We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat in Negril” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Save Saved
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 hotels in Negril
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hard to beat in Negril”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

The Charlea Inn is a very nice place that needs better management, specifically better quality oversight. I have stayed there 3 years and every year there are a number of nigling, annoying problems that shouldn't occur in a hotel of this price range. Phone in room doesn't work, no remote for TV in room, no list of available TV stations, no controls for the A/C unless you climb on a chair and change the settings, noisy overhead fans, toilet paper placed on the bathroom counter since the dowel that would hold the paper in the dispenser is missing, no instructions on how to use the phone, soap dish in shower fills with water when showering , towels are rough and stiff, etc etc.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    87
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
121
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

Charela Inn is the most beautiful spot on the entire 7 mile stretch of Negril. If relaxing without stress for hours on a gorgeous beach is your thing- you will love it here. Plenty of loungers- beach attendants will set up your spot for the day (and even remember your prefered location day to day and save it for you!) The food was really delicious- a mix of Jamaican and French and American choices. Staff are incredibly friendly- going out of their way to make you feel at home and welcome. The owner lives on site and keeps a watchful eye on things. It is a very quiet property- definitely not for spring breakers. We stayed in a Family Suite in March 2008- we are a family of four (2 kids- 6 and 8 years old) and the rooms were completely fine for our stay- high ceilings, traditional furniture, and spacious by most standards. Not fancy, but very well kept-up- with a little couch in the room and a SAT tv. My kids are already clamoring to back (as are the grown-ups) so we will be another of the many loyal returning guests. We enjoyed magnificent sunsets just steps from the room- one night my family came running in to say "the sun is setting!" and literally within 10 seconds I was on the beach enjoying the incredible Negril sunset. I have never felt moved to write a review for Trip Advisor, but this hotel really is an amazing find.

  • Liked — beach and relaxation
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Every year for the past 9 years, my husband and I have been staying at the charela Inn. Having stayed at several other properties on negril beach prior, we find this place to be the best.The moment you arrive, to the time you depart, the staff cannot do enough for you, the place is class all the way. The rooms are clean, nice, not fancy, and every room has a patio or balcony area. The only problem I ever had was not having a plug for my hairdryer in the bathroom, BIG DEAl. The grounds are beautiful and there is a pool, but in all the years we have been going there it is hardly used because the beach is so gorgeous. From every room you are only seconds away from the sea. The beach boy sets up your chair with a towel even before you are finished with breakfast. We have walked the beach many times, and the charela definitely has the best beachfront property, with palm trees for shade and sun for all who want it.

  • Liked — closeness to the bech
  • Disliked — no bathroom plug
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Charela Inn after first staying at Catcha Falling Star on the cliffs(love Catcha!) We booked a seaview room thru onestop and were given an upgrade to deluxe seaview at check-in. Great way to start our stay! Rooms at Charela don't have the "tropical feel" that we like when we stay in Negrl, but they are spacious, clean, good ac, have mini-fridge and are overall very comfortable. Also the truly beachfront balcony is a big plus. I believe one of the main differences in regular and deluxe rooms are the bathrooms. Loved the bathroom! Good size, nice tile, whirlpool tub, high ceilings, huge closet. No complaints about our room.

But really the best thing about Charela is the location and the beach. Absolutely perfect! Enough palm tress to provide shade, deeper than a lot of the other properties in Negril so that your not forced to be on top of each other while your lounging on the beach, water clear and calm, and your pretty much centrally located on 7 mile beach so its not a far walk to anywhere you may want to go.
The staff at Charela were both friendly and professional . Felt comfortable going to them with any requests or questions.

Cant comment too much on the restaurant since we only had breakfast and dinner there once. Both were good but not the best we had on our trip. But good. I will say our desserts there were delicious and I wish we would have tried more of their homemade pastries.

All in all we really enjoyed our time at Charela Inn. the other non ais we've stayed at on the beach are Country Country and Kuyaba and I'd rank Charela on the top of my list of non ais on the beach.Will probably try Idle Awhile next time but I'm sure we'll be returning to Charela in the future.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Worst of the 3 places we stayed in Negril (Sunset at the palms & Idle Awhile being the other two). Location is the main selling point- Along with Idle Awhile (next door) is on the best stretch of 7 mile beach. Room was ok, could do with a bit of a refurb. Grounds average. I think the staff isn't as friendly as Idle Awhile or Sunset at the Palms. I guess its a bigger hotel than IA, but it just felt less personal, especially the reception. Ate breakfast there a couple of times, but Idle Awhile is better for breakfast. Would stay there again if IA wasn't available, just for the location.

Food tips- Also if you stay there (or at IA) recommend the jerk chicken at the stall opposite the road, charming. Also suggest a meal at the rockhouse which is truly spectacular. Ate at Kuyaba once but that was probably the worst meal we ate in Negril. Also recommended is the pattie man who comes around c 1300 on the beach- sells stuff from the back of his bicycle. Booked hotel and transfers through One Stop which I also recommend.

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We stayed at this hotel when Firefly cottages up the beach turned out to be the worst mistake we have ever made travelling. The Charela was clean, friendly, has the best beach in Negril, one of the best restaurants in Negril (with their own farm produced meats and veggies!) and is central to everything on and along the beach. We stayed both in the garden rooms and an ocean front room on the ground level. The single issue we had is being renovated...the deck area off the room is enclosed by fencing so it feels closed in. But the management is already working to remove the fencing on all of the lower rooms to fix this problem. Otherwise, to emphasize how nice a place it is, we met three adult families who have been staying at Charela for 15, 17 and 16 years respectively, every year. We completely agree with them that it is a rare find.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

The Charela Inn, what is there to say except it is a beautiful place to stay. It was my third time there and will go back again. The second level beachfront rooms above restaurant and bar are just beautifull, The bathroom is very spaceous. We always take all inclusive, you get the menu for everymeal with lots of choices, something for every one. The food is very good. The staff friendly and courteous, After three times there, they are like family and they do remember you when you go back. The beach is beautiful with nice palm trees, we have walked the 7 mile beach many times and this beach is the best, to get some shade and sun to your liking. Clive is quiet and discrete, but rest assured he watches out for you. Nobody will disturbe you there. The is entertainment twice a week. This is a nice place to go , if you want to relax and rest. This is not a party place with the crowd and noice. I would say its a family atmosphere, quiet and friendly. The staff will do there best to make your stay enjoyable.
My husband has back problems and Sandra was the first who helped him, she is the best masseuse. Miss you all, Shane at the bar, Debbie and Marcie best joyfull waitresses and not to forget Clive at the beach.

  • Liked — The respect, family atmosphere
  • Disliked — Pool, but does not matter much, the beach is so beautiful and clean
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its forty-seven rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. as well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.