We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Save Saved
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 hotels in Negril
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time to Charela Inn after being highly recommended by my husband's parents. We stayed in the Deluxe room which looked out to the ocean. Room was clean and spacious. The best part was the large size balcony that was perfect to watch the sunset and have a drink.
Food: Le Vendome is a great restaurant. We had inclusive for breakfast and the 5-course dinner. We didn't have a bad meal. We had all our meals in Le Vendome and never was a meal repeated on the 5 course dinner menu. They were very accommodating with the dinner if there was a course that we weren't fond of. They easily replaced a course with whatever we wanted instead. Entertainment on Thursday and Saturday nights.
Beach: The beach is WONDERFUL! Walking up and down the beach, we realized what a gem Charela's beach is. You have the option to sit under palm trees or out in the sun. Shemari (beach attendant) was wonderful. After our first day, he had our chairs ready and waiting for us each morning. We didn't have too much of a problem with vendors. The chairs for Charela are set far enough back that it isn't really an issue. I do recommend getting a lobster from one of the beach vendors! So delicious!

Highly recommended! Great first stay and we will definitely be back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    90
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
126
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

On our second trip back to Jamaica, we did not want the all inclusive and prefer the smaller resorts, Charela was a good choice. They have a perfect stretch of beach with lots of palm trees, no beach umbrellas needed here! Recent renovations have been done, so their website is accurate. We stayed in the Jr. Suite (there are 2) located above the bar area/smoking dining area. No problem with any noise and saw just a few people smoking in this area. The only negative in the room is that there is not an electrical outlet by the sink, therefore no way to plug in a hair dryer!
Charela is a quiet resort. There is entertainment on Thurs & Sat. We went both nights and enjoyed the Blues Reggae on Thurs so much more.
The restaurant is very good, especially the Caribean pork.
The pool sets in the center of the resort, not really needed when you have the beautiful sea

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been coming down to charela inn from Philadelphia for thirty years and It has never disappointed us. From the days the owner did all the cooking to today where they have a staff of the best trained chefs on the island, nothing has changed, from the management of Sofia to the front desk with Manuel and Carolyn and the office Nadine to the beach with Shomari, you will feel welcome and totally pampered.
The food that they preparei is raised on their privately owned farms and with their own bakery you are assured to get freshly cooked food and baked items daily.. The beach is one of the best maintained and you are assured of privacy because of the well trained beach personnel. Charela is highly recommended by the owners of Skippack Skippack travel

Room Tip: Sea front rooms you can hear the surf and view the sun set . All sea front rooms are equal. I prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've been slow to write a review on Charela as I fear this gem of a small, locally-owned hotel and restaurant will become simply too popular. We've been returning to Charela for over 20 years now. On our first visit, we felt like newbies as other couples we met would say "this is our 7th year visiting" or 10 years, or more. Charela is definitely the type of hotel that earns your return visit. The property hosts 47 rooms and perhaps the best beach-to-person ratio in all Negril. The rooms are not fancy, but nicely appointed and clean. The hotel is relaxed and one cannot help but slow down and relax also. The hotel staff is welcoming, friendly and does its best to accommodate special requests (this is true from the drivers, to the front desk, to the bellhop, to housekeeping, to the restaurant and bar staff, and to the beach attendant). If you are looking for a big, fancy all-inclusive hotel, Charela is not for you. If you want a more personalized, relaxed vacation without the trappings of negotiating a large property, Charela is perfect. All rooms are close to the beach, so you can just stumble from your room to your beach chair without any fuss; there are plenty of palm trees to go around. The restaurant serves wonderful food with produce and eggs fresh from their farm in the hills. Breads are all made fresh daily. Some may say the service is slow; we just know that the food is worth the wait. We’ve visited as just a couple and with a family group of over 30 relatives. I’ve had wonderful vacations at Charela with our kids and with our friends and their kids. I’ve also enjoyed visiting Charela with a group of women friends. The hotel works magic for both families and couples. We’ve already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our stay at the Charela Inn in September 2012 was nothing short of spectacular! Here are just a few of the highlights:

-We worked with a wonderful front desk manager named Nadine for our reservation. Once my lovely one had our room confirmed, I continued to communicate with her via email prior to arrival to plan a few surprises for his birthday. Nadine arranged for flowers to be delivered to our room on his birthday, as well as a homemade carrot cake from the Le Vendome restaurant, and an excellent bottle of red wine.
-Nadine also arranged for my transport from the Montego Bay airport, and gave specific instructions on where I could meet the driver (Mr. Granville, very sweet! I sat in the passenger seat on our ride to Negril, and he gave me so many details about the island and parishes we passed through).
-We had an ocean front room that was lovely! It was a nice size, had a separate sitting area, extremely comfortable bed, and french doors leading to a patio and the beautiful beach!
-Housekeeping was also aware that we had a birthday in our room, and used a local flower to write out the words "Happy Birthday" on our king size bed! The flowers that were delivered were beautiful, wine with 2 glasses and a corkscrew were left for us on the dresser as well! The carrot cake was out of this world! Our towels were arranged in a swan formation the day of arrival and on his birthday, this was a nice touch.
-As my boyfriend and his Dad are from JA, we ate outside of the hotel restaurant a lot, but did eat breakfast there daily (ackee, salt fish, calalou (sp?); absolutely delicious!!.
-In our estimation this hotel has the prettiest stretch of beach on the strip by far (and we walked up and down this beach in both directions everyday). It was very clean with the whitest sand; plenty of palm trees to provide cover from the sun, and plenty of actual "beach". One of the lifeguards, Shomari, was especially kind during our visit. He noticed how many people we had in our party and set our chairs for us in prime spots under the palm trees in the mornings without us even asking. A couple of days my boyfriend and his Dad ran errands and I stayed at the hotel alone; he really looked out for me while I slept and relaxed under the palm trees....making sure I wasn't bothered by vendors selling boat rides or other. If he saw me swimming he offered a raft for relaxing, these kind of gestures go a long way!

