We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time ... great place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 90 Hotels in Negril
lafayette,louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“great time ... great place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we went to couples Negril after several trips to couples swept away.... have to say it was a great trip.... great meals ... to great service.... had a blast ..... thanks to the everyone from the general manager to the maids.... will be back

Room Tip: beach near nude beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

We acknowledge your loyalty to the Couples Brand. It’s great that you decided to give Couples Negril a try and had no regrets. Thank you for your commendations.

It was certainly a pleasure hosting you and we are happy to have met your expectations.

Looking forward to your return.

Kindest regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    740
    181
    108
    38
See reviews for
28
2,310
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Well our friends have been hearing how great our Vacations over the last 4 years have been at couples Negril. They decided that they wanted to join us for a week and CN. We thought that would be great, then I started to get worried about how the vacation would go.

Everyone is different and as different expectations on what they want for a vacation. I was worried that they were coming to spend their time and hard earned money at a resort that we love but they might not. Well, my worries were almost immediately put to rest, their first scheduled day on the resort was actually spent in Miami as their plane was cancelled. :( But every day after that, they grew to love the place as much as we did. We have never gone on vacation with friends before, so we were wondering how it would change our time with each other.....another concern of mine that went out the windon quickly.

All the other reviewers pretty much tell you how great the place is... I have put two previous reviews on this resort. I have also stayed at Couples Sans Souci, which won't happen again....see my review if you are interested in that resort. We are already booked and our friends can't wait to return as well.....!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

We are pleased to have read your review and are very grateful that you are an advocate of Couples Negril. Thank you for telling your friends about us and for giving us the opportunity to host you and your friends for a memorable experience.

We are happy that your worries about the vacation were laid to rest upon arrival as we were able to deliver on our promise of a luxurious romantic holiday. Our aim is to exceed the expectations of all our guests; therefore, our amenities are geared towards the interests and needs of the varying personalities that visit us each year, such as you and your friends.

It will certainly be a pleasure to welcome you and your friends another time.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Couples Negril because Couples Swept Away was fully booked. Boy was that a mistake. Couples Swept Away is so much nicer in every way: nicer beach, nice staff, nicer resort grounds, more restaurants, etc. Couples Negril felt more like 40-year-old spring break. And that's fine if that's what you want in a vacation, but we were on our honeymoon and weren't so pleased with the behavior of much of the clientele there, nor the indifference of the staff.

Our visit was good, it just wasn't outstanding. The spa is incredible and worth a day visit to Couples Negril. And the pool is nice and offers plenty of seating and ample people watching. But after we spent a day at Couples Swept Away we knew what we were missing. We would love to return to Negril and stay at Couples Swept Away but we won't be returning to Couples Negril. Here are a few specific reasons why:

-The place needs a seriously deep cleaning and a fresh coat of paint.
-The staff could be much friendlier
-The buffet could use a serious makeover
-The pool bar should cut people off before they disrupt the peaceful atmosphere of the resort
-Our room was next to an employee parking lot. Twice we were woken by car alarms.

In short this is a B- resort that seems to be okay with the fact that they are under-achieving. I don't see them ever addressing the concerns most luxury travelers would voice.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled into spending more on rooms. Ocean view is the best room on the property. Beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Recent Honeymooners,

We are happy that you gave us the opportunity to host you for your honeymoon and overall you felt that your stay was good. We do realize also that you had some concerns which affected your total enjoyment of Couples Negril.

We appreciate your loyalty to our sister property, Couples Swept Away and while there are numerous similarities between the two resorts, there are also some differences. Thanks for your commendations of our Spa. We have plans to effect some refurbishing projects during the course of this year as we intend to uplift the appearance of the resort; however, we will still embrace our theme of a rustic and natural look.

While we cannot totally control the clients that visit our property, whenever disruptive behavior is displayed by any of our guests, a member of the Management team and/or our Security personnel will intervene to ensure that tranquility is maintained for the enjoyment of everyone.

