We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great week at the grand lido” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lido Negril

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lido Negril to your Saves list
Grand Lido Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Burlington, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great week at the grand lido”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The room we had was tired but the bed was good and it was clean.The rest of the resort was very nice beach and water are beautiful. The food was excellent and the staff was great. We did 2 excursions that we enjoyed and felt the holiday was great value.As far as the vendors on the beach go if you are not interested just say no thanks and they say no problem. My wife got some nice things from them for a reasonable price. You will have a hard time finding better service or nicer people so tip them the way you would like to be tipped and have a great time!

Room Tip: We liked our room location at the end of the resort near the bar on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear James R,

Thank you for writing your review on your recent vacation with us. It was our pleasure hosting you as our valued guest. We appreciate your comments about our property being beautiful, your mentions of the excellent service received from our staff and our excellent food quality.

Plans are in place to have our rooms upgraded in short order to ensure that we offer the best facilities. Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    919
    417
    192
    102
See reviews for
124
1,681
69
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Terrific staff, terrific food, terrific property. I can't wait to go back.
My friend and I upgraded our room from the clothing optional garden side to one with an ocean view, which was lovely. I really can't understand the negative reviews. I highly recommend this resort. The food at the breakfast buffet, Mediterrianian restaurant and Japanese restaurant was really good, the staff are wonderful, and the beach is beautiful. Honestly, what's not to love? The first hours perhaps could use a bit more focused information from the front desk, because these are the moments one gets adjusted to being in a brand new place-- other than that and needing the ATM fixed, it was absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear ENicc,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time with us. Thank you for highlighting our property,lovely beach, excellent customer service and or assortment of food and beverages.

It was our pleasure hosting you, and looking forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a great hotel. The staff was very pleasant and welcoming. They food was buffet style and it was really good. The only issue I had was I couldn't get inside my room at times due to issue with the key door. However, other than that, I was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Marisol N,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your review on your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure hosting you. We aim to offer the highest quality service and facility to our guest and we are happy, you had such a wonderful time.

Our maintenance team will ensure that we have the locked fixed.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

i was there no longer than 5 hrs before i checked out and went to a different resort. Its a low price for a reason. Rooms were ok if your into motel style rooms. dining was not so good. beach was small, jacuzzi and pool extremely small and cement cracked inside, in fact jacuzzi didn't even work. If your looking to have an all inclusive stay and not spend much money, do your self a favor and save up more money and go somewhere else. I have never written a review in my life and disliked this place so much that i had to warn people about it. The staff constantly harasses you to buy things and take you on excursions. Im on vacation and felt like i was back in manhattan being harassed by solicitors. I wouldn't even go here if it was free, its seriously that bad... IF you like nice things, DO NOT COME.. If you've never had nice things in your life then this place might be ok

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Hanie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

We constantly strive to offer the best services and facilities to our guest and in doing so we will focus on the areas mentioned in your review, to ensure that great improvements are made.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livelong
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Food was 7 out of 10. Staff extremely friendly, except front desk staff. Beach and snorkeling was excellent(wear flippers or water shoes ...bottom is full of urchins. Resort is clean, but in need of updating, which is underway. Japanese rest food is good but order one of each of the entrees as portions are small. Italian and Mediterranean are two different restaurants, neither was closed except when there was a special buffet on the beach. Water sports canoe, long board and Hobbies were always available and in good condition.Nightly entertainment was abysmal. Piano bar terrible,piano player could not carry a tune and only played one night.Also bartenders need training. Could not get the same drink from bar to bar.
Phone did not work, so the direct "free calls" to US and Canada were available for $2.00 plus 8 cents a minute according to Annette at the front desk.
Met great people from Atlanta, Connecticut, Winnipeg, and Toronto. All in all good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear John H,

We are happy to read that your vacation, overall, was a good value. However, we always strive to offer amazing vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part.

It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a future stay with us.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was are 5th time staying here and by far the worst. When we checked in the lies started we paid 850 for the jacuzzi suite. The only problem was the jacuzzi never work we asked every day and all we got was the run around. All the other upgrades we were subpost to get never happened. The food this time was really bad the same with room service had to wait 2 hour one day. All the drug dealer and other people trying to sell you stuff does not make you day on the beach enjoyable. Stay away from this place

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Rich T,

We appreciate you taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay with us. We regret to hear that your experience at our resort did not meet your expectations.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences; your comments have been relayed to the relevant departments to be immediately rectified.

Thank you for your review.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We just returned from a trip from the Grand Lido Negril. We had a great time. Yes they are currently under construction on a few things but overall it was a great time! The beaches were some of the prettiest I have ever seen. The snorkeling at the resort was wonderful.
I'd say the food was a 7-8 out of 10. I'd love to see a smoothie bar but that's just me. The Japanese restaurant was fabulous. Would love to have gone back there but we weren't there long enough! I've been to more expensive resorts to my expectations were set very high and I'd say for the price this place was really good. Orthneal made the our vacation special. He always knew what we wanted to drink and was very prompt about getting our drinks, or whatever we needed. The clothing optional beach is secluded enough that if you wanted to go there you weren't right next to the other beach and you felt very private. The only complaint about the clothing optional beach was that there wasn't a lot of sun on that side in the afternoons. The lamb ch
ops were fantastic at the clothing optional beach pool. We already talking about going back.

Room Tip: If you don't want to view people without clothes on then don't get a room overlooking the cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enrico p, General Manager at Grand Lido Negril, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Hppyfts,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your vacation experience with us. It was our pleasure having you as our valued guest. Happy to hear that Othneil delivered such wonderful service.

Kind regards,
Enrico Pezzoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lido Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lido Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#37 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lido Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Lido Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive Hotel Negril
Breezes Grand Resort And Spa Negril All Inclusive
Grand Lido Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Jamaica
Grand Lido Negril Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lido Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.