We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hedonism II to your Saves list
Hedonism II
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 89 Hotels in Negril
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

After a very wet summer in New England we decided to take advantage of the incredibly low rates at H2 (lowest we've seen in 10 years) and head back 'home'.....we've been to H2 almost 30 times and were married there, so we definitely knew what to expect and obviously enjoy it. We also stay at several other places in Negril (mostly on the cliffs these days), but the cheap rates to H2 this September ($77pppn) and some free nights we had brought us back during prime hurricane season.

Despite it being the height of hurricane season, the weather for our 11 nights could not have been any better. The water off the jetty was sparkling and gorgeous and every morning the sun was glorious and perfect. It definitely got hot during the day, but when the small afternoon showers came it cooled things down just perfectly. The few nights it didn't shower it was HOT as heck...we knew this coming in though, so I had my trusty supply of hand fans handy for the dining room (which does not get enough air flow)....they definitely need to upgrade their ceiling fans for the warm summer months. We were truly amazed at how wonderful the weather was....and how lucky we were!

So...a few very random observations on an absolutely fantastic trip.....

The beach grill is great. Nigel is a star when he is on & keeps it rolling. When he's not working the grill it gets pretty slow & I cannot imagine how they'll keep up when it is busy. Occupancy was quite low (especially our second week). Food was good at the beach grill (prude beach grill was closed all week due to low occupancy...prude beach bar was open). We did avoid the tuna melt after a questionable encounter by Lora and myself....

Food was pretty good overall (better than the last few trips). Salad bar was very good. The main dining room was serving more Jamaican food....notably the ackee and saltfish (ackee being in season) was delicious, as was the callalloo.

The water on the nude side was the most gorgeous and clear I have seen it in a long time. It was wonderful to lounge & float in (though warm). Mr. Clark even spent a day cleaning out the seaweed. Just wonderful!!!! I brought out some bread to feed the fish every AM and it was heavenly.

Repeaters received a 10% discount for spa services (note put under your door). Good idea!!!

We also received a free massage at the spa because of some issues we had in our room (a/c was not the best and we had to re-key our card 3 or 4 times). Sophie offered us the free massage as compensation and we thought it was a nice touch. Roslyn was off on vacation so I used Evelyn both times at the spa...she was great. Loy is also a true gem and quite hilarious when she's walking the beach. I'll be sure to try out her services next time. She always made us laugh!! Kudos to her!!

A lot of the staff were either on vacation or coming off vacation, so we saw some, not all and some for only a few days. Everyone seemed to be doing very well. We were sad to see that the wedding coordinator position has been put to the sales department and Lorna Brammer is now working front reception. She is an outstanding employee and was FANTASTIC as wedding coordinator. We wish her very well in her new position.

There were ongoing key card issues throughout the resort - the system would go out. So we all got our keys redone once or twice (at least). Annoying, but resolved.

No bicycles at all, which is too bad...we used to enjoy riding into town with a group for some drinks and trinket shopping.

There is indeed wifi in the dining room. We saw folks using it 4-5x during our 10 days.

Chris did the 11:30 dive daily and enjoyed it very much. A few lion fish were seen on the dives. Ritchie reported they were good for eating. They also saw turtles, dolphins, rays, etc.

The old dive boat was in use Sept. 5-6. Then when we were just about at the caves dive site, there was a big 'clunk', and the engine broke free of its mounting, and ended up hanging by its cables. The 'new' dive boat was just about refit anyway and was put into service then.... with new hard plastic seats and snazzy new painted logos on each side. Both engines worked in forward and one in reverse. smile The only remaining additions to be done 'soon' are some new electronics.

Rafael is the new EC, and did a good job for a newbie. There are only 7 ECs right now. Mega, Winston, Deen, Rafeal, Sunshine, Vixen and Charlene(?). They did a fantastic job with their nightly dancing and singing. Were quiet during the day and fun to chat with.

The market umbrellas and tables over by Delroy's are an excellent addition.

As reported already, the towel program works wonderfully. We loved it!!

We also loved the no smoking in the dining room. A great idea. Especially as the fans don't move a damn bit of air around.

Waterslide was a lot of fun once we finally did it. The bridge is definitely not being repaired at this time & boy is it scary looking! Rotted all the way through in many places.

The Tease Um girls were there the first week. Some had the room next door to us. They were unfortuntely not very friendly girls at all and they earned a not very good reputation with some of the staff and with many of the guests. The photographers were respectful though and did go out of their way to be polite.

The following week the Penthouse girls arrived (again we had a couple of them in the room next to ours). As unfriendly as the Tease Um girls were, the Penthouse girls were very friendly & funny. Nice girls and good neighbors!

