We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset at the Palms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset at the Palms to your Saves list
Sunset at the Palms
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd | Ruthland Point, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good value very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We went as part of a wedding and found this hotel excellent. Very clean, friendly staff and food was good. Would go back again. The rooms were very unique being off the ground and the beach was fantastic even though across the road from the resort (staff on hand always to help cross the road)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    429
    100
    51
    19
See reviews for
142
1,322
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YARMOUTH AND NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Although this place was lovely, we didn't get the accommodation that we paid for 6 months previously! We were told on arrival that the room that we had booked had been given to the wedding party that were staying! As you can imagine, we were not happy with that news. The Thomas Cook rep the next day was very apologetic and they tried to make up for the error, ie put a small fridge in our room etc but even so, it wasn't what we had paid for! The rep did get the hotel to type us a letter to take back home for a refund at the travel agent that we had booked with. We did get a £600 refund about 5 weeks after we returned home. The rep did say at the hotel, that this does happen a lot and that it was the hotels fault for over booking but that doesn't really help at the time. We also booked private taxis when we booked the holiday and we ended up on a small 12 seater bus, with just the 2 of us on it on arrival, which took about 1.5 hours to get to our complex! Again not what we paid for.
After all that though...we did have a lovely relaxing 10 days and the sunset at the palms is a lovely place with great food and lovely apartments, but wedding parties do take preference and do take over! Which did spoil it a bit. We were disappointed at the lack of traditional reggae entertainment and did not get the beech party we were promised. Jamaica was one of our dream destinations but didn't live up to it unfortunately. The trips were poor and and although we had already paid for the private taxis for the transfers, we were told by the drivers they expect to be tipped! I don't mind tipping but was offendered to be told I had to!.
We holiday a lot and I don't like to moan but having just returned from a holiday in Egypt, which was a quarter of the price, we actually prefered it!.

The sunset at the palms is lovely. I just wanted to explain our experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Going back to SATP, Nov 29th 2013 for a third time.
This resort is superb for adults looking for quiet, relaxing, good food, first rate service.
The beach is to die for and the ocean is stupendous.
Sunset at the palms is the ideal spot for just forgetting everything and just chillin.
Jamaica is just the best.

Neilm

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon at Sunset at the Palms in Negril, Jamaica. It was our first time to Jamaica and we couldn't have been happier. What we loved the most was that it was a unique place to stay. You can stay in a hotel anywhere, but here, you have your own little bungalow. You are surrounded by lush greens and palm trees everywhere you look. The food is amazing; my husband and I have never eaten that good! We loved how friendly and helpful the staff was. Everyone was willing to go out of their way to provide excellent service. They had helpful tips on things to do outside of the resort and tips on safety. We went to the local nightclub, The Jungle, one night and we actually saw two of the staff members there. It was so sweet because they both went out of their way to ensure our safety the whole night! We loved our server, Tessa and the bellman, O'Neil. Also, a trainee, Leonardo was so sweet! I think Sunset at the Palms deserves a 5-star rating. We will be returning to Jamaica and we won't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights from 8th Sept. We had the most amazing time! Staff were fantastic (special mention for Kemp and Kerry!) and always made sure we were looked after. The resort itself is beautiful. Not plush by any means, but clean and extremely well kept grounds. The tree houses are really lovely! The short walk across to the beach is well worth it, such a stunning spot. The food was also incredible, the best we've had at an all inclusive resort. Also a mention for Mr Tucker the piano man. Plays most evenings in the martini bar and is beyond talented!! We had the most incredible time and we'll most definitely go back!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Loved our stay here, its not as big as a lot of the all-inclusive resorts and been slightly removed from the beach feels more private. The staff are excellent, happy, friendly, always smiling and accommodating.
The food was great, always a good selection and happy to (try and) help if you have a requirement.
Lovely room, great views. The distance from the beach was not a problem, as stated above, we enjoyed the separation.
All in all an excellent place to relax

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Visited as a couple for 14 days, returned on 22nd september 2013.
First impression staff very freindly as many reviews have stated, now as a smoker I was greeted with the new law which came into force two months earlier and made to sign a document to the affect of you may only smoke in designated areas (a fine of $250 at the descresion of the management) there was only one a bench at the rear of the pool bar, oh yes and at pool bar on a hard concrete wall not on the loungers around the pool or any where else you can in the open air while walking on the paths,now I would never smoke in the room but they stated we could not smoke on our private balcony in the open air remember because it was under cover by the roof,well I went into one! utter madness I did smoke on the balcony and after a few chats with some of the staff who worked there, a blind eye was turned the same goes for the herbal cigs,obviously this first part of my review is aimed at the smokers reading this or should I say us outcasts, I am going to try and give up at some point hopefully, The hotel is as per the discription, the grounds are well maintained, the setting is very impressive you feel like you are in a rain forrest and yes the tree frogs are wonerfully noisy at night the accomodation is good when we arrived we had room 701 I asked to be moved because of the traffic noise that was not a problem the staff are all wonderful we were allocated room 405 nice and quiet the showers wonderful 5 body jets and a shower head above, two body jets didn`t work once reported they had it all up and working again later that afternoon.All the rooms at the rear are quiet, the food is adiquate
nothing to write home about,we stayed for 14 days and as in most hotels the menu is the same on the second week,the beach was also nice just a five min walk via lolly pop man/woman,beach bar and grill also good, overall a very nice alternative to your ordenary concrete/brick accomodations only one critisim the entertainment was absolutly awful none at all would have been better than what we had to endure but other than that an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: At the rear 400s/500s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.7 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#10 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#19 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Caves
The Caves
#2 of 90 in Negril
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
2.2 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset at the Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset at the Palms

Address: Norman Manley Blvd | Ruthland Point, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#4 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#5 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#8 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset at the Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great spot for romantics or a destination wedding. Nestled amongst tropical gardens and flowering plants at the edge of Negril, this unique all-inclusive gem is best described as intimate, chic and serene. The resort offers 85 "tree-house-style," elegantly appointed guestrooms on ten-acres of lush landscaping, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Melt away with a soothing spa service in our unique treatment garden, cool off at the swim up bar with a tropical drink or "chill" at the resort's five beachfront acres and two miles of white sand beach, just steps away. When dining is on the menu, you'll enjoy both international and authentic Jamaican cuisine at four restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Jetsetter so you can book your Sunset at the Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset At The Palms Hotel Negril
Sunset At The Palms Negril
Sunset Palms Jamaica
Sunset Palms Negril
Sunset At The Palms Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset at the Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.