We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Save Saved
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Negril
Dallas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Beach is just too good at this resort and gives best value with included water sports and services for the price. Definitely worth another visit. I have never seen a beach resort that offers you a free scuba dive including lessons.

Rooms could be upgraded and few more food options would be better.

But for the price it is still the best all-inclusive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

We are thrilled to learn that you had a memorable stay at Couples Negril. I see that you took the time to indulge in the many activities and especially enjoyed our beach location.

Thank you for sharing your recommendations.

We welcome the opportunity to host you another time.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,955
    698
    175
    103
    36
See reviews for
27
2130
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In March, my husband and I returned to Couples Negril for our third trip. What we love most about the resort is its small manageable size, its laid-back vibe, the take-it-or-leave-it approach to activities (no pressure), its amazing food, the friendly wonderful people, and the beautiful grounds, beach, and pool. OK, everything!

We always stay in building two, and they are great at accommodating our request not only for the building, but for a corner room if possible. The Garden area is just so peaceful and you can see lots of birds in the morning if you are an early riser like me. The rooms have always been comfortable and clean.

If you enjoy food, you will definitely enjoy the many options here. Having lots of choices is the best part from grabbing some delicious jerk chicken or a Jamaican patty at the Heliconia Grill to the full buffets at Cassava Terrace to some lovely beachside casual dining at Heliconia in the evening. Oteheite is a must and be sure you adhere to the dress code. You will be turned away if you wear shorts -- I've seen it. We also try to go there on Fridays for lobster night. Desserts, no matter where or when, are top notch. And one of my absolute favorite parts of the day is breakfast -- so much fresh fruit and fresh juices! Our favorite drinks are the dirty bananas and rum cream on the rocks after dinner. Note that this year we only had real bananas one day of our 11 day trip. Not sure if there was a banana issue or it's a change in procedure to use banana liquor.

We spend most of our days by the pool and have never had trouble finding chairs. I will say that there were some really rowdy people there this time around who could have been a bit more considerate of those around them, but not rude enough to ruin the trip.

The resort has plenty of activities. Our favorites: catamaran cruise (go off the slide! Tip: point your toes and you won't land on your behind), private boat cruise to Rick's (you can arrange this at the activities desk), private dinner on the beach (also arranged at the activities desk), the sunset excursion to Pushcart, sunset champagne toast, and snorkeling trips (twice daily and included). Off-site activities: walk down the beach to the Office of Nature for some fresh grilled lobster and the One Love Bus bar tour. Rick's is fun, too. The activities desk will help you arrange transportation.

While the sun and salt air somehow magically make it difficult to keep our eyes open past nine, make sure you make it at least one night to the piano bar and definitely get the best seat you can for the Silver Birds steel drum band. They are fantastic!

We'll be back and are getting ready to book our fourth trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

We are pleased to learn that Couples Negril has become a favorite of yours. It seems you were kept busy by the wide array of activities and entertainment options.

Thank you for your commendations of our cuisine which is geared towards satisfying the taste buds of our diverse clientele.

Looking forward to seeing you on your return trip.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm a little surprised about the reviews concerning the decor. If you want fancy-shmancy then go to Sandals or something. What is important here are the good people and good vibes. This is why you have returning guests come back forever. Last time we were there, a couple was on their 17th visit. Couples has a knack for service, everyone is beyond nice, the food is outstanding, and the beach is incredible. For the price you pay, this is a bargain you cannot beat. We will be returning again very soon. :)

Room Tip: In my opinion, you don't neccessarily need to see the beach from your room. You're there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Erica,

Thank you for your kind words of encouragement. It is good to know that Couples Negril has become a home away from home for you. I am especially pleased that you enjoy interacting with members of the team and appreciate our food offerings.

