We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrades are nice but not what you expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hedonism II to your Saves list
Hedonism II
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Sensation Sale!!!
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Negril
Ellicott City, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Upgrades are nice but not what you expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It's obvious that the new management at Hedo is trying to upgrade the facility. The renovated rooms actually look smaller because of the room configuration. The bathroom extends into the bedroom area. I don't know who thought t was a good idea to enclose the bathroom in glass but they obviously did not think about privacy. The first thing I said was that they should have consulted a designer before they remodeled. Little did I know that they consulted many designers. All I can say is that whoever made the choices didn't pick the best designs. The furniture is nice although a little large for the size of the room. I hit my head on the beside lamps every time I got into bed or tried to open the left sliding door of the closet. Pendant lights may not have been the best choice. The upgrades gives the room a more updated look. The shower was nice if the water temperature didn't cycle. But it was much better than it has been in the past. I had to shake my head at some of the design elements. The controls for the shower are behind the shower door and you have to reach through the water to adjust the controls. That's fine if you are in the shower but not so much when you want to warm up the water before getting in. Oh well, as we always say, you don't go to Hedo to spend all of your time in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    521
    175
    125
    66
See reviews for
6
1,146
118
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for 5 star populace...keep looking. But you will never top this place for all kinds of fun. People are very friendly-staff, service staff and guests. Place has gotten a lot nicer since I began coming 20+ years ago. Love the water slide and water feature. It is avant grade do be prepared, but you can avoid that part and still really enjoy yourself by he vibe is just great and the rooms and food/drinks are nice as well. I'm coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear travlman1,

Thank you for having stayed with us recently and posting this review. We value you continued business over the last 20 plus years. We like your advice to new comers about what to expect in terms of fashion for our nightly themed wears.

Kindest regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The best hotel I ever stayed in when I visiting jamaica.stop an speak to Lorna at the front desk with any questions. An u get the rite answer to make your stay the best experience. U ever have while visiting. Jamaica. She is excellent, Damian another excellent. Worker He treats u like He know u forever very nice no attitude from none of the staff their. The waiters an waitress top of their game your glass never emty.I had a blast thanks hedo

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear jason r,

Thanks indeed for taking the time to complete a TA review subsequent to your stay with us. It is our staff that brings to life and make the guest experience here so memorable; I’m happy that you experience that and look forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

4th time and as always we had a great time.

People (workers, staff, entertainment) made us feel just like we were coming back home.... such nice people. Friendly, authentic and the hospitality well... it's Jamaica.

As before, the grounds and rooms are well maintained. Yes there is some construction going on but you can barely notice due to the protection walls they put in place.

Food was great at Martinos, as always, buffet is somewhat ordinary except for the Chef's gala night on Fridays but for those who love buffets, it's easy to manage as you will always find something you like.

Beach is clean and well maintained... The ocean was like a hot bath during our stay but what the heck it's summer time! Exceptionally hot this time of year they said.

Security company has been changed, they are much more visible and mean business. Very polite employees that made us feel safe and that made sure everything was in order.

Bars were flowing as always and the bartenders soooo friendly and attentive.

Groups... ah those groups... we had a few ins and outs during our stay... most of them were fun to be around ...but one of them I found to be very rude during a great performance from Ms Georgia Henry as they started to move the dining room's furniture around to go play their own game somewhere else... This was very noisy, disruptive and rude. Did not appreciate they attitude towards the artist that was performing.

The entertainment was fun and ''entertaining'' thank you to the best team : Nick, Winston, Adrian, Ash, Eaton, Jermaine, Miguel... you made us feel so welcomed. And what a band!! Roots Explosion (hoping I spelled it right)... they can play anything. One night we had somewhat of a private performance after the regular show, from Nick, Winston and Miguel and it was wonderful... wished it had lasted for hours. Thank you guys for being so giving and dedicated.

As for notes of appreciation well let me start by the bars... a very special thank you to Ms Kemesha Kelly (nude bar) thank you for your special lemonade that makes my husband smile... at Martinos, thank you to Siquo and Kimmola... serving us the meals with ''love''.. Austin, breakfast, thank you for our conversation and great eggs and also thanks to Jodiann (such a nice person). Finally, our friends Ariana and Doreth (love you ladies...thank you!) I know I may have missed a few but hey guys... you are a great team... keep up the good work and that fantastic smile...

