We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for a Budgetwise Beach Trip; Needs to be Refreshed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rondel Village

Save Saved
You added Rondel Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rondel Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location for a Budgetwise Beach Trip; Needs to be Refreshed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

LOCATION -- The best thing about Rondel Village is the location. It is walking distance to water sports, bars, and restaurants. The beachfront is nice and unobstructured. The full beach in Negril is several miles long, but the section in front of Rondel Village is not deeper than 15 feet to ocean. Note, that Rondel Village is on a public portion of the beach.

SERVICE -- For a budget hotel, the service was plentiful. There were individuals to provide beach towel and chair service, beach maintenance, security (to shuffle along locals who were trying to sell various crafts, fruits, and foods). Housekeeping put fresh flowers from the gardens in the room every day. Everyone was exceptionally friendly also.

ROOM -- The room was spacious. It was clean but definitely needed to be refreshed. The closet was ample and included a long bench for arranging or drying items. The bed was not uncomfortable, but it could be updated. The bathroom was basic and clean. Bring your own toiletries as the basic accomodations only provide body wash and hand soap. Also, return to your room if possible in the mid afternoon to close the screen-less windows as housekeeping opens them before leaving; closing the windows will significantly reduce the number of mosquitoes and other biting bugs in your room.

GROUNDS -- There was a restaurant with decent food and a great bar right on the beach. The stroll from the reception office to the beach is full of wonderful and well-maintained plants and trees. Rondel Village is quaint and has a small number of villas, but you never felt crowded there.

WHY RONDEL RECEIVED A THREE -- I found it odd that you have to pay to use the safe in your room. The internet connection was $20 for a week, but it rarely functioned properly. Also, the air conditioner was intermittent and in disrepair. For fairness, though, the staff did promptly attempt to make repairs. If given the option of returning to Negril, I am not certain that my recent stay at Rondel Village would make it a no-brainer to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    108
    31
    9
    9
See reviews for
73
125
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

You want a reasonable room in the middle of everything, this is the place to be. If you want with a lot of amenities, then skip Rondel Village. Friendly staff, clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent 3 nights in Rondel Village, Negril in our Jamaica tour.
We've had snorkelling first experience - really nice, long walks to the village and West End, reggae concerts and unforgettable sunsets!
Our room was big, clean and we've enjoyed the beautiful Long bay beach.
Everybody here takes care for your stay.
Excellent and absolutely suggested!
Greetings from Italy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just returned from a week at Rondel Village. I traveled with my husband & 4 year old daughter. We don't like big giant all inclusive hotels, but we needed something that would be conducive to traveling with a young child. Rondel was a great choice.

We stayed in the beach front villa, Ortanique. It was just perfect. Plenty of room and so clean. It was great to be able to close off the living room while she watched cartoons and we caught a couple extra minutes of sleep. The people that work there are just the best. So friendly & helpful. They really make you feel like you're at home, and Rondel really could be a home away from home for us.

The beach was perfect. I've traveled extensively through the Caribbean and Negril's 7 mile beach might just be my favorite.

The only negative I have is the restaurant. It's really really bad, and at times inedible. Negril has some great places to eat, but with our child we were counting on being able to stay at the hotel and eat. She goes to bed early and we just couldn't get out and explore. We were so disappointed with the food. There is a really good Italian
restaurant next door at the Mariposa and we were so happy to find it. I'd read some of the reviews about the food and I thought maybe some people were just being too picky. Nope, it's really that bad.

I would definitely return to Rondel, but if we bring our daughter again I will stock up the kitchen and make our meals.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room or vlla. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Rondel for 8 night this August 2011 and we had a wonderful time. We booked a garden room (not the ones beach-side) and it was comfortable, clean and easy, just the way we like. Plus the pool and spa just outside our patio were a big plus if you want to relax "in the water" also in the evening. If you can, we suggest to book the rooms/apartment on the beach side because there's the sea breeze and the view is really amazing.
We really liked the staff at Rondel: everybody has been kind, reliable and very friendly.
The position is also perfect, just in the middle of the Seven Miles Beach so you can walk up and down the beach and lots of food spots are at walking distance.
Overall really a great vacation! And we got a really good deal.

Room Tip: If you can, we suggest to book the rooms/apartment on the beach side because there's the sea bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at Rondel Village in July 2011 with our three children ages 8-12. We stayed in a 3BR villa called "Grape" where the pool was right outside the front door to our villa and since there weren't too many kids there we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. The accommodations were very spacious for the five of us and very clean as well. The villa had a king bed and 3 queen beds, all of which were extremely comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and with all the shrubs and exotic trees and plants along the walkways you didn't feel like the villas were right on top of each other (they are close together but feel more private). Carl and the rest of the staff were very friendly and treated us well. We weren't looking for an all-inclusive hotel and for the price and the location and the size of the villa this was truly a great find.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a lovely cabin at the back just a short walk to the Restaurant & beach. Our room was always cleaned to perfection & very comfortable. All the staff were so helpful & friendly, yet very professional in their care of us. All we could ask is to stay there again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rondel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondel Village

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Negril
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Family Hotel in Negril
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#23 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rondel Village 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rondel Village is an exclusive villa resort on Negril's beautiful seven mile beach. This unique property offers privacy and tranquility in spacious, elegant accommodations, amidst lush tropical gardens. An enchanting paradise where service is personalized and the surroundings are comfortable and relaxing. Rondel Village has 56 rooms each named after individual Jamaican fruits. We have an Environmental Management System and our goals are to enhance the Environment and help to secure the long-term sustainability of the Tourism Industry and our Citizens. A prototype of indigenous Negril Architecture. Spacious, octagonal shaped beach villas with kitchens and private whirlpool spas. Beachfront and superior rooms on the beachside, garden rooms adjacent to the swimming pool and jacuzzi across the street from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Rondel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rondel Village Negril
Rondel Village Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rondel Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.