We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 12th trip, always fun - but the place needs attention (long review!)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hedonism II

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hedonism II to your Saves list
Hedonism II
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off Thanksgiving Sale
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Our 12th trip, always fun - but the place needs attention (long review!)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

This was our 12th trip to Hedo II, second time going in mid-May. We visited Wednesday to Wednesday and found occupancy to be on the low side when we arrived; easily less than half the dining room was set up for dinner. The crowd picked up a little toward the weekend, when a “circus erotica” group came in. They were a very friendly group that put on some shows during the evening entertainment (burlesque dancing type) that were very good.

Weather was perfect throughout the week, not a drop of rain. When we arrived, there was construction going on around the serving area (grill) of the main dining room where a large tarp was up blocking that area off & temporary serving stations were set up. It looked like they were doing work on the exhaust hoods in that area, and was completed by the weekend. Construction on the replacement bridge was well underway, being performed by outside contractors. Steel support and cross beams are being used, think this will last a lot longer than the last one!

We booked & were given a room on the prude/garden side, no complaints but if you depend on a hair dryer this was the first time we (she) felt the room unit just wasn’t getting the job done. Our shower door was missing one of the handles which sometimes made getting in & out a little more difficult than it should have been.

There are plenty of chairs (low occupancy aside) and an adequate supply of the Hedo foam cushions. The inflatable raft supply also looks to be plentiful. Hot tub temps during the day fluctuated greatly – one day the temp at 5p was 108…109 another day. We did utilize the main pool hottub a few late afternoons, where the temps varied equally as much – like pool water to boiling. Music at the nude pool seemed to be getting better, but still seems to get into a rut of playing the same CD over & over for days at a time. When you get to the point you can announce what song is coming up next it might be time to put in a new disk. There seem to be a full supply of Entertainment Coordinators (ECs), with a few transplants from H3 joining. We are not much in to the organized activities but our observation was that very little was taking place, maybe because of low occupancy – but never really saw EC’s trying to get things organized. Witnessed one game of bocce and afternoon volleyball on the prude side happened everyday but that was about it. There was the afternoon “happy hour” taking place at the nude pool each day, with the ECs bringing the mic & sound system, playing music and some kind of game (name that tune, drinking games, trivia, etc) for hedo bucks.

For the evenings, we ate twice at both Munason & Martino’s. Munason was very good and Martino’s was excellent. The other three evenings at the main dining room were average at best…and that takes into consideration that the Friday Gala brought the average up. The beef served on the main buffet was downright terrible, one evening it couldn’t even be cut with a knife much less eaten. I had the tenderloin both trips to Martino’s and that was excellent. I felt the wait service this trip in the main dining room was lacking. On different occasions we had to track down our own silverware (for both lunch and dinner) and at one lunch, where we got there a few minutes after it started, we were half way thru our meal before our water glasses were filled - and there were only about 5 tables occupied.
Roots Explosion’s music during dinner was fine, perfect volume for conversation and occasional dancing. The evening “showtime” was at least 50% EC driven. The steel drum band/dancers on Monday night were very good, as always.

After dinner we’d move over to the piano bar. The piano bar is listed as for "guest sing a long" but seems as soon as EC's arrive, it becomes "Showtime part II". Dion is great & the piano bar is one of our favorite Hedo spots but we like it because we can sing...or sing along with others, or watch other guests sing, not to hear them perform. One night this trip, once things got going guests sang 2 songs...with the mic next being turned over to EC's who sang the next 5. The karaoke nights are a little different now, they have a new system – not using the binders with the lists of songs anymore – they have a laptop and you just tell them whatever song it is you want to sing, and they seem to have it. The best part of the Piano bar is our favorite bartender, Eldon who will have your drink ready when he sees your glass getting low!

From the piano bar, we did try going to the disco a couple nights. Here’s exactly what I put on the comment card leaving the resort: How can you find the condition of the disco acceptable? Would Mr. Levee & his wife find the condition of the disco acceptable for their vacation? The smell is terrible in the bar area, and with no air conditioning it is so uncomfortable we can't take being in there for more than a few minutes. The one night there was a decent crowd, in spite of the heat, the music being played was a good mix (old stuff, new stuff, techno) but when it went all techno – the place cleared out. Another night they were serving drinks in glass “because no plastic…have to take the chance” as the bartender told me, sure enough 10 minutes later, broken glass on the dance floor.

The late night hottub temps did seem to be a little better; I think just one night it was unbearably hot. Had some creepy incidents where male workmen were lingering in/around the ladies bathroom late night. Included that in our comment card, would be nice if security could actually patrol instead of just sitting in a chair all night.

