We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find in Negril!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Tree House Resort

Save Saved
You added Negril Tree House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Negril Tree House Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Negril
Western NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous find in Negril!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Negril Tree House November 14-18, 2012, and were pleasantly surprised to find a fabulous hotel that we hope to return to! We traveled with another couple and we were celebrating my husband's 60 bday. We were using a Living Social Voucher that was supposed to be at another hotel but that hotel was no longer honoring the coupon. Our misfortune turned out to be a blessing in disguise! The Negril Tree House is a fabulous boutique hotel right in the middle of the 7 Mile Beach in Negril!! The hotel and staff exceeded our expectations! We have traveled extensively and tend to picky travelers. We do extensive research before we travel and would definitely recommend this hotel!!

The hotel is small (70 rooms) by the other all-inclusive standards and only includes breakfast. However, the hotel is newly renovated and very well maintained. It was very clean and the rooms were very nice, basic but plenty roomy. The pictures posted online are accurate.

You are in Jamaica, so be prepared to slow down...The staff were very helpful and so sweet! I have to say that everyone we encountered were genuinely helpful and eager to make our trip memorable. A special thank you to Kerry Ann, who is as cute as a button and has the sweetest laugh! Gail, the owner, hosts a Saturday night cocktail hour which was very nice. She runs a tight ship and is definitely doing something right because the staff and hotel were great! Thank you Gail!

The breakfast is a buffet and has more than enough food to fill you up plus there are several Jamaican options to get some of the local flavor. We are early risers and the staff got us "early" coffee and so we relaxed on the upper deck while we waited for breakfast. They have a fresh omelette station and all sorts of fresh fruit. We never left breakfast hungry. Plus, the view of the ocean and beach from the deck was spectacular!

The only restaurant on the premises is ocean-front. And, I mean literally in the water. Enjoying lunch or dinner while feeling the ocean breeze and hearing the lapping of the waves was a wonderful experience! My one complaint (if I had to be critical) was the food in the restaurant was not the greatest. More care could have been taken to have fresher food. It seemed frozen and prepared. With all the local vegetables and fish available, the menu could have been better. But I must say, the chef and restaurant are very accommodating. We purchased freshly caught lobster on the beach and the check cooked it up for us. They charged a nominal fee but it was well worth it. We did this two nights in a row and actually, that was our best dinner there.

The beach and pool area are very nice. Actually, the beach was BEAUTIFUL! There was plenty of room and we never felt crowded. But be warned-There are a lot of local vendors who roam the beach. For the most part, if you ignore them or wave them on, they are not a bother, but it was a little annoying because they can be loud. Trying to relax and enjoy the beach was challenging because of them. The "security" didn't really do anything to deter them, so this was another down side. I tried to be understanding but by the end of the stay, I had had enough...

You see a lot of warnings about the bugs in Jamaica. It is a tropical island, so I came prepared with bug spray and wipes. I really didn't need it. Perhaps, the time of year, perhaps the fact that we weren't really out much at night. Also, our room was on the second floor. But, there were no bugs to speak of. Last time, we were in Negril in May and there were more sand flies.

Our room was closer to the back and the street noise. Wasn't too bad considering Gail did us a favor by honoring our Living Social voucher, but when we go back (and we will go back) I would opt for ocean view.

I would not hesitate to return to the Negril Tree House or to recommend it! It was a lovely, well-maintained hotel that was truly caring about their customers!

Thank you to Germaine, our driver from Kenny's Tours! Great tour guide!

One last thing - don't leave until you get a massage on the beach from Cheryl. She is wonderful. And her daughter, Crystal is adorable!!! At first, I was hesitant to get a massage on the beach, but it was a very sensual experience (except for the loud vendors). Cheryl is a great masseuse and does reflexology too! Thank you Cheryl! I hope to see you again!!!

We hope to return to the Negril Tree House - The Sharkey's, NJ.

Room Tip: Stay away from back rooms that are close to street. Very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    222
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
114
278
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

