We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"As close to Paradise as you can get"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"As close to Paradise as you can get"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited Couples Negril with a group of friends in June 2013. This was my first trip to Jamaica so I didn't know what to expect. The resort was everything we hoped for and then some. My favorite part of this resort was the beach. The beaches in Negril are second to none and the stretch of beach at this resort is clean and well maintained. The water is crystal clear, shallow and the bottom is smooth white sand. We spent a lot of time relaxing on the beach along and participating in the many beach activities. We appreciated the fact that the workers were not in your face pressuring you to take part in activities. The pool is also is a must at this resort. It was cleaned daily and the swim up bar is nice.

The food at the four restaurants in the resort was good and offered a wide variety of options. We especially liked the Lychee asian restaurant. All of the bars had a great drink selection and featured a lot of local favorites. If you do like a good tropical drink, ask for a bartender named Charles and he will take care of you. He is friendly and will take the time to get to know you, not to mention he makes a good drink. Several people mentioned that they felt the resort is a little outdated and I disagree. I liked the decor' and felt that it had a Jamaican culture feel to it. Our room was clean, comfortable and neatly decorated.

My only complaint is that some of the service staff seemed as if they didn't want to be there. Outside of the entertainment staff and several bartenders, a lot of the staff seemed bothered when you asked them for something. This isn't a big deal to me but I can see how it could bother some guests. Overall we loved everything about the resort and will for sure visit again. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing tropical vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Nathan,

Thank you for sharing your views of your recent vacation here at Couples Negril. We are very pleased to learn that we were able to exceed your expectations. It is evident that you enjoyed the amenities and food offerings.

We have noted your insights in regards to the service received from some team members and will continue to reiterate our standards. Your sentiments will be related to Charles.

Thanks again for your comments. Do visit us again.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,025
    722
    177
    107
    38
See reviews for
27
2,225
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at Couple Negril for the third time June 8th through the 16th. It was great to be “home”. We were in building 2, room 2108. For Garden Rooms, I think that buildings 1 and 2 are the absolute best. I had requested a first floor room in either block when I sent the Romance Reward Information in and didn’t have to request again at check-in. That was very much appreciated. The room was fine, as usual; however, the bathroom left something to be desired. There was virtually no counter space at all by the sink and there was a makeshift bench in the shower, apparently for handicapped people. I did read that they are upgrading all bathrooms, so hopefully, the next time we go it will be better. Other than that, everything was great, and in the bigger scheme of things, didn’t bother us.
I want to comment on the two new things since we were last there-the new process for getting the minibar filled and the discontinuance of bottles of water. I wish they would go back to the old process of filling out the form and having the minibar stocked that way. It wasn’t that big a deal, but it is an inconvenience. Also, although there are water dispensers in the restaurants, several times they were empty and the dispenser on the beach was broken part of the time, so there was no water available. I think this is a bigger problem as it is important to stay hydrated on the beach. If they are not going to have bottled water then it is important that water be readily available and also that there be glasses available for the water.
I was hoping that they might have put ceiling fans on the decks/balconies of the rooms in the two years since we were there, but unfortunately, we were disappointed in that. Both San Souci and Swept Away have them and they really make a big difference when sitting outside in the heat.
The service was excellent, as usual. I didn’t really notice any glum faces as some have reported. The food was also very good, which we had expected. No complaints there. I had the jerk chicken almost every day. One night the service was extremely slow in Lychee but no big deal. We never had to wait for drinks and I thought that the coffee/water service in the mornings at the buffet was better than usual.
This year we took advantage of the “trading places” and went to Swept Away for a day. The resort is beautiful, but I still prefer CN.
Unfortunately, the week we were there it rained more than usual every day, but that isn’t the resort’s fault. We still had the mornings every day to get sun. I noticed that they seem to have replaced more of the floats this year which was good. Last time some of them were getting quite ratty.
A couple of other notes: I was disappointed that the guards seemed to favor some beach entertainers over others. The guy who whistles and sings is very good, however, he stays for hours every day and they were running off other entertainers with the excuse that management only allows one entertainer on the entire beach at a time. The problem with that is that on some days there were three sets of entertainers on the beach so it appeared that they just didn’t want certain people entertaining. In addition, another couple we met had a brand new bottle of expensive perfume stolen from their room the first day they were there and management was less than responsive and never even followed up with them after the initial report. These people were first time visitors and it was obvious that they would not be coming back. That is a shame as we have always found management to be very responsive with any little complaint. That is the one of the things we love about Couples.
All in all, another wonderful trip to Couples Negril. Can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Recent Returning Guests,

Your review is testimony to the saying “The third time’s a charm”. We are glad that we were able to take care of your needs on another vacation here at Couples Negril. Thank you for your commendations of our accommodations and the amenities offered. As you correctly stated, we have plans to do some upgrades to the bathrooms very soon and trust you will like them when you return. For future consideration, we have taken note of your insights regarding the entertainers on the beach and ceiling fans for the room balconies.

