We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“13 trips and counting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedonism II

Save Saved
You added Hedonism II to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hedonism II
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 91 hotels in Negril
Uniontown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“13 trips and counting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

we have enjoyed our visits to hedo every time, the resort is always improving, the vibe is great and the people always make the trip great. Not a 5 star resort but still worth visiting for the all inclusive experience. All adult fun every minute. Great beach, staff always awesome, rooms clean - considering we only spend time in them to sleep.

Room Tip: beach front always the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    744
    491
    164
    117
    71
See reviews for
9
1026
112
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestline, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently returned from our 5th trip and we must say we had a great time, there are a lot of changes being made to the resort since new ownership. We were very pleased with both the food preparation and taste, there was always plenty of local food to choose from plus there is a carving station that provides for a different taste each night, such as roast turkey, roast beef, roast pork, roast lamb, and roasted duck, all were very well prepared and tasted deliciuos. There is also a pasta station, and a seafood station where they have shrimp, (which my wife says is to die for), and some other kinds of fish to choose from. The dining room was actually quite comfortable since the new fans are all working properly and service was very good and accomodating. We were in rm 2108 and had a new King mattress, which was quite comfortable, we had plenty of hot water and outstanding water pressure during our entire stay, the room was very clean and the air worked great, all what you need when you go to Hedo. Now as far as the rooms looking different, that will take some time as management has a plan for new design and will be implemented in segments. New visitors should not worry to much about the accomodations as changes are coming daily and are all for the better. Don't get caught up thinking I have to wait untill the upgrade is complete before I visit Hedo as changes are happening now and are evident. For return guests you know the rooms are not to much of an issue, but with the changes happening now they are better than you experienced in the past. The maid service was incredible.The grounds are being kept beautifull and the beach is being addressed daily by Augustus, Octavious, and my buddy Charles of watersports a new guy who works very hard all day long, I watched him every day for 13 days, what an asset. I just named Charles but all the watersports guys are great and will assist you in any way possible. All the pools were cleaned and working properly during our visit. We didn'tuse the hot tub much but never heard any complaints. Mark worked the nude grill during the day and is another fellow who works very hard and travels long distances every day roundtrip to cook in the hot sun of Negril, he did a fantastic job and would go out of his way to make you what you want and its really good, the jerk chicken is always a favorite. Dwayne worked the nude grill after midnight and his pizzas, subs and snacks were really good. He would also go out of his way to try and get you what you wanted for a late night snack, or make your pizza how you want it. Now for future guests there is a lot of really new stuff coming to Hedo, such as new pads, beach loungers, tables, and umbrellas. That all should be arriving soon, and may be happening now. The bartenders were fantastic a few of the standouts that everyone knows is Scumba, Delroy, and Paula, Eldon, Tista, Chantal, but are to many to name them all, but be assured they all did a great job. One of most popular drinks being made was Mojitos made with fresh peppermint. The house band Roots Explosion has a great lead singer and can make you get up and dance. The EC's worked incredibly hard to provide nightly entertainment that was top notch. They include of coarse Winston, (EC Coordinator) Naughty or Nasty Nick depending what you prefer, both have great voices, Eton, Ash, Adrian, Dean, Sharay, Lady Di, Hennessey, the sexy Tokeyin and Mela, to name a few. The piano bar was fun