The team at Couples Negril usually receives raving reviews about our friendliness, as well as, the variety of delicious food options. It is regrettable that these did not appeal to you; however, we appreciate your continued patronage of the “Couples” family and take this opportunity to wish you all the very best for the future.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My bf and I booked a trip to CN over the New Years Eve week 2012. This is our first trip to Jamaica and the first time doing an all inclusive. We have to book at last minute as we do not get our schedule in advance to know our days off so it meant limited options over New Years week. Our travel agent made a number fo recommendations which we narrowed down to Negril. We had a tough time choosing between CSA and CN but in the end only CN had space during the time we could travel. We flew Air Canada direct from Toronto. Fortunately we just missed a day of storms but our flight still arrived about 45 minutes late. Arriving late meant we had to wait a great deal of time for our pre booked charter flight to Negril. Our late flight and peak travel season was combined with Island Time so it was somewhat understandable. We likely arrived at the resort at the same time that the resort bus arrived at CN. (Next time I bring a change of clothes in a bag so I get comfortable in airport lounge instead of waiting to unpack.) We booked a Garden Suite. We had requested a 3rd floor room in advance on the pre booking check in. The room was lovely, clean and exactly what was advertised on the site. I know some people have complained of peeling paint or rooms needing renovations but we did not see any problems. And we did not see one bug in the room during our entire stay. The suite offers a nightly hor d'oeuvres (rather small) service and you can have in room dining. We ordered a lovely breakfast tray with coffee each morning. Mini bar was stocked on a daily basis within 5 minutes of calling in a request. We did a 'Trading Places' day trip to CSA and decided that we were likely better suited to CN. The water is calmer at CN and we did not have any problems finding beach chairs or getting flag service. CSA beach seemed to be a lot more crowded, we had to scramble to get beach chairs and the flag service was non existent. (But the food options and gym services appeared nicer at CSA). Our own vacation centred around beach time, wonderful meals and getting a good night's sleep. We did enjoy the catamarin tour and glass bottom tour. We enjoyed a beach walk to Office of Nature (on the beach) for some grilled lobster with local flair. I had a mani/pedi and hair appointment at the salon which was lovely. (I would have stayed out of salon on vacation except that we had a New Years Eve celebration.) We prefered Lychee over the 'upscale' Otaheite both for food and service. Otaheite must be booked in advance but has an assembly line feel to it as it is simply 3 large scale seatings offered rather than simply taking reservations through the night. There was no issue with theft in our room but we have the sense to put all valuables in a safe (password we select) when we leave the room. We also put the privacy sign on the doors when we wanted to ensure no one was in our room when we out. We brought sun tan lotion, bug spray and water bottle containers. The bug spray was applied liberally before heading to beach to avoid sand flies. And we understood before arriving that Couples Negril does not provide water bottles on the resort but will provide filtered water. Both of us drank the water and did not get sick (whew). There is a computer room so we were able to touch base with home when necessary. We booked a romantic special candle light dinner in the tree tops (worried about the sand flies on the beach) which was lovely. You can bring an ipod with own music selection. The best night of all was the New Years Eve. So much food representing many cuisines from around the globe. Wonderful energy. Truly an unforgettable celebration. Dancing with a local band. Beach fire. And an opportunity to launch paper lanterns at midnight. We have been to Whister, NY, Las Vegas and Banff for NYE but enjoyed this one the best. Thank you, Couples Negril.

Room Tip: We prefer a room that is on a higher floor as we enjoy the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear First Time Guests,

We are always eager to hear from our first time visitors and reading your honest review was indeed a pleasure. It’s really great that your first all-inclusive experience in Jamaica was to your satisfaction. We recognize that our guests expect value for their time and money and as such, we go the extra mile to ensure every experience at Couples Negril is an incredible one.

Happy to know you enjoyed the inclusions, accommodations and of course, our different food options. Thanks for confirming to others what we have always attested; that is, our water at Couples Negril is absolutely safe.

In addition to the Internet Café which you made reference to, we also have WiFi in the rooms and throughout the property. Indeed, our New Year’s Eve party is a splendid affair, as we go all out to ensure that our team members as well as our special guests enjoy a terrific celebration and say goodbye to the old year and ring in the New Year in fine style.

