We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but needs more sun shades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Couples Swept Away

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Couples Swept Away to your Saves list
Couples Swept Away
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, but needs more sun shades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW


We have just stopped at CSA for 1 week after being on an Caribbean cruise. After arriving at 2pm & checked in I was advised with the rest of the group our rooms would not be ready until 4pm. This seems to be a recurring theme at this resort looking at a few other reviews & our experience. It was made worse that it was raining when we arrived so we where kept in the reception area which does not have a bar or snack bar.
The staff are generally friendly & welcoming. There is a good selection of food in the buffet restaurants. We have ate at the two reservation restaurants which are good, but no better than the buffets. We stopped at the grand house & found the rooms are spacious & have a large bathroom. They where always cleaned everyday & your bed was turned down when you went down for dinner, which is nice. We went down to the beach every day, however found that there was limited shade which is a problem for my wife as she is fair. They really need some more sun covers on the beech rather than just relying on Palm trees (other people have commented on this as well). Also there are only two small pools. WIFI was available all over the complex which was excellent.
To sum up CSA, it is more 4* than 5*, they need to improve the checkin procedure & provide shade for sun bathing.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,485
    916
    279
    152
    77
See reviews for
57
2,948
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I want to say that I absolutely overall loved Couples Swept Away! The resort itself is set is a beautiful setting with lots of greenery, trees, and flowers on a beautiful beach! The staff is amazing! Very friendly, attentive, and just excellent service in all areas! Every meal was just wonderful and very good!

ROOM:
My husband and I stayed in a Beachfront Verandah Suite (Room 4319) on the third floor. The room itself was on the smaller size but very comfortable, offered shampoo/conditioner, body soap, lotion, a small sewing kit, shower cap, Q-tips, small nail file, and cotton balls. There is a make-up mirror and hair dryer in the room. The bed was king size, comfortable with a total of 6 pillows. The verandah overlooking the beach is what I loved about the room! A large french door opens up into the verandah making the room part of the outdoors. The room was always very clean. The room contained a safe, drawer space, closet space with hangers, and shelves. They even include an umbrella if needed. They have a mini-fidge stocked with water, coke, cola-cola light, ginger ale, as well as other items you can request daily. (They give you a list you can hang on your door daily that they will deliver to your room). During the day the room was a quiet place to relax if needed and in the evening the sound of the beach and peepers was wonderful! The big drawback is the load bass that would start either on the resort or near the resort at 10 pm and go on until the middle of the night. Most nights we could tune it out with the air-conditioning but one night was so bad we had to download a sound machine app and use ear plugs. I was disappointed as I would have loved to have been able to keep our doors open at night to listen to the sound of the beach and peepers. I did request a quiet room too, I am not sure if it was due to the location of our room or if it could be heard throughout the resort.

BEACH AREA:
The beach is beautiful! The water was warm and absolutely beautiful! If you go out near the deeper area and look down you can see starfish and even an occasional sting-ray (don't worry they leave you alone). As I am sure you have read in other reviews, many get up early (6-6:30) to reserve a beach chair. I admit, we were guilty of this as well but wanted a place in the shade. Overall I saw empty beach chairs so this is not necessary. An improvement that can be made with the resort would be to install more covered areas on the beach as you can find shade but unfortunately you end up right next to groups of people which does not make it very "couple" like setting. I absolutely LOVED the floats that are on each beach chair and used this daily to "live" in the ocean and float my cares away. They also make the chairs comfortable as well. Everyday a wait staff from the bar provides you with a red flag to use to signal if you would like a drink which was always served quite quickly! I do recommend that you bring some cozies for your cups as this helps keep your cups cold for much longer. I live in Michigan and am spoiled with many beautiful beaches as well as beaches that are almost private, relaxing, and quiet, so a big drawback to the beach on the resort was the amount of people walking the beach trying to sell you something and those that will start singing and playing instruments as you are trying to relax. I usually love to read, and cat nap but this was tough to do. I personally feel if everyone is told to not purchase items from them on the beach they would not be all around, yelling, singing, and approaching guests. It was okay the first two days but after that it was annoying. I ended up listening to music often on my headphones to drown them out. The beach is great for walking or running on and you will often see others doing this in the mornings and evenings.