with Kemar and he has a good thing goig on! We didn't visit the new disco so I can't comment on that. We did however try some of the massages from the Blue Mahoe Spa, and the hot rock Massage for an hour just about melted me like butter and was was quite beneficial, as the old leg mucsles were very sore from all the wallking around the resort, it was great and I had to do it twice.The resort offers glass bottom boat, sailing(Hobie Cats), snorkeling, scuba diving(New Boat), water skiing (never wittnessed anyone doing it) and there is a nude catamaran cruise on Tuesday and Saturday, and an evening cruise to world famous Ricks Cafe both at a cost of $55 per person, both cruises were fun and worth the cost. Parasailing was fun and can be arranged from anywhere by calling the number for parasailing, they will pick you up at the Hedo pier and drop you back off, only one of us went and it was $80 for a good ride. Finally after meeting one of the new owners at the resort and talking to management, whom are very foccused on restoring the resort to an acceptable level of customer satifaction, we think any future guests should rest assured Hedo is in good hands and will become a very popular destination for those with the inner desire to find oneself and experience being wicked at least one time in there lives. With the exception of filming nudes at play, you would have to look long and hard to find a rule to break at this place, Your vacation can be your vacation at Hedo and these days thats worth at least one trip here. We were here for 13 days and found that we didn't do all that we could have... We will definately be going back for more. We simply love this place!! Our best wishes to the new Hedo Ownership group!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have partied at H2 every May since 2008 and have always enjoyed ourselves and loved the vibe and ambiance of the resort, but the age of rooms, food quality and selection, and poor quality liquor were a sore spot with us. The resort was recently sold and the new owners are working hard to update the resort. Food quality and selection this year was 200% better than last year and all top-shelf liquor was served. It was nice to see kitchen staff actually checking temperatures of the food in the buffet. Jamaican dishes were plentiful and desserts were delicious. Addition of pizza and Italian bread to the selection is great!! The rooms are being renovated block-by-block and although we did not have a newer room, any issues that we had were addressed immediately and housekeeping was spotless!
Nighttime shows in the main dining room were fantastic...choreography and energy were top-notch. The ECs all worked so hard for us and were friendly and we noticed how they took the time to not only talk to couples, but to keep company with guests who were vacationing solo and may have been shy. Special mention to wonderful newcomers: Tokeyin, Eton, Ash, Adrian, and of course the lovely Hennessey, the amazing Dean and the FABulous Winston....you all made our vacation so special. The new head entertainment coordinator, Nick, is energetic and a great emcee at the shows. Loved how the EC staff jumped in the pool with us during the day and got involved in the games!
Bartenders were amazing as usual...From Eldon at the piano bar who always remembers what we're drinking (year-to-year!) to Delroy at the nude pool (Happy New Year) who always makes our stay special with his smile, singing and personality, the bartenders are top notch. Also special mention to Scumba, Paulette, Michelle, Maxton, Tista and Chantal, whose bartending and people skills are exceptional. We were sad to see that Anna and Grace are no longer employed there but all in all, bartending staff is amazing.
We celebrated our 25th anniversary this year by renewing our vows. Lorna Brammer, the guest relations mgr, was in contact with us from the day we arrived, through the ceremony and reception, all the way to the sad, long wait for the bus to go home. She made us feel like we were the only guests on the resort. Her personal attention, warmth and attention to detail is so appreciated and she kept bridezilla at bay when rain threatened our ceremony, telling me everything was going to be fine and it was going to be beautiful even if it rained....and she was sooo right! Thanks again, Lorna.
Water sports crew kept the pools, hot tub, beach and grounds very clean..Steve, Anthony, Alrick, Richard and Augustus (who we miss on the nude side) all did great jobs.