We look forward to seeing you on your return soon.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

So...this is NOT the Ritz Carlton. If you're expecting a "Hampton Inn" on the beach type experience then go to the Florida Keys. You're going to a different country with different values and cultures. With that being said, this was a great adult vacation. Yes, the place is a bit dated but it's clean and you feel secure while on property. The room was great, the not so mini bar was amazing, and everyone there was just happy. Only bad service we had was at the Asian restaurant, they were slow and seemed to be completely unorganized but the food there was good. Yes, there are a ton of solicitors on the beach but one "no thank you" and they were happily on their way. Can't say the same for other "islands in paradise" i've been to. The bus ride is a bit long but here's a tip, just about every flight (tourist that is) into Jamaica flies into Montego Bay and there's no interstate to get you where you want to go at 80mph. So when you go to Jamaica expect a ride to wherever you're going (Kingston from Negril is 6hrs one way!). Couples does have their own check in kiosk at the airport with free red stripe and mixed drinks. Sit there a while and you wont care how long the ride is. The beach, albeit not private, is amazing. White sand, calm waters since it's on the West side of the island, and in the sectioned off swimming area (to keep power sports out) at it's farthest reaches is only 5' deep. Every restaurant we ate at was great and the breakfast buffets were amazing. We would probably try a different Couples next trip but we would recommend this one to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for sharing your encouraging review. Couples Resorts feels satisfied to have carved out our own niche in such a competitive market. We are pleased to have met your expectations on your recent vacation. We have noted your observations in relation to the service you received in our Lychee restaurant and will address with the team.

We look forward to hosting you and your friends another time.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First impression I was disappointed. Upon check the first thing I noticed was the lobby had very old furniture in it. It was dated. We were given a sheet of paper to fill out. Then we were given a cool cloth and a glass of champagne.
We were taken to our room. Which was nice, clean and had a big screen TV in it LOL. The dresser is 4 wicker drawers. There is a safe. The shower was good. The bed extremely comfortable. French doors to the balcony. My view was to be ocean. Well really I got the pond and trees. But if you looked through the trees I could see the ocean.
Food fantastic. Not one complaint here. Buffet was always good. Breakfast fantastic. The employees on the other hand were not so nice. I encountered more rude then nice employees. The spa was nice but once again rude staff.
Beach is nice and clean. Lots of chairs. Annoying solicitors from jet ski rides to hair braiding all day. They are harassing. Pool is small and clean. Bar is great at the pool.
The place needs a paint job.The grounds are clean and well maintained. 2 shops with lots of stuff. Small shopping mall in Negril was a waste of time.
Over all out of 5 I give this resort a 4. Be prepared for a long bus ride to and from the airport.
Hope this helps. All truth no lies here. We won't go back and I would not recommend this resort to my friends or family. It was ok just didn't get the wow factor I look for in a vacation resort.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Peachessdog,

Our aim at Couples Negril is to provide the perfect place for relaxation, creating beautiful memories whilst rekindling the old ones. Thank you for sharing your comments.

Our Lobby furnishings are antique in order to complement our rustic décor and theme. We are usually known for very friendly service from our team members and as such, we are very concerned reading your comments about encountering persons who were rude. This is certainly not our service standards and we will address this matter within the team.

The beach is accessible to the public; however, our Security Officers as well as Management and Team Members ensure that vendors do not encroach upon the personal space of our guests.

It was great to have you staying with us. You are more than welcome to visit again.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from Couples Nigril with 6 couples and had a great time! We went to Jamaica 5 times and always had a good time and where a little scared it would not measure up and when we first got there saw it was a little older resort but once we got there and started our vacation our mood really changed and Loved it. The food was excellent and the staff was so friendly. We did not meet a staff member with a bad attitude. All were so friendly. The beach was great and so where all the activities. The beach party was the best. Dinner and show on the beach watching the sunset. Would recommend to anyone and would go back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Brian

The vibe and ambiance at Couples Negril is always great for romance and relaxation and it would appear that this was just right for you and your friends during your experience here. Thank you for sharing your review and recommendations.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This hotel was a lot of fun. We purposely booked a hotel that didn't allow children, and were very grateful we did. The water and sporting activities on offer were great, as was the gym and tennis courts. The different restaurants were great and the food was always fresh and well cooked. I liked having the choice of the main buffet restaurant and then the other a la carte restaurants. The bars were always lots of fun and could always ask for top shelf spirits which were included. The rooms were good, had everything you would want and expect from a top hotel. The staff situation was strange. Half the time I got great customer service with a smile, and the other half I got disinterested and surly service. The hotel should do more to ensure consistency of service

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thank you for making Couples Negril your choice to spend your recent vacation. I see that you especially enjoyed our cuisine and daily activities. The inconsistencies in service that you observed are certainly not to the Couples standard as such we will continue to retrain where necessary. Your words of encouragement and suggestions are much appreciated.

Looking forward to hosting you another time.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.