FOOD:
The Palms - We did not eat at often but when we did the food was good, buffet style, and the restaurant always seemed quite busy.
Patois - We ate at most often which was off the menu. I was surprised at how often it was not busy in here. The food at breakfast and dinner was always fantastic!! I recommend trying the soups as they are amazing!! Service was always fantastic!
Lemon Grass - Is a reservation only restaurant for dinner. This was my husband and my least favorite but it was due to not being big Asian food fans but the setting was just beautiful!
Feathers - Another reservation only restaurant for dinner. This was excellent food in an air conditioned setting!
Cabana Grill - My husband loved the jerk chicken and ate this often!
Sea Grape Cafe - Is an on the beach restaurant. It is labeled as an vegetarian restaurant but does serve fish and tuna. The veggie burger was pretty good but I loved the root chips along with the dip!!

I highly recommend taking the sunset catamaran cruise!! It's a great way to see more of Negril, the cliffs, and the beauty of the area! We were able to swim in an amazing cave and watch some boys scale the cliffs by hand and perform dives off of them for us which really was a highlight of the week!

Overall I would recommend this resort if you are okay with a noisier beach and like to stay out later or if noise at night does not bother you while sleeping, other than that everything else was perfect!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When I first arrived at the hotel I was a bit disappointed but after walking the whole 7 mile beach, I quickly came to realise that this hotel was way above the rest! We paid a lot for this trip but don't expect to get the same luxury for the price compared to Mexico or the Dominican republic.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The staff and especially the Manager Konrad made sure that our trip was as enjoyable as possible even if it rained 6 out of 7 days. Note to self, never go to Jamaica in April lol.

The food was simply amazing! Lot's of variety and the quality was above what we had expected. Drink at this hotel are very good and the booze is not watered down like a lot of hotels.

Activities were good but was non existing during the day when it rained so this could be something that could be improved.

Hotel has a great fitness center with a complete gym, lap pool, tennis courts, squash and racketball courts, and many more ....

The beach was simply the best in Jamaica! Crystal clear blue water and you can walk 150 feet in the ocean and only have water to your shoulders. No rocks or seaweeds at all at this hotel. Plenty of chairs at the beach and never had an issue finding one even at 11 AM.

Overall this hotel is probably the best in Jamaica. But if you are looking for a luxury hotel for the price you are paying, I would recommend going to the Dominican or Mexico as Jamaican hotels are older and need to upgrade their standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road as it can get pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

the staff are friendly and helpful there were a few exceptions as there is everywhere. The food was good and well cooked. The pool areas was a little run down however the sun beds were comfortable the swim up bar was popular with the Americans who tended to hog it all day long. The rooms were clean but could do with a little more comfort there was only one small chair in the room and one on the balcony the balcony also had a built in bench not comfortable to sit on for any length of time. Night time brought out the tree frogs and the noise was deafening you did get used to it. All in all it was a nice holiday and the two trips out we had were good the roads are full of potholes but then so are ours at this time. The guides on the trips were very informative and made the day enjoyable and do try the jerk chicken it was delicious.

