We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xtabi Irie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Xtabi Resort to your Saves list
Xtabi Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Pottstown
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Xtabi Irie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Writing about Xtabi is like writing about an old friend.
I first encountered this enchanted little cove on the cliffs of Negril in the late '80's thinking it was the best swimming hole in the world. My wife and I stayed in a garden room in 2005. I can remember imagining myself as a Taino Indian perched on the top ledge of the cliff looking for my next catch of fish. The intricate set of caves underneath Xtabi was my secret launching point.
This year we had a better budget and were looking for the perfect place to stay. I started looking at my old photos and suddenly the memories kicked in. We were going to stay on the cliff cottages and it was going to be the best.
We contacted Donna and Talcia at the front desk in December and before long we were hooked up - Cottage #3 for nine days in February. We checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor and started dreaming about the warm trade breezes and sunny weather.
Rarely does the dream get fully realized. But our stay at Xtabi was better than imagined.
Cottage #3 is like a picture postcard. The view from the front porch overlooking the Caribbean is framed beautifully by two old knarly trees growing right out of the cliffs. The cottage is set back a bit from the other three cottages nearby and provides a pocket of intimacy. As our neighbors in Cottage 4 who frequent Xtabi said to us - "your place has good Juju".
It really was like a mini Paradise. The waves from the Caribbean lulled us to sleep each night. We were wakened each morning by four beautiful and talkative green Parrots. We had Blue Mountain coffee brewing in the coffee maker we brought with us. We reclined in our comfortable king-sized bed and looked out our French doors to the panorama before us. The big issue of the day was where we were going to eat breakfast and dinner or what sunscreen to wear. We read and had long conversations about anything and everything. We got to know each other again. Everything a vacation should be. The staff was friendly, unobtrusive and always seemed to know when they were needed.
Xtabi is still the great swimming hole I remembered from the eighties. There are enough ladders and jump off points into the big Caribbean swimming pool. And the place has a nice sized pool on the garden side for when the ocean gets a bit rough. There is also a cave with a sandy beach inside of it that has to be seen to be believed.
One of the best surprises was the restaurant at Xtabi. The food was greatly improved from our stay in 2005. In fact, it ranked as one of the best places to eat we experienced this trip. The Jamaican breakfast, omelettes, grouper fish and curried Lobster were perfectly prepared.
If one needed to stay in contact with Babylon, wifi was available at the bar. If not, there were no TV's or telephones in the room and that was welcomed. We couldn't help but feel we stepped back into the 50's or 60's.
The gardens are lush, colorful and well-maintained. It just added to the Eden-like atmosphere of the place. It was a great dream for both of us at a time we needed to dream.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    97
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
178
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love Xtabi! We stayed in cottage #8 - which I would pick again in a heartbeat. It has a fantastic partial view from a veranda that we spent a lot of time on. I couldn't believe how quiet it was here- except for the background reggae music coming from the bar, which we enjoyed. It really is worth the extra money over a garden room. Basically, you have arrived at your destination. It is gorgeous. This place is rustic and feels like Jamiaca. We loved the outdoor shower. It was very spacious and clean. The tall ceilings make it feel even roomier. The huge ceiling fan keeps the tempurature very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and super friendly. We would walk down the stairs and jump off the cliffs or enter the beautiful warm sea through one of the caves. We snorkelled (watch out for jelly fish!) and swam and watched beautiful sunsets. Once or twice a day a tour bus would stop through. They don't stay too long - and other than those times, we hardly even saw anybody. There is no TV and no telephone and we feel like we truly escaped to paradise. Next time we come to Negril, we will spend more time at Xtabi and less time at the beach - never thought I would say that.

Room Tip: upgrade to a seaside cottage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor ontario
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I eneded up finding a very last minute super deal on a flight, which left me only one day to find a room! As I travel to Negril several times a year I sent out emails and researched any rooms available last minute. I recieved a quick response from Donna at Xtabi and worked out a deal quickly easily. Room: spaciuos wood finished room was more than expected, with one of the most comfortable matresses i have experianced in Jamaica, the shower had lots of presure and there was always hot water! Cold AC, a really powerful ceiling fan and cable tv, what more could you want. There is a pool onsight and one of the best sea access on the westend for swimming and snorklling. I had breakfast and lunch at the restaurant a few time and the food was good and the servive was excellent. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely return. The only thing i can find negative, is the drink prices,they are a on the high side, but i guess that has to do with the view that comes with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Thank you once again to the staff and management of Xtabi Resort. We once again chose Xtabi for the second time as a stop over place on our way through Negril. We stayed in Cottage #8 - the second floor of #7. The cottage is quaint and we love the outdoor shower. Always clean, well cared for, no phone, no TV and the perfect place for some rest and relaxation.
We once again enjoyed exploring the caves. The view is wonderful and the sunsets rival other popular locations.
We will be back on our next time in Negril. A wonderful place! It really is a 'place of the Gods'.

Room Tip: We like staying on the cliff side - have always had Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fabulous view, but the food is not even mediocre...

I took a friend here as a "thank you" treat and was embarrassed by how bad both the service and the food were. The night we were there, the youngish staff was much more consumed with chatting amongst themselves than waiting on the customers.

Comments to the waiter that the food was less than expected were met with a shoulder shrug. I wouldn't return and would not recommend the restaurant to anyone else... unless you just stop in for a drink and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Xtabi exploits Jamaican-style charm with it's rustic cottages which enables you to feel the atmosphere and vibe of the island. If you prefer to stay in 5-star resorts when you travel, then this place is not for you. But if you like to submerge yourself in the culture of the places you travel, then this resort should be on the top of your list for Negril.

We stayed in cottage #1, which was the most prodigious of all the cottages. The views from the cottage were unobstructed and spectacular. I don't think I've ever seen such beautiful sunsets (well, besides Cafe Del Mar in Ibiza). You also hear the ocean at night when you sleep, it was quite tranquil.

Across the street is 'Just Natural' and they have delectable organic Jamaican cuisine at very cheap prices.

All-in-all, I'll definitely be returning to Negril at some point and opt to stay at Xtabi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have been going to Xtabi for over 20 years, roughly 13 stays in various rooms and cottages! when you find something good why change! The cottages are so quaint. And the staff are friendly and sweet. I will return to Negril and will definitely stay in what I consider my "home away from home"!

Room Tip: Cottages are the best but the hotel rooms have air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xtabi Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xtabi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.