We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Negril exceeds expectations…..for the 3rd time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Couples Negril to your Saves list
Couples Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Staffordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Couples Negril exceeds expectations…..for the 3rd time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

The first 2wks in April was our 3rd stay at Couples Negril with each stay it just keeps getting better. After a 10hr flight from the UK, plus a 3hr delay we finally arrived at the resort at 11pm & it felt like we’d never been away. The staff were oh so friendly & we had the usual check in with Champagne & cold towels. We were shown to our room & then headed to the Heliconia (late night) Grill to snatch a quick bite along with a rum & coke before heading back to our room to sleep & then start our wonderful holiday.
We had breakfast most mornings at Cassava Terrace where you can choose from a vast array of food. The pastries seemed even tastier this time (I’m sure we were told they have a new pastry chef) & of course the staff ensured an endless supply of coffee.
Most mornings were spent on the beach, the earlier the better. it’s so beautiful in the early morning – just lying & listening to the waves lap against the beach & the birds singing…..hmmm bliss ;o)
We very often had a quick snack of pattys or nachos from the grill before our main lunch at Cassava.
We ate at all the restaurants in the evenings but we tend to steer away from the evening buffet as we like the more formal dining experience. Our favourite being the Otaheite & we had no problem getting reservations.
It’s so very hard to find anything to say about the hotel which hasn’t already been written . It’s certainly not an ultra modern flashy style resort, more boutique style. The food & staff make this resort our favourite along with the superb setting on Bloody Bay beach.
We’ve travelled to many other destinations & we feel now that Couples Negril ticks all our boxes. I can’t wait to return, god willing, next year ;o)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    722
    177
    107
    38
See reviews for
27
2,228
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I loved Couples Negril! The staff were the most friendly we've ever experienced at an all-inclusive resort, the food was excellent, and the beach was gorgeous!! The rooms aren't the most luxurious, however, they are very nice and well-kept. A big shout out to Melissa and Jermaine (bartenders) and Carlos (entertainment)- you guys were awesome and so welcoming during our stay! We will be back!!!!!!! Thank you Couples Negril!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Just got back from our vacation. We have now stayed at 3 Couples. San Souci, Tower Isle, and Negril. I like them all! My ranking is San Souci 1, Tower 2, Negril 3. The food at Negril was awesome and the beach is super cool. The staff didn't do much for me at Negril though, and I found the rooms to be quite dated - I think its time for a remodel! We enjoyed walking the beach and taking the catamaran cruise. The water was beautiful! We met a lot of very nice people just by hanging out at the pool bar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We just got back from our stay at Couples Negril, and I couldn't wait to leave my opinion of the resort, since it was all the positive reviews on this site that swayed me to book with Couples. My wife and I stayed at Couples the last 5 days of April.

The welcome lounge in the airport is great! It took us 8 hours of travel time to get to Jamaica, so the first two Red Stripes went down fast and may have been the most refreshing drink of beer I've ever had.

Franklin brought us to our room, and he couldn't have been more welcoming... respect mon! The room/bed/shower are serviceable and nothing to write home about, but who comes to paradise to be shut up in their room?

Food was fantastic. Lychee was our favorite stop. The Pad tai is awesome! We tried Heliconia once for diner and enjoyed that as well. Othaite was tremendous. I've read some negative reviews about it, but we absolutely loved the food and service there. We were lucky to have Kaiden as our waitress most days between Lychee and the buffet.

The beach is perfect. You always saw someone maintaining some area of it during the day. We saw a stingray in the swimming area late one afternoon which was terrific. Security is visible and add some sense of safety. The vendors do come and go, but we didn't find them pushy. If one doesn't want to be bothered by the vendors I'd suggest sitting back in the third row or in the hammocks if they are available. I'm not sure how many visitors were at the resort when we were, but the beach never looked half full. The weather was great every day with some showers that lasted no more than an hour and a half.

Did the glass bottom boat. This could have been very boring, but the team keep things fun and are always joking around. The snorkeling was also very good. We've never gone snorkeling before, so I don't know how this compares. Thanks go out to Captain Jack!

The booze cruise was okay, depends on the crowd your with. It helps if you like to drink.... a lot!

We each did a massage and would recommend at least taking 25 minutes to do so.

Props to Franklyn at the pool bar for buying us shots. He really hates to see an empty glass.

Really our only complaints are seeing a few too many European man thongs on the beach, and one very rude customer who complained about where her room was located on the property. I thought that whoever she was berating was very professional, and can't believe he stayed so calm in dealing with her. I wanted to toss something heavy off our second story room in her direction.

Hands down our best vacation ever, we can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, NB Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We just stayed @ Couples Negril from April 24th - May 1st. And words cannot express how we felt about our experience but here's a try:

Our flight landed at at about 9:00pm. The Couples experience began with showing up @ the Couples lounge to see Steve's smiling face and a cold Red Stripe. We waited for 20 mins and then left for the resort. The drive was approx 1 hour at that time of night.

