We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rockhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Rockhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magical!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The "villas" are earthy and perfect. Food was great and the people were wonderful. Perfect for honeymooners and couples. The spa was excellent and the staff generally were friendly, warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    143
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
45
446
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Rockhouse Hotel to celebrate the marriage our close friends. The hotel set the stage for a beautiful sunset ocean view ceremony. The hotel thought of everything to accomodate the wedding guests attending as well as the wedding party.

The Rockhouse Hotel is made up of thatched roof huts which have access to the ocean from the front of your hut. Most have large, comfortable canopy beds with mesquito netting to keep bugs out. One of the best parts of the room were the open-air showers with high walls and an open view to the sun, star and heavens. This shower definitely makes you feel like you're in paradise.

Overall, the Rockhouse Hotel is like no other hotel in Jamaica!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a different type of property than the beach location, so be prepared for this at Negril Rockhouse. The reason for coming here is to watch the sea straight from your room, the sunset as beautiful as at Rick's cafe, the relative seclusion from people, swimming in clear blue water, the food on premise or at your room or your own beach patio or to jump off cliffs. The relative peace and energy of the place, Rick's cafe is only 5 minutes away and if you want a unique experience, try the Caves for dining. The food at Rockhouse is delicious and the whole atmosphere is relaxing. This is not a place you go to meet people, but one where you want seclusion and peace! Rated one of the top 500 hotels in the world and top 10 in the Caribbean because of the location--it's impossible to be able to build a hotel on every cliff that leads you from your own patio into crystal clear waters--unique in its charm. If you want beach Negril go to Sandals Swept Away or do as the couple next door to us who got married in the sunset at Rockhouse--stay a few days at Rockhouse and a few days at Sandals Swept Away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We weren't staying at the hotel by my GF treated me to an unforgettable meal meal at the Rockhouse for my birthday.

We were lucky enough to be seated at an exclusive table on 'The Rock'. It is a single table on a cliff opposite the main area and is on its own - perfect for a romantic meal together.

The setting was stunning and is something I will never forget. The service was outstanding - our waitress accommodated our every request and just because we were at our own table didn't mean we were isolated as our waitress was also attentive.

The food was superb - I had lobster wraps to start and my gf had coconut prawn balls - both were excellent! We both had jerk chicken fajitas as a main course and they were absolutely delicious! It was also not overpriced - the fajitas were about $15 and the meal including 3 courses and all of our drinks came to $80.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough - simply the best dining experience ever!

Room Tip: N/A - we did not stay at the hotel, we only ate in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Rockhouse Hotel is located about 45 min from the airport, in hedonistic Negril. Once one arrives, the road trip to get there, lays in the past. The hotel is build on the top of cliffs right on to the ocean. The color of the water is astonishing and so intensely blue that I first didn't believe it. I have seen beaches all over the world, but this was something different. The dark cliffs standing high and tall against the waves really makes one feel closer to nature. This scene is breath taking.
But what about service and the rooms, you might think. Well there are different types of rooms, huts on the cliffs, huts in the forest and rooms in a simpler fashion. (All this helps if you are planing to have an event at the Rockhouse, or if you have a large family, because there is an option for everyone's economy). All the rooms are very clean and located in a way that you will not get disturbed by your neighbors. Which for me is crucial! The hotel itself has very few rooms, all this to make sure their guests can be totally left alone and enjoy their privacy. There are 2 restaurants at the hotels grounds. Both are highly recommended in tons of travel guides. Normally I don't believe everything I read but in this case it is fair to say the food is exactly what it says, products fresh from the island with a twist of the flavored of reggae... Totally worth exploring... The staff at the Rockhouse is very sweet and very service minded everything one needs they will arrange in an instance. I really recommend going out to explore the surroundings of Negril, just to return and feel like you are home again... Have an amazing stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for only a few days for a surprise party but my fiancée and I can stop talking about this hotel! It's a great boutique hotel. The cliffs of Pristine Cove make for spectacular views on the waters edge. The pool and bar is where to take the sunset while drinking a "Sting Ray" !! The restaurants are outstanding and on the rocks over looking gin blue seas. This is a wonderful and quiet place that's stunning and we will be returning for many years!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This summer I stayed briefly at The Rockhouse, in Negril Jamaica...I am still salivating each time I think of it, and can't wait for the next opportunity. It was simply breath taking...the next time I plan on getting a massage as this time I didn't. Also, I went with friends, so next time Only my man and me will be taking in this breathtakingly beautiful piece of paradise...another hidden gem in Jamaica .

Room Tip: Room options are cottages on the cliffs, we asked for water instead of garden. The room are just ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#4 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#6 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, The Rockhouse won Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2011 and Jamaica's Leading Boutique Hotel 2012 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's March 2012 "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's November 2011 Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Rockhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.