We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already re-booked for December!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lido Negril

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lido Negril to your Saves list
Grand Lido Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Already re-booked for December!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Just returned on May 8, 2012 and made another reservation to return in December. We thought all of the staff were very pleasant and professional. Absolutely no complaints about the food, especially liked the French restaurant (Placere), great food and wonderful piano music during dinner.

Stayed in junior beachfront suite and now upgraded to one bedroom beach front which has a larger balcony that accomodates 2 chase lounges and a table. The other balconies are quite small and no table. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping staff were very efficient and rooms always done by early afternoon. Great vacation! Can't wait for December!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view of the water and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    853
    399
    179
    92
See reviews for
110
1,552
62
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I and a couple of friends just returned from a 5 day trip to Breezes. The shuttle ride there was an hour and a half but we got some red strips and chatted with the driver and took in the scenery, so it went by fast. When we got there, we were given a cool towel and rum punch and shown to our room within 10 minutes. Our room was probably one of the best; we were in 2044, ocean view, but it was actually ocean front and had a beautiful view of the water and was centrally located to all the restaurants. We had one of the new showers with 8 shower heads so that was really nice. The food was ok at all the restaurants; the lamp chops definitely being the best at Reggae Café. However, most of the staff and bartenders were not very friendly; some even got attitudes with us. The best service we got was from the bartender at the Piano bar. The entertainment at night was definitely lacking. The disco bar was empty and the dj and bartender looked so unhappy to be there. It seemed like everyone turned in after dinner, which I’m sure is fine for some. We did not go to the C/O side at all, but spend each day by the beach bar on the beautiful beach since the pool was very small and had no bar. We never had a problem getting chairs on the beach. The pina coladas from the beach bar were the best we ever had! We did the snorkeling which was amazing and had a fun staff on the boat. Also took the trip to Ricks Café, which was a bit pricey but a nice change of scenery. They had some music and entertainment, but the shopping on the way was like going to a flea market, not worth the time. Definitely bring bug spray; the bugs are really bad at night. I came home with a ton of bites on my legs. Overall we had a good time, but probably will choose a different resort next time we return to Jamaica.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had to change rooms because our air conditioner did not work, the door did not close properly. We had complained three days in a row, and finally they switch us to another room, then the toilet handle broke in our new room. Most of the hot food was served at room temps or cold. Their are absolutely no elevators. The entertainment was o.k. No swim up pool. For the most part we had a great time, just wished the rooms were in better shape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Sandal's several times in the past. We really wanted to get away to Jamaica but did not have the money in the budget for a trip to Sandals. We looked up other resorts and could not have been happier that we went to Breezes. The cost of the trip was about $2000 less and we liked it just as much, if not more.

We did not see all of the maintencance issues that other people saw. I think some people forget that this is ocean front property and it is going to get some wear and tear from the elements.

The resort could have used some updating, but overall it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent and the drinks were cold.

We stayed on the au natural side and our room was about 20 feet from the ocean. The beach was beautiful, the view was great, and the staff was very friendly. We are already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

after an hour travel from airport to resort- we were greeted by some verry friendly staff- with cool drinks in hand..check in went well. room was clean. one big thing we didn't do which we should have: go to orientation- they tell you alot of stuff there we didn't know and had to find out from other couples. now we'll get right to the review: verry poor water pressure if you decide to shower between 4 and 7p-- seems like if your neighbor got to it first you had to wait.when called front desk they said waitfor next room to finish--oh well--and the phone message light kept blinking even though there was not a message there and no one seemed to know why. we did have our wedding there and that was a complete success!! read on to other reviews and they all are correct- probably not return any time soon- there are more places to see on this earth-

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at Breezes back in March but looking at the reviews I just had to get our points of view accross.

For those of you that don't like to read long reviews, you might want to skip this one, those of you that want to know everything, keep reading. Transfer from Montego Bay Airport took 1.5 hours on a Saturday night. If you can avoid arriving on a Saturday or a Sunday, I would recommend it as immigration took 2 hours in boiling heat, followed by the transfer (A/C bus) after a 10 hour flight was not so pleasant. We were informed by airport staff that weekends get very busy and immigration will take that long.

The resort is looking a bit tired, yes, however, it is what you make it. I went there with zero expectations, if you do the same you will be pleasently surpriced. I have stayed at some of the world top 100 hotels but they key thing is your perspective. It is a 4* hotel, and I do think they deserve that rating. I have been to better 4* hotel, but also much worse ones.