Room Tip: rooms with garden view have no real outlook some can be quite dark. Rooms with full sea view have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our third trip to Jamaica based on the friendliness of the staff at other resorts we visited. Unfortunately, this was NOT the case at Couples Swept Away. First, the mini bar was NOT stocked when we arrived. We were asked what they could bring us until it could be stocked (the next day). We requested vodka and rum. The rum was brought to our room after we had gone to bed! (around 9pm-it was a LONG trip) He banged on our door until we opened (saying the liquor would stolen if he left it out-and they were out of vodka--huh?) All mini bars items must be requested a day in advance-even extra water. No where at the resort could you pick up an extra water or towel! After enduring a torrential rain storm on the catamaran ride, we asked two different staff pushing carts overloaded with towels for an extra towel. One gave us a towel to share...the other said we could get them in our rooms! This was par for the staff, who over all, were NOT friendly. Our first dinner at the resort at the Palms, we were treated SO poorly! Ignored, rolling eyes if we asked for anything-and if you hesitate while eating, they will take your plate away. All staff seemed to eager to get people out of the restaurants.
The resort grounds are pristine-VERY well manicured. The beach is beautiful.
But, it should be noted: our room was on the third floor-NO elevators. If you have any mobility issues at all (my husband has had multiple knee replacements) the grounds are very spread out- you will need to walk very far to get to anything. There are steps everywhere. (it would be nice if water was provided on the grounds like other resorts we have been to.)
The only room service they have is a continental breakfast (did not expect that.) If we kept our tray more than an hour, staff was banging on the door to collect it! Several times, maid service never cleaned our room-one time it was after 6pm-even the staff has a hard time working around the no-elevator situation. Soap/shampoo/lotion are dispensers that hang on the wall. We felt the resort was 'run on the cheap.'
We required medical assistance one evening--what a nightmare! It was over 40 minutes before the nurse arrived-she should have come in a golf cart to drive us to the nurses station. We had to wait another 20 minutes to get a wheel chair. The nurses station was not equipped with bottled water or blankets! (both items were needed). Thank goodness it was nothing serious. They need to take medical emergencies much more seriously. During our stay, another gentleman at the resort required attention-again, he was laying in the sand for at least 30 minutes before the medical staff arrived. We only hope he was ok.
The upside: the resort has a long list of activities that are included and all staff that work these activities are great!
Needless to say, we will never go back to CSA and may not visit Jamaica again. I really hate that our vacation was one of so many disappointments given the amount of money we spent. I don't want to be a complainer, but I think other visitors should know these facts to consider when planning their vacation. I would have liked to have known all of this- we probably would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a seven-day stay at Couples Swept Away. It was our first time at a Couples and the first time we vacationed in Jamaica for many years – we usually go to the Riviera Maya in Mexico. Although we did enjoy many aspects of our stay, not sure we would return, primarily because of issue #1.

#1 issue that did not meet our expectations was the noise in the room and lack of any truly quiet spot. The CSA property is long and thin, running north to south between the coast and a main road, and there is a walkway spanning that length that is situated between the inland edge of the beach and the beachfront rooms. We had an atrium room (2233). It is in a beachfront building and we did have a bit of an ocean view, but because of that walkway and the fact that one of the bars is pretty much opposite, the room was not quiet until later in the evening – definitely not a refuge for any quiet time during the day. They begin raking the beach at 6 a.m. – with a tractor – that goes back and forth for about an hour. Actually, the tractor broke three days into our stay so we didn’t actually have that for the week, but they begin setting up the bar (and the other bars and restaurants) around 7 with the inevitable rattling of bottles, and voices of staff calling loudly to one another across some distances. The bar closed at 6:30 p.m., which was nice, but the frequent whirl of the blender was a discordant note while it was open. Of course guests use that path to get to and from the restaurants and the evening entertainments so it does not quiet down until around 10. It is not that we wanted to spend a lot of time in the room, but when on vacation we usually want to sleep past 6 or 7 a.m. and sometimes catch a short nap in the late afternoon but neither was really possible. All this being said, the building we were in may be one of the quietest in the place there is a large grassy area behind it and rooms further back get road noise – not sure if that is an issue inside the rooms, but if you want to enjoy the veranda or deck it would be nice not to hear that. The sports complex across the street is generally quiet but there is a health bar there, and although that is very convenient, there was that whirl whirl whirl of the blender again. Water aerobics is also held at the pool at the sports complex, so loud music does blare at times. Some tiny corner that is quiet would be such a nice addition!!!

