We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Negril to your Saves list
White Sands Negril
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
arima
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The white sands hotel is a quaint guest house. It was definitely one of the cheapest accomodation options in negril and I was a bit skeptical when booking it. But we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, and the rooms had everything we needed. The only con was the size of the bed which was a double, but too small for two persons. It was also very hard and uncomfortable. But we were only staying for one night and didnt mind too much as most of the time was spent outside the room.

The location of this hotel is ideal...right on the 7 mile beach with a beach bar. The water was calm, blue and amazing. We were lucky enough to experience some bioluminescence at night which was a unexpected bonus for us! During the month of September it wasnt crowded at all, and we enjoyed our privacy.

Great value for money. Pleasant staff. They even allowed us to check out a few hours late with no added charge. Would stay here again but would choose a room with at least a queen sized bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach side area of the property. There are rooms that are located on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your trip report. 'Great Value For The Money' is probably the most common feedback we receive from guests, and we are proud of it. Glad you enjoyed the quiet beach and experienced some special moments. We look forward to hosting you when you return.

Cheers,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    211
    67
    39
    27
See reviews for
79
192
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have been conversing with Francis to return to White Sands this winter. We've stayed other places but have begun to call White Sands home now, when in Negril. It has, by far, the best beach location along 7-Mile beach and the staff is outstanding. After several stays at White Sands, we've found a large family, not only in staff but in the returning guests that have become great friends that we look forward to seeing each year. White Sands is very accommodating, whether you're staying on the property or looking to tour off the property. They are always helpful and full of wonderful ideas that showcase their locale, Negril and Jamaica. Not a New York 5 star boutique hotel, but a family run home-style feel. Think of the "Cheers" song...."where everybody knows your name...."

Room Tip: We like beachside vs. garden side, don't care to cross the blvd which can be busy and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We LOVE it when we convert guests to Family !! I have to agree, we are blessed with having the best beach location in Negril. Our little piece of heaven is all we need. We have lots of returning clients each year and many make their return trips so they meet up with other guests they meet on property. It is a pretty special atmosphere. Love the analogy to Cheers! Well said...

Regards, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

i had always wanted to stay here and on my 5th trip to Negril I finally did !!! went with my boyfriend and 2 other friends. we stayed in the 1bed apt which worked out fine for 4 people !!! staff was great and so is location !!! rooms are clean and kept well stocked. never had a problem getting a beach chair.

Room Tip: apts. seem to be the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Nice to host you at White Sands on your 5th trip. Always good to get feedback and trip reports from people who have stayed at other hotels. Glad you enjoyed the One Bedroom Apartment, they are very roomy and comfortable. Hope to host you on your 6th trip back!
Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been staying at White Sands for 26 years. I go at least twice a year. The hotel is like staying with family. Staff is wonderful and have been there for years. The bar has the best drinks and bartenders on the beach. Great location right in the middle of seven miles of beach. Rooms are basic but the price is right. When the water pressure is low it is like that all over the beach. Office staff is very helpful and will go out of the way for your needs. You are a guest only once at White Sands then you become family.

Room Tip: If you have a family get a cottage with the kitchen, it is worth the extra money. Rent a phone from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
You are the foundation that makes White Sands what it is today, thank you for your loyalty and kind words. Look forward to seeing you yet again on your next trip back. We LOVE seeing our family return each year! Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a great stay there!! The staff treated us amazing and looked after us. The food is top class and if you go get the jerk chicken its cooked to perfection. The beach and bar is amazing and the security makes sure you don't get bothered at all. I have to give a shout out to ricardo who escorted is around negril and really looked after us. And could the hotel Thank him on behalf of derek and amy and let him know he made the trip great for us. And I would like to thank the hotel staff for treating is so well. Ye mon

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send in your trip report. Love to read that the staff treated you well and took care of you. Glad you liked the beach grill food. Glad you toured Negril and got to check out our little town. Look forward to hosting you again on your next visit.
Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Love the White Sands, I stay there every year for 10 too 14 days, love the staff, Bar & Grill on the beach, Wonderful stay, I use to stay in the studio/apt, now I stay in the 1bm on the beach, love it.

Room Tip: Stay on the beach side, who wants to cross the road like a chicken, everything is on the beach, beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about your stay at White Sands and the nice feedback on the staff who make everyone feel so at home. My apologies for the late reply to your post. Look forward to sharing our beach with you again soon. Cheers, White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at this property twice, and enjoyed every moment. The hotel rooms have uncomfortable beds, a nice fridge, decent air conditioning, plenty of hot water, which one doesn't really need to much of, and one of the greatest locations on 7 mile beach. The hotel, and beach security are good.The restaurant serves a great breakfast, however they are very slow. The front office is helpful, and friendly. The ocean water is almost body temperature. There are plenty of places to eat in both directions. This is a great place for the money. You will also find that most of the guests are return guests.

Room Tip: If you can run across the street without getting run over the garden side rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrussell, Manager at White Sands Negril, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your trip report. Sorry you did not like the bed you slept in. I wish you had asked to be moved to a different room or for us to change the mattress. I know how important a good nights sleep is. It is not a comment we receive often. I hope when you come again next that we will be able to find you accommodations that suit you better.

Kindest regards,
White Sands Negril
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Negril

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 60, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Negril
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#35 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Negril 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate resort with a non-hotel atmosphere ideal for families, singles and couples alike. An excellent choice for the undemanding traveler who values the charm of a family owned and managed resort. Excellent mid beach location with rooms on the beach and garden side of the property. Choose from spacious one-bedroom apartments, inviting deluxe and standard rooms, and a villa w/pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Otel, Hotwire, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your White Sands Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Negril Hotel Negril
White Sands Hotel Negril
White Sands Resort Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.