We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Cave Castle

Save Saved
You added Blue Cave Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Cave Castle
Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Negril
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Budget perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

4th time to Negril and always wondered about this crazy castle looking place. We took a look after spending two weeks at Samsara and moved instantly. Private waterfront balcony beside a odd but super room in the turrent. Very good water access with !bonus! Cave to swim into. Coffee served in am on lawn beside ocean to handful of guests. Chef Teddy kicked it in the kitchen breakfast lunch and dinner for fair prices. Overall great experience and as a side note probably the safest spot should the zombie apocalypse happen

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    28
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
91
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Returned to BCC--this time with 2 new girlfriends and once again Petrona (manager) and staff rolled out the "red carpet" service - seamless/easy/no-hassle checkin/checkout/all of our special requests/needs are met!

Tips:
Taxi: ask security to call preferred taxi driver--negotiate rate PRIOR to getting in---shouldn't pay more than approx $3-$5 max to go down to 7-mile beach (1-2 persons)
Load up on snacks / drinks from convenience store across the street & to the right.
Snorkel early - water gets rough in afternoon at times

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are getting ready for another venture to Negril. There is nothing better that we have experienced than the Blue Cave Castle. There is no question about where we will stay because of the excellent and outstanding service they provide. The BCC is like a family that has invited you to their home. The staff and the Owner treat you as a real person and not just another tourist like the big resorts provide. A 5 star meal is only a two minute walk from our room. The HIDEAWAY EATERY is one of the best kept secrets in Negril. Teddy is an absolute personable chef and the food is outstanding. We would put his food and the prices at the top of the list...A truly hidden secret. Add his personality to that and what more could you ask for. All the staff from Petrona to their beautiful guard dogs make this place just wonderful and a real paradise. We recommend the Blue Cave Castle and the Hideaway Eatery to everyone that is traveling to Jamaica. That is where we will always be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIlwaukee, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been coming to Negril for years now and have stayed many places. The Blue Castle far exceeded all of my expectations and came out as my absolute favorite place to stay in all of Jamaica. When I arrived I was immediately greeted at the gate and walked directly to my room (number 4). No need to check in - they knew exactly who I was! Room 4 is amazing, with french doors that lead out to a private balcony over looking the ocean and grounds. There is no air conditioning, but sleeping with the doors open was amazing and let in a very nice breeze. The room is very comfortable with items found rarely in Negril (fluffy towels, wash clothes, good, firm mattress, free safe, fridge, etc). Being able to get coffee from the hut was incredible and sipping it on the quiet, peaceful grounds was amazing! We had breakfast at Teddy's every morning. We'd put in our order and he'd bring our food out himself, anywhere we wanted to eat (we usually chose to eat under the gazebo). Milly, a local, came each morning to sell us a bottle of fresh squeezed juice and a bunch of bananas. Most of the time, we felt like we had the entire place to ourselves. We spent some time at Samsara's pools and bar as well as the beach, but couldn't wait to get back to our castle. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet, peaceful getaway. Very romantic!!!!

Room Tip: Number 4 has large, private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the castle with our family. But Chef Teddy was the highlight. Food was amazing and priced very reasonably. Chef Teddy even took my son fishing. Great people nice property, we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: There is no pool, that was the only downside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To start I wanted to book BCC last year. I didn't because i wanted a flight, hotel, and transportation package. Silly me I had no complaints about where I stayed last but I really wanted to stay at BCC this year. Everything fell into place. I booked the room #14. It was suggested that I go with room #10 instead. Guess what it was a great room! I wasn't sure how my Wife would take to a non AI resort. She had no issues at all. We love the grounds, the room and the staff. When we arrived it was after 5 or 6 Mike the guard to us straight to our room. No forms to fill out no hassle. Met Patrona the next morning, she helped with a few questions. shes awesome. We met the owner Susan(nice lady) she suggested a few things to do and see. Teddy of Teddys Hideaway WOW !!! I had an awesome breakfast and dinner. the Guards Mike and Went are true professionals. We will go back to BCC!!!!

Room Tip: If you want a tv book a room with one. theres no pool but you have the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, NB Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

For years I drove by this castle and I was always intrigued, sooo glad I decided to give it a try, it's a perfect and unique spot, the location on the cliffs and all the little details around the property are beautiful, the staff always so friendly and pleasant and the Front office manager so helpful and a very nice and caring person, it's like being home away from home, except that it's in a caste, how awesome is that :-) the food is always so fresh and tasty in the restaurant and they even have room service, I also enjoyed the little coffee hut in the morning where you can go help youself to a fresh cup of tea or coffee and take it all in.... on their beautiful grounds...I have been here twice already and plan on returning often, I highly recommend it !!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Cave Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Cave Castle

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#15 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#21 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Blue Cave Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Cave Castle Negril
Blue Cave Castle Hotel Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Cave Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.