“Firsts” for this trip:
This was our first time being at the resort to really experience the morass fires. The morass (was explained as what we would call “swamp”) gets so dry it sparks wildfires. We’ve occasionally seen the smoke while on the cat cruise or on the bus ride to/from, but this was the first time we experienced it up close & personal as one night there were flames and sounds of crackling fire along with heavy dark smoke right across the main road; and two other evening where we couldn’t see flames but the smoke was very thick & made being outside uncomfortable. Wasn’t a problem during the day, but as soon as the sun was down seemed to take over. Seeing the flames so close was a little disconcerting, but staff (including Lorna Clarke who was outside keeping an eye on things) assured us “this happens every year, we just never know when”.

This trip we also spent some time a couple days on the prude beach. At different times there ranged from a half dozen to may 15 or 20 people on the PB, and plenty of space and shade to be able to lounge au natural.

This was also the first time in 12 trips that we’ve ventured off the resort (well, more than half-way down the Sandals beach…) making a long beach walk to Margaritaville. Wish we had done it before our last day. It was nice to see some of the other resorts along the Negril coast. There are a lot of amenities that I see I like - gazebos on the beach with pillows & linens, true drink service to your lounger, powdery white soft sand, true dining options right on the beach...and we spoke this trip to a number of couples all saying how nice Desire is (did not hear one negative & they were all independent couples). The only thing Hedo has that the other Negril resorts don't is the option to be naked all day, and maybe a little naughty...we love the naked, can take or leave the naughty. We're already booked for Anniversary week - but did even talk on the plane ride home about canceling & checking someplace else out, but the thought that maybe Hedo & Superclubs will be "pulling out all the stops" for the anniversary makes us think twice about changing just yet. Took a shuttle from M’ville back for $12, and during that ride could see some of the scorched earth from the fires – but buildings and such just feet away seemed to be fine and undamaged.

On my comment card I mentioned I’d be posting on trip advisor - pointing out the positives and negatives, so if there is progress on my issues (mainly the condition of the disco) to let me know & I will include it. Over a month later and no reply yet…

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    477
    160
    117
    64
See reviews for
6
1,020
107
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We went May 20-25 for a friends wedding there. Wedding was nice. We had "some" fun, but overall we didn't like it. Definitely not going back. But people go year after year. We have a nude park nearby we go to often and a nude/lifestyle resort too, but others might not have that.

The beach is okay, not pretty, but everyone’s at the pool. Of course the prude pool is prettier but empty. Slide wasn’t working when we were there. I thought there’d be some sexual type games by the pool, but I only saw one body shot. We did meet a few nice people. A few days later a big group showed up and some of them were kind of rude. A lot of staff knew them and they kind of took over.

I liked the Piano bar when different people were singing, but one night a lady from that group just kept singing one after another. And it’s hot in there, couldn’t feel the a/c. Most people go there so it can get crowded. Dance club was hot, not enough a/c and small. Local single men would hang out in there and if any girl is dancing with another girl, they'd come in-between and try to dance with you, didn't like that. Anyone outside the resort can pay for a day pass.

Big eating area that is outdoors was hot, no thru breeze. Food was so-so. Both the groom and my husband got food poisoning on different days. Did not like the Italian restaurant but the Japanese was surprisingly good. Bartenders and food servers were not friendly, not even the guy at the bar grill. And I’m a very smiley person! Only my first breakfast there, one man making an omelet smiled at me and asked what I wanted nicely. We had a nice maid and a great bartender “Grace” that we’d look for in the prude side. Nemo gave us a nice tour of the place when we first got there.

Didn't care for the entertainment after dinner. Hardly anyone dressed up in costume, very disappointing to me. I packed a lot of costumes and shoes for nothing. Toga night was the only night more people dressed up. If they get you up on stage for a contest, be prepared for an hour under the hot lights. Did it once then never again.

Our room was 2nd floor on nude garden-side and it was actually a nice room. Shower worked fine once we figured out the knobs and a/c worked fine. Only one day we had cold showers, but there was a problem with a pipe outside the building and it was fixed.
Catamaran/snorkeling ride was nice. We had entertainment and drinks.

We’ve gone to Couples at Ocho Rios where they have a nude island. The resort was much nicer, staff were all nice and pleasant. It’s not a lifestyle resort, and you can only be nude at the island or in hot tub at night. But I liked that resort much better.

Room Tip: watch out for sea urchins, wear watershoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Improvements to the facility are moving slowly but progressing. The closed, decaying bridge from the beach side to the water slide was completely replaced with completion in Jun 2011. Problems with door locks staying locked are addressed on a case-by-case basis, with more haste than usual. The landscaping is undergoing significant change and is partly completed. A number of the old trees have been removed or trimmed as appropriate.

The meal menu, while not as full or diverse as in the past was nonetheless good tasting and varied enough to provide something for everyone. The dining room staff was exceptionally attentitive at all meals. Midnight snack menu has added wings and legs in addition to the usual fare of red hot dogs, hamburgers and soups. The french onion soup was exceptional. The beach grill delivered good food every day from noon to six.

