We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Xtabi is wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xtabi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Xtabi Resort to your Saves list
Xtabi Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Xtabi is wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a ten day stay in room eight on the sea side and this was a great value. One can’t really say enough nice things about this place, but I’m going to try.

The staff was so nice and responsive to all my needs and questions. Natasha was a great help before going, working with me to book the room directly with the hotel. The discount for cash on arrival was also quite nice. The maids, bartenders, waiters, grounds keepers and security staff were all so friendly and accommodating. They were never rushed and took time to visit with you when you wanted and left you alone when you didn’t.

This place is truly beautiful. The sea and the cliffs together present a delightful spot to just relax. There is plenty of lounges about to lay out. The swim platforms are spots for isolation and to launch a snorkel experience. The beach in the cave is easily one of the coolest things ever. I used it to get into the water to snorkel the most, as it was so easy. These rocks and coral around the base of the cliff have amazing aquatic life. I saw octopus, eels, needle fish and big schools of many shimmering little fish. Every time I went out it was different.

The room was great and I enjoyed the outdoor shower. The staff brought up a cooler for beer, no fridge, which worked out nicely. I never felt like the room was unsecure. No one messed with my stuff.

The restaurant was great also, the Jamaican breakfast was fabulous. I just loved the snapper burger. Throughout the day other guests would show up at the bar to visit and share their excursion stories. One thing I found about Xtabi is that the people staying there had, for the most part, stayed there before. The returnees were so fun. They wanted to be there and made it their Jamaican home. The fun to be had with the guests was infectious.

I’d read that the road along the cliffs was dangerous to walk, but found that not to be true. The drivers honk before coming round blind corners and seem to be quite aware of the pedestrians. Yes, be careful, but I walked everywhere and had no problems.

Most of my trip was spent just enjoying Xtabi’s grounds and water. This is a great place to unwind, I hope you find it soon for yourself. Xtabi rocks!

Room Tip: Sea side close to water, garden side have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    97
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
17
178
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

For people looking for a relaxing break, Xtabi is perfect. We stayed in bungalow #6, and would highly recommend it. The terrace overlooking the ocean is amazing, and we were home every night to watch the sunset and enjoy the serenity at Negril (with the added view of the boats returning from partying at Rick's Cafe!). 12 hour sleeps were not uncommon!

For keen snorkellers, bring your own mask and snorkel as the water is so clear - and there are steps just outside leading down to a cave and pristine water. We swam every morning and it was delightful.

In terms of a room, it was very clean and tidy. The bathroom doesn't have a 'lid' on it - so you can hear everything and it limits privacy - but personally, this wasn't an issue for us. And there is a lovely outdoor shower that is fun to use. The bed was super comfy - and so nice to open the doors and look directly to the Caribbean. The in-room refrigerator came in very handy too! I'd recommend paying the $4 extra a day for the in-room safe: the peace of mind it provided was great.

The restuarant at Xtabi is great, and our preferred breakfast option. There are a few local restuarants you can walk to, but other than the 3 Dives Jerk Centre next door (which is awesome for a no-fuss dinner) we preferred to eat on-site as they cater very well to 'foreign palates'. The staff at Xtabi were very accomodating too - always willing to supply ice or provide helpful advice.

Overall, if we lived closer (Australia is a long way away), we'd be returning to Xtabi as frequently as possible - and I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Negril and looking for a nice, relaxing break away from the crowds.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an ocean front bungalow. We loved #6. You won't regret it - and we saved m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

We picked Xtabi mainly as it offered good value for the location. Our requirements were a pool, a/c, off street parking and a refrigerator. Had to pay $4 extra a day but worth it for ice and cold drinks.
We did have a few issues like TV not working- quickly fixed, the fridge stopped working after a power surge- quickly replaced and the a/c leaked- again quickly fixed!
We stayed in room 15 on the garden side, so you now know that everything should be working fine!
The bar is lovely and we ate lunch and dinner twice at the restaurant overlooking the cliffs. Good access into the sea, either down the cliff side steps and a metal ladder or further round down steps cut into the cliff down to a little hidden beach. Great place to swim or snorkel.
Overall I would say that it is good value but no frills and we would stay there next time we are in Negril.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights over my birthday in mid March. We're on a 12 month backpacking trip and decided we needed a nice place to relax for a week.

We didn't really know what to expect in Jamaica, as Australian's don't often travel to this part of the world for a holiday. Jamaican's would always ask what 'State' we were from because they couldn't pick our accent! Then we could have a joke about cricket once we told them we weren't American's. We had heard that Negril can be a tourist trap and is a favourite for people on 'all inclusive' package deals where you don't leave the hotel or have the opportunity to mix with locals. This is certainly NOT the case with Xtabi or the West End in general! From the sunny morning we arrived, we knew we were in for a treat!

This resort is relaxed and well managed by friendly staff. The housecleaner was available everyday if our room needed cleaning, and the cute dog kept us company as we relaxed in the garden. Our garden cottage was basic, but had a large shower/bathroom area, desk and cupboard space and a beautiful veranda to sit and enjoy our drinks.

Across the road the restaurant/bar offers nice food and drinks, albeit a little expensive - but the highlight of staying at Xtabi was access to their sun-baking area and cliffs. Everyday, we swam, snorkeled and enjoyed the Caribbean heat in the beautiful surrounds offered by the resort's restaurant.

