We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Resort in Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Best Resort in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went back to Couples Negril for our second trip. We have been exploring various resorts over the past 5 years including CSA, COR and some Sandals and Couples Negril is our favorite by far. The rooms could use some updating but the resort itself is top notch. The ambience is very cozy as the bars and place to eat are all located centrally. The beach and pool areas are wonderful and we enjoyed playing volleyball on the beach. The food is also excellent ! We will be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    778
    189
    108
    38
See reviews for
30
2,467
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

If you are thinking about going to Jamaica - go for the Couples Negril!

- excellent service
- friendly and helpful staff
- delicous food
- beautiful beach
- great drinks and snacks
- amazing room with everything you need (and even more)
- lots and lots of great activities (sports, shopping trips, games...)
- great bands / shows

a perfect holiday with your partner!

we would definitely go again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

This all inclusive was worth every penny! The service was above and beyond, the food was delicious and the water sports that were included were awesome. If you need to get away with your special one for a week or even a weekend Couples Negril is the place to go. You can either relax at the beach or at the pool. You can also get massages that are so relaxing you fall asleep. Drink all you want it's all inclusive! The shuttle service was on time. When we arrived at the airport we had our own separate lounge for the hotel that provided refreshments. They also include free shuttles on different days to Ricks Cafe, Margaritaville and the shopping district. Again this was the best trip ever! It's a resort that is a must visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My husband and I visited July 29- August 3 and was VERY disappointed and saddened with our stay. We visited this property 10 years ago and my stay at that time was much more appealin, exciting, and impressive. NOTHING at this resort has changed in 10 years but Wi-Fi, LCD flat screen television, and the addition of the Lychee restaurant. Couples Negril is in desperate need of renovation and upgrading. It is obvious that the owners have become very complacent and content with the money they are making from people who don't know what a true luxury vacation really is. Couples Negril is not interested in continual improvement with the property. In order to remain competitive major improvements in the service, food quality, guest rooms, and entertainment is advised. I encourage management/owners to visit Iberostar resorts and take notes in order to learn what true luxury and 5 star quality really means. Until that time, we WILL NOT be returning nor will we recommend this resort to any of our associates both personal and professional. I sent this same critique to Couples management and the response was less than adequate. I was told all of the "improvements" that were made over the years but in my opinion these were just maintenance that had to be completed anyway. Upgrades and maintenance are two different things. My husband and I are world travelers and after staying in resorts in countries such as Germany, Dubai, DR, Mexico and even in the Hawaiian Island, this was SUBSTANDARD. I would reconsider if you are thinking about this resort. Please feel free to contact me if you want the real low down.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Everything was great. We had a really fun and relaxing time. Had no issues w/ hurricane irene either. Heard other guest have return flight cancelations due to the storm, but the resort put them up for free untill they could catch a flight home. Perfect weather everyday. It only rained one of the days. The resort was beautiful, service couldn't have been better, and our garden suite was huge and had a nice sized balcony w/ a hammock and view of the ocean. No complaints, other than time went by too fast. The food was good, had many choices, ate at the three restaurants on site and also ventured off for local food at Sweet Spice, 3 Dives, and Pushcart at the Rockhouse. We snorkled, paddleboarded, took the catamaran cruise w/ the rum punch, went to the Y.S Falls and spent alot of time at the swin up pool bar. We would definitly come back to Couples Resort if we return to Jamaica. Would recommend booking through Jennifer at TripGuy Travel LLC ( Jennifer@tripguy.com ). We got better pricing then booking through the website and she took care of everything (flight and resort). She kept us up to date on any flight changes and gave us piece of mind if anything came up that we would need to contact her while in Jamaica. Overall, great time on our honeymoon and would recommend Couples Negril to anyone unsure of where to stay in Jamaica w/ all the all inclusive options there.

Room Tip: Book through Jennifer at TripGuy Travel LLC (Jennifer@tripguy.com)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just returned from a 5 night stay and have mixed reviews/feelings about Couples Negril.

The good and the bad:

Shuttle to the hotel: We had already left the madness of the MJB airport and had been under way for about 15 minutes when the driver was told by a cell phone call to come back to pick up another passenger. We were a little annoyed but no one made a big deal about this. Turned out it was a Couples employee we were picking up rather than a guest – OK no big deal. But this did end up delaying our arrival at the hotel by at least 40 minutes.

Check-in was easy – enjoyed the cool towels and the champagne.

Rooms: not really what we had expected due to the price of our package and rating of the resort. We travel quite a bit and understand the star ratings vary by country as do expectations.
The rooms were clean, acceptable and the bed comfortable. The amenities (TV, ipod docking station) worked well.
Bathroom was a bit small, not super clean but we always Clorox everything before using bathrooms anyway so we were fine.
*NOTE - the windows in the shower are just simple shutters - don't keep out the weather or noice and always face the hallway/entrance of the rooms so it's best to keep private chatter at a minimum if you're in the bathroom!

Turndown service was great – housekeepers were also fine.
Overall we would say the rooms are fine.

