We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Negril Hills Golf Club

Negril Hills Golf Club
Negril, Jamaica
876 957 4638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 24 Outdoor Activities in Negril
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hilly course with a beautifully landscaped green, offering a very challenging shot at the ninth hole.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice course, challenging and fairly priced for a vacation spot. Good caddy - lots of hills which made play tiring even with the cart

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    23
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great to just hit the links!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have played here several times over many visits to Negril. I would have to say the course was probably in the best shape its been in years. The course is hilly and a cart is recommended. Has beautiful views from almost every hole and the caddies are great. We played 18 holes and took our time had a few drinks talked etc...really always a great day at Negril Hills

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Course To Play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Heard some bad things about this course. Don't listen to them. It's a good course, although very hilly, not flat holes. It was in very good shape green and fairway wise. John was my caddy and we had a great time playing. He's very knowledgeable guy. Use him as your caddy. It is $106 U.S. to play with your own clubs. Fast rounds, under three hours.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth playing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

what an unexpected pleasure! A number of reviews made me wonder what to expect. We played 8 consecutive days while on vacation at Couples Negril.The course was in good condition with very true and puttable greens. The course has incredible elevation changes on most holes. The design of the holes is very interesting and challenging.The vistas of the countryside are amazing.
You must play this course if you are an enthusiast. As repeat players we were given a free cart one day and half price cart on another day.I'll take that any time. I enjoyed every minute on this course with the help of Kevin clubbing me .

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilton head, sc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fun course - great challenge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Don't confuse this course with White Witch, or Tryall. This is more "The Little Engine That Could." This is like a good little municipal course in the US. Doesn't make a lot of money. Certainly not glamorous. But makes up for it by delivering a good golf challenge. Almost like mountain golf, in that tees or greens are elevated, and there are lots of side-hill lies.
Nothing tricked up here. Greens were slow but true. Good golfers should be able to score well. Duffers like me will have fun, make a par or two, and leave feeling like they just had a good time.
We stayed at Couples Swept Away, so transport and greens fees was included in our package. We paid for the cart and caddie, plus a tip for the caddie. Total was about $45 each for my wife and I. Our caddie was Meagan, and she was wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negril Hills Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Negril Hills Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril Hills Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.