I traveled alone and met my boyfriend and his father in Negril, so I really appreciate how much care was taken with my safe transport to and from Montego Bay airport, and how safe I felt at this hotel in general (this is major for me, as I travel alone internationally for a living and was once mugged in South Africa during my transit from the airport to the hotel in Jo'berg). In closing we are looking forward to returning to Negril, and would definitely stay here again. Thanks to Mr. Grizzle and his staff for making our trip so memorable!

Room Tip: Reserve the ocean front room if possible, you can't beat the view! Also, we traveled in Septembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cashiers, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Wonderful restaurant...incredible staff. Food is freshly prepared each day...specials are great, but the pasta dishes are the best on the island. I have been staying at Charela Inn for 17 years; i seldom leave the property when I get here....I love this place!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but upstairs oceanfront is superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Three weeks to go until departure, we found out RCI had cancelled our reservations in St. Lucia. Big scramble. My wife found a family sized room at Charela Inn in Negril with a good reasonable nightly rate that we could afford. We LOVE Negril and had wanted to take the kids there, but RCI had no openings, so that is why we were originally going to St. Lucia. Our family numbered 5 including a 20, 19 and 9 year old. So we felt terribly lucky to find they had an opening. Also, we were somewhat familiar with this Inn having stayed next door on a previous trip and knew their beach front was some of the best.

Check in was friendly and easy. I paid the week upfront with traveler's checks, (1. We found that Charela and a lot of places in Jamaica seem to not accept American Express cards and only Mastercard or Visa.) (2. we added charges to the room throughout the week from the restaurant and bar). The grounds were immaculate with a neat variety of flowering plants. The room was a family garden suite with a queen bed in the front room and a second room big enough for bunk beds and a day bed. Behind that was the bathroom. Not anything wildly luxurious by U.S. standards, but we did not expect that. It was comfortable and inviting for our family and suited our needs very well. The air conditioners worked, there was a ceiling fan in the front room with a small fridge and tv.

We loved the convenience to the pool, the restaurant and beach. Really nice location.

The room was less than perfect in that the room safe was unusable due to no key, the lamp next to the bed came on and off at will (if turned on). They quickly changed the bulb for us, but to no avail. No big deal. At the beginning of the week, the shower alternated between hot water and cool at rapid intervals, but smoothed out by the end of the week. The bathroom was missing a top pane of the jalousied (?) windows, so it remained humid in there and we kept the door shut to preserve air conditioning. None of this really detracted from our stay or use of the room. It was quite comfortable.

Can't say enough about the staff. All were very pleasant and accommodating. The fact we did not eat many meals there created no ill will ( we love to explore the different eating venues). That being said, the food and service at the French restaurant was delightful and we did enjoy it very much on several occasions.

As I mentioned earlier, what we really came for was not a disappointment in any respect. The beach was absolutely wondermous! The beach staff were great and took care of us if we had any need or question or if they thought a vendor or other beach wanderer were appearing to be a nuisance. We had nothing but a fantastic experience enjoying the Jamaican sun and the Caribbean sea. No ugliness, everybody was nice and pleasant. Never felt the need to 'run off' anyone selling anything. A simple 'No thanks' and they would move along. I actually enjoyed and began looking forward to the variety of vendors. We frequently found their wares worth a look or purchase. You MUST try out the patties sold by 'Patty Mon', who cruises the beach once a day with the most delicious patties (beef, shrimp, vegetarian, and coco bread), extremely reasonably priced. The serenading duo with guitar and banjo were a pleasant surprise, I could go on, but you get the point. The kids and us all loved the beach experience each day.

Charela has every reason to be so very proud of it's beach, restaurant, accommodations and staff. We all had some form of electronics (ipads/tablets/camera). All remained safe throughout our stay we just kept them out of plain view while we were gone from the room . The housekeeping was accommodating with the late sleepers and did a fine job.

We, from time to time, needed a driver to go to a restaurant on the West End for dinner or visit the local grocery for room snacks/beer. Mr. Granville was always there and took great care of us. I had been worried about local transportation cause there were five of us, but that was never a problem. All we had to do was have someone at the front desk notify him of what we needed and he made himself available. This was a HUGE plus.

We will stay at Charela again without hesitation. Hopefully, the wife and I can get back there, just by ourselves, and enjoy what appeared to be the really nice one bedroom suites facing the ocean.

I encourage anybody seeking to enjoy that special Negril Beach vacation to try Charela Inn. From our experience, you will have no worries or regrets. We miss the folks there already.

Room Tip: From a visual survey, not sure if there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#10 Family Hotel in Negril
#18 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its forty-seven rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. as well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.