We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still in love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rockhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rockhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still in love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We just got back from another week at the Rockhouse - both my husband and I have traveled a lot, and i NEVER go back to the same resort twice. However, rockhouse is my only exception. The room, food, staff, views - everything is perfect. You feel like you are in Jamaica with the highest level of service. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    139
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
43
423
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Rockhouse is a beautiful hotel in an even more beautiful location. Prior to our trip I read reviews and looked at tons of pictures and wasn't sure the rockhouse would be able to live up to the photos. It did. The cliffs, the water and the villas over the water are even more beautiful in person. The pictures simply don't do it justice. We stayed in premium villa 7 and were very pleased. It seemed as though the sunset ended on our terrace. One negative to the premium villa was the outdoor toilet. We burned a mosquito coil or candle at all times in the bathroom because the Mosquitos could be quite bad and nothing seemed to help. The shower is also in a separate outdoor room and we really liked this. Although, both the bathroom and shower rooms in the villas border the walking paths, so voices can be heard. As for service there were a lot of highs and A couple lows, we had some trouble getting room service to bring a bucket of ice to the room, some would,some wouldn't, sometimes they would tell us we had to go to the restaurant to get it and other times they would bring it. The staff were all phenomenal. Marsha, from housekeeping was so nice and on top of everything She asked our names on the first day and every day after greeted us by name. Euril, the gardener, was super friendly and willing to explain the different varieties of plants at the resort and the techniques used to grow them. Rhino, the chef at the pool grill was great as well. If he has the ingredients, he'll make you whatever you want, even if its not on the menu. The food at all 3 restaurants was great, pushcart was our favorite of the 3. The best thing about the rockhouse restaurant is that it can be ordered as room service for the same cost. We ordered it for breakfast everyday,the French toast was amazing.
Overall, I would give e rockhouse a 4.5/5 stars if I could only because of the Mosquitos. My husband mentioned it would've been nice if the offered a fan for the patios to help with the Mosquitos and the heat. We loved the rockhouse and plan return one day. We would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The premium villa was great, but we saw a standard villa and it was nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

we spend a lot of time in JA. and there is no better place than the Rockhouse. we have been staying at the Rock since the mid 90's, and it keeps getting better. If you enjoy things, like fabulous views, wonderful food and the friendliest staff on the island, than this is the place for you. All of the villas are great, with unbeatable views. We always opt for the Premium villas, but they are all wonderful. The food at the main Restaurant is Always great, and the newer restaurant Pushcart is wonderful, cooking up the best in traditional Jamaican Cuisine ( we love the Jerk Chicken, and Peppa Shrimp ). the pool BBQ for lunch is a must. The views are probably the most dramatic on the island, and NO better place to watch a sunset.
Hey, I've never lied to you yet, so get you're Reso. on ASAP !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I wish I could give this place 6 stars. I've reviewed several hotels and given them 5. They are lucky I hadn't gone to Rockhouse yet. Amazing location on the cliffs. Crystal clear, calm water. Great food. Tremendous service. We stayed in Villa 18, a regular villa. Not really luxurious and full of amenities, the rooms are more rustic. No TV and we didn't miss it. A/C works good. Bed is comfortable. And the room was absolutely spotless, huge respect to housekeeping.
Jerk chicken and snapper sandwich at pool grill were perfect. Jerk was as good as 3 Dives down the street (I'll review them, too). Push Cart was probably the best, while the Rockhouse Restaurant was also excellent. We didn't have one bad meal.
I like that I could walk out on the street to the local shops and restaurants. It's like a little village right outside the hotel, hard to believe it's in Negril. Really laid back. Great place to relax.
One last note: A few people on here said they didn't get good service and that staff were texting or looking at their phones. I was there six days and didn't see any of that. We felt like we were with friends the whole time. The staff does seem relaxed, but I like that. I know I prefer to be comfortable with my job. From my first e-mails with Lanuna, to Miller who greeted us on arrival, through Ashley, Charlotte the GM, Charlotte the waitress, Chevon, John, Gossett and many others, the staff here is friendly and professional. Thanks everyone. Respect.

