We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezes-Better than we imagined.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lido Negril

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Lido Negril to your Saves list
Grand Lido Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Breezes-Better than we imagined.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Awesome views, awesome beaches. good food and great service. Privacy & relaxation A*.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    853
    399
    179
    92
See reviews for
110
1,551
62
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I'm writing this review now although I went to Breezes in December 2011. Took me a while but here it is. The resort is quite nice, not too big and the beach is great! The rooms are fine and the people are friendly. We were there for 10 days and we really enjoyed ourselves!

Here are the negatives but are not deal breakers:

1. No buffet for dinner except on Mondays (Manager's welcome dinner) and one other day in the week there is a buffet on the beach. Most of the time you have to eat at the a la carte restaurants. Myself, I prefer the buffet at the all-inclusive resorts.
2. The long bus ride from the Montego Bay airport to Negril which is approx 1 hour 1/2. Next time I am going to try a resort in Montego Bay. (I have been twice to Negril. In 2008 I went to the Grand Pineapple Beach resort which is also great but very small (65 rooms). However, it's on the famous 7 mile beach which is so beautiful and tranquil (not many waves).
3. There are a lot of naked people around as there is a "au naturel" side (cove) of the resort and the resort on the right is Couples Negril and you can see the naked people go for a swim. It is kind of weird at first but then you get used to it! LOL

Room Tip: We were in a Junior Suite Beach Front which are set against the shoreline with views of the beach or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Breezes Grand in Negril. The service and food was great. Our only problem was there were bugs that bit in the evenings, it made it hard to sit out at night. The hotel sprayed 3 times while we were there, but it didn't seem to help much. Breezes isn't the newest property but very well mantained and the maid staff was very good.

Room Tip: second floor balconies are very small. I would recomend a 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed the first week of May at Breezes and had a great vacation. The resort is beautiful and the staff were more than helpful. The front deck checked us in quickly, the room was clean when we walked in, the servers in the Grand Terraza were quick to serve us drinks at breakfast nad lunch and the nude grill and bar staff were top notch. We've visited Jamaica some 20 times and I can highly recommend the Breezes. I really don't understand the complaints about the rooms being dated as I thought the rooms were very nicely done. We are not high maintainance folks so maybe if you are comparing them to a glitzy Vegas resort room maybe you would think differently.The diving was as expected with good vis. on the reefs. I wish that the boat could pull to a dock instead of wading in chest deep water to board with your gear. The food overall was plentiful at all the meals and I had a steak in the sit down restaurant which was as fine as one could get anywhere.The only down side was we had to leave after 7 days but we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have stayed in resorts in Cancun and the Bahamas, and Breezes is at the bottom of the list. The rom were nicebut smelled of dampness and / or mold. Some of the staff was very friendly but, most weren't at all! The buffet sucked! I had to eat the same things every day because it was very limited. You never knew if the buffet wasgoing to open for dinner. They had to post it on their board in the lobby! The beach was only about 40 yards deep and sand was rough. The first day we went to lay out, people started bothering us selling cigars, cigarettes, and drugs! You couldn't walk out the front gate without swarms of people trying to sell drugs or a taxi ride! I would not recommended this hotel or area of Jamaica. Cancun was heaven compared to Breezes!!!

Room Tip: Choose Cancun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

May 12-19. My husband and I were here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were married 10 years ago at Grand Lido Braco and loved Jamaica. Our room was lovely and the air conditioning and showers worked great! Our biggest complaint was that we were locked out of our room 6 times!! Every time we would go to our room to get ready for evening festivities from beach and pool, or late at night after having drinks and being exhausted, our keys would not work, We would have to go to front desk each time and get new keys. This happened pretty much every day, and we were really getting irritated. Most of the staff were great, Miguel in entertainment was awesome and should be employee of the month! Breakfast and lunch buffet staff were spot on, very efficient. Some staff were rude and had the attitude like we owed THEM something and were being bothered. The beach was nice as well as the beach bar, where we spent most of our time. We were disappointed that they didn't have snorkel rentals unless you went out on the boat. We took a cab into downtown Negril a couple of days and had lunch at "The 3 Dives", and "The Lavish Chicken". They were both great especially 3 Dives and had the best Conch ever! Rick's Cafe was very cool and had good food. It was fun watching everyone jumping off the cliffs. We were looking forward to the sunset that is a must see there at Rick's and of course that day, it was cloudy and there was no sunset, but happy we were there. We met some great people that we will keep in touch with. The food was good at all the restaurants, we enjoyed all of them. The nightclub was good people watching but it was stinky and the music could have had better variety. Karaoke in the Piano Room was fun and everyone had good times there. I had a facial with Dion at the spa, it was the best facial/massage I have every had, she was the best! I also wish they had room service. Every morning we wanted some coffee before we started our day, we had to go get a carafe and bring it back to the room. Overall, we had a very good experience, but just not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at breezes grand negril for 4 nights in mid May. The beaches and water were beautiful and the included water sports exceeded our expectations. (other than having to wait on life jackets for 15 min once) Snorkeling was our favorite as we got to go to different locations and even got to hold a sea urchin for a photo we later purchased. Most everyone was very nice with the exception of a few. When people were rude they were really rude. But again, most were not and the service over all was good. The French restaurant and the Grand Cafe was by far the best food. They were great! The reggae shack would have been good but each time we went there it took an upwards of 45 min to get our food. The other food was mediocre but not bad. We did have a slight problem with our room. The power kept going out at two points we started smelling and seeing smoke from our A.C. The second time we even saw sparks! The staff was quick to assist us both times. They sent a repair man out promptly the first time and the second time they moved us immediately in which we were grateful for. The grounds were well kept. The rooms were a little dated but clean! Our over all experience was probably a 6 out of 10. We loved how most people were always smiling and eager to help. Aside from that, I'm not sure we will be returning to Breezes Grand Negril. We will probably try someone else next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Lido Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lido Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#38 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lido Negril 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Lido Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Grand Resort And Spa Negril All Inclusive
Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Jamaica
Grand Lido Negril Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lido Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.