We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Mile Beach

Seven Mile Beach
Negril, Jamaica
18776106996
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$84*
and up
Negril Seven Mile Beach Tour from Montego Bay
Ranked #1 of 53 things to do in Negril
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pirates once haunted this seven-mile stretch of golden sand beach, now ruled by pleasure-seeking beach bums and sun-worshipers.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beaches are clean and soft of the feet! Loved them! Of course if you walk off the grounds you will have people coming up to you trying to sell almost everything... We never had anyone become rude with us if we just said no thanks...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet in the morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

beautiful and peaceful until the vendors start walking and selling (not horrible but a little overwhelming at times). I advise walking with no money then you can't be tempted- ha. or keep super small bills -NO ONE will admit to having change.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dirty water dirty people”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

the moochers and vendors very aggressive the part of beach we saw was dirty unkept locals all over and begging the vendors were rude and aggressive would not go back there at all

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank tmhmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach and water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If I were choosing a vacation just for the beach and the beauty of the water, this is the place to go! The water is crystal clear with many blue tones! My husband and I spent quite a bit of time in the water and never saw any sea creatures nearby.

There are seven miles of beach to walk. Although some of the peddlers make it onto your resort beach area, not as many as there are outside the resort beach area. We didn't mind the peddlers all that much. They are selling anything from painting to jewelry to marijuana. If you don't smoke, those peddlers are the easiest to get rid of. We just said, "we don't smoke." The peddlers selling other items are frequent. I like to buy and bargain so it didn't bother me. Also, my husband and I hired a driver to see the communities in which the locals lived. After that, I didn't barter so much. Tourism is the big money maker there.

There are many small crabs to see along the beach at night. You will see MANY of them just before sunset and after if you have a flashlight. They are fast as lightning but if you hold still they will too.

The beach is deep in front of the resorts and the sand is super soft.

Like I said, if you are going just for an awesome beach and gorgeous water this is the place for you. We didn't think the Jamaican resort staff were very friendly at the resort so we don't plan to return.

If you do make the trip, make sure to walk the beach at sunset. We loved walking the beach then!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank runner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous beach, relaxing gentle coastline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beautiful streach of beach with hotels, food shacks & vendors everywhere. We stayed at Couples & they were only allowed to walk along the edge of the beach on that property, but could come to you if you asked. If not, they just passed by, singing their sales pitch. Loved it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jennlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Mile Beach also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
Negril, Westmoreland Parish
 

Been to Seven Mile Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing