We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Mile Beach

Seven Mile Beach
Negril, Jamaica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Negril Sightseeing Tour with Sunset at Rick’s Cafe
Ranked #2 of 20 Attractions in Negril
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pirates once haunted this seven-mile stretch of golden sand beach, now ruled by pleasure-seeking beach bums and sun-worshipers.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beaches are clean and soft of the feet! Loved them! Of course if you walk off the grounds you will have people coming up to you trying to sell almost everything... We never had anyone become rude with us if we just said no thanks...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,479
    504
    145
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quiet in the morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

beautiful and peaceful until the vendors start walking and selling (not horrible but a little overwhelming at times). I advise walking with no money then you can't be tempted- ha. or keep super small bills -NO ONE will admit to having change.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“dirty water dirty people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

the moochers and vendors very aggressive the part of beach we saw was dirty unkept locals all over and begging the vendors were rude and aggressive would not go back there at all

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach and water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If I were choosing a vacation just for the beach and the beauty of the water, this is the place to go! The water is crystal clear with many blue tones! My husband and I spent quite a bit of time in the water and never saw any sea creatures nearby.

There are seven miles of beach to walk. Although some of the peddlers make it onto your resort beach area, not as many as there are outside the resort beach area. We didn't mind the peddlers all that much. They are selling anything from painting to jewelry to marijuana. If you don't smoke, those peddlers are the easiest to get rid of. We just said, "we don't smoke." The peddlers selling other items are frequent. I like to buy and bargain so it didn't bother me. Also, my husband and I hired a driver to see the communities in which the locals lived. After that, I didn't barter so much. Tourism is the big money maker there.

There are many small crabs to see along the beach at night. You will see MANY of them just before sunset and after if you have a flashlight. They are fast as lightning but if you hold still they will too.

The beach is deep in front of the resorts and the sand is super soft.

Like I said, if you are going just for an awesome beach and gorgeous water this is the place for you. We didn't think the Jamaican resort staff were very friendly at the resort so we don't plan to return.

If you do make the trip, make sure to walk the beach at sunset. We loved walking the beach then!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, relaxing gentle coastline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful streach of beach with hotels, food shacks & vendors everywhere. We stayed at Couples & they were only allowed to walk along the edge of the beach on that property, but could come to you if you asked. If not, they just passed by, singing their sales pitch. Loved it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Mile Beach also viewed

Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Seven Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Mile Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.