We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breezes Grand Negril Is Terrific” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Lido Negril

Save Saved
You added Grand Lido Negril to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Lido Negril
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, PO Box 88, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 91 hotels in Negril
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breezes Grand Negril Is Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed the first week of May at Breezes and had a great vacation. The resort is beautiful and the staff were more than helpful. The front deck checked us in quickly, the room was clean when we walked in, the servers in the Grand Terraza were quick to serve us drinks at breakfast nad lunch and the nude grill and bar staff were top notch. We've visited Jamaica some 20 times and I can highly recommend the Breezes. I really don't understand the complaints about the rooms being dated as I thought the rooms were very nicely done. We are not high maintainance folks so maybe if you are comparing them to a glitzy Vegas resort room maybe you would think differently.The diving was as expected with good vis. on the reefs. I wish that the boat could pull to a dock instead of wading in chest deep water to board with your gear. The food overall was plentiful at all the meals and I had a steak in the sit down restaurant which was as fine as one could get anywhere.The only down side was we had to leave after 7 days but we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    819
    777
    370
    171
    88
See reviews for
108
1423
52
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (628)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have stayed in resorts in Cancun and the Bahamas, and Breezes is at the bottom of the list. The rom were nicebut smelled of dampness and / or mold. Some of the staff was very friendly but, most weren't at all! The buffet sucked! I had to eat the same things every day because it was very limited. You never knew if the buffet wasgoing to open for dinner. They had to post it on their board in the lobby! The beach was only about 40 yards deep and sand was rough. The first day we went to lay out, people started bothering us selling cigars, cigarettes, and drugs! You couldn't walk out the front gate without swarms of people trying to sell drugs or a taxi ride! I would not recommended this hotel or area of Jamaica. Cancun was heaven compared to Breezes!!!

Room Tip: Choose Cancun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

May 12-19. My husband and I were here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We were married 10 years ago at Grand Lido Braco and loved Jamaica. Our room was lovely and the air conditioning and showers worked great! Our biggest complaint was that we were locked out of our room 6 times!! Every time we would go to our room to get ready for evening festivities from beach and pool, or late at night after having drinks and being exhausted, our keys would not work, We would have to go to front desk each time and get new keys. This happened pretty much every day, and we were really getting irritated. Most of the staff were great, Miguel in entertainment was awesome and should be employee of the month! Breakfast and lunch buffet staff were spot on, very efficient. Some staff were rude and had the attitude like we owed THEM something and were being bothered. The beach was nice as well as the beach bar, where we spent most of our time. We were disappointed that they didn't have snorkel rentals unless you went out on the boat. We took a cab into downtown Negril a couple of days and had lunch at "The 3 Dives", and "The Lavish Chicken". They were both great especially 3 Dives and had the best Conch ever! Rick's Cafe was very cool and had good food. It was fun watching everyone jumping off the cliffs. We were looking forward to the sunset that is a must see there at Rick's and of course that day, it was cloudy and there was no sunset, but happy we were there. We met some great people that we will keep in touch with. The food was good at all the restaurants, we enjoyed all of them. The nightclub was good people watching but it was stinky and the music could have had better variety. Karaoke in the Piano Room was fun and everyone had good times there. I had a facial with Dion at the spa, it was the best facial/massage I have every had, she was the best! I also wish they had room service. Every morning we wanted some coffee before we started our day, we had to go get a carafe and bring it back to the room. Overall, we had a very good experience, but just not sure if we would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at breezes grand negril for 4 nights in mid May. The beaches and water were beautiful and the included water sports exceeded our expectations. (other than having to wait on life jackets for 15 min once) Snorkeling was our favorite as we got to go to different locations and even got to hold a sea urchin for a photo we later purchased. Most everyone was very nice with the exception of a few. When people were rude they were really rude. But again, most were not and the service over all was good. The French restaurant and the Grand Cafe was by far the best food. They were great! The reggae shack would have been good but each time we went there it took an upwards of 45 min to get our food. The other food was mediocre but not bad. We did have a slight problem with our room. The power kept going out at two points we started smelling and seeing smoke from our A.C. The second time we even saw sparks! The staff was quick to assist us both times. They sent a repair man out promptly the first time and the second time they moved us immediately in which we were grateful for. The grounds were well kept. The rooms were a little dated but clean! Our over all experience was probably a 6 out of 10. We loved how most people were always smiling and eager to help. Aside from that, I'm not sure we will be returning to Breezes Grand Negril. We will probably try someone else next time.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Breezes from the 4th of May - 12th May, 2012. This is our 4th stay at Breezes Grand and won’t be our last. From the 1st time we went to Jamaica we took on the attitude of gratitude and an open mind. You may read other reviews that are negative, just keep in mind; it may be how they see life, not just the resort. From our experience, the people of Jamaica are very kind, God loving and a joy to visit with. Ok, back to the resort…the ride to Negril is about an hour and ½. Take in the scenery as you travel, and visit with the bus driver, each one has different stories to share. Upon arriving at the resort, we did not have the room we wanted. Just then we saw a familiar face, it was Natalie, and she had us switched to desirable location in no time at all, Thanks Natalie! We did have trouble with the air conditioner not working. It took visits to the front desk and a couple of room changes but they did try to make the situation better. I would think the AC does not get much down time in the resort.
Restaurants: The French Restaurant, yummy, the food was very good as before and we make sure we have reservations there whenever we visit. We understand that things change but we missed our usual server, Bettilyn, we noticed that there was another couple asking for Bettilyn beside us. Not to worry, Connell (not sure on spelling) did a great job serving our meal.