Check In: Cold towels, a soft seat and champagne greeted us as we filled out our registration form and we were quickly whisked off to building #2 room 2304.

Room: Our Gardenview Deluxe room was as we expected, clean and comfortable and turned down for the evening. The balcony overlooked the spa and was quiet and relaxing. Yes the rooms were dated but very clean. The nicest thing I found about the room was the air conditioning. It was the best we have had in all our visits south keeping us cool and dry the whole stay without the musty smell we were accustomed to in Mexico and Cuba. Not to mention, remote controlled! Mini-bar was promptly stocked w/liquor and beverages each day and Donna was our wonderful maid for the week. Bed was comfortable and has a nice warm duvet to throw over you. 4 stars!

Resort: Beautiful. A true island feel. Wonderfully small making it only a small walk to anything, Foliage was nice and very romantically lit up with at night making it a joy to wander about at any time of day. The only thing I would suggest is more flowers...

Beach/Water: Simply outstanding! Clean while powder sand and calm and perfectly clear blue/turquoise water. Right out of a magazine! Self serve bar was easily available and the pool bar always close by due to the wonderful small size of the resort. This beach is the best beach we have seen since Pilar beach in Cayo Guillermo Cuba.. Plenty of chairs and shade. 5 stars!

Pool: Always the center of excitement and never over crowded! This pool was a good size. If it's a great pool and pool bar you are into, this is the place for you. 5 stars!

Food: This is one of the areas this resort shines. My wife and I are foodies and have eaten at some excellent restaurants in many places and I can honestly say we have had some of the best meals we have ever had in our lives at Couples Negril. We found the Heliconia and the Lychee to be the best, however the buffet was also spectacular. The food menu always changed in every restaurant so you had different choices every day. The oriental theme lunch buffet was great! The Heliconia beach grill was also a great choice for awesome Jerk Chicken, Burgers and Patties. I can't say enough about how good the food was here. 10 stars! :)

Staff/Service: This place is EASILY 5 star for service. We were simply treated like royalty every day and never had to wait for anything. Staff always went out of their way to smile and talk to you and you NEVER had to wait more than a minute for your favorite drink which they remember each time! Anyone who felt they were rudely treated couldn't have been staying at the same place as us or were rude themselves. Every other guest we met honestly had the same experiences we had so we are not alone. They have activities staff that actually mingled with you all day and night making the experience even that much more enjoyable. We had the pleasure of meeting and speaking to one of the Issa family members who own the Couples resorts (Suzanne). The founder Abe Issa's daughters were staying there just like regular guests and we saw them all the time. It was amazing to see them enjoy their own product with everyone else as equals. A true testament of the Couples Resorts company!

Bars/Nightlife: Top shelf liquor in ALL bars. Piano bar was fun at night and the Disco nights were actually quite active. I enjoyed a Jager on ice to help digest a wonderful meal each night. This is not a place for all night party hounds and that is what we really like. We like most retired no later than midnight most nights.

Activities: There was some much inclusive yet we only chose the Catamaran and Glass Bottom boat. The Catamaran is a must-do and was great fun!

Summary: If you are looking for a cozy, small, romantic resort where you are treated and eat like royalty, Couples Negril is definitely the place for you. If you like huge resorts with marble floors and huge chandeliers, still give this place a try. I think you may change your preference! We typically want to try new places each time we travel but we think we found our new permanent home @ Couples Negril. We will be returning! Thank you Couples for a truly wonderful time in Jamaica!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to Couples Negril. During our 10 day visit we went on 10 dives and played 18 holes of golf 3 times. I still managed to gain 7 lbs. The food is wonderful and the drinks are great. We would like to thank Craig from the scuba staff "The Hunter" for another wonderful vacation. He was always finding us cool stuff to look at. Sharks, eels, lobster, crabs, seahorse, barracuda, turtles and much, much more ! Our golf caddies Joan, Stacy and Nadeen are also very good at their jobs.

Room Tip: Third floor it's more private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Wife and I had a fabulous week at Couples Negril. The service was excellent, the beach was awesome, and the food was great. The Jamaican people were very friendly both on and off the resort. We stayed active the entire week- snorkeling, sailing, swimming, catamaran cruise, paddle boats, and of course holding down a stool at the swim up bar. We met many new friends and plan to return next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd. | PO Box 35, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#8 Spa Hotel in Negril
#10 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples Negril. A brilliant balance of elegant and eclectic. At Couples Negril, style surrounds and infuses everything in sight. From the laid-back charm of the swim-up bar to the intoxicating allure on an in-suite Jacuzzi, there’s just something about Couples Negril that says chic. Defined by imaginative, artistic features and possessing a beautiful balance of elegant and eclectic, Couples Negril is 18 acres of all-inclusive luxury, personality and pleasure. All expertly carved into the captivating landscape of Negril, Jamaica. And while our unique appointments set us apart from any other resort, our unwavering attention to your every desire has earned us recognition as the premier all-inclusive resort not only in Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Couples Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Negril Hotel Negril
Couples Hotel Negril
Negril Couples Hotel
Couples Negril Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.