We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing vacation spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence
Moore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My fiancé and I just returned from Couples. We had an overall amazing time! The resort wasn't crowded, which was nice so that you could always find a chair at the pool/beach. I like that the resort only has one restaurant that requires reservations and a strict dress code. This takes some of the pressure off of thinking you have to plan everything right when you get there. The food was SO GOOD. The shrimp mac and cheese in the Italian restaurant was my favorite but the snapper sandwich, jerk chicken, lychee restaurant, omelets and buffet were also good. The resort does not have any bottled water, except for in the gift shop. If we would've known this we probably would've bought a few bottles at our layover. The water doesn't taste bad, but it is something to get used to I would say. We went on the sunset cruise and I would definitely recommend it! The staff is great and the caves the water where they let you swim is so beautiful. That might've been my favorite part of the trip. The rooms are nothing special but they are clean and you don't spend much time in there anyway! Cold A/C was important to us and they definitely had that. We paid extra for an ocean view and I probably wouldn't do that again. The resort has so many palm trees and there is so much distance from the rooms to the beach that we couldn't get a good view of it from the balcony. Since you don't spend much time in the room, getting a garden view probably would've been fine. Most of the employees seemed happy to be there and the overall service from the staff was excellent. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: They were working on the building next to ours which created some noise but it wasn't too bad. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,352
    813
    200
    111
    37
See reviews for
35
2,631
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised at how much we loved this place. We stayed at another all inclusive resort in Punta Cana in January and I was not impressed at all. Couples Negril had it all..nice grounds, beautiful beach, food was great and the entire staff was genuinely warm and friendly..thoroughly lived this resort.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My wife and I visited the Couples Negril resort a few years after we were married to celebrate our anniversary (we visited the Couples, Ocho Rios the first time)...and had no complaints about the resort itself.

If you've been to Jamaica, you know that the ride in can/will be harrowing, the portion while you're at the airport might leave you gripping your bag tightly as you look for your ride and dudes selling marijuana off of the resort are common...BUT, this resort is nothing but great.

We loved the food, whether in the bar, at breakfast, at one of the all-included restaurants or room service. The beach is great and long enough for strolling. The ocean and pool are amazing...and the rooms are boutique style without feeling stuffy.

I hope the owners read this and want to give me a big discount for a third visit!! ; )

Room Tip: Your second stay at a Couples Resort is even better...they offer perks (ask!)!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The resort is situated a good ride from the airport but don't let that put you off, because once you're there you'll probably never want to leave! We stayed for the last week in July '14.

The staff are all very friendly and willing to lend a hand with anything you need and the resort as a whole is gorgeous. The beach is well maintained, with plenty of loungers for everyone and also a good amount of trees for the direct sun adverse!

We went on the sunset cruise (not run by the hotel so bring something small as a tip) and the snorkeling. Hopefully we'll be back soon so that we can take advantage of the other activities.

Room Tip: Just like everyone else mentions, there really aren't any true "Beachfront" rooms. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We vacationed at Couples Negril from July 1-. 2012. I still dream about this place!
We were greeted with a cold towel and champagne when we were checked in and then we were quickly escorted to our room. It was a Garden View room on the 2nd floor with a view of the spa. It was clean and spacious with a fully stocked minibar. We loved the small size of the resort and that everything was in close proximity.

The choices for dining were plentiful with a vast amount of choices in the Cassava Buffet Restaurant. The a la carte restaurants were excellent. We tried them all and even ate twice at Lychee. The food at this resort was the best of any resort or cruise I have been to.

Couples Negril is a beautiful resort. There were local vendors selling their crafts. On the beach there was a guy who sang and played guitar. He was very good and I looked forward to seeing him. The beach was spectacular. It was warm, clean and calm. We enjoyed floating on the floats and we spent all of our time on the beach. We rarely used the pool. We never found it hard to find loungers. I was also able to get wifi at the beach which was great. We did encounter rain showers in the afternoons but they didn't last long. One afternoon I took advantage of the spa when it rained. We stayed on the beach until sunset every day which was awesome. Everyday we walked the beach in both directions and must say that the CN beach area seemed to be the best of all the surrounding hotels.We used the red flag system for drinks a few times and loved this service.

We also took advantage of the catamaran cruise, the glass bottom boat cruise, snorkeling and the in town shuttle for shopping.

The hotel offered great service, friendly staff, and awesome food! It was a vacation to remember!

Room Tip: All rooms are in good proximity of amenities since the resort is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have just returned from Couples Negril, and what can I say ........ This was our first time at couples and it will not be our last!! From the people to the service the overall experience was amazing!! We had a great time meeting new friends as well!! Ty !!!! Will never forget you "mon" looking forward to meeting up with you guys again on a future vacation!! Remember your Bob Marley Box!!!! The overall resort was beautiful, and although some of the rooms are a little dated ares was great and very clean. They have recognized this and they have already refurbished a number of the buildings and are working on updating the rest. This was very encouraging to us!! The beach was beautiful and water was amazing!!! Every day was just another day in paradise!! Hoping to meet up with the rest of the people we met in the future!!! Will be back in January!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Arriving at Couples, Negril, after a 9.5 hour flight and a transfer from Montego Bay through a rain storm, initially does not fill you with a sense that you have arrived in Paradise. How wrong you are. From the time that your suitcases are off-loaded in Main Reception and you are drinking your first glass of champagne, through to your departure at the same Main Reception, Couples, Negril, caters for all your needs, especially if your intention is to chill, but to chill with great facilities.

My wife and myself work full-time and booked our annual break especially at Couples, to get away from the usual Kiddies Disco and the usual kids entertainments that are associated with holidays these days. The accommodation was good (block 2, garden view) and had everything within, that you would need for a holiday, as well as being extremely comfortable and clean.

Facilities at hand along with things you could do, varied from an excellent gymnasium through to a very professional water-sports amenity that is PADDI accredited and well stocked with good equipment.

However, whilst we found the Hotel to be excellent along with the Facilities, no queues or long waiting at bars and Restaurants, these were not the main points of praise that made our holiday memorable. This accolade must be levied to the Couples STAFF. My wife and I are seasoned travellers and from all our visits and time living outside of the UK, we were really impressed with all STAFF, irrespective if they were Main Reception, Catering, Bar, Water-sports, Cleaners or even Operations Management.

Nothing was of to much trouble, everyone was pleasant, you are treated with respect and all STAFF are extremely well presented (considering the high humidity and ambient temperatures, this is quite an achievement).

We completed our holiday and know, that we will return to Couples, Negril. At the time we were at the Hotel, the Operations Manager was acting as General Manager (GM was on vacation). My wife and myself must compliment David on doing a fantastic job.

Pete and Lucy

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negril
4.5 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#19 of 90 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 4,167 reviews
83.4 mi away
Couples Sans Souci
Couples Sans Souci
#4 of 40 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
77.1 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Beaches Negril Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#18 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.