We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Negril Dec 2012 - 14th Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Couples Negril Dec 2012 - 14th Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Couples Negril 13-24Dec2012. This was our 14th trip in 8 years. I occasionally write reviews for the Couples message board, but haven’t been disciplined in posting separate reviews for TripAdvisor. We obviously love Couples Negril, so I have written this review to reflect just a few changes from our previous trips. I will not address our issues with lost luggage since the airline did rectify that situation after our return.

Couples Lounge/Transfer: We were the only couple in the lounge that evening, but we were asked to wait for another couple. No problem -- the cold Red Stripe was very refreshing, and helped ease the stress of lost luggage and dive gear. After about 30 minutes wait the couple never materialized, so we were whisked to the van. A quick trip to Negril was greatly appreciated after the travel challenges we had that day (cancelled flight + delayed second flight + aforementioned lost luggage). Our check in was quick because we were so late in arriving and only had our backpacks with us. After hearing our tale of travel woe, the night manager gave us repeater t-shirts which allowed us to get out of our sweaters in which we had been traveling all day. By this time it was 10:30pm and we were able to have a quick snack at the grill before bed.

Room: We had a second floor garden room in Block 4 with a view of the spa and the beautiful gardens. We prefer Blocks 1-5 as these locations are close to the dive shop. Everything in the room worked with no issues. We noticed that Couples has replaced all of their old heavy yellow comforters with white ones. They’re quite nice, but I have to wonder how long they will stay sparkling white.

The garden room bathroom is functional with a nice touch of glass mosaic tiles. The square, shallow sink has been an attractive annoyance for a couple of years. We are looking forward to seeing the upcoming bathroom remodel and hope it entails removing the bathtub. We had no issues with lack of hot water or water pressure. We like the refillable bath gel and shampoo. Note to new guests: If you open your jalousie windows in the bath too far, other guests and staff can inadvertently obtain a view of your shower activity when they walk by the room.

Housekeeping was great, as it has been for all of our previous trips. The room was sparkling clean every day. The only day we had some delay in our room being made was due to a huge turnover of guests on a Saturday. Not the staff’s fault at all. The ladies are very friendly and work very hard to get every speck of sand out of your room. Turndown service occurred each evening of our stay. Hint for new guests: be sure to rinse out your used drink glasses to avoid attracting any tiny sugar ants.

The new mini-bar process wasn’t as much of an issue as we had read on the Couples message board. Our pre check-in choices were not provided, but we assume that was caused by our delayed flight. When we did need something, a staff member arrived within 10 minutes or so. Very friendly service.

The only issues we had with our room location was loud yelling and party noise from the hidden (aka dive shop) hot tub late at night. We tried to sleep with the air conditioning off and balcony door open one night (to hear the ocean and the tree frogs). It just wasn’t possible because of the noise. I am a very light sleeper and am used to the “normal” night noises of CN, but this loud drunken conversation was just irritating.

Staff: As in past trips, the long time staff remembered us, and we are always happy to see them. They are wonderful. The majority of trainees we met did a very good job, but we did observe some who just weren’t quite there yet. Not a huge issue. We were very happy to see the return of Mr. Nigel Bissett and always a pleasure to talk with Mr. Konrad Malcolm. (Konrad holds a special place in hearts as he helped Mike plan the top secret Otaheite marriage proposal a few years ago.) We did not meet the new GM while we there - perhaps next trip.

Bars: Bar service in Heliconia and Otaheite was efficient as always. Lyndon, Elkie and everyone took care of us very well. We did not make it to the swim-up bar, but we did visit with Franklyn when we saw him. Now to the subject of changes in alcohol. As discussed in other reviews, some of the variety of top shelf liquors have been eliminated, reduced, or are only available in the Piano Bar (depending on the brand). This may be due to changes in the Jamaican tax laws recently. We were able to find Baileys and Guinness in the Piano Bar, but Baileys was not always available in Heliconia for after dinner. Our friends experienced similar with their requests for gin & tonic. We don’t drink very much, but we do enjoy particular brands. We understand how the changes in liquors may upset some guests, especially when premium brands are still advertised. Still much better than some of the other all-inclusives we’ve visited.