We are truly grateful for the kind sentiments you expressed and it will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you once again to Couples Negril where numerous pleasures await.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife, brother in law, and sister in law are returning from a week of being pampered by the Couples Negril (CN) family. I had to write a review to let others and the management and staff know how much they were appreciated. From the time we made it into the Couples lounge at the airport the service was top notch, after a couple of Red stripes we were escorted to our shuttle and the fun began. We met some great couples on our shuttle who we hung out poolside with daily (shoutout to BigW and DougP). We were able to take in all of the restaurants on the property and all of them were very good. Our fav was the Lychee Asian restaurant. The beach is beautiful and well maintained and the ocean water was calm and comfortable. The pool bar was our fav., conversations from Franklin the bartender and Shanoy (Shady) were priceless. We didn't use the red flag service but I saw the workers that were taking care of the guest buzzing around the bar. We got a daily rain cloud around 4:20p daily which was a great time to go back to the room and enjoy the shower on the balcony. Join romance rewards to take advantage of trading places and you get to check out Couples Swept Away. The management staff at CN honored a impromptu guest request to make game 3 of the NBA finals available for viewing at one of the bars (projector screen poolside w/snacks and drinks). Hats off, feet up and a drink in my hand....Thank you CN!!!
"KC CONNECTION"

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express commendations of our Resort. The three R’s you mentioned are just a few of the many things that our guests have grown to love about Couples Negril. Thank you for recommending us.

Do come again.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to couples negril 6/1 to 6/8/13. This was our first trip to Jamaica and a Couples resort. I can sum this vacation up in 1 word-- WOW!!!. From the couples lounge at the airport to the hotel and it's OUTSTANDING staff, my wife and I agreed this was our BEST vacation ever. The hotel is very clean, the rooms can use a little upgrading and the grounds are spotless. The food is great in every restaurant and the buffets are like none we've ever been too. The staff is what made this trip wonderful. My wife and I are both in retail management and know what customer service should look like. From the check in to the pool bar and beach service as well as all the restaurants this staff cannot do enough for you to make your stay perfect. The staff is always smiling and asking "how are you "mon". A special shoutout to Tennyson and Franklyn at the pool bar. It's amazing that they remember your name. Ask Franklyn for his special drink "Man Overboard". Kiev and Okeno, the activities planners kept everything going from pool volleyball to night time activities. WE took a 1 day combo tour to Ocho Rios to Dunns River Falls and to swim with dolphins at Dolphin Cove. A MUST do.AS mentioned in the beginning of this review, this was our first trip to couples and Jamaica and we are considering going back again. Truly a Blast!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear First Time Visitors,

It’s great to hear that your first experience in Jamaica was indeed your “best vacation ever”. We have noted your comments about our accommodation at Couples Negril and will be doing some updates this year.

Our team members are truly our best assets; thank you for highlighting those that made a lasting impression. As you observed, we pride ourselves in providing a clean and welcoming environment and our team members play a very instrumental role in ensuring this.

Happy to know you enjoyed the Dolphin Cove and Dunn’s River Falls excursions.

We look forward to seeing you a second time and hopefully many more visits to come.

Best regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited Couples Negril for 7 nights in March 2013; this was our second visit to Couples Negril and third to Jamaica. This time we knew what to expect and were relaxed from the minute we arrived. We met two couples that we had much in common with and enjoyed talking and dining with them. The staff as always were great, the food, especially the repeater's dinner was FABULOUS! We had one not so great meal but it did not dampen the experience. Our room was downgraded due to the resort overbooking, but we were happy to receive complimentary massages for that. Hubby had never had a massage and said it won't be his last! The beach and ocean are the best, water warm, clear. Beach is kept clean and you can always find shade and a lounge chair without difficulty. The pads on the chairs are great to take into the water to float on. The drinks are top-notch and the mini-bars in the room are a great addition since our last stay. All-in-all, we are so happy to have returned to our home-away-from-home and will visit again soon! Just love this place!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

Thank you for sharing your views.

We are pleased that your second visit did in fact exceed your expectations. Our repeat guests are very dear to us so every effort is made to show our appreciation for you returning. We are happy that you both enjoyed the Spa experience.

Hoping to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#11 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.