They actually check you in at the airport, so upon arriving you are greeted with a rum punch and taken straight to your room. Transfers are included for all guests and there is a big room right when you get out of customs that says 'Breezes' so you can't miss it.

This is an adult only resort (18+) and has a 'naked' or clothing optional beach, and then a 'normal' beach.

The room was large, all of which have a small seating area, nice big comfy beds, flat screet tv (with 100's of channels), minibar that is refilled every day (soft drinks, water and beer, tip: whatever you don't like, put it on the top of the fridge and leave in what you like, they will fill it with your choice the next day. And remeber to leave a couple of dollars to the maid) and a large bathroom. The bathtubs are a hazard as there are loose steps leading up to it, but boy oh boy is the bathtub incredible. Can easily fit two people and the bubbles are powerful! Never a problem with pressure or temperature in the shower/bath.

The room was clean enough, but not spotless. Having serious OCD when it comes to cleaning, I wasn't too impressed with the layers of dust on shelfs etc but there were no bugs (room was sprayed whilst we were there, which we were told is done every 2-3 weeks). AirCon worked well and kept the room cool. Sheets and towels changed every day.
Second floor balcony is very small, will just about fit two people, however the ground floor is about triple the size.

There is great security at the resort. It's completly gated and security will confirm your identity and room number when you leave and return. If you meet any people they can buy a day pass from 9am to 6pm for $70, which entitles them to food and drink whilst they are there. The passes are not available outside these hours.

The hotel will arrange taxi's for you, only go for these if you don't mind paying double. Right after security, there are cabs waiting that will charge you half the price. They are known by security and we felt 110% safe. You can also arrange for them to pick you up when you like when you are ready to return.

Gym is actually really good. Very modern equipment and considering it was empty every day, there is definately enough space. Two sections, one with treadmills etc and one with weights. Entered the spa to have a look at the prices, very expensive so walked straight back out of there! There is a shop there that sells beach wear, sunscreen, drinks, sweets, souvenirs etc but quite pricey. Nurse on site which we had to visit one day as one person in our party got a small injury and we didn't have to wait and were helped immediately.

Food was great. Omlets made to order fresh every morning with the full english available along with fruites, yogurts, breads, cereal etc. Lunch had themes, like mexican food, italien etc and they also make pastas fresh, i.e. pick all the ingredients and tomato or cream base, crepes with the ingredients that you choose. Tried all the restaurants, what stood out was the Japanease one, food cooked in front of you was different, you learn while you eat amazing food. The Reggai cafe certainly serves the best lamb chops I have ever had. The French restaurant had the worst ambience I have ever experienced (everything is pink, chairs, tables, lighting... terrible) and the food wasn't great. The Italien had great food but horrendous service, which is the only time we had bad service during our 10 day stay. We went there 3 times and every time the service was bad. The Grand Cafe was good as well.

The four bars (buffet hall, beach bar, c/o beach bar and reggae cafe all served really nice premium brand drinks like Hennessey, Jack Daniels, Smirnoff Vodka etc and nice sparkling wine. They say don't tip, however if you do, you will get served quick. So if you don't want to wait for your drinks, make sure you have a few extra dollars.

Room service is complimentary at the higher room categories. We were in a Ocean View and they will deliver food to you from any restaurant at any time of day. They will also deliver booze if you are having a party.

There is an ATM accross the road (bit of a walk, about 10-15 minutes) which only gives out Jamaican dollars or one in Hedonism (5 min walk) which only gives out US dollars. We had both currencies, as any change outside the hotels will be given in Jamaican dollars and you do get ripped off if you pay in US dollars. They are however good for trips and tours you might arrange through the hotel.

Beach is amazing and very well kept (this is the non clothing optional I am speaking off), so are all the areas around the hotel. We were there during full occupancy, so beach loungers could be a mission to get after 9am. Give one of the beach boys $5 and they will get the chairs for you in a heartbeat! There is a bar on the beach and a couple of lovely people that walk around and take your orders and bring them back swiftly. You can also get popcorn and patty's at the beach bar. The service seemed to die down after lunch. You can walk a mile out and the sea is still waist deep.