Breakfast Buffet: Generally very good breakfast buffet. I am always happy to see the salt fish & ackee. The omelet station was good, but can get backed up. We do enjoy the fruit selections and the smoothie station was also very good. Waffle station had some execution challenges one day, but my husband always enjoys the huge waffles. New guests: Try the Jamaican dishes. Try the variety of fresh fruits and juices like soursop. Grab a coconut and have some fresh coconut water.

The one thing that drives us crazy at breakfast is the toaster. Every year, we comment on our checkout cards that Couples needs to replace this cantankerous contraption. It only toasts one side no matter how you adjust it, or it burns it. Please get a new toaster!

Coffee and tea service was for the most part - quick and friendly. Settle in and enjoy the beautiful view of the pool and the sea while you have your breakfast. The greedy egret is still there, begging for scraps.

Lunch: The beach grill menu seems to have expanded a bit from last year. The grill is great for a quick snack or if you prefer to eat earlier than the main lunch buffet which begins at 12:30. Cassava lunch had a good variety and daily themes. We don’t drink until the end of our diving day, but on the days we were landlocked we found the drink service from the bar to be a tad inconsistent. Please note that you must wear a cover-up and shoes when in Cassava for lunch, but it is not required at the beach grill.

Dinner: Service was efficient in Heliconia and Otaheite, and seeing Omar, Marlon, Jerardo and other familiar faces makes our dinners special. We are always happy with the menus here. We only had one ala carte meal at Cassava this trip. Our waiter for dinner at Cassava was a nice young man, but he had been tasked with too many tables and was a bit swamped. Cassava’s menu was good, but we tend not to eat here due to the loud music. We did not get a chance to dine in Lychee this trip, but we are sure that Adrian is doing an excellent job managing it. The Saturday night buffet was very good both nights, with large selections.

Activities: It appears that some of the evening trivia games have been eliminated (music, honeymooner’s game, etc). We did go to the dance party for a bit one night. We did not participate in any of the auctions or other games. We do love seeing the Silver Birds. They are wonderfully talented.

Gym/Fitness: Yoga class with Rosa is one of my favorite activities. It would be great to have a class on the beach every once in a while. I didn’t spend much time in the gym this trip, but it appeared to still be in good shape with plenty of equipment.

Spa: Our complimentary repeat guest massage was good but was over too soon! I did have a second Swedish massage later in the week with Margaret and it was very good - so relaxing.

Watersports: I kayaked but once I tried stand up paddle boarding, I found a new addiction. I am looking forward to doing it again. The watersports staff is great and always helpful. We love our watersports and dive shop family.

SCUBA: December is a crowded time for repeaters at Couples, and very crowded with divers. We need a boat that is the same size as the one at Swept Away! Throughout our time there, the dive shop team continued to work very hard to accommodate the crowd of divers. Did I mention we love our watersports and dive shop family?

The viz was a bit off, probably from a previous cold front. Lots of lionfish, but hopefully they will institute a similar lionfish eradication program as at Swept Away. We saw a very large free-swimming nurse shark on one of our dives. There were other things to see, but sometimes the group of divers was too large and we would elect to hang back out of the way. The highlight of our trip was a pod of dolphins swimming around the boat on one of our returns back to the resort. It took quite a bit of restraint not to jump in with them! We did get blown out by a cold front and missed a few days of diving.

Beach: The beach was in great shape, with no erosion issues. I ran a couple of days when we weren’t diving. Other days we walked the beach every morning. An early morning on the beach when the sun is rising is always the best way to start a day. Could not help but notice the loud music coming from the Office of Nature at sunset, but this can’t be controlled by Couples. We were able to relax and enjoy the beach – even with the huge front that kept us out from diving. My favorite beach musician was Kevin Sterling. I missed an opportunity to buy his CD, but I hope to find him next trip.

Trading Places/ Couples Swept Away: We took advantage of the repeat guest perk to spend part of the day at the nearby Couples Swept Away. It was beautiful, but too crowded for me. We did partake of the sweet potato chips and fish tacos. After a dip in the sea, we elected to leave. CSA was just not our cup of tea.

Checkout/Transfer to Airport: Checkout was quick and relatively painless. Getting on that bus is always hard. Thankfully, our flight was uneventful and as an added bonus - our luggage made it home with us on the same aircraft.