I'm sure we left people and experiences out, but all in all, the resort is still amazing because the guests are amazing, the staff is amazing and now with improvements being made, we are happy to rate H2 with a 4 instead of previous 3s...Let's strive for 5, H2!!! Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wahnapitae
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If anyone is considering a vaction in Jamaica I would suggest that you check out Hedo 2 we had a great time there the staff was fabulous the entertainers were excellent the food was great the rooms were satisfactory considering all we did was sleep in them the beach was clean as was the pools and hot tubs remember in is a clothing optional by you can wear clothes on the prude side from my wife and I have a happy and enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: We found the best valued rooms were in the garden view towards the road side away from the music fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We've been going to Hedonism II - the notorious "pleasure-dome" of West End Jamaica - since 1987. In those 26 years, we've seen a slow but steady deterioration in the quality of a Hedo vacation, which was due, in our opinion, to a regrettable tendency by the former management to milk this legendary cash cow for every bit of cash it could generate, while putting in only minimal improvements and neglecting ongoing maintenance.

In 2011, we attended the festivities for the resort's 25th anniversary, and were so disillusioned with what had become of this erstwhile tropical treat, that we decided not to go back... ever again.

In early 2013, the resort changed hands. Under these circumstances, we decided to give Hedonism II one more chance - for old time's sake - and perhaps, to say "goodbye". We're delighted to note that the new management and owners may not only stop the downhill slide, but may, in fact, reverse it!

This, I hope, will be good news to the legions of Hedonism "veterans" who fell in love with the place in the 1980s and 1990s, but who, like us, watched the physical plant decay, and the guest demographic change, radically, to a different ethos. Many of those returnees vowed, as we did, never to return... but we hope that they may now reconsider that vow.

Small changes that are long overdue are being made, and although those changes, individually, are small, the cumulative effective is a pleasant and positive surprise.

Food, which has been the source of many complaints in recent years, is markedly improved. It appears that the main kitchen has been given a somewhat more generous budget, and the food in the specialty restaurant, "Martino's" (formerly Pastafari) remains at a high standard. The "lollipop" lamb chops remain as one of my favorite meals - anywhere!

Evening entertainment appears to be returning to a happier time, when outside groups would come in to present dancing or music events. AT the nadir of evening entertainment, the coordinators (and guests) were forced to carry 90% of the entertainment load, with predictably annoying results...

There is a new house band, or at least a renamed one: "Roots Explosion" is gone, in favor of a band called "Mystique" (or something unremarkable like that). Nonetheless, they are highly competent musicians who can play across a wide variety of musical styles, and who appear to have listened to past complaints about excessive volume. The level of sound has been pared back.

The rooms are... rooms. Unexceptional, but clean. Improvements in the near future will be new paint, remodeling of many of the ground floor rooms to permit direct access to the beach, flat screen TVs, and upgraded beds and furniture. We saw these improvements in several rooms along the beachfront, and are optimistic about what the future may hold. The flat screen TVs are a particularly hopeful sign for those guests, who like me, have constantly whacked their heads on the current heavy CRT models!

The bathrooms need work, but it's anyone's guess what can actually be done to improve them. They are small, cramped, and strangely non-functional. As the doors open inwards, into the bathroom, it can be interesting trying to get two people into the bathroom at the same time. The shower enclosure doors are oversized, and not matched to the size of the shower stall itself, which results in some awkwardness opening and closing them - or more precisely, in getting into the shower. In our room, we had good water pressure and reliable water temperatures, although the aerator on the sink tap was partially clogged, resulting in water coming out almost at a 90-degree angle to vertical! On the positive side, we had no difficulty with getting fresh bath towels or hand towels, and the cleaning staff did a consistently top-notch job. There is some discussion of improvements to the bathrooms, but given the limited scope of changeable features, the discussion has been frustratingly vague.

There was clear evidence of improvements underway: painting of the buildings and their attendant wood trim was underway all over the resort. Box springs and mattresses were being replaced every day with new ones, and I understand that as of last week (May 6-10, 2013) all the chair pads on the beach have been replaced with new ones.

The disco ("Disco"? OMG... is this 1976?) also appears to be undergoing improvements. The foul smell in the main dance area is gone, and the floor appears to have been repaired or replaced. The lights and light "show" (no, it's 1967!) have been upgraded significantly to computerized systems with lots of variety and low-power lasers setting the mood.

On top of changes in the buildings and amenities, there have been many changes in the staff. Some repeat visitors are sad to realize that their "favorite" staff member has been terminated and replaced by a new face. While we noticed a few missing faces, we also noticed that the overall level of attention to service seems to have improved. It's difficult to pin down, but it appears that the optimism driving the new owners is trickling down through all levels of staff, from front-office managerial people, to the groundskeepers. Perhaps the clearing out of deadwood was necessary, and the change in ownership provided the perfect opportunity to do some housecleaning. We found the service to be generally improved, with a lot of smiles everywhere.

