We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best on the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 3033, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sizzling Summer Special
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Inn has more beach frontage than other hotels on the beach. It is not one of the mega all inclusive resorts which I do not like to stay in. Why go to Jamaica only to hide with other Americans in some guarded prison-like concrete buildings...the only plus being that they are on nice stretches of beach. Charela is a lovely place with trees for shade on the beach, a fantastic restaurant, an incredibly friendly helpful staff, more amenities than some of the less expensive hotels on the beach in Negril. Nicer furnishings, better bathrooms with tub if you happen to care about that, which I do. The Inn offered to rent a car for us. This is very expensive in Jamaica. Might as well rent at the airport...same price as in Negril. The hotel also has a driver who will take you places if you don't want to rent a car. Or you can just stay put on the beach and relax without a car and enjoy relaxing. I have stayed in several other places in Negril. The West End hotels are very nice too...but more cliff than sandy beaches. I will be returning to the Charela Inn as soon as I can. .

Room Tip: Beach view was great with balcony. But pricey. Garden view would have been just as nice. It is a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    106
    25
    7
    6
See reviews for
49
162
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Talk about feeling right at home! From Caroline and Granville at the front desk to Francilla and Alice and Ashley in the dining room to Jean in housekeeping to Lifeguard Shamar on the beach... Charela was our home for 6 nights and it was wonderful from beginning to end! Need something? Simply ask and it's done.
HELPFUL TIPS:
1) Order the fresh red snapper with coconut sauce in the Charela dining room..yummy!
2) Use sunscreen every single minute on the beach,even while in the shade. That sun can scorch. Ouch!
3) Solicitors on the beach are not aggressive. State politely that you're not interested and they will move on. (Although their fresh fruits, juices, and lunch offerings are a good bargain).
4) Get hotel recommendation before signing up for water excursions. The Red Stripe Catamaran Sunset Cruise is a blast. Boat leaves from the Boat Bar right down the beach. Only $50 a person; a good value.
5) Take a cab and visit the Rockhouse Hotel for stunning views, spa treatments and authentic Jamaican food in the Pushcart Restaurant.
6) Rick's Cafe for sunset and cliff jumping (observe or participate.. a must!) Food is a little pricey and "chainy" but you can always eat elsewhere before or after.
7) Beach walking from Charela: if you're facing the water, head to the right; the left end is a little seedy, although interesting..!
8) Relax and enjoy Jamaica!

Room Tip: Room 200 (seaside) had water pressure problems and some noise from the beach at night, but usually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I just spent 29 days at the Charela Inn and loved every moment. The staff, from the front desk ladies to the resturant staff, to the beach attendents..well..they are the BEST ! We had a garden room which was lovely. The bathroom could use some updates. The pool was great to get into around 3 when we came up from the beach. Food was soo delicious, my husband loved the pasta. You have to try the chocolate cake...mmmm..I have been going to JA for 40 years and stayed at the Charela when they had only 10 rooms. We will sure stay there again, in fact dont want to stay anywhere elss. Its quiet and the guest are manly older ( we are 64 and 71 yrs old) The beach is beautiful, just as the Jamaican people. Its very safe there, no worries. The gardens are gorgeous with sounds of the birds and at nite the tree frogs and crickets. If you go to Negril..stay at the Charela...you will be happy you did !!!! The entertainment was great, and Friday nites the owner and staff put on a cocktail party with yummy food and drinks for all the quests. We will return !!!

Room Tip: The upper garden room is where we stayed, which was lovely. We would take that room again.There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here! This charming hotel is right in the middle of the action on 7 mile Beach, and you don't have to deal with scores of annoying people at the all inclusives (unless you walk up that way). Charela was very charming, with very comfortable yet simple dwellings (the rooms have a/c, a safe, tv, and a hair dryer). We walked the beach and soon realized that Charela is definitely one of the nicer hotels along the beach (some of the competing hotels looked really ratty and beat up. We were relived to be staying at Charela!).

The hotel is right on the beach, so you don't need to have an ocean view room. Also, the ocean view rooms are closest to the restaurant, so you will hear more activity from dining patrons, musical guests, or anyone on the beach. We were very happy with our secluded garden view room, and just had a 30 second walk out to the beach when ever we liked.

Most guests come out in the morning and secure their beach chairs for the day, so it's good to get up early and do the same, then get some breakfast. The beach area has an attendant to help with chairs and watching over belongings (we met both Ruben and Shemare were super nice!!). You are also welcome to sit out in the chairs and watch the sunset too.

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I liked the garden view rooms because they were more quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I just returned from Jamaica last night, and enjoyed my 3rd stay at Charela Inn. I love the charm of the hotel, and how it is so much smaller than the large, all-inclusive hotels. The staff is friendly and very helpful, and will try to accommodate any request you make. The beach is beautiful, with plenty of shade to find if you need a break from the sun.
I have read some negative reviews about the rooms (its Jamaica....everything worked and they keep it very clean), the dogs (love the dogs, and have only heard them bark once in 3 years of staying there. I am glad they are there!), and the people watching the beach keep an eye out for everything and never felt hassled on that area of beach.
This hotel is charming and quaint, and it gives you the real sense of what Jamaica is all about. I can't wait for our next trip back!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms can't be beat...ocean waves and sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Three stars for the room are ok, but the service and the beach are excellent! The food in the Vendome restaurant has a very good quality.
This part of the beach has many trees to spend shadows over the day.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is probably our umpteenth visit to the Charela Inn. It is our favorite hotel on the seven mile Negril beach for many reasons. First, the location is absolutely the best in Negril. You cannot do better! Second, the grounds are pristine. Well tended gardens, beautiful beachfront... Third, the hotel is clean with updated, large ocean front rooms. Fourth, the food in the restaurant is excellent! And the servers are happy to accommodate you. Always smiling and even come out to the beach and ask if you'd like food or drink. Fifth, the entertainment twice weekly is fun and professional. The proprietor Mr. Grizzle even throws in a complimentary Friday evening cocktail party, so that he and his wife can mingle with the guests. I would say that the main reason that we come back year after year is that it's like coming "home". The staff, from the front desk (Caroline & Nadine) to the bellhop to the servers (Francella, Danielle) greet you like family and treat you as such!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
1.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Country Country Beach Cottages
1.5 mi away
Sandy Haven Resort
Sandy Haven Resort
#35 of 89 in Negril
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.1 mi away
CocoLaPalm Resort
CocoLaPalm Resort
#25 of 89 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
1.1 mi away
Travellers Beach Resort
Travellers Beach Resort
#26 of 89 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 3033, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#12 Family Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... Nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its fifty rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "Al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. As well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.