General Experience: There are pros and cons to visiting the same resort over and over again. We love the feeling that comes over us when we take our first steps into the open air lobby – that feeling of being at home. We love seeing our old friends (staff and guests) and sitting on that beautiful beach. It is also comforting to know the routine and not worry about whether you chose the right hotel. The con of going too frequently is that you expect each visit to surpass the last one. Yes, that is unrealistic -- but past years at Couples has set the bar very high.

We saw some facilities improvements from 2011, but also noticed a bit more cost-cutting in other areas. As for ambience --we understand others enjoy their vacations differently than we do, but we also expect a certain vibe when we invest a significant portion of our vacation funds in a Couples resort. We hope that Couples upper management takes note - we felt that the large groups and loud drunks at dinner and late at night made it less romantic. We hope to see that aspect improve for the better on our 15th trip.

What hasn’t changed is the staff. The Couples family, the core of what keeps so many returning -- is still as friendly, wonderful and hardworking as ever. The beach and grounds are still as beautiful. The ocean is still that amazing combination of blues, greens and turquoise that I can see when I close my eyes. The dolphins still call my name. December 2013 soon come.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

It certainly is very nice to hear from you and it must be commented that it was a joy reading your tale of your stay here with us at Couples Negril. We apologize for the slight delays upon your arrival into the island; nonetheless, we are glad to hear that this did not deter you from enjoying your stay with us.

Your experience with the dolphins sounds very exciting. Like Couples Swept Away, Couples Negril actively participates in the initiate to eradicate the invasion of the lionfish species in our waters. Thanks for continuously recognizing the efforts of our hardworking team members and for including beneficial tips to our new guests. We will definitely be keeping your suggestions in mind for future developments at Couples Negril and look forward to seeing you again on your 15th trip and others in the future.

Our best regards to you.

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,017
    717
    177
    105
    37
See reviews for
27
2,209
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our first time staying at a couples resort and let me tell you we were not disappointed. Firstly we were recommended to stay in the Negril area by friends who had visited Jamaica before and I too would definitely recommend this area. We were meet at the airport by a representative for couples and shown to a room where refreshments were offered while we waited for the rest of the group. Transfer time on a well conditioned mini bus was about 1 hour. Once we arrived at the resort check in was very easy and very quick. We were given information of where we could eat ( as we arrived at night) and then shown to our room. We did not book a specific room with a view but we were lucky to have a room with a sea view ( which I have to add was stunning). I do believe once walking around the resort there would not be one room with a bad view beach or garden.
The choice of restaurants was amazing, 4 in all, the quality of food was five star and we were spoilt for choice. The hotel is set on the beach and if you are going to this resort for a special occasion for an extra cost private dining in the tree tops or on the beach is available.
The beach was absolutely stunning pure white sand with crystal clear sea. The cushion from the sun lounges also became a lilo for the sea. Towls were provided and there was even waiter service for drinks on the beach. I have to say all staff were extremely friendly, wanting to stop and make conversation and making sure we were having the best time.
Some day trips are included in your holiday price like the glass bottom boat and the catamaran and we would definitely recommend these.
Room cleanliness was immaculate cleaning twice a day. Mini bar, well I say Mini bar, It was more like a normal bar with it being topped up daily if you wished.
Overall myself and my partner both agreed it was one of the most amazing holidays that we have had and we would definitely recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going. If you are looking for sun, sea, paradise this is the place to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear First Time Visitors

We are very grateful to have had the opportunity to be your hosts for your vacation. We are also happy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us.

At Couples Negril we strive to provide all our guests with that superb romantic vacation that they are looking for, with varying choices in entertainment and food fused with what we choose to call “pleasant little surprises” along the way.

Thank you for making the choice to become a part of our family. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards.
Couples Negril Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed February 21 - 28th. Last year we stayed at CSS and enjoyed that resort as well. Transfer from airport to the resort went smoothly. Before leaving I tried to log on for the Romance Package (it is for returning couples), I was not successful. When we checked in I mentioned this and we were told they probably have the info. We mentioned again the next couple of days to guest services. No big deal, just wondered why no one looked into it. The Managers cocktail party we were talking to the beverage manager (Konrad, very nice gentleman)) and told him. He was very nice and said he would look into it and also invited us to join the special dinner that night for returning guests. We already had reservations at the restaurant so declined. He did look into it which we appreciated. We had a wonderful stay at Couples, we ate at all the restaurants except Asian and everything was very good. The staff very friendly red flag for drinks, the beach is great for walks. Yes the rooms could do with an upgrade and hopefully this will happen. Definitely would return.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4310. Garden view. It is close to the main road, but did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Reading your review has made it even more clear to us that we are meeting our objectives in providing a perfect romantic holiday. Our promise to you also includes taking the time to acknowledge your concerns and making an effort to address and we are happy to that Konrad took care of your romance rewards needs.