One small complaint – we checked in to a room on the 2nd floor of building 8.
Could not sleep the first night due to the EXTREMELY busy road behind this block of rooms. We requested to change rooms the following day – were accommodated in a 3rd floor of building 9 room. This was much quieter.
The resort was not completely open (some of the buildings were closed due to slow season) so we had only 2 rooms we could choose to move to – again – not a big deal.

The wi-fi was a nice (though not really reliable) surprise.
*NOTE – there is wi-fi throughout the resort – it’s free and it works very well when it’s actually working. Not sure what happened but service was not available at least once or twice during the day often for several hours. Since this was not expected we are not necessarily complaining about it.

Food – overall food was good:

Grill –
The snapper sandwiches were great.
Jerk chicken very good as well
The chips and salsa and queso were OK – but we were a bit concerned as all of these items were “sitting” for a while so only had plain chips most of the time.

Heliconia – we only had dinner here on Friday night – it was good.
Service GREAT.
The soup delicious. The lamb very well prepared. The lobster – good – not great.

Otaheite – very good – food delicious – wait-staff GREAT. This is the fine dining option where we have to make reservations. Lived up to expectations for sure (though the creme brulee at Lychee was MARKEDLY better).

Lychee – the only place where we dined twice – food delicious – service great. Lychee margaritas, Tom Ka Gai soup and Creme Brulee were INCREDIBLE.

Buffet –
Breakfast good. Lots of fresh fruit and fresh bread – which is what we like. The hot food entrée area looked OK but we are not big hot food eaters in the am.
Lunch good as well – only ate once. The desserts were awesome.
Dinner – had dinner here the Jamaican night. Would not recommend - I wish we had skipped and had gone to Lychee again. Food was really boring and I was expecting more flavor.

Drinks/Bars – good service, good flavor/options etc. No issues.

The BIGGEST complaints we have:

1) They they do not have/serve their guests water bottles. The room had a mini bar order form that included water bottles on it. When I called to inquire about not receiving them after I had requested I was told I had received old forms and the hotel no longer offered water bottles.

Of course we had to purchase water bottles and occasionally refilled them. But given this is a top notch resort they should offer water bottles.

And yes – I understand the idea of saving our resources – but they can recycle the water bottles instead. It’s just a really bad idea when we’re in the hot sun all day and can’t take a water bottle to the excursions, or to a walk on the beach unless we purchase it. After all, this is an all-inclusive resort.

2) The hecklers on the beach.
The numerous people walking up and down the beach trying to sell us:
“parasailing/jetski”
“Cigarettes/Cigars”
“brownies” (really? Would anyone buy brownies in little Ziploc baggies being dragged up and down the hot beach all day long????)

The beach is gorgeous – but the other big issue was the OCEAN hecklers.

As we laid on the water on our floats, every 5 minutes or so we were disturbed by the complete idiots on jetskis making waves and disturbing our peace.
It’s very confusing – because in the 5 days we were there NOONE ever took them up on their offers to take people for jetski rides – yet they continued to sit on their jetskis and then as soon as the water was quiet they’d take off again making waves and disturbing those of us who wanted to just relax in the ocean on our floats.

I just wish there was a law or rule against this.

Overall good vacation – we will come back but probably try the quieter Ochos Rios next time with the private beaches and no hecklers!

Room Tip: Request to stay in Building 6 or 9 - stay away from Building 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Couples Negril is the best resort we have ever stayed in. My husband and I could not think of one thing that we would improve.

All inclusive speaks for itself, plus flag service at the pool and beach for drinks. There are 4 restaurants one of which you need to book. There is no limit on how many times you visit them. All of them served fantastic food and drinks to a really high standard. The service by the staff was brilliant. They are very friendly and very helpful. The cocktail list is extensive and all beers and wines, even champagne are included.

All inclusive also includes as many snorkelling trips as you would want (twice a day), as many scuba dives as you want (if you have your PADI, twice a day), use of kayaks and Hobiecat sailing boats (if you don't know how to sail or kayak there is someone who will give you lessons), beach volleyball, basket weaving, jewellery making, wood carving, hat making, casino nights, karaoke, beach volley ball games, air conditioned gym with daily classes and use of a personal trainer. The list goes on...

Each evening before the amazing live entertainment there was a cocktail hour or a cheese party or a chocolate fondue or a pianist or saxophone player. The live entertainment was a singer or a full steel band or a band or ballroom dancing. One evening a week there is a bonfire followed by a film on the beach. The Sunset catamaran cruise takes you to some amazing cave formations.

The room was big and air conditioned with wonderful views of the grounds, which are immaculate (the sand is swept every day!) The maid cleaned the room thoroughly every day and we had enough towels including beach towel to start up a shop. Each evening the maid revisited to replenish towels and turn down the bed. Rooms had a big TV with lots of channels and an ipod docking station and speakers. Even the balcony had a mosquito repellent candle.

The grounds were manicured constantly by a team of people. Even the sand was swept. The lagoon / ponds have a lot of wildlife in them, including amazing tiny and very noisy frogs.

As I have said there is nothing that I would change about this resort. We didn't want to leave and will definitely be back.

There is a spa but we did not visit.

Thank you to everyone at Couples Negril. Nan and Carlos particularly did a fantastic job.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd., Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#7 Spa Hotel in Negril
#9 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.