Several other recent changes/improvements really stood out:

- On Mondays, late in the afternoon, the house band sets up near the nude beach grill and plays retro Reggae. Guests are actually dancing in the sand.

- Also, late in the afternoon, staff lights a bonfire on the nude beach. I'm not clear if this is a daily event, or a one-night-per-week event, but it hearkens back to the old days in a very pleasant way.

- On at least four of the 10 nights that we were there, the resort organized a dance party under the stars, after dinner, on the main pool deck, complete with DJ, an impressive array of lights, and lots of dancing, gyrating bodies. Usually, around midnight, those who are sufficiently lubricated will opt for the naked waterslide, which provides an interesting backdrop of loud screams to the evening's fun.

In summary, the new management/owners appear to be genuinely committed to returning the resort at least part of the way back to its former ambiance. They certainly deserve the benefit of the doubt in these early months of their operation, as well as the support of those of us who have wistfully watched one of the great vacation spots in the Caribbean slowly sink into tawdriness. We'll definitely be back, and we'll definitely watch for continuing good news.

Room Tip: We find that the ocean-front rooms on the so-called "prude" side are quiet, pleasantly loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently returned from Hedo II. The trip went very well, no room problems, great food, water sports equipment was in great shape, the entertainment staff did a great job, etc.

Enjoyed meeting the new owners & management team. We enjoyed talking with Jon Gross who is one of the new owners and hearing from him about all the improvement plans afoot - we were very impressed with Jon taking the time to share the improvement plans with us. Also, glad to see that Kevin Levee (also an owner) continues to be the General Manager because he has done such a great job over the years. Lorna Brammer did a great job coordinating a special event for us (cake, meal, etc.). Clifton Ritchie, the Water Sports Manager, put in extra effort in getting one of the larger sailboats in need of repairs fixed, so we could use it during our stay and take some of our guest friends out sailing. Many thanks to Winston and the rest of the entertainment staff for their efforts.

We've used Castaways Travel for many years and they did a great job (as always) coordinating our trip.

Overall, a great trip. We are headed back to Hedo II again in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband took me to Hedo III in 2008 and we both loved it and have always talked about going back. Because Hedo III closed out we decided to give Hedo II last month, April 2013. Hedo II is not as modern as Hedo III but then again the constructions are many years apart. Also, at Hedo III we did not see nudity on the prude side, and everyone were appropriately covered for dining. At Hedo II it seems as if anything goes, anywhere, anytime, so they should just make it a clothing optional resort. We stayed on the prude side and there were as much nudity there as on the nude side. We did not mind though as we are comfortable with nudeness, it just bothered us a bit when it was openly displayed in the dining area. For anyone who is going to Hedo II and plan to stay on the prude side, be prepared to be surrounded with a constant array of nudity.

Room Tip: No suggestion right now as we only used our rooms to sleep and shower. Didn't spend much time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Hotel
Jamaica Hedonism 2
Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Negril
#12 Romantic Hotel in Negril
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedonism II 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedonism II, a legendary resort! Here you have a real life garden of Eden where the only thing you have to worry about is your drink of the day. Cascading plunge pools, waterslide, beachfront pools with in-water pool tables, swim-up bars, jungle bridge taking you from the main hotel straight to the beachfront, glass bottom boats, snorkeling, scuba-diving, kayaking, every non-motorized water sport you could imagine, pool watching from the disco, all glass walls, gaming lounge, rock climbing wall, air-conditioned fitness center, Sauna and Steam room. You won't confuse it with Kansas. A lush garden of pure pleasure. For singles & couples 18 yrs & over who are ready for a party. If your wondering....just come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedonism II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.