We did find Bettilyn working at the Reggae Café and we were so happy to visit with her at the same time we ate some very good food cooked up by Jerome. Jerome previously worked at the breakfast omelet station; he does a great job no matter where he cooks.

Buffets always have lots to choose from. I just wish I could stay long enough to try all of it. Something new at the lunch buffet is a hot sandwich bar made to order. It was wonderful!

The Japanese Restaurant, Very Good, Roblee was our cook/entertainer and what a great time and delicious meal we had.

Grand Café: Only had one meal there. Meal was yummy and considering the AC decided to stop working at that time, our server Lisa did a great job, even in the warmth of the restaurant she did a good job.

Bar Staff: At the CO bar, it was so nice to be welcomed back by familiar faces. Sherrice and Derrick, great drinks and food! Andrew thanks for your friendly service. Camille thanks for taking the time to bring our food order and drinks to us. You may be considered a ‘trainee’ but you sure have what it takes to be in the big league of customer service.

Beach Bar: Farah and Andrene, once again it is sooooo good to see friendly familiar faces at the resort. Loved the time we shared. Keep up the good work.

Main Bar: Fitzroy, love your smile and your enthusiasm. We have so much fun whenever you are on shift. Also want to mention Patricia, Arlene, Paula, Porter.

Piano Bar: Cleone, what a fun time we had as you poured the drinks and shared jokes.

Water Sports: Cornell, we enjoyed the sailboat ride, thank you.

Spa: Wonderful couples message in the cabana by the ocean. Thanks Ann Marie for the great work on Reflexology.
Security: Gloria, you are the best! I am sure they have lots of good security on the resort, but I have to mention Gloria because she will always go out of her way to make sure you feel comfortable at the resort and she remembers you from year to year and will talk with you. We met her supervisor one night and he asked us, “Why do people always ask for Gloria?” We told him, “It’s because she is a people person and always cares about you.”

And last but not least, we need to mention a wonderful man we meet by the name of Dwayne Roach. He and his team do a lot of the behind the scenes work. If you every wonder how all the tables and chairs get set up for the beach party and weddings, it would be the handy work of Dwayne and his crew. Enjoyed visiting with you Dwayne.

To sum it up, this resort may be a bit dated, but the wonderful staff will make it worth the journey. If you want a place to relax, enjoy good food and a great beach then book your vacation at Breezes Grand Negril.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We were here for the fifth time, so we knew what to expect. We always get the A/N beach rooms and with the beach only 15 yards away it is wunderbar. Georgette fixed egges any style at breakfast, Scott sailed us to Booby Cay and return most any time we made those arrangements, and Max carved some wonderful eagles for us. The staff was great, the 8-headed shower is amazing, the food was good, and the beachis always beautiful. Snorkeling the A/N section is exciting with a variety of undersea life to discover. I'm sure my wife will add more to this and add some pictures.

Room Tip: The A/N rooms (section 2042-2052 second floor) have nice views and easy access to beach. Just steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 16th visit to the resort. Everything was perfect. Rooms have been updated with refrigerators stocked daily,hotel updated, food was outstanding, and everyone at the resort was most accommodating.
There was a cocktail party for repeaters which hosted 120 people!!! That alone speaks for itself, people returning because of the WONDERFUL experiences that are had. The staff was always available and could not do enough for all, from Mr. Williams and Mr. McIntosh (hotel mgrs), to Cheryl and Paul (Gran Terraza food mgrs), to Mr. Grant (French Restauant), and Dane (La Pasta), Derrick cooking lamb chops, and Sherrice serving drinks. They ALL make you feel that this is your home away from home. The entertainment staff works equally as hard keeping you
dancing, doing arts and crafts, playing water volleyball, etc. We thank the hotel for providing us with a perfect vacation and we cannot wait to book our next vacation!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Lido Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lido Negril

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, PO Box 88, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#46 Business Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lido Negril 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Lido Negril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Grand Resort & Spa Negril All Inclusive Hotel Negril
Breezes Grand Resort And Spa Negril All Inclusive
Grand Lido Hotel Negril
Grand Lido Jamaica
Grand Lido Negril Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Lido Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.