The disco remains a dismal low point to the otherwise high grades the resort receives. It is dank smelling; the music is single genre and sadly the facility is woefully underused as a result.

The piano bar is a great meeting and socializing venue. Dion, the piano player is friendly and entertaining. The entertainment coordinators that can sign--Winston, Ferrario and others deliver top level signing every night the piano player is there. Atmosphere is very good.

The guest rooms are generally very clean but continue to be in need of repair. Many of the windows on the beachside rooms do not close fully--overworking the already overburdened room air conditioners.

Hedo still remains a great place to go for couples! We would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for beachfront room in the 2100 or 2200 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We just returned from Hedonism 2 a few days ago. We have been there many times and we always have such a great time. The staff is excellent and the entertainment is great. We love going to the piano bar each night. Dion, Winston, and Feiarro are all so, so talented. The entertainment cordinators are awesome and fun to be around. The food is great, especially in the Italian and Japanese restaurants. The rooms are older, not the best but everything else makes up for it. We will be back again and again. Oh, and thanks Kevin and Michelle for making our anniversary so special. : )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We started our stay out with a bad buffet. The staff is not all that thrilled about being there. We changed rooms twice and had to pay more(they were 30% full). The beach itself had alot of stull in it. You needed to walk down the beach to get a cleaner one. There was no real pool on the nudist side and the other was nice and pretty much emply. Did not like the jet ski people constantly hanging out on the water(trying to sell more than a ride). The entertainment staff could be a little more proffessional, tone down their constant crudness and still promote participation. Our best experience was with the Italian Restaurant and our housekeeper was quick and thorough. This place is totally overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Pay more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We've been a dozen times, and will go another dozen times if we can!

NOT a 5-star resort, but that's never been what we were looking for here. It's very easy to chill out, eat good food, watch fun dinnertime shows, meet great folks or stay to ourselves if we want to do that. We scheduled our latest trip specifically to sail the catamaran as often as possible.

Room Tip: Contact Go Classy Travel for the best deals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

so my bf and i just got back from goin end of may early june..read this it might b long but its informative if it will b ur first time..it was our first time and they welcomed us..our room had hot and cold water a working ac and everything..we didnt mind the room at all beds were comfy..service wasnt so great bartenders most of them didnt even put on a smile and u had to wait a while they worked at a slow pace but its ok we werent in a rush..food was ok i love food on vaca and i was disappointed we ate mostly at the nude beach bar the whole time..the regulars here are so inviting and nice and inform what is good here what to do etc..the water at nude side isnt so great i love beaches and this wasnt my fav the prude sides water is a little bit cleaner and has let plants in the water.. no one makes u feel uncomfortable when comin here..it was our first time nude and we were nude and talkin to people and really enjoyed ourselves it was very relaxing..the nude pool is disgustin unless your really drunk and dont reelize i wouldnt recommend it we did our first day but that was cause we were bombed lol wish there was a little better music and more music on the nude side same songs played over and over..entertainment was very good though make sure u check the site for themed nights so u will b prepared to dress up its fun..wish more people would have..snorkellin there is free so take advantage..we were disappointed because there werent many people our age bracket which would b 25-32 we were lookin to party with people more our age we dont mind the older crowd at all they are def fun to b around but would have liked to spend time with closer to our age that was a little bit of u bummer. we would like to go back one day but not soon only because we like to see other places..rooms really werent that bad at least ours wasnt..we didnt stay out too too late but we heard it gets pretty crazy at the nude beach late at night lol otherwise this trip was enjoyable and diff and its true u dont have to do anything u dont want to do we didnt go too crazy but we had a nice time and met really nice people!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedonism II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedonism II

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 25, Negril, Jamaica (Formerly SuperClubs Hedonism II)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Negril
#14 Spa Hotel in Negril
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#29 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedonism II 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedonism II, a legendary resort! Here you have a real life garden of Eden where the only thing you have to worry about is your drink of the day. Cascading plunge pools, waterslide, beachfront pools with in-water pool tables, swim-up bars, jungle bridge taking you from the main hotel straight to the beachfront, glass bottom boats, snorkeling, scuba-diving, kayaking, every non-motorized water sport you could imagine, pool watching from the disco, all glass walls, gaming lounge, rock climbing wall, air-conditioned fitness center, Sauna and Steam room. You won't confuse it with Kansas. A lush garden of pure pleasure. For singles & couples 18 yrs & over who are ready for a party. If your wondering....just come! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hedonism II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedonism Ii Hotel Negril
Hedonism Jamaica
Superclubs Hedonism Ii Negril
Hedonism 2
Hedonism Resort
Jamaica Hedonism 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedonism II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.