5 star service. This is our aim and we are happy that you were so pleased with Rondel Village. We look forward to you again on your next visit to Negril. Do have a wonderful day.

Best regards
Carolyn Wright
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive villa resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rondel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.