The adjustment of the Mini Bar initiative was done to add a more personalized touch to the service, facilitating accuracy of deliveries and more guest/staff interaction. The discontinuation of supplying bottled water is in keeping with our corporate vision and Environmentally Friendly Campaign. In light of this, we have various water stations and coolers around the property and also a water pitcher in all rooms which is replenished daily. We will continue in our efforts to ensure that these are adequately and sufficiently maintained to prevent any inconvenience to you, our valued guests.

While we understand your concern, you will appreciate that we are unable to disclose with you or the general public the details of the case re the alleged missing perfume via this forum. We will state however, that reports of this nature are by no means taken lightly. One should also bear in mind, that we have had reports of missing items which were later found in guests’ possession while some were never recovered; therefore, all such incidents are treated on an individual basis. It is our policy to conduct thorough investigations and if the situation warrants it, our insurance company and the relevant authorities get involved. Our Regional Security Manager and/or Management also does the necessary follow-up with the individuals affected as it relates to any development in the case.

We are pleased that you had another wonderful trip; looking forward to seeing you next time.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Couples Negril the first week of June, there are a lot of pros to the resort and there are some things that need improving. I think I will start with what needs work:

1 - The resort needs a major makeover, it's really showing it's age, needs a fresh coat of paint and some updating and/or some deep cleaning.
2 - Some of those beach floaters need to be thrown out and replaced, we noticed a lot were dirty looking and quite a few had rips in them. On the other hand these floaters were most unexpected and was probably one of the best things that the resort offered.
3 - Some of the staff, most of them, need an attitude change, they didn't seem happy at all to be at work, they were pleasant for the most part, but looked unhappy and unenthusiastic to be there. Not all of them, but most of them

Now on to the better things about the holiday, the location and beach were perfect, it was really beautiful and while yes the beach is Bloody Bay and not actually a part of 7 mile beach, I really liked that we were in a bay as it kept a lot of the wind and waves away from the beach and us. I loved that the water was calm and clear and warm.

We didn't stay at the pool very much as we are beach goers but the times we were there we enjoyed it, a very nice pool, but loud, as with most resorts this is where the people who love to drink in excess stay.

We loved that the water activities were included, we did water-skiing, wake-boarding, paddle boarding, kayaking, the snorkeling trip, glass bottom boat ride and the catamaran, all of which were amazing and a lot of fun and we were super pleased that all of them were included in the cost of our trip.

The food was pretty great the whole time we were there and we really liked that each night we had a la carte for dinner and didn't have to go to a buffet. The one night we ate at the buffet dinner it was not very good and you could tell the food had been sitting around a long time. We enjoyed the games room (we played billiards often in the evening) and enjoyed the grounds.

We liked that this resort was smaller, we've both been to large resorts and were pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed that it was a smaller resort, it had a more intimate feeling which we enjoyed. We also loved that there were hammocks everywhere to enjoy mostly at night watching the starts and listening to the ocean :)

Our room was adequate, nothing special, the bed was comfortable and everything worked, our bathroom sink tap leaked but it didn't interfere with anything really.

Mostly we enjoyed ourselves on the beach, had great nights sleep and ate plenty of food, sure there are a few things that need to be worked out but we both had a great vacation, would we go back - likely if some improvements were made to the facility and to the staff, for now we are off to explore other places but would recommend the property to other people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Your vacation at Couples Negril was evidently a wonderful experience. Thank you for sharing these details and also for your compliments on our food and included amenities.

We are replacing the floats on the beach and have refurbishing plans to be effected this year. Our team members are usually known to offer very friendly service; sorry this was not your experience.

Thank you for recommending Couples Negril. We wish you all the best in your upcoming pursuits and we hope for the opportunity to provide you with another signature “Couples experience”.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had been staying at the Riu for the 8 days before and came to this resort for our honeymoon. We stayed here from 6/5-6/10. You are greeted here with some champagne. We were hoping to get a free upgrade b/c we were on our honeymoon but you have to stay there for 6 nights and we were only there for 5:( However we did have a pond in the back of room so we still got a water view ;)

The bathrooms were pretty outdated. The room was okay though. The pool was in need of an update too. However the rest of the facilities were all up to date. The food was amazing!! Definitely go to the sit down restaurants. Those were amazing. The reservation only restaurant had some of the best salmon and risotto I've ever had. You can get some top shelf drinks here too. The best selection was at the piano bar that opens at 6. The beach was really nice and the water was beautiful.

There are numerous activities to do all day long. We kayaked, pedal boated, sailed, water skied, paddle boarded and took a booze cruise catamaran that took us cave swimming. All of these were free. Some activities do cost money though. The nightly entertainment was alright. Most nights featured a reggae band. We had more fun at the dances. One was a techno/top 40 light show/dance party on the beach. It was awesome! There are hammocks on the beach which were nice too.

Another perk of this place is most workers will not accept tips, especially in public. So it truly is all inclusive.

