We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Place Sweet Yoga Sweet Jamaica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Tree House Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Negril Tree House Resort to your Saves list
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Negril
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sweet Place Sweet Yoga Sweet Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Very good breakfast followed by Jessica's gentle ocean side yoga, a nap in the hammock and a drink at the bar. Who could ask for more.The beds are comfortable, the rooms and ambience very Jamaican and the breakfast are a good mix of Island favourites and American staples. The guest get together was well attended and a lot of fun. They knew whose birthdays it was and that was a sweet touch. Jessica's gentle yoga and her almond oil fit right in to the laid back atmosphere. In the vicinity try the Kingfisher Togo down the street for great soup and all the places around for the jerk chicken including the street BBQ's which taste better than any North American chicken..The staff are really nice. Take the shuttle to and from instead of a taxi if you don't want to be hassled. Lots of characters on the beach...lots of fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    234
    54
    11
    8
See reviews for
119
292
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This resort is the best Jamaican experience you could have. Right in the center of Seven Mile Beach. Beautiful rooms and views. Check in was a breeze. Great staff, everyone was pleasant. Especially Elrick, he was very sweet and gave me a wonderful dining experience. I will never forget my stay here. I will continue to come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms so far have been beautiful, but double occupancy rooms seem to have more spacious bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I went for the sun, beach, and a wedding. Enjoyed all three. Great location, near where the wedding was held. Breakfast was good, lots of variety and choices. Will definitely go there again. The down side is the dated furnishngs, had to wait 24 hours for a second key.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We truly enjoyed our stay at Negril Treehouse. The hotel staff are wonderful and the location on the Seven Mile Beach is perfect! We are never disappointed! The food is excellent, in fact you cannot visit without having the jerk chicken! It's delicious! We have been visiting Negril Treehouse for the past 6 years and we continue to look forward to our visits each year. The view from our room is breathtaking and I look forward each morning to opening our doors to look at the blue/green waters of the Caribbean Sea. I highly recommend Negril Treehouse Resort.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I found this hotel through living social and bought the trip for my boyfriend for his birthday. I was unsure of what to expect because I have never been to Jamaica but was beyond please with this purchase.

When first arriving a shuttle picked us up from the airport and made it very easy for us to get to the teeehouse hotel. We stopped along the way and picked up some jerk chicken.. The best chicken I have ever eaten. When we got to the hotel the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and nice. The bar on the beach was perfect to get a cocktail and watch the sunset.
That night we left the resort and went to the rock house in the cliffs for some delicious curry shrimp. The cabs are a bit expensive.

The next morning we woke up and ate the delicious breakfast that is complimentary at the hotel, which we proceeded to eat every morning. That day we took a glass bottom boat to an island that catches fresh lobster and grills them in front of you to eat. They were delicious. That night the hotel had a cocktail party with amazing complimentary cocktails and water out of fresh coconuts to drink. They had appetizers as well as a birthday cake for my boyfriend! He was so excited and surprised and everyone sang happy birthday. For dinner we walked to best in the west jerk chicken shack (my favorite) from the treehouse .. One of the workers walked with us to make sure we got there safely.

The next day we did paddle boarding for the first time through the hotel. It was so much fun and a really good workout. That night we took a cab to rick's cafe to watch the sunset then walked to Ivan's for dinner. Ivan's had an amazing view and atmosphere. We later went to a reggae beach party at Alfred's with good reggae music and a lot of locals.

The next day we went to Zimbali cooking studio which was a change of scenery from the beach to the country side. They took us on a tour of their farm where we learned about all the different fruits in Jamaica. Later the chef cooked an organic meal in front of us with food from their farm. That night we ate at kuyaba on the beach where I had amazing lobster Thermidor. After dinner there was a beach party at bourbon beach where they sang bob Marley it was a really good time.

