We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Negril
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first trip to Jamaica, mon! And since I'm a paranoid American and I was travelling solo I wanted to stay somewhere with good reviews and more importantly good security so I picked Charela.

I treated myself to a stay in a sea view room (308) with a balcony for 4 nights in mid-September. The room was on the 2nd floor facing the sea. It was large, clean and air conditioned. There was a refrigerator, safe, TV, fan and coffee maker. Bed was hard, but not uncomfortable. Lots of comfy pillows! My sea view was obstructed by several trees (see photo) which was sad. But not that sad as I didn't spend much time on my balcony.

Free wifi is available via an unsecured connection.

The staff at this hotel is A+. The bartender, Maxwell, is a real sweetheart. The security on the beach (Reuben and Steve) are tops. Just all around cool people working at this place.

The security here is 24/7. They were always around. Including on the beach late at night. They also have some German Shepherds that come out after dusk to help out. Definitely felt safe at all times.

The beach in front of the Inn = TO DIE FOR. LOVED IT! White sand. Clear warm water. Palm trees to provide shade. Just a spectacular section of 7 mile beach. I highly recommend doing nothing but lay on the beach at least half the time you are there.

I wish I could spend months here. It's a truly amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
131
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Laid back property in laid back Negril. The ideal place to relax and refresh.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The setting is relaxed. All of this on the worlds best beach.
This is a great value. I highly recommend it for anyone need a little time off of life's treadmill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in the family room with my husband and infant, we had the family room which was spacious and perfect for our stay. The room was cleaned daily and was spotless, even under the beds (which I noticed collecting all of my sons toys from all over the room :-) )
I'm quite particular with regards to bed linen and towels and all were in pristine condition.
Within seconds from the beach, which is the best bit of beach on the long stretch of beach.
We were right next to the pool and small gardens. The hotel is in keeping with the local surroundings and much more pleasant than some of the other big concrete out of character hotels in the resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The staff, the resturant, the room, the views..... were all amazing. I cant wait to go back. Its a gem! It was our first trip to Jamacia and I loved it. They had weekend entertainment , excellent food, and very professional staff, and our room was spotless..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great beach front and food. The beach front is among the widest on the strip and has plenty of trees for shade. The food is great and has a French flair. Could be a little more plentiful, but the staff knows your name by the first meal. Get an upstairs room for more breeze. Get one facing the sea-it is worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This my second stay at Cherela Inn, and I wasn't disappointed.

The staff and the service is amazing! They have put up with our drunken antics and paint stained sheets (Sorry Monica lol)
So much so that my friends and I have decided to stay on even though we have alternative accommodation booked and PAID for.

I have felt safe and welcomed the entire time and want to thank everyone that made my stay so enjoyable.

See you next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Second time I have stayed at this lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms, more than friendly service! Staff are sooo nice, very accommodating and welcoming. Reception ladies greet you with a smile every time (even if you pass them 100 times for the day)!! Cleaners are so so patient and despite the mess in my room EVERYDAY I would always return to it spotless and fresh (thanks Monica). Thanks to everyone who made me feel safe and welcome. I could go on and on but I think you get the picture, right? Cherela Inn, we ❤ you!! Roll on 2014!!!
Christina, London, UK

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its forty-seven rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. as well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.