We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cave Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Blue Cave Castle
Save Saved
You added Blue Cave Castle to your Saves list
Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Negril
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse of Blue Cave Castle during the week of July 4th. We Stayed at Zimbali Retrats in the mountain for the first half of our trip, and then Blue Cave Castle for the final three nights. We had a wonderful time and I wish we had stayed at BCC longer. Even though there was no air conditioning, the room was very cool at night and I actually had to turn off one of the fans and turn down the ceiling fan because I was too cold. I live in FL and love my AC, but the breeze was more than enough.

The views from the three balconies are amazing, especially from the very top. At night my husband and I went up to the top balcony to watch the stars and just relax. It was beautiful. My husband also woke up every morning to watch the sun rise. We spent quite a bit of time snorkeling (brought our own) in front of BCC as well as jumping from the cliff (well... my husband did, I just took pictures). One day we took a cab to the lighthouse and took the tour to the top. Lot's of fun, but a bit tall for someone who is afraid of heights. After that we walked to Rick's (5 min walk) and had a great time jumping off the cliffs and people watching. The catamarans bring people in around 4pm, so I would recommend getting there a bit earlier to get a good seat.

We ate dinner at BCC each night and Teddy's food was great. He served us at the tables overlooking the water which made the dinner perfect. We ate breakfast each morning in the same place. I would recommend Teddy's pancakes and Johnny cakes, although everything was very good. Having coffee provided each morning was very nice and for the rest of our drinks/ snacks we just walked across the street to the little store. They were very nice there and took our USD when we didn't have any JMD left (bought small things like water so they would exchange for us too). For lunch we typically explored the local restaurants. Our favorite was Three Drives and it's an easy walk from the hotel, although the road can be a bit dangerous to walk along. Another day we took a cab into town one day for about 5 dollars to explore the beach, but we actually preferred relaxing at the Castle and do didn't stay for long.

Overall we had an amazing time at Blue Cave Castle and I'd strongly recommend it to all of my friends and family. If you're looking for an all inclusive with restaurants, tours and pools this is not the place for you, but if you're looking for a great place to relax with great people (other gusts were great and so was the staff!), then this is the place to stay. We had a wonderful time and if/when we return to Jamaica, we will definitely stay at Blue Cave Castle.

Room Tip: Penthouse had a wonderful breeze that kept in cool at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    28
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
91
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The castle is just wonderful. We have stayed there four times one being our honeymoon in the Penthouse suite. Teddys Hideaway may be the best chef/ meal that you can get in Negril- try Teddys Lobster Thermadore- trust! Cute little bars around the area, along with places to stop and get a bite to eat. The swimming is great as long as the seas are calm- otherwise you might have to cab it down to the beach for some swimming.

Give the castle a try- hope you love it as much as we do.

Room Tip: weve tryed several rooms there- just depends on what you want... A/C, on the water, outdoor shower o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Everything about the blue cave castle is amazing. Very laid back ! Teddy makes some of the best food anywhere. The views are amazing as is the castle itself. The entire staff is very nice and will help you with anything you may need. can't wait for my next trip !! Try the penthouse for a truly unique experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a WONDERFUL week in the Penthouse at the Blue Cave Castle. Our room had 3 private decks and a huge pebble lined shower looking out over the ocean-WOW. Everyone on the property is so kind and helpful- Susan, Petrona, the maids and security guards-treat you like family. Every morning we perched on the sea wall with a big mug of High Mountain coffee and Chef Teddy's banana rum pancakes. Chef Teddy even gave my husband some cooking lessons. There is good snorkeling in front of the castle and if you want to snorkel the reef ask Petronia to get Famous Vincent to pick you up in his glass bottom boat. The little store across the street is great for snacks and anything you forgot to bring.
One of the castle guards introduced us to a taxi driver named Garth. He is the best-very prompt and quite personable. He shuttled us to dinner each nite and took us on a day trip to Mayfield Falls. Garth made the trip to the falls the highlight of our visit. We were never rushed and he stayed with us the entire time- he even climbed the falls. On the way home he stopped at Sweet Spice so we could get fantastic coffee milkshakes, then he took my daughter back out to shop for music CD's.
Each nite we had excellent dinners at nearby restaurants. We especially loved outdoor dining at Jus Natural, 3 Dives, LTU, and the the Blue Mahoe Spa Hotel.
Blue Cave Castle is the perfect place to relax-beautiful property, nice people, great location. Treat yourself and give them a visit.

Room Tip: The private decks of the Penthouse provide expansive views up and down the cliffs. Two of the decks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

4th time to Negril and always wondered about this crazy castle looking place. We took a look after spending two weeks at Samsara and moved instantly. Private waterfront balcony beside a odd but super room in the turrent. Very good water access with !bonus! Cave to swim into. Coffee served in am on lawn beside ocean to handful of guests. Chef Teddy kicked it in the kitchen breakfast lunch and dinner for fair prices. Overall great experience and as a side note probably the safest spot should the zombie apocalypse happen

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned to BCC--this time with 2 new girlfriends and once again Petrona (manager) and staff rolled out the "red carpet" service - seamless/easy/no-hassle checkin/checkout/all of our special requests/needs are met!

Tips:
Taxi: ask security to call preferred taxi driver--negotiate rate PRIOR to getting in---shouldn't pay more than approx $3-$5 max to go down to 7-mile beach (1-2 persons)
Load up on snacks / drinks from convenience store across the street & to the right.
Snorkel early - water gets rough in afternoon at times

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are getting ready for another venture to Negril. There is nothing better that we have experienced than the Blue Cave Castle. There is no question about where we will stay because of the excellent and outstanding service they provide. The BCC is like a family that has invited you to their home. The staff and the Owner treat you as a real person and not just another tourist like the big resorts provide. A 5 star meal is only a two minute walk from our room. The HIDEAWAY EATERY is one of the best kept secrets in Negril. Teddy is an absolute personable chef and the food is outstanding. We would put his food and the prices at the top of the list...A truly hidden secret. Add his personality to that and what more could you ask for. All the staff from Petrona to their beautiful guard dogs make this place just wonderful and a real paradise. We recommend the Blue Cave Castle and the Hideaway Eatery to everyone that is traveling to Jamaica. That is where we will always be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cave Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;