Our last day we did yoga at the hotel which I would definitely recommend to anyone. It was sad to leave the delicious food, amazing hotel staff, and beautiful beach. I am so glad this deal was on living social so I had the chance to discover Negril. We are already talking about out next trip back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

We arrived st the airport and Trevor was there waiting for us. Our journey began as we drove through the countryside about an hour and a half to Negril. Trevor was a wealth of information and made us feel right at home. The Treehouse is right on the beach with the most helpful staff and probably one of the best locations on 7 mile beach.Our room had an amazing view with high ceilings and was beautifully furnished in true Caribbean style. More than enough room for a couple more stragglers to stay if needed. We were happy to sit on the balcony of our beachfront suite just adjusting to the languid pace of Jamaica doing nothing for a couple days. Once we finally left the resort we were taken all over the island by the wonderful taxi drivers that became our friends and guides on our week long trip. We ate at a different restaurant everyday, eating curried goat, conch, fresh lobster and and shrimp and the local greens like kaliloo. We dined at thtore Treehouse every morning on their free breakfast where we had the most amazing omellettes, fresh papaya watermelon, pineapple, porridge and plantains. The food here is fresh and beautifully seasoned. We loved the curried goat and fried coconut shrimp as well at the Treehouse. I also recommend the dirty banana daquiries and mudslides. I did get into the local rum, Overproof...that was an interesting night. Be careful, it goes down like water but packs a punch. We also went snorkeling, to Rick's Cafe, and to the caves and cliffs via the super helpful and friendly staff at the front desk. We are coming back, as we feel The Treehouse Negril is our second home. Thanks Jackie, Cher, Dawn, Trevor, Taneesha, Donalt, Dawn and anybody I might have missed. WILL BE BACK, MON!!!

Yah Mon, Treehouse Negril is the place to relax, eat, drink and stay when you comin to Jamaica, Mon!!!

Jeff
Park City Utah Vacation Properties

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently stayed at the Tree House Resort in Negril, Jamaica in January 2014 for vacation. The resort is small (70 rooms) but very comfortable at the same time. The resort is right on the beach with beautiful ocean views and access. Breakfast was provided every morning , (which was amazing!) and I even had a delicious lunch there during my stay. (Mostly appetizers and dessert). The general staff (bartenders, maintenance, waitresses and housekeeping) are very down to earth and friendly. At times, the main receptionists can be short, especially when there is more than one guest. Gail and Charmaine, were extremely helpful via email, in answering any questions about the resort/area, usually within 1 business day. During my stay, we used Kenny Tours to and from the airport (since it was an 1hour and half away) and received excellent service and info about the island during the ride from Brian and Jeremiah( I believe). I also took a Southeast tour of Jamaica with Richard W. from Chukka/JUTA and was beyond wowed with all of his expertise and recommendations, besides his excellent driving. We toured the Black River, YS Falls, and Appleton Rum estate. This tour was a 2 hour drive to the first destination, and 2 hours back to the hotel, but each stop was not more than 20 minutes from each other. We left at 830am and came back at 630pm, with an option of lunch in between. Lastly, we took another excursion to Rick's Cafe( for food and to watch the cliff divers) with a driver named Norris, who was also a very safe and reliable mode of transportation. The one part of the vacation that we were disappointed in was the option to para-sail. This was $40 per person (so $80 total). The gentleman took us out via jet-ski to the pair-sail boat, and suited us up with life jackets and harnesses, along with another couple. Unfortunately, it took 45 mins to untangle the larger parachute, only to discover that it had not been mended and could not be used. There was an option for single riders on a much smaller parachute, but this would have taken 2x as long for all the couples to go, and the main point was to go together. A gentlemen did try to bring another parachute to the boat via jet-ski, but at this point it was 1hour and half, and no para-sailing. When we came back to the front desk to inform them about the scenario the receptionist seemed in shock and hesitant to return both couples original purchase. She did refund the one couple, and never billed myself. (Since we had the option to charge it to the room.) Just as a general word of advice, there are many vendors on the beach trying to sell everything from fruits to cigs, papers to hats, and more. If you are not interested kindly say "No thank you." Also, do not tell them it is your first time to the island, they will try to continue to talk to you until you purchase something. They are not allowed onto the resorts main property, aka beach/bars and lounges which is strictly watched by Guardsmen security, up and down the entire Seven Mile Beach. Lastly, if you are flying into MBJ airport, I would recommend leaving early, since the airport is very busy at the ticket counters, security checkpoints, etc. I would recommend the Negril Tree House, along with YS Falls, Appleton Rum Estate, Rick's Cafe and the Black River Safari Trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#16 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Tree House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.