Room Tip: Regular Villa would be best choice. Premium Villa second. Higher numbers are farther from the restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
centennial
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Back in the 1980's, a lady names Lisa and a friend discovered this area and created a paradise. We have done quite a bit of travel and have never experienced anything like this place. First off, it is like being in a dense park. It seemed like being here magically set the stress level to zero with the quiet and serene ambulance. We stayed in a studio. Very comfortable, not fancy but it had everything we needed, including NO TV!! Food is wonderful and the two restaurants plus the pool side bar. You want to be treated like you are the most important person around? Stay here. As if you could not feel any better, have a massage. No one pressures you to buy their oils, in fact, I don't think you can. I had two massages because they were so amazing! The water is crystal clear but, you are on a cliff so no beach. But, 7 mile beach is a $10 cab ride away if you need that.
The people here... we wanted to stay forever. You will never be treated better.
Kenny Tours is on site to get you around. We hired them to get us to/from airport as well as around Negril. Also excellent.
If you stay here, you cannot have room 28... we want it kept open for our return!!!
You may read reviews that the restaurants are too expensive. Not true. I do not consider $15-20 excessive for a fantastic meal. Breakfast is around $7-10. Do go to the Pushcart for Curry Lamb and Conk.

Room Tip: Room 28 has a wrap around deck. The huts looked amazing but assume a bit pricey!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Rockhouse is a hotel, not an all-inclusive. There are three restaurants on site, a pool BBQ, a more formal dining room,The Rockhouse" and a relaxed more casual restaurant, "The Push Cart." The food in all three is superb. There are many opportunities in the area for meals. I recommend Sips and Bites, right next door for a light lunch, or the jerk shack, Three Dives, just a short walkup the road towards Negril. I never felt any danger while walking arond this area during the day or early evening. A great spot for dinner is a short cab ride away at LTU, or at Ivan's Catch a Falling Star. LTU is smaller and a real Jamacian experience, while Ivan's is part of a resort. We stopped at the Hi-Lo (grocery store) in Negril upon arrival and stocked up on breakfast fruit, shacks, yogurt, juices, beer, wine before we arrived, and had the staff empty the mini-bar for us. Accommodations are either circular "Villas", or a motel unit. I have not stayed in the motel unit. The Villas have a king bed with mosquito netting, bathroom with outdoor shower, some chairs and a table, stereo, mini-fridge, and a front patio. There are two types of villas, premium and luxury. Either one is fantastic, so I would choose the cheaper of the two depending on your group size. A coffee maker would be a great addtion, but you can get great coffee from the restautant in the morning for about $3.00 U.S. Each unit also has a sun pad with umbrella set at the edge of the cliff. There is never any trouble getting a sun chair under an umbrella at the pool. The staff here are fantastic, and one of the owners is always on site. He recommends eating with the locals to get a feel for the culture. You can take a free tour to either the Negril Library and Elementary School in town, or another school out of town to see what the Rockhouse Foundation has done for the locals. The Rockhouse Hotel provides all of the adminstrative fees for the Foundation, so that 100% of donations go to into improving the lives of the local people. The hotel also pays a living wage to its staff. There is really nothing to do for children here, and both times we have been here, the guests have all been adults. It is laid back, peaceful, and beautiful. There is no need to go to Rick's Cafe to watch the sunset unless you want to pay an exorbinant price for your drink, or watch the cliff divers. They are interesting, but after you have seen one, you have seen them all. Watching the drunk tourists try the dive can be entertaining. The sunsets at the Rockhouse are second to none. I would recommend Clive's Transport for the trip from Sangster International Airport to the Rockhouse. He is a local with a vast amount of information. We have used him for each of the six trips we have taken to Jamaica. He also provides local tours upon request. Clive also has a foundation to help students whose poverty inhibits their ability to complete an education. On a tour we took to help out one of his students, Clive took us to a bar so far away from the tourist zone, it was like we had arrived in another world. There is no fitness center, not that I was looking for one, but the spa is nice. We had a couples massage in a building on the cliffs, overlooking the ocean. An indescribeable experience. For a good glass bottom boat and snorkel trip, look for Famous Vincent to show up by the Rockhouse Restaurant, in his boat, in the mornings. The area he takes you to snorkle in is great....rays, corals, sea cucumbers, lots of fish. In conclusion, the Rockhouse is a fabulous destination Hotel, but make sure that you engage with the locals for a true Jamaican experience.

Room Tip: They all seem to be good rooms, but Villas 7 and 15 are popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a few nights here on our honeymoon! What a place!
First location is great! So beautiful up by the cliffs. Our room
Was great and super
Clean! Loved the outside shower. It was quiet and romantic. A really nice get away!
Staff was super great. Enjoyed the pool bar and the service was fab loved the food and drinks;))

The rockhouse is a great spot! A
Must see in negil!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#5 Family Hotel in Negril
#5 Best Value Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, The Rockhouse won Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2011 and Jamaica's Leading Boutique Hotel 2012 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's March 2012 "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's November 2011 Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.