We had a wonderful dinner at Pastafari and managed to get pretty messed up on Anna's chocolate martinis plus the wine. The food there was excellent as always and the AC was wonderful.

The grounds were being worked on as always and are just stunning. Although H2 is an older property, this is a plus for the grounds....they are lush and beautiful and the staff works hard to keep them that way. The greenery was just wonderful and the new plantings are always a treat.

We met lots of new friends and met up with plenty of old friends. As always, it's a pleasure seeing the staff and seeing our H2 friends. We hope we helped some newbies *see the light* and we certainly enjoyed the company of new and old friends. It was a wonderful trip!!!

We know that H2 isn't for everyone, but we do find it a very relaxing vacation for us and carefree. A very different type of trip than when we stay on the cliffs, but always enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    528
    178
    125
    67
See reviews for
6
1,178
122
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

ain't no mystery - this place is famous (and infamous) for no lack of clever ingenuity and an amazing knack for sealin'-the-deal in the "there's-more-to-humans-than-human" dealio

hard to describe, just go xperience it 4 urself, peeps!
orchestwrx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

I was a newbie here to the resort and a little apprehensive about going as a solo female. I was also wondering if the amenities were all they were cracked up to be. Let me say this-it's not so much the property here that makes it such a nice place, it's the staff and the people you will meet. It's the fun of no schedule and do whatever pleases you all set in the background of beautiful beaches and warm weather of the caribbean. So if you want to set aside your worries and inhibitions for a week or just a few days, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegas
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

They tell you not to bring cash and for the most part this is sound advice. However you will need cash to tip your maid, your bell people both at the airport and at the hotel if you want your luggage taken care of. All of the amenities at the resort are free but I would bring cash for gifts and other uncertainties like internet access. Sadly it costs and costs considerable if you wish to connect via the internet while at Hedonism III. But your on vacation so why would you need to stay in contact with friends and family back home, your there in paradise, safe and sound just enjoy your time away from all that junk e-mail, trust me it'll be there when you get back home.

I had a great time and would highly recommend the resort if getting away and partying with beautiful people is what you seek.

The staff and the property are both equally fine and well worth the 2hr wait in the customs line and the 1.5 hour bus ride from the air port. I know some of this sounds negative but it had nothing to do with the resort, once on the property you will have the best time of your life and you will go home with memories of new friends a feeling of having an extended family. I hadn't traveled internationally before this trip so perhaps the wait times I've described are normal when traveling abroad. Again you're on vacation so relax, at least this is what I kept telling myself.

The staff is very accommodating and you will want for nothing or if you do want something simply ask.
You are fed 3 times a day buffet style and while the food in the buffet line is exceptional do yourself the pleasure of making reservations at each of the 3 restaurants on the property and try one out each night. If eating at an assigned time is not for you there is a bar/grill that will happily make you anything on the menu during its business hours. Then there is the night life, the dance club is the place to be on any given night even if all you care to do is people watch. If drinking is what you are into I have two simple words for you "open bar" it cost you nothing to drink and drink until you can't drink no more.

I am looking forward to many return trips.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is the third time I have been to Hedonism II this year, I absolutely love it! The staff is always friendly and accomodating to your needs and the entertainment will blow your mind. I had a really enjoyable stay and can't wait to head back!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

If you just want to get away and relax this is the place to go!!!! They have a very friendly staff that will take care of you or just leave you alone if you choose. Talk to Devon on the beech he is one of a kind and will give you some good tips for the island. Can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Great time, friend staff, food good. Make sure you walk down the beach past Sandals and Beach Resorts. Go meet Sophia when you are there. Stay for a week if you are planning a trip to Hedo. You will love it!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Negril hotels
4.2 mi away
The SPA Retreat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Couples Negril
Couples Negril
#10 of 89 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 3,461 reviews
1.9 mi away
Couples Swept Away
Couples Swept Away
#18 of 89 in Negril
4.5 of 5 stars 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Negril Tree House Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tropical Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Negril
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#25 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedonism II 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedonism II, a legendary resort! Here you have a real life garden of Eden where the only thing you have to worry about is your drink of the day. Cascading plunge pools, waterslide, beachfront pools with in-water pool tables, swim-up bars, jungle bridge taking you from the main hotel straight to the beachfront, glass bottom boats, snorkeling, scuba-diving, kayaking, every non-motorized water sport you could imagine, pool watching from the disco, all glass walls, gaming lounge, air-conditioned fitness center, Sauna and Steam room. You won't confuse it with Kansas. A lush garden of pure pleasure. For singles & couples 18 yrs & over who are ready for a party. If your wondering....just come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedonism II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.