The clothing optional beach is very small and the sea is not very nice around there. There is a small swimming pool there and a beach bar and trust me, everyone has their slongs out! LOL Bit of a shock at the beginning, and sertainly not for us, but others might love it.

One thing that some people find offencive is the offering of drugs on the beach. There is no secret that these are sold there and to be honest, I think pretty much every guest was smoking weed on the beach. The vendors are not allowed to approach you, they walk around and if you want what they have to offer, you go to them, so there is no hassle. Oh and if you DO want a bit of extra fun in Jamaica, you can definately haggle the price!

The staff in general were all lovely and helpful but definately on 'Jamaican time', which was absolutely fine. The watersport guys in particular are so wonderful. We went on a glass bottom boat ride and snorkling, both of which were unforgettable experiences which we really enjoyed and I would say are musts. We also arranged a cruise to Rick's cafe which was neither here or there, don't worry too much if you miss it.

Nightly entertainment was hit or miss. Over the 10 nights we were there, we only stayed to watch once. There is a night club which we never entered and also a piano bar which we didn't try out either. Fruit machines and internet cafe (chargable) on site but didn't use these. There is only wifi in the lobby, where they have chairs and sofas, this is free of charge.

There are two swimming pools and several hot tubs. Don't be fooled by the pictures of the pool. It looks small - it is. However, with a devine beach like they have, no one ever bothers with the pool, and I'm sure you won't either.

Negril is a great place. We felt very safe and met some incredible people, both the guy's singing on the beach and then about town. There is a great night club about 5 min drive away called the 'Jungle', open roof top with the dance floor downstairs. Ladies night on Thursday (biggest night) where women don't pay to get in before 12. Drinks are reasonable and if you ever enjoyed going out, you NEED to try the Jungle.

All in all, we travelled together, a group of 4 travel agents who have travelled the world and seen it all. For the first time in my life, I am going back to a place, next year. That will be Breezes Grand Negril. Not because the rooms are great, because the country is amazing, the beach is to die for, the drinks are strong and the people make you feel at home. Ya Mon! If you are a glass full kind of person, you won't be dissapointed!

Go there with an open mind and I promise, you will be pleasently surpriced.

Room Tip: Request overlooking beach or clothing optional beach, these rooms also come with room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Having travelled to lots of islands, and mostly to Mexico, this place was a total disaster. It was never worth the hour and one half ride to the resort from the airport. The air conditioning does not work. Trust me, IT DOES NOT WORK! There wasn't any place in the hotel which actually felt cold. Bring your own hairdryer ladies because the one in the bathroom is attached to the wall and the bathroom was like a sauna so you couldn't take the dryer someplace cooler if you could find such a place. The toilet broke twice, there was no water on occasion and the power was shut down a few times as well. The food is terrible. It's boring and bland and it is so hot in the restaurants, you can't enjoy what you have anyway. Guys, leave the sports jackets at home for the French restaurant which was nothing to write home about either. You don't need the jacket. We hardly had any food on our plates at any sit down restaurant. The breakfast was prepared for you and rationed. How cheap! The drinks are small in small glasses and ants are all over the tables. The pool is small and goes from 4 ft. to 8 ft. in a drop off and there are only a few chairs. There is an instructor in there giving scuba lessons so there isn't much room. Not to mention we never saw the pool cleaned or smelled chlorine. The hot tub never worked either. There is no pool bar. The beach has terrible sand. It's very grainy and when the wind blows, you get hit in the eyes with it. Lots of broken beach chairs, trash strewn around and cheap worn out beach towels. The bad weather didn't help either because there was nothing to do at this resort. It was totally boring. If you wanted to go out sightseeing or shopping, it's a long ride and the prices are outrageous. Most of the staff were nice, but some were nasty. If you go into the gift shop, expect to get a "can I help you?" as soon as you walk in the door. It's not enjoyable to even look around with someone right on your back. I don't know where the people stayed who wrote on here that the food was terrific and the resort was too. Obviously they've never travelled anyplace else. This was the worst trip we've ever taken and it will be the last. The grounds are pretty, but whoever the new owners are should invest some money into this place because it sure needs it.

Room Tip: Rooms near the clothing optional section are quieter, but the air conditioning is still bad no matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lido Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lido Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#38 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lido Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Lido Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Grand Resort And Spa Negril All Inclusive
Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Jamaica
Grand Lido Negril Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lido Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.