We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel in Negril” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Charela Inn / Le Vendome to your Saves list
Charela Inn / Le Vendome
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Great family hotel in Negril”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We loved our stay at the Charela. It has the best spot on the beach, the staff are very accommodating and it is a quiet family hotel with no wild parties, smoking or excessive drinking seen during our stay. It suited us perfectly and we liked the fact that we were on the beach and could come and go as we pleased, but were not hassled by vendors every second.

Daniel, the owner, organised a visit to a local school at our request and came to find us personally and thank us for our donation to the school, which was a very sweet gesture.

The hotel is very 'old style' Jamaica with heavy wooden furniture and a simple, but clean bathroom.

We hope to see you all again soon. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    94
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
41
131
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bambino96
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Our friends who selected this hotel said they did it because of the location/beach. They were spot on. Having spent 5 nights there and spent most the time walking on the beach and swimming in the sea, we couldn't have found a better location.
Ohhhhhh but, we wish the hotel and service was a million times better for the price we paid. To begin with it has a funny design. Some rooms face either the kitchen or a badly kept garden and pool. We were lucky we got a room with a lovely view of the sea, our friends were next to the kitchen and they did have a tough time handling that.
Water pressure in the showers is a disaster. On many occasions there was no water at all and the toilets didn't work. Response from the reception was, entire Negril was out of water. Service was either slow or the people didn't seem to care.
If we are to go back it's simply because of the location and hopefully for half the price we paid.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Best spot of beach in Negril! Great staff, fine rooms (ours was slightly too dark, but that's the only complaint), wonderful food and truly magnificent locale. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Charela Inn hosted our wedding and reception. We, along with our 50 guests, stayed here for a week. Our beach wedding was so beautiful and memorable, and the reception dinner was excellent. All of our guests loved the hotel location, Le Vendome restaurant food, and most of all the beautiful beach and water. We've been to Negril before and think Charela absolutely has the best beachfront. The hotel staff is helpful, friendly and kind, and they made all of us feel so comfortable and relaxed. We booked a garden view room, but Charela surprised us and upgraded us to a deluxe seaview room! We're so glad that we chose Charela and plan to return for our future wedding anniversaries.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed 7 nites at Charela in March/2012. We booked on short notice and the hotel was very accomodating - we found the food at Charela to be well priced and well prepared. The staff were very helpful and the location on the widest part of Negril Beach is awesome. The room was very clean, bed was great, hotel was quiet and we will stay there again. It is old fashioned Jamaica - not your standard fare all inclusive hotel. It's close to everything and I feel it is great value for what is out there. The staff get to know you quickly and make a great Latte.

Room Tip: Try to get the Ocean Front rooms on either main or second floor - a little more money but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We exchanged nuptuals on the very quaint beach in front of family and friends at this hotel. The concierge and wait staff were very patient during the planning arrangement process for our wedding. They even tolerated my "bossy mother". We stayed in an oceanview honeymoon suite which was absolutely gorgeous!You will melt in the comfort of the beds. We loved our bathroom with the badeau as well, Room service everyday and the maids were friendly and accomodating.All of our guests were pleased with their rooms as well. The food was very good. The beach was private, quiet and perfect for relaxation. Our wedding was a beautiful experience thanks to the staff at Charela. We are considering a return trip maybe for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Oceanview Honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We eat at LeVendome every time we are in Negril but have never stayed at the Inn. Le Vendome can be pricey and I felt that the portions were smaller this year. Perhaps the chef is new since my last visit. That being said, my red snapper was perfectly cooked and the staff paid great attention to us even though they got very busy around 10pm when we were half-way through our meal. My opinion is that there aren't that many really good restaurants on the 7-mile, but I would recommend Le Vendome as one of the better ones.

They have entertainment on a regular basis and, although I could live without another "local" show for the tourists, I am happy to support the musicians who work so hard to make a few bucks and entertain.

My favorite spot is to sit on the outside dining patio and stare at the beach and ocean beyond. It has a totally different feel than sitting inside. So, when given the choice, I'd take the patio anytime. There's also a nice lounging area near the bar for just hanging out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charela Inn / Le Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charela Inn / Le Vendome

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | P.O. Box 33, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Negril
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#17 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Charela Inn / Le Vendome 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charela Inn the discreet charm of peace & tranquility, good company and fine food. Nothing more ... nothing less. CHARELA INN resort sits elegantly on the famous Negril Beach, by the Caribbean Sea. Its forty-seven rooms and beach stretches 250 feet in width and 150 feet in depth of pure white sand sprinkled with coconut trees to afford natural shade to our guests. Beyond the sand lies a lawn and two large patios to dine "al fresco" or simply sip cocktails while watching the sunset. All 47 rooms are built around an inner court yard in an Hacienda style with a round fresh water swimming pool in the centre of the yard, and a lush tropical garden with hibiscus, night jasmine, bougainvilleas etc. as well as many birds including our national doctor bird. The feeling is one of being far from the crowds -- yet a few steps away from the world of water sports and many attractions on the seven mile beach. All buildings are of two floors. Each room has either a private patio or a private balcony. All public access at Charela Inn are designed to accommodate the physically impaired, along with three dedicated ground floor rooms. Charela Inn is renowned for the friendliness and caring of its long standing staff, many being with the resort for over 15 years. Charel's longstanding repeat guests of many nationalities brings with them a true feeling of friendship and are cherished by both management and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Charela Inn / Le Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charela Inn / Le Vendome Hotel Negril
Charela Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charela Inn / Le Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.