The location in Negril's West End was perfect for exploring the dramatic landscape of the cliffs and had great access to cheap, local eateries and grocery stores.

We've been travelling for a long time, but we will never forget our short but special week in Jamaica, all thanks to staying in the West End at Xtabi!

Room Tip: If you're more interested in getting out and about and don't need to spend much time in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

As a room was only available for four nights, that was what we booked. That’s what happens when you risk last minute bookings. We spent 8 nights in total, half at Xtabi and half at another hotel.

Location: We picked this place for the beauty, privacy and superior snorkeling. We were not disappointed! What a paradise! Only complaint is that the complex is divided by Suicide Highway and you risk your life each time you have to cross it to get to the water or restaurant. If you are familiar with Jamaican drivers, you will know why I call it Suicide Highway. Cliff jumps and (bat) caves were awesome!

Food: Tasty and good service. Quiet and friendly atmosphere…beautiful scenery while eating.

Rooms: We did not expect much for $59 per night, but we were shocked to find both a tv and air conditioning in a clean and quiet garden room with a huge washroom. Mind you we never look at a tv on vacation anyway, but the air conditioning is a must. We did not at all mind the respectful gecko living in our room, as he would take care of any insects if they were there. Reliable daily housekeeping. Only one complaint: showers seriously need work as the pressure is very low and it alternates between freezing and scalding you. A simple temperature regulator would solve this issue.

Staff: All staff members were friendly, helpful and quick. Wish I could remember names, but it was a pleasure to deal with them.

In conclusion, this place is a great value with one of the best locations for swimming and snorkeling we’ve ever done. Good place to go if you want to stay away from the annoying shysters on 7 Mile Beach. No idea why Trip Advisor rates this as only #35 out of 99 hotels…that is certainly an injustice as I would rate it easily in the top 10 for sure.

Keep up the good work Xtabi!

Michael & Donata

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

So, if you can't beat the rain, then join it... The resturant at Xtabi has an awesome view over looking the cliffs where the waves come crashing in on a rainy day when the sea is choppy. My wife and I managed to snag an ocean front table and watched as one spectactular wave after another challenged the cliff side.

I should also mention that food was excellent as well. They have a modest wine selection to pick from where most of us can fine something appealing. The service too was well above the island time average.

I would not be in such a hurry to call your cab after dinner. Step out onto the bar patio and have a coctail and catch a few more of those waves and I promise they will eventually show up again in your dreams.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I had researched Xtabi and other resorts before booking and I was worried about not having AC or a TV for a week. I can't believe I was so worried. This resort is low key, and not your typical resort. If you are looking for a compound that is all inclusive, this is not it. When we travel, we like to eat local and enjoy the area we are visiting. Meeting the locals and eating at the local places is what made the trip. The cottage was great. It had a fridge, and a kitchette (2 burners and a sink). We had a taxi driver take us into Negril (about 200j or $2 and we gave him 500j as a tip because he went in and shopped with us) and go shopping with us for Red Stripe, Rum, Juice, and Water so we could stock our mini-fridge. It was a great move.

We felt safe walking to the two nearby restaurants (Just Natural to the left and 3 Dives to the right). The road is super busy and there isn't much of a shoulder but this is just a typical Jamaican street. We chose not to walk around the street, but many couples did.

We brought our own beach towels and snorkel gear (didn't see anywhere to rent snorkel gear without going to 7 Mile Beach). To get to the beach, it costs about 400j or about $5. While we visited the beach we were hassled and harassed by the locals trying to get us to buy whatever. NEVER had that experience up on the westend cliffs (except at Rick's Cafe).

The only time the heat became unbearable was in the heat of the day, from about 1pm to 4pm. It was hot, especially if the breeze died down. But we were never miserable due to the heat. The water is rough starting about 1 to about 4pm everyday, the wind picks up and the tide comes in. Swimming and snorkeling are best in the morning until about noon and late evening. Sunsets around 6:30 and they are breathtaking!

You can jump from the cliffs here (we did) and roam through the caves under the resort. Many people from other resorts visit Xtabi because they want to see caves and swim in Xtabi's cove. Staff was great and very helpful. In fact, only unfriendly staff member was the first person I came into contact with at the front desk. Security is super and the bartenders are great. Kevin makes an AWESOME and strong Dirty Banana by the way.

Room Tip: Seaside cottages each have their own +/-, The only cottages I would NOT stay in would be 2, 7 and 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xtabi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xtabi Resort

Address: Lighthouse Road, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xtabi Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xtabi is a 25 Room Boutique Hotel, We are located on the West Cliffs of Negril, one + miles from the Negril Beach.XTABI offers a variety of different facilities such as economy and standard rooms, as well as one or two storey private cottages. Some of our accommodations are set in the lush tropical garden near the pool, others are on the impressive cliffside overlooking the Caribbean Sea.XTABI RESORT awaits you with a dramatic water front setting where spiral stairs are leading down through a cave to a sandy beach. Many grottos along the cliffs are to explore and the shallow reefs nearby ensure great snorkeling. The cliffside bar and restaurant welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving good food in a friendly atmosphere with a breath-taking view and nice music. Xtabi will make you feel IRIE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xtabi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xtabi Hotel Negril
Xtabi Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xtabi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.