We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cliffside bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rockhouse Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Negril
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rockhouse Hotel
Save
You added Rockhouse Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cliffside bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Rockhouse hotel is an amazing property. Located cliffside in Negril, Jamaica, it is a boutique hotel in an amazing setting. We stayed in one of the regular villas. We were located at the end of a small inlet, which made for amazing views and a feeling of seclusion even though there were multiple other villas around. The Villa was comfortable with a nice bed. The open air shower was a nice touch as well. The property is nicely landscaped, with the native rocks making up the walkways and walls, and a plethora of foliage present to make it seem very isolated. Rockhouse has its own coral reef, and had a multitude of small ladders leading into the water to go snorkeling (of course, you're welcome to jump off the wall as well if you prefer). Given that it's cliffside, there are no beaches at this hotel. It's only a minor drawback in my opinion, as the cliff setting is definitely a unique experience and Seven Mile Beach is only a short taxi ride away. The staff was amazing- very friendly and helpful without exception. The food was also terrific. There is the Pushcart restaurant, the Rockhouse restaurant, and the pool bar. I can say every meal was great the whole time we were there. The few times we ate off property during are stay showed me that the food at Rockhouse was definitely superior.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a villa if affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    150
    33
    13
    7
See reviews for
49
482
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Where do we begin...this was a dream trip for us, we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary in Dec 2010 & the trip to Jamaica was our gift to each other. The Rockhouse was truly a gift in itself. The welcome to the departure was handled with class & joy. The staff were top of the line. There when you needed them but never in your face.My husband asked for Splenda the first day & he never had to ask again, it was served with his coffee each time. Polite, genuinely friendly & happy to be around. The room we were in was just wonderful, we felt it was a perfect spot, the outdoor shower was an amazing experience for us & the bars of soap-awesome!! They sell full size ones in the gift shop! We had such wonderful food for each meal, we can't talk about it all. The grounds were just gorgeous & well tended. The cooking demo, the music at the Push Cart each night & the beautiful sunsets were some of the greatness we enjoyed....but the best part of our stay was our visit to the Negril All Age School, the children & their teachers were a pleasure to meet & we would have spent the day there if we could have. The Rockhouse Foundation has done some wonderful things for the community of Negril-made us proud to be staying at The Rockhouse & we think it shows in the staff.
We read a review on here where someone complained about the boats that pull into the cove each day....we enjoyed watching them, yet they were not a bother, we heard nothing but the crash of water on the cliffs & we never felt that those boats were an intrusion. We didn't venture of the premises very much but we felt comfortable with the little bit we did. Directly across from the entrance to The Rockhouse Restaurant was a little shop & the woman was very sweet.
Pool Bar Grill-lots of fun during the day, very yummy lunches cooked right on the grill & 2 for 1 drinks from 5-6 each day & we would stay right there & wait for the sunset-each one was more amazing than the next.
We think we have found a place where we will come back year after year & we will feel like we are coming back to see our new friends...that's how it felt, like we made new friends!!! Thank you Rockhouse!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Rockhouse was recommended to me by several people I trust, so I had high hopes going in. I was not disappointed! We stayed in one of the premium villas and it was just perfect and so romantic for our honeymoon. The water views were spectacular, and we could walk right out our door and climb down a ladder into the ocean, which we did daily! They also have a great salt water pool that we loved, which was very relaxing and peaceful. We both consider ourselves foodies and the food here was amazing. Everything was so fresh and delicious! The service here can't be beat - there's always someone ready to help. And oh, the sunsets! There's a reason people talk about it. Simply amazing. Our airline on the way down had mechanical problems, so we arrived a day late (which Rockhouse didn't charge us for. Wow). We decided to extend a day because of this, but they were booked so we tried another property down the street on the last day...all I can say is, we appreciated Rockhouse all the more because of this! If you do stay at Rockhouse, I would recommend never leaving the property because nothing else compares!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

This place is a GEM! A spectacular place to go to when you want to get away from it all! No TV's, no noise except the birds and happy Jamaican music playing! The people are gracious and happy to be there to serve you and make your stay MAGNIFICENT!
Read more! www.thefitgreengoddess.com

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

The Rockhouse Hotel was an amazing experience. Everything good you have read about the hotel and more. The views are amazing, waking up to the cliffs and water every morning is amazing, yoga at the hotel is amazing, scuba diving outside of your room, 2 restaurants on site and a pool bar, there is so much here, you don't even need to leave! We left for several different occasions to go check out the sights but always ended up right back at the hotel to enjoy ourselves there. Ivan's is a great bar to check out and Ciao Jamaica had really good food, we ate dinner at both places.

Whatever you do, don't go to Rick's Cafe, total tourist trap and the prices are outrageous for what they offer. Do not waste your time. We were disappointed that we didn't listen to our instincts on that one.

When staying at the Rockhouse make sure you get a chance to do some spa activities, i.e. massage, pedicure, etc. Their services are like no other and the atmosphere is completely calm and relaxing.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

The rockhouse is a beautiful resort. It's a quiet spot and great for couples or anyone who wants to get away. It's relaxed but has every amenity you could want. The view is spectacular and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

One of a kind! The Rockhouse offers everything you are looking for when escaping snowy New York. True to it's name, the villas are build upon rocks. These sexy huts overlook the crystal blue water and multi colored sunsets. Our villa was exceptionally clean, and service was excellent. Once outside, you could hear the waves crashing against the rocks-. It's peaceful, surreal paramonic views will last a lifetime. My boyfriend and I traveled for liesure and collectively, neither of us have ever experienced such an outstanding place, it's number one on our top five. We refer this place to ALL-especially if you and your loved feel like getting way to soak up the sun.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rockhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockhouse Hotel

Address: West End Rd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Negril
#3 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#3 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#3 Family Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockhouse is a boutique hotel stretching across the cliffs of Pristine Cove. Nestled amongst eight acres of tropical lush gardens, thatched roofed villas are perched on the water's edge. Guests swim in the sixty foot horizon pool or take the stairs carved into the rock down to the cove for snorkeling on the reef. Home to two award winning restaurants - the Rockhouse Restaurant & Bar and the Pushcart Restaurant & Rum Bar. The renowned Rockhouse Spa has a philosophy that is a simple, holistic approach to well-being, health and happiness. Spa treatments are undertaken "on-the-rocks" in the cliff-edge Massage Cabana or at the eight room garden spa. Yoga classes are offered daily overlooking the sea.Consistently ranked one of the top resorts in the Caribbean, the Rockhouse won the Caribbean's Leading Boutique Hotel 2014 and Jamaica's Leading Spa 2014 at the World Travel Awards. In addition, the Rockhouse was also voted the No. 1 "Best Value Hotel in the Caribbean" in Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Value Awards" and included in Conde Naste Traveler's Readers Choice list of "Best in the World". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockhouse Hotel Negril
Rock House Jamaica
Rockhouse Jamaica
Rockhouse Hotel Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.