We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Negril to your Saves list
White Sands Negril
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jamaica, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel is for the traveler who is not fussy about accommodation since it is very basic but it was clean and comfortable and within a minute walk to the beautiful 7 mile beach. Staff was friendly and the price was a bargain. Expect a really relaxing time, no phones in the room but there is wifi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review....Basic, clean and comfortable with a great location...pretty much sums it up. Really nice to read the staff treated you well and we VERY much look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.

Cheers
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    221
    68
    39
    27
See reviews for
83
201
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Where do we start....staff were immediately friendly and helpful on our arrival, even though it was late at night. The friendliness just continued as we started meeting more of the staff each day. They couldn't do enough for you. Francis and Mike were more than happy to make reservations for us when we wished to dine at a restaurant called Catch a falling star over at the cliff. This was a fantastic place to visit. More expensive than the little local places, but worth it. Breakfast at White sands was lovely while looking out over the beautiful blue ocean, worth paying that little bit extra just for the view and the convenience at times. As an alternative for a short stroll along the road there are many local places to eat and experience the true Jamaican way of life. Everyone we met were very friendly. As it is located along the beautiful 7 mile beach, plenty to see and visit if you choose to wander along the beach during the day. Whether staying on beach side or garden side you are literally only minutes away from the beach. Definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It does not get much better than 'Amzaing'....thank you so much for allowing us to host you and take care of you while you were here. We try our best and love to help people discover our little beach town. Glad you were able to visit some restaurants on the West End. What makes Negril such a cool town is that it is really two towns in one...a fantastic beach and really nice cliffs. Two very different vibes and both fun to experience.

Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Keep the love going strong....!!!

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you want 5* luxury on your trip to Negril then maybe this isn't the place for you but if you're looking for a relaxed, fun, and affordable stay then White Sands is perfect! Stayed for 2 weeks with my partner and had an amazing time! Every member of staff was extremely helpful with special mention to Francis who was more than happy to organise all of our excursions and even order our breakfast in the mornings! We both felt very secure staying here as there are security guards on site at all hours. If I had to give a criticism the food here is a little pricey compared to other local places but overall I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Chose the Garden Side as it was slightly cheaper and did not regret our decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Describing us as 'relaxed, fun and affordable' is a compliment that I will take any day of the week and twice on Sunday. Glad you and your partner had an amazing time and we hope to host you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I booked this deal with White Sands using Groupon. I knew it wasn't a highly rated resort ahead of time. However, the rooms and bathrooms are clean, the showers are hot with decent water pressure, the cleaning staff are friendly and professional, and the owners/managers are helpful, informative and accommodating. Oh, did I forget, free WI-FI?! I would definitely stay there again. My only complaint is the cost of the food at the restaurant. I felt pricing was a bit high, but the food was always good and fresh. There is a wide bar selection, and drinks and prices were reasonable. Our room was on the garden side, and I would suggest that over the beach side (a very short 2 min walk to the beach).

Room Tip: ?There are no TVs in the rooms. Bring your laptop or tablets to access wi-fi to watch tv or movies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Glad you were able to snag our first deal on Groupon. Thank you for the kind words. Glad you liked your room and the staff treated you well. We always try out best.
Come back soon, we look forward to sharing our beach and WiFi with you !!

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed with a group of friends for one night as we included some fun time within our work time. From the time I made the booking Mr. Williams took care of all our needs. We arrived very late about 1am due an unexpected delay but we were expected and we settled in very well and had a good night's rest. Next morning we headed to have breakfast on the beach front and it was great. Jennifer our server was so very accommodating to our every need and request. My friend who is a complete vegan vegetarian was very satisfied with her breakfast as Stacy made sure she used a new pan. Of course some of us used the opportunity to take a swim while breakfast was being prepared. After a short trip to the town we came back to the beach and spent the rest of the evening. Thanks to Tony for making us divine pina coladas. It was an amazing short and sweet stay. I would stay there again and recommend it. This property is right smack in the middle of seven mile beach. The food is great. We stayed in the garden side rooms and its quiet and cool with all the surrounding greenery. The beach is just a short walk away, less than 2 minutes. Thanks again to all the staff that saw to our needs.

Room Tip: Garden side is quieter and closer to the pool, office and parking facilities. Its also cheaper if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for allowing us to host you, glad you and your friend had a great time. Very kind of you to write nice things about Jennifer and Francis. It certainly is wonderful to take a swim before enjoying breakfast....Livin' the Life !!

We look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Came in on a Friday and left on a Tuesday. Secluded, clean and very relaxing with the essentials for a functional getaway. No need for a TV or fancy gadgets although there is WiFi. We stayed in a garden side room (which was preferred) with just a quick cross of the street to 7 mile beach. Daily drink specials at the bar that provide plenty of variety and flavors of the Caribbean while not skipping out on the alcohol. This was our first time in Jamaica and between the staff, locals as well as transportation and guides we felt very welcome and safe. I would absolutely recommend this place to someone who is looking to get away, especially as a couple, where there are no distractions from the outside world and you get to experience Jamaica in its fullest.

The only negative, if you can even call it that- more like nitpicking is the transparency of the walls, more so the windows. You can sometimes hear into the next room but really didn't pose an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
You hit the nail on the head...Laid Back And Low Key is who we are and what we are all about !!

Thanks for the feedback and we look forward to hosting you when you return.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Jamaica
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time there very private very secluded liked hanging out on the balcony everything was close reached the beach was nice very cear water the staff friendly the manager was pretty cool would deffinately visit white sands again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
In the words of the great 80s band....Let the Good Times Roll !!

Glad you had a great time, that the staff treated you well and you will be back.

We look forward to hosting you soon.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#36 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.