We'll be back for sure... it's a matter of when..... See you soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Beachandsunlovers,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments in relation to your recent experience at Hedonism II. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We certainly appreciate you highlighting the improvements and renovation. At the end of September we will unveiled our new courtyard with free Wi-Fi, an espresso and a wine bar. I will convey the sentiments express to the respectful departments.

Yours sincerely,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We had a great time at Hedo II. The resort is probably a 3 star and the rooms are basic but are large and clean. I believe some of the rooms have been renovated but ours was one of the older ones. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is of a high standard with a very large selection. We also had dinner at the italian restaurant there which was very nice too. The entertainment is of a high standard with talented performers. Even though the resort does require some modernization in places the people made our holiday. It's very friendly and a great place to make new friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Nev74,

Sincere thanks for your kind compliments following your recent visit to Hedonism II. It was our pleasure to welcome you. We appreciate your recommendation and we look forward to extending another hedonistic welcome to you sometime in the too distant future.


King regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We just returned from a week at Hedo. This visit was the best of all the visits over the years. Our stay was the ultimate "no problem mon" vacation. Everything about the resort is better (food, rooms, and facilities); but even more important is the increased confidence and positive responsiveness of the staff. Activities abound morning, noon, and through the night with no pressure to participate in everything. We liked it so much we already booked for next year and inviting "hedo virgins" to go with us.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear donpablo34108,

Thank you for staying with us and posting this review. And I really appreciate your “headline” - “There's no better place to spend a week in Jamaica and the Caribbean! !!!” It speaks nicely to our value proposition here.

Glad we made you comfortable. Do come back, soon and often.


Warm regards,
Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had another amazing trip to Hedonism ll, from the time we arrived in the lobby we felt the love from the staff. Everyone was so accommodating, check in has been made simple and extremely quick. Seeing Lorna from guest services always puts a smile on our faces. She always welcomes you with open arms. It is very impressive how the staff members remember your name from year to year.
The improvements in our room were evident, fresh paint, addition of non skid throw rugs, new bedding, flat screen TVs and overall cleanliness is outstanding and very much appreciated. Thanks to Alecia our room had a fresh look everyday and Damien made sure our hot tub was pristine on a daily basis.
The main dining area was always well stocked and very clean. Service was always prompt, friendly and efficient. The choices and quality of the food has been raised to a new level. Our dining experience has been enhanced by such people as Austin and Jacqueline at breakfast along with various other staff members throughout the day. For a alternative to the buffet dining, Christopher at the Japanese restaurant and Cyrine at Martino's will provide you with outstanding dining options.
The EC's provide you with endless entertainment throughout the day and the nightly performances showcase their incredible talents. Winston's range of vocals are dynamic, along with his natural ability to emcee the show.
Thanks to the Watersports staff, the beaches and pools are kept picture perfect. Whether you want to snorkel, scuba dive, kayak etc., the staff are there to provide instructional information when needed. Safety is always their main priority.
The Piano Bar provides an atmosphere for sing-a-longs, and gives guests an opportunity to share their vocal talents. Eldon's warm personality and love for what he does, shows in every drink he makes.
We look forward to meeting up with our awesome Awol family next year, "cuz there ain't no party like an Awol party cuz an Awol party don't stop." We can't thank everyone at the resort enough, for making our vacation so memorable. In particular, we would personally like to thank Serena, who is near and dear to our hearts, for making our experience one we will always remember.
This resort may be 3 star rated, but it's a 5 star resort in our book!!
See you all next year, Erica & Dave

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HedonismJamaica, Public Relations Manager at Hedonism II, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Dear Erica & Dave,

First of all let me thank you so much for the feedback provided through a detailed review of your stay with us.

We really enjoy what we do. And it’s even more rewarding when we are appreciated so much. You all were wonderful to serve, and it was great having you here. We can’t thank you enough for your many kindnesses.

We hope to see you for next AWOL celebration.


With highest regards,

Leethan Grandison
Public Relations & Social Media Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#24 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedonism II 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedonism II, a legendary resort! Here you have a real life garden of Eden where the only thing you have to worry about is your drink of the day. Cascading plunge pools, waterslide, beachfront pools with in-water pool tables, swim-up bars, jungle bridge taking you from the main hotel straight to the beachfront, glass bottom boats, snorkeling, scuba-diving, kayaking, every non-motorized water sport you could imagine, pool watching from the disco, all glass walls, gaming lounge, rock climbing wall, air-conditioned fitness center, Sauna and Steam room. You won't confuse it with Kansas. A lush garden of pure pleasure. For singles & couples 18 yrs & over who are ready for a party. If your wondering....just come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedonism II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.