We are all looking forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best regards.
Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time have stayed at a couples only resort & my Husband & I were very impressed.
The hotel could not be faulted on anything as nothing was too much trouble.
Room was clean, tidy & just as stated in brochure. Mini bar was replenished daily with a phone call.
Staff were very friendly, excellent service in all regions.
Very good choice of restaurants with excellent food served at all of them. All freshly made, well presented & no dodgy tum throughout the whole visit.
We were there for our 35th wedding Anniversary & my birthday so celebrated with private dining on the beach. Out of this world a memory we shall not forget, & we also had a cake & plate of handmade chocolates at the end of meal.
Beach cleaned every morning as were the gardens.
Each evening entertainment was laid on at a very good standard, also events throughout the day in which you are given play money that you can use to bid on items in a twice weekly auction. I came away with lovely handmade pair leather flip flops from this.
Certain traders are allowed onto the beach & sell beautiful handmade goods reasonably priced as well.
Trips booked through agent at hotel ***** for prices as cheaper than rep! Would highly recommend Black River, YS Falls & Appleton tour, also dolphin encounter.
This is the first time I have come away from a resort & said I would like to go back, as was FANTASTIC :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Recent Guests,

Congratulations on your 35th Anniversary. It was a pleasure for us to have shared with you in such a joyous occasion.

An excellent holiday resort is what we aim to provide for you, our valued guests which entails incorporating an array of fun activities and comfortable accommodations with a vibrant and helpful team. We are glad that you were able to appreciate all our inclusions in addition to the Jamaican country side.

We await your return.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

stayed from the 17th March for two weeks and was our second visit.It was as beautiful as we remembered. the staff Carlos,Nelly, Ruthann,Kiev and Keano were fabulous and entertaining and looking after us all.Jovane at the water sports and Tennyson and Omar at the bar,remembered us and welcomed us back and looked after us for our stay. All the staff were fabulous and the repeaters dinner was lovely. the beach just beautiful and the water fabulously clear.All the restaurants had fabulous food and the housekeeping staff never seem to stop. our room was immaculate. we only left the hotel once to re visit Ricks Cafe for the sunset and the divers, which is always worth a visit.
We were asked why we came all the way from England wasnt there somewhere closer that was hot, we replied yes but no where that we got looked after like this place.
Thankyou for giving us another fabulous holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Repeat Guests,

Thank you for your support of Couples Negril. All our guests are considered a part of our family, so we take it as a privilege to ensure that you are taken care of on your visit with us.

We are humbled by your appreciation of our team members as they work toward creating that perfect romantic holiday just for you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back home to Couples Negril in the near future.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Couples Negril is a great all-inclusive resort which offers great value for money. Based on our recent travels, here is my top 10 list for this resort.

10. Couples Negril is a small resort which allows you to locate everything on the first day of arrival. This is a huge plus because you aren't spending days trying to find a restaurant or the gym.

9. Mini-bar to order - Although some reviewers complain about having to call down to re-stock the mini-bar, we found this wonderful because we could order exactly what we wanted versus being stuck with the hotel's choices. We could order brand name diet cola and even large bottles of wine. We actually ordered so much on the first day we didn't need to call down to re-stock.

8. Food - The food is really quite good. The Heliconia served a very nice lasagna and a fabulous salad with apples, feta cheese and a pineapple vinaigrette. I also really liked that the breakfast buffet offered whole wheat pancakes & waffles (less guilt). My husband liked the smoothie bar.

7. Free room service breakfast - Each night before 1am, guests who wish room service complete a continental breakfast card which is hung outside the room door. We found it very relaxing to have a basket of croissants, banana bread, fresh fruit and coffee to eat on our balcony each morning. Pure bliss.