Much less of an issue but annoying was the number of smokers. As noted by other reviewers, it would be great if there could be a designated area for smoking, even on the beach.

Guests play the towel game beginning quite early in the morning. Additional shade structures would give more people a fighting chance to spend time on the beach without baking.

Long bus ride, but unavoidable unless you stay at a resort near the airport.
There were many nice features.

The beach is clean and very wide. The water sports were just great: lots of variety, plenty of equipment, hardly ever had to wait, and then just for a short time.

No armbands, no towel cards. There are two towels in the room when you check in and you can trade them in whenever you want, for as many as you want, at two sites on the beach.

The gym is the best we have seen in any resort. There are the obligatory treadmills, but also a recumbent bike (and spinning bikes in the separate aerobics studio) as well as a great assortment of exercise machines for both upper and lower body, benches, and free weights from light up to very heavy.

Two options for cooling the room – very effective (and quiet) ceiling fan and air conditioning. We never did turn on the a.c.

The food is really quite good as is the variety, and something is available almost 24 hours a day. Never had any stomach trouble! The desserts were well presented and actually tasted as good as they looked. Although the staff is willing to get whatever you want, it was nice to have self-serve soft drink and beer - and let us not forget the self-serve soft ice cream. We had no difficulty making reservations for either of the specialty restaurants, but enjoyed Feathers much more than Lemongrass. The Asian food of the later was not really Asian.

WiFi is included and worked very well.

Yes, not 100% of the staff is on top of their game or even that pleasant, but the vast majority are and overall we had no complaints about the service and no sense that staff expected tips. Hunter in The Palms and Grapeseed is wonderful as are Omar and Jason at water sports and Jaffet from entertainment.

You can ask to have your room made up early or late in the day and generally that request is honored.

We did not do Club Mobay. Understanding that it may be a crap-shoot, we got through customs and immigration in just a few minutes and had a pretty short wait through security on the way out.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach get noise from the bars and restaurants, rooms further back get noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This review is very late.
We stayed in an oceanfront varanda suite. ( November, 2013). We didn't have much a view of the ocean but we were only steps away. The view from our balcony was jungle like. We actually loved it! Found it to be very peaceful.
The beach is absolutely beautiful!!! This is where we spent most of our time. We floated our days away.
Food was delicious, Patois and Feathers were our favorite. You have to try the soups!!! We've never had soup anywhere that was more flavorful!
Entertainment was enjoyable.
The palms usually had something going on. Beach party was a lot of fun, don't miss out on it. If you like to partake in singing or enjoying others sing then the piano bar is a good time. It also turns into a disco on certain nights. A lot of fun and a nice way to
end the evening.
We will definitely be returning yo swept away. Definitely recommend it!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Couples Swept Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Couples Swept Away

Address: Norman Manley Blvd, Negril, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Negril
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#13 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Couples Swept Away 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immediately upon entering Couples Swept Away, you realize that you have arrived in paradise. Exotic flowers bloom amidst acres of green—on seven miles of the purest white sand beach in Negril, Jamaica. Dotted among the tropical gardens—open-air cafes, small pool enclaves and fresh fruit oases are yours to discover. Never crowded or hurried, the resort offers an intimate tranquility and when desired, total seclusion. All rooms embrace a quiet elegance with island cedar furnishings and pure white linens. Plantation shutters open onto private verandahs with views of gardens and azure sea. Breezy open-air restaurants engage candle-lit lanterns and billowing white curtains to strike a romantic note. While the pristine 10-acre sports complex encompasses every imaginable activity, the superb spa serves as a haven of relaxation. Couples Swept Away simply captures your heart and soothes your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Couples Swept Away reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couples Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Hotel Negril
Jamaica Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Resort
Negril Couples Swept Away
Swept Away Negril
Couples Swept Away Jamaica
Couples Negril

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Couples Swept Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.