relaxing and peaceful environment. staff was very courteous. perfect location as it was close to entertainment and restaurants. the beach was wonderful. The view at breakfast was so serene
i loved it every morning. Negril Treehouse Resort is a definite for a revisit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I booked a kitchen room at Tree House for 10 nights. We usually do not stay that many nights in a single hotel, and we were hoping that we had not made a mistake. As it turned out, Negril Tree House Resort was the perfect place for a 10 night stay. Our room was just what you would expect at a nice Carribbean lodge, heavy plantation shutters that lock from the inside, with screens when open, but no window glass. A/C unit that would freeze you out if need be, or just keep you very comfortable as was our case. Complete kitchen with four burner stove, microwave, sink, and full sized fridge to keep bottled water, Red Stripe beer, and Sangster Rum Cream nice and chilly. Bathroom with large shower, place to hang clothing, and a safe large enough for an IPad or small laptop and everything else you wish to secure. Owner, Gail Jackson was on premises making sure everything ran like clockwork, and I might add that she is a very sweet lady. Not an all inclusive resort, but does serve one helluva breakfast buffet with your room that includes a waffle station and an omelette station, fresh breads and fruits, Jamaican specialties, coffee,tea, etc. Nice beach, good security, reasonable taxi service (look for Mr. Courtney Williams, taxi driver hangs out at TH at night), comfortable and secure room with king sized bed, excellent restaurant that literally sits on the edge of the Carribbean Sea with waves lapping against the base of the building. Ms. Jackson keeps her buildings and grounds in extremely nice condition. This resort is not The Four Seasons, but it is no dump either. Rather, it's a reasonably priced small resort with comfortable, secure, clean, and very private lodging. What happens in Negril, stays in Negril. If you are there on a Saturday, be sure and try her specialty drink, Liquid Sunshine, that she serves gratis at her Treehouse Guest Cocktail Party.

Room Tip: Off-season is a very good value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were staying in Montego Bay and were told that Negril had the most beautiful beaches. We arranged to be taken to the beach at the Negril Tree House Resort and that was the best decision of my trip. Upon exiting the vehicle, we were greeted by the manager of the beach and watersports activities. He escorted us over to the beach chairs and assisted us in getting situated. After some time enjoying their amazing beach and ocean, we chose to go out on the glass bottom boat and snorkel a great reef spot. Wow, awesome time! Upon returning to the resort, we ate oceanside in their bar and restaurant area and our food was superb. I enjoyed a really good chicken sandwich with fries and indulged on some fried plantains for dessert! Overall, very capable, friendly and knowledgeable staff that provided the perfect dose of attention to us. Wanted to stay there and never come home! Do yourself a favor and stay at the Negril Tree House Resort and enjoy a touch of heaven. David - Fort Lauderdale, Florida

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Thirteen friends recently stayed at Negril Tree House to celebrate my 40th birthday. Most rooms were nice, and the balconies were excellent. My room was great, as it had a kitchen and large refrigerator. The location on 7 Mile Beach was fantastic, and the views from the rooms, from the bar, and from the breakfast spot were all amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful, and they didn't hassle us for money like most people did everywhere we went. Unfortunately, a woman broke into my friend's room while she was sleeping and was going through her luggage when she woke up . . . Because of this, I'm not sure I'd stay at this resort again, as the locks have old keys and are obviously easily picked. Every room has a safe, but the thought of waking up to thief is upsetting. If you're traveling in smaler groups, I highly recommend that you find a driver you can trust to take you everywhere you need to go, especially at night.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room with a kitchen . . . The refrigerator is priceless. Also make sure to bol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I loved this property, I loved the owner even more. You can tell that she loves what she does and will do what it takes for her clients to be pleased. I visited this property in September and I am looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I got a good deal to stay at the Negril Treehouse from Living Social for our 2nd wedding anniversary and it was wonderful. The deal call for us to be there from October 26th – October 30th but because of Hurricane Sandy we had to stay 2 extra days and I couldn’t’ image a better place to have to wait out a hurricane. When we got there the storm had just left and we couldn’t go on the beach because of all the seaweed and debris but the staff was out there cleaning and alongside them was the owner Gail getting everything clean and they did a great job. So we turned to the bar with Ralston who makes a mean dirty banana and Alan the singing chef had the best jerk chicken and pork on the beach for lunch. We went into to 3 times, once to go shopping, once to dinner at a local restaurant and then to Rick’s Café but there was really no need to leave everything we wanted was right there. Breakfast which was included was really good. Don’t go thinking you staying at a 5 star resort because you’re not (they still use keys and not keycards) but the great staff, the view and just the warm and inviting atmosphere made it 5 stars. We are definitely going back to the Treehouse!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Negril Tree House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negril Tree House Resort

Address: Norman Manley Boulevard | PO Box 29, Negril, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Westmoreland Parish > Negril
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Negril
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Negril
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Negril
#16 Business Hotel in Negril
#16 Romantic Hotel in Negril
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Negril Tree House Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laid-back family friendly property. Fabulous breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Negril Tree House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negril Tree House Hotel Negril
Negril Tree Hotel
Negril Tree Resort
Negril Tree House Resort Jamaica
Jamaica Tree House Resort
Negril Tree House Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Tree House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.