6. Free WiFi - Wifi was terrific, even on my phone. We had no problem with reception anywhere on the resort. In addition, Couples offers an internet lounge with printers which allow guests to print their boarding passes. Very convenient!

5. Lounge pads that float - The lounge chair pads double as air mattresses which can be used in the ocean or pool. They were very thick and comfortable. This proved a great way to cool off. By the way, you didn't need to worry about reserving any chairs because there were plenty to go around.

4. Red Flag Service - Bar staff came around with flags for guests to raise when they wanted another drink. This was wonderfully convenient but I did find it just as easy to go to the pool bar. If you were far from the pool bar, you did wait a little longer for a cocktail.

3. Amazing Yoga Instructor - Although I am only a novice yogee, I really liked the yoga classes which were offered on a covered deck outdoors. The instructor works with the group and challenged us when we needed it. During the week, I went to 4 classes and my friend went to 5 classes we liked them so much. Aqua Fit at 11 am each day is also lots of fun.

2. Friendly staff - As mentioned in many of the reviews, the staff are great and lots of fun. Kiev made sure we were entertained and was a great recreation coordinator, even grabbing a few board games when we encountered rain.

1. Excursions included - Yes, this is by far the best perk of Couples Negril. So many activities are offered free to guests. These include great snorkelling (lots of fish, sting rays etc), shopping shuttle, catamaran cruise, glass bottom boat tour, tennis lessons (great instructors), paddle boards, water skiing and golf! I travel quite a bit and have never seen so many excursions offered free of charge at any other all inclusive resort. We figured we saved approximately $400 over the week.

What could be improved:
- Rooms are very basic. Although I understand an update is in the works, the rooms are a little outdated. They have everything you need, but they need some updating.

- Wine is not great. I like my wine and I found it mediocre. The Merlot is the better of the 3 reds.

- Drinks are too strong. Hey, I like my cocktails but often my friends and I couldn't even drink them because the alcohol overpowered the drink. The resort would probably save a fortune in booze if they just cut down on the heavy pours.

- Not a lot of activities at night. Although this is not a big deal for me, most of the activities in the evening are bands. They do offer a nice bon fire with a great singer and jugglers another night but for the most part, the activities happen during the day. If you are a night hawk, this isn't the place for you. On the other hand, if you like lots of activities during the day, you will LOVE the resort!

Room Tip: The resort is a series of 3 story buildings. We liked our room on the 3rd floor because it offered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear valued guests,

It is very nice to hear from you. We appreciate you taking the time to create a list of your favorite things about Couples Negril.

The Couples Negril brand strives for excellence and we’re always glad to hear from guests as it relates to their time spent with us. Our many activities and services offered were borne out of the idea to create the perfect all inclusive experience for vacationers.

It’s our objective to meet your expectations, creating that dream getaway just for you. We are always drafting new ideas to completely wow guests, your suggestion as it relates to the wine selection and room décor will be kept in mind.

Thank you for your continued support. We look forward to seeing you on your next vacation.

Regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My fiance and I stayed for 7 nights in December just before Christmas. Everyone at the airport lounge was very friendly, the bartender there took great care of us. The shuttle took about 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to the resort, no stops luckily. The resort was beautiful and very relaxing, never had to worry about getting a chair on the beach no matter what time you make your way there. Our room was an ocean view, nothing like waking up in the morning and seeing the water from bed. We spent most of our time either at the pool bar (thank you Franklin and Ivy) or on the beach using the great red flag service. The food was delicious and the bacon at breakfast was amazing. We went on the glassbottom boat tour and the sunset cruise, both were so much fun. The only thing I feel is a con about the resort is the rooms are in need of updating and we didn't feel our room was actually being cleaned but that didn't ruin our vacation. We met so many couples who were repeaters........7, 12, 18 times. Everyone, staff & guests were so friendly. The biggest decision we had to make was where did we want to eat. We loved CN so much we are coming back in July for our wedding.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo B, General Manager at Couples Negril, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest:

I am pleased to read your review and share in your experience.

All our inclusions are for your enjoyment and we feel a sense of accomplishment when our guests express satisfaction, as that is our ultimate goal.

We are presently reviewing our rooms and putting plans in place to begin upgrades this year. We will also review the cleanliness issue.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for your destination wedding.

Kind regards,

Couples Negril Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.