We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place on Negril's beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Save Saved
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A special place on Negril's beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We just finished 8 days once again at Charela. We've come here at least four times about every 2-3 years. After staying on the cliffs 30 years ago and then twice at the old Negril Gardens on the beach, we upgraded to what we feel is the best inn and location on the beach, especially if you don't like the all-inclusive scene (where they scare their guests not to walk the beach in the evening). Run for 30 years by a French wife-Jamaican gentleman who live on-site, the inn has a charm and presence not found elsewhere from it's architecture to its ambience. There is a quality to the French and Jamaican food (croissants three x/week, foie gras, escargot, filet mignon, snapper various ways, etc.) is better than what's found generally on the beach and priced reasonably for the quality). No one is trying to rip you off here. The staff is wonderful and accommodating from the front desk to the wait and beach staff. We always had coffee and croissants or pastry brought up to us on our seaview balcony each morning along with papaya and lime we bought from a wonderful vendor on the beach each day.
The international cliental who come, many returning year upon year, largely are there to totally relax, read under palm trees, eat, even smoke a little weed if you want, swim in the best, quietest, ocean water we have ever found in the Caribbean. My wife likes long distance swimming and she loves what Charela's beach front offers. If you want rollers and body-surfing, don't come here. While there is a reef a half mile out reachable by boat for snorkeling, it's not a great beach or location for snorkeling. The cliff establishments have deeper water and some fish life but it can be a bit rough off their rocky sites.
For the price, this is a super establishment and Charles and Sylvie, who run it, should be proud of what they've built over the years.

Room Tip: No families with children are allowed on the seaview side, but the garden suites are lovely and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    93
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
130
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been coming to Negril Jamaica for some twenty years now. By chance, a travel agent had suggested the Charela Inn and this is where we have stayed every time. It is quite a lovely Inn on one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The staff is friendly and always willing to please. The grounds are beautifully manicured and there is a nice size pool in the courtyard. The restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner offering lots of good menu choices. The sunsets are gorgeous and not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are the best offering optimal sunset viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My brother has been a frequent visitor of Charela and the wait staff and owner still remember him and my sister in law. The place was clean and very low key. Our rooms looked onto the beach and Shamari made sure our lounge chairs were set up first thing in the morning. We were a party of 8 with my G-niece so it was a good number of lounge chairs to setup. The palm trees are plentiful that you don't need tacky beach umbrellas. It was so nice to sit on our patios in the mornings with coffee and steamed milk. There were two negatives about the resort;first the place shuts down around 10 to 10:30 in the evening. We figured out to get a few carafe's of wine and rum. The second negative is the 5 course dinner, the food was good but we wanted more Jamaican fare and service not to take soooo long.

Room Tip: Get 301,302,303,,or 304 ground ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time to Charela Inn after being highly recommended by my husband's parents. We stayed in the Deluxe room which looked out to the ocean. Room was clean and spacious. The best part was the large size balcony that was perfect to watch the sunset and have a drink.
Food: Le Vendome is a great restaurant. We had inclusive for breakfast and the 5-course dinner. We didn't have a bad meal. We had all our meals in Le Vendome and never was a meal repeated on the 5 course dinner menu. They were very accommodating with the dinner if there was a course that we weren't fond of. They easily replaced a course with whatever we wanted instead. Entertainment on Thursday and Saturday nights.
Beach: The beach is WONDERFUL! Walking up and down the beach, we realized what a gem Charela's beach is. You have the option to sit under palm trees or out in the sun. Shemari (beach attendant) was wonderful. After our first day, he had our chairs ready and waiting for us each morning. We didn't have too much of a problem with vendors. The chairs for Charela are set far enough back that it isn't really an issue. I do recommend getting a lobster from one of the beach vendors! So delicious!

Highly recommended! Great first stay and we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On our second trip back to Jamaica, we did not want the all inclusive and prefer the smaller resorts, Charela was a good choice. They have a perfect stretch of beach with lots of palm trees, no beach umbrellas needed here! Recent renovations have been done, so their website is accurate. We stayed in the Jr. Suite (there are 2) located above the bar area/smoking dining area. No problem with any noise and saw just a few people smoking in this area. The only negative in the room is that there is not an electrical outlet by the sink, therefore no way to plug in a hair dryer!
Charela is a quiet resort. There is entertainment on Thurs & Sat. We went both nights and enjoyed the Blues Reggae on Thurs so much more.
The restaurant is very good, especially the Caribean pork.
The pool sets in the center of the resort, not really needed when you have the beautiful sea

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been coming down to charela inn from Philadelphia for thirty years and It has never disappointed us. From the days the owner did all the cooking to today where they have a staff of the best trained chefs on the island, nothing has changed, from the management of Sofia to the front desk with Manuel and Carolyn and the office Nadine to the beach with Shomari, you will feel welcome and totally pampered.
The food that they preparei is raised on their privately owned farms and with their own bakery you are assured to get freshly cooked food and baked items daily.. The beach is one of the best maintained and you are assured of privacy because of the well trained beach personnel. Charela is highly recommended by the owners of Skippack Skippack travel

Room Tip: Sea front rooms you can hear the surf and view the sun set . All sea front rooms are equal. I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been slow to write a review on Charela as I fear this gem of a small, locally-owned hotel and restaurant will become simply too popular. We've been returning to Charela for over 20 years now. On our first visit, we felt like newbies as other couples we met would say "this is our 7th year visiting" or 10 years, or more. Charela is definitely the type of hotel that earns your return visit. The property hosts 47 rooms and perhaps the best beach-to-person ratio in all Negril. The rooms are not fancy, but nicely appointed and clean. The hotel is relaxed and one cannot help but slow down and relax also. The hotel staff is welcoming, friendly and does its best to accommodate special requests (this is true from the drivers, to the front desk, to the bellhop, to housekeeping, to the restaurant and bar staff, and to the beach attendant). If you are looking for a big, fancy all-inclusive hotel, Charela is not for you. If you want a more personalized, relaxed vacation without the trappings of negotiating a large property, Charela is perfect. All rooms are close to the beach, so you can just stumble from your room to your beach chair without any fuss; there are plenty of palm trees to go around. The restaurant serves wonderful food with produce and eggs fresh from their farm in the hills. Breads are all made fresh daily. Some may say the service is slow; we just know that the food is worth the wait. We’ve visited as just a couple and with a family group of over 30 relatives. I’ve had wonderful vacations at Charela with our kids and with our friends and their kids. I’ve also enjoyed visiting Charela with a group of women friends. The hotel works magic for both families and couples. We’ve already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its forty-seven rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. as well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.