I would def stay at this place again for the food, drinks and beach alone :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the buildings closest to the center are the best b/c you are right by everything. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jillian,

Thank you for including Couples Negril in your honeymoon celebration. The many activities included are all for your enjoyment and from your comments, we noticed that you made good use of the opportunity to experience some of the pleasures that we offer here.

As you mentioned, we have a strict ‘no tipping’ policy which we ask all our guests to assist us in upholding. We understand the need to show appreciation for excellent service; however, your kind comments are sufficient to let us know how you truly feel.

We will be conducting some soft furnishing repairs this year and really hope to see you again for another fabulous holiday.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We just got back from our honeymoon at Couples Negril June 10-15. I have to say that it was the best vacation I have ever experienced. I have traveled moderately over the years with my parents owning numerous time-shares all over the place. The beauty of Couples Negril is that they are true to the Jamaican mantra of "no worries, mon." It is completely hassle-free, as the staff takes care of everything....all you have to do is kick back and RELAX. Upon arriving from the long ride from the airport, they greeted us with a cool washcloth and a glass of champagne. Nice touch. We got the ocean view room (which we loved). The food was excellent, as was the service. It was completely perfect. And believe me, take advantage of the activities which are included for free (i.e. snorkeling, glass-bottom boat, sunset catamaran, hobie cat, etc.). Milton at the water sports hut was great and kept us so busy that we never left the resort. I don't have one negative comment about our stay. The staff was wonderful and lovely, always there to accommodate us in each and every way. We will DEFINITELY go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Recent guests,

It’s reviews like yours that let us know that we are following through on our promise to deliver a great vacation experience.

Glad to know that the activities on schedule kept you occupied during your stay. Your experience is as a result of a concerted effort from a vibrant team with a genuine desire to cater to your needs and interests.

Thank you for making it Couples Negril, we look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second trip to Jamaica, but our first visit to Couples Negril. I must say the staff was very friendly & the entertainment coordinators were AMAZING! This was a last minute birthday surprise which left very little time for planning, so we had to base our decision off reviews. My fiancé was adamant about staying in Negril because someone had told him how nice the beaches were. When we called to reserve the room, we were told that there was only one room left which we were excited about considering we were planning to arrive in less than a week. I couldn't wait to get to this placed from reading the reviews (sighs) boy was I in for a rude awakening. I'm not high maintenance but I'm all about sleeping in a decent room when I'm away from home. These rooms need MAJOR RENOVATION !!!There were small insects (maybe Jamaican ants..lol I don't know) all over the bathroom countertop & on the tables in the room. Our room had a musty smell which settled into our clothes ugghhh. The food was decent , but not of good . My fiancé likes premium liquors such as grey goose, so he was happy to find that the piano bar served premium liquor such as grey goose, so we thought, until he tasted the cheap vodka I had from the Cassava Terrace bar and yep you guessed it, THEY TASTED EXACTLY THE SAME! I wonder how long they recycle that grey goose bottle. I also DID NOT enjoy the van ride from the airport to Negril. The driver was very nice but they drive like maniacs, I was praying to make it to the resort in one piece .So the next time I go back to Jamaica, we will definitely stay in Montego Bay which is close to the airport & a shorter drive . I did enjoy the nightly shows & the different events scheduled each night. Overall the trip was relaxing for the both of us. We made the best of it.

Room Tip: We were in room 7302 and it was a little noisy which didn't bother us, but if you're looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Thanks for your expression of appreciation for our team members who go the extra mile to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable holiday at our Resort. We are sorry to hear that our accommodations were not to your satisfaction. In the near future, we will be doing some upgrades to some aspects of the facilities.

Due to our tropical climate, we have incidences of small bugs/ants from time to time; however, our Pest Control team actively attends to these one off situations.

Sorry to hear that you were not able to relax totally on the complimentary shuttle transfer to the Resort. In Jamaica, we drive on the left. Some persons are a little intimidated by this until they get accustomed to it. Our shuttle drivers are properly trained with adequate experience. They are guided by not only the Jamaican road laws but also by the COUPLES standard operating procedures so you can rest assured that you are in good care.

It was disturbing to see your comment about the Grey Goose. Couples Negril prides itself in our respectable reputation as a leading Resort in the Tourism and Hospitality Industry and would not jeopardize this honour through dishonesty or any form of deception to our guests. Your claim will however, be thoroughly investigated as this is absolutely not the standard by which Couples Negril operates. Top shelf liquor is still available at our Bars and we remain committed to continue to deliver as promised and as advertised.

We trust you will return to Couples Negril sometime in the future to re-experience the many benefits that we have to offer.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lafayette,louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we went to couples Negril after several trips to couples swept away.... have to say it was a great trip.... great meals ... to great service.... had a blast ..... thanks to the everyone from the general manager to the maids.... will be back

Room Tip: beach near nude beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

We acknowledge your loyalty to the Couples Brand. It’s great that you decided to give Couples Negril a try and had no regrets. Thank you for your commendations.

It